Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

A compeed might be very useful for the blister. In truth you are probably better off just resting and letting it heal but it would be handy in an emergency to get you through.
    I wonder are your runners half a size too tight. When running your feet will warm and expand.
    I wear my runners a half size too loose and have the laces fairly loose. If I don't I tend to get stress pains in my feet. It works for me but I think things like this are a personal preference and you just need to find out what works for you.
    Btw I also wore 1000 mile socks for my long runs and the marathon itself. They are double lined and gave great protection. I didn't wear them for my training runs or shorter races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭mirrormatrix

I wear 1000mile liner socks which are pretty good for preventing blisters. But not foolproof and since you *already* have the blister now ...
    I was in the same position a few weeks ago, having a fairly large blister which was not being improved with the Compeed plaster (getting slightly bigger even). The suggestion below from aquinn was spot on. There are various webpages discussing the method ... the detail is that you sterilise the *whole* needle with boiling water, then thread it with about 20cm of thread (*don't* knot the thread), then you make a big stitch from one side of the blister to the other side (best if you make the holes even slightly outside the blister perimeter), and leave the thread in the blister for 10+ hours to drain the fluid out. It drained the fluid perfectly and the blister became flat, and the next day I was able to go out for my long run :). Of course prevention is better and all that, but in an emergency ....

What's the purpose of sterilising the needle if you're just going to leave thread in there for 10 hours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

What's the purpose of sterilising the needle if you're just going to leave thread in there for 10 hours?

Would imagine thread is relatively sterile already (I'd just bought it from a shop) ... anyhow I took the method from aquinn/some-webpages, I didn't invent (it's an army trick).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

That's a genius blister idea. Can't wait for my next one to try it out :D

libelula wrote: »
    That's a genius blister idea. Can't wait for my next one to try it out :D

Really???!!

Think it's only worth doing if the blister is a decent size. Tbh would not have gone down that route only it was going-nowhere despite the Compeed & I *needed* to do a long run that weekend ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

+1 to this. I gave up listening to music while running earlier this year and have never looked back. I never thought I'd enjoy it so I was surprised to find out that I prefer it! I'm much more aware of myself and my surroundings without music. I highly recommend it!
    Me too. I replaced RunKeeper on a phone with music with a Garmin a couple of months ago.

I still miss the music a bit on the long runs. It used to help me to zone out a bit (and its great when you've run a couple of miles without hardly realising you've been running at all). But its good to get rid of the armband and the phone and the earphones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭Kerry Gooner

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Hi Kerry Gooner, well done in what sounds like tough enough conditions. Any chance of a race report?
    Link here to great blog covering the race
    https://rigbag.wordpress.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

Really???!!

Nahh, I'd hardly enjoy it but it does sound good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 limoncella

Hello fellow runners. Been reading the thread for a few weeks but just getting around to posting now that everything is all booked for the marathon. I actually ran the Dublin marathon in 2011 (but didn't find this thread until 2012) I started running less than year before that though and DCM was my first race, which seems crazy now looking back with several years of running under my belt. I basically went from c25k to marathon and did pretty good considering how clueless I was about most things. I actually trained for Dublin in 2012 and 2013 after finding the novices thread but had to pull out of both, once for an injury and once because life got in the way. I'm really wanting to do Dublin again because it was so much fun the first time. I live in France (am American though) and the racing scene here isn't nearly as cheery as it is in Dublin. The reason I'm in the novices thread is that the marathon feels new to me. Additionally, I took much of the last year "off" of running for PBs and doing races. I was feeling a bit burned out and just decided to lay off the PB/racing grind and just ran with my dogs for fun. I focused more on strength training as well.
    What is your athletics background? Have you run before? What other sports have you taken part in and at what level?
    Running since 2011
    Volleyball
    weight lifting

Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)

2011: Dublin Marathon 5:26
    2013 romaostia half 2:16

Done loads of half marathons but Romaostia was my best time. I usually come in around 2.20 but I used to do a lot of back to back halfs (like 1 week apart) so I think that's why my times didn't improve much (and why I burned out).

Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training? not usually
    How much training do you currently do incl cross training?
    running 2-4 times a week between 5-12k
    weight lifting 4-5 times per week
    various gym classes 2 times a week (aerobic)
    Volleyball 1x per week but the season is ending
    Walk the dogs at least 5km everyday that I don't run with them

What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in no specified time?
    My main goal is to stick to the plan and be injury free. I hope to beat my previous time so under 5:26, really hoping to get under 5, but in all honestly I'll be happy to finish.
    What marathon programme are you following/intending to use?
    HH1

Thanks for having me! I'm looking forward to this thread and seeing everyone's progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

I run using 1000 mile socks (was wearing the breeze type ones) also during the race on Saturday. It's the first blister I've had in about 18 months so maybe just one of these things. Last time I was fitted for runners in AK I was told I was wearing shoes too big (was in size 12 Brooks Adrenaline) but have been in Saucony Breakthru's size 10.5 since Jan and they've been great. Looking into getting a second pair or else maybe some Kinvara's. I have 300K on the Breakthru's and guess I should alternate with another pair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Hi Singer,

While the other guys have already been dealing with the recovery aspect I will actually take a look from a performance perspective.

Running at Marathon pace too frequently will actually make you less efficient for running marathons:

Without getting too technical running at this intensity will impact the following too aspects:

Muscle Fibre recruitment - Slow easy running will be focused more towards type I fibres which contain the most mitochondrial density (basically the things which take oxygen from the blood and absorb it into muscles). Running at this intensity will lend itself to more fast/intermediate twitch fibre recruitment which are less fatigue resistant and and contain less mitochondria.

Think of this like trying to win a drinking contest with a straw when you are able to chug.

Fuel - Easy running focuses on burning fat as a fuel source. There is roughly a 2 hour supply of carbs. Running at Marathon Effort increases the rate of glycogen break down so we are training to become more efficient at training at that pace (feels easier to sustain marathon pace) however the fuel supply doesn't change and ultimately unless you are a Kenya running the WR you are going to exceed this time and as such you will still hit the wall.

The easier pace runs allow the body to get used to putting fat into the mix. Essentially we are watering down the fuel supply to allow the body to have enough to survive the shortage in the later stages of the race. The longer you are on your feet the more important this is (+4hr running be it marathons or ultra's)

I know it seems contradictory but running slower for the most part will lead to a faster and easier day come October.

Nice & simply put Myles. As a matter of interest, do you have a background in science/sports science/ biology - I've read here for years about going slow to go fast but that's the clearest & simplest I've seen if put

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

kit3 wrote: »
    Nice & simply put Myles. As a matter of interest, do you have a background in science/sports science/ biology - I've read here for years about going slow to go fast but that's the clearest & simplest I've seen if put

Thanks kit3,

Small bit of formal education in Biology and Physiology but never my main field of studies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭RandRuns

Link here to great blog covering the race

Thanks for that Kerry Gooner, glad you like the blog!

diego_b wrote: »
    I run using 1000 mile socks (was wearing the breeze type ones) also during the race on Saturday. It's the first blister I've had in about 18 months so maybe just one of these things.

I bet it is (just one of those things).

I am also running in the 1000mile socks also (for training and racing) and I also can't remember the last time I had a blister. And I'm very happy with the nice spacious trainers I've been running in for the past year (not the same pair all the time ... just the same model).

It was probably the combination of longer-distance & harder-effort during the race that caused it for you (mine came on after a 15.5 mile run with lots of hills ...).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 marf

Targeting 10 min mile for DCM so what pace should I be running my LSR? Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Thanks kit3,

Small bit of formal education in Biology and Physiology but never my main field of studies.

Thought you might have had some formal studies in that area all right. Given your background, do you take a scientific approach to your own running ? Were you a runner first (as a kid/teenager), then study & cop on how it applied to running or did you take up running and apply your former studies ? Hope you don't mind the questions - it's interesting to see how someone with that type of background approaches it as opposed to someone who hasn't a clue of the science and just muddles through (aka me :o)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

marf wrote: »
    Targeting 10 min mile for DCM so what pace should I be running my LSR? Thanks!

The pace guide recommends doing LSRs at 45 to 90 seconds slower than marathon pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

limoncella wrote: »
    Hello fellow runners. Been reading the thread for a few weeks but just getting around to posting now that everything is all booked for the marathon. I actually ran the Dublin marathon in 2011 (but didn't find this thread until 2012) I started running less than year before that though and DCM was my first race, which seems crazy now looking back with several years of running under my belt. I basically went from c25k to marathon and did pretty good considering how clueless I was about most things. I actually trained for Dublin in 2012 and 2013 after finding the novices thread but had to pull out of both, once for an injury and once because life got in the way. I'm really wanting to do Dublin again because it was so much fun the first time. I live in France (am American though) and the racing scene here isn't nearly as cheery as it is in Dublin. The reason I'm in the novices thread is that the marathon feels new to me. Additionally, I took much of the last year "off" of running for PBs and doing races. I was feeling a bit burned out and just decided to lay off the PB/racing grind and just ran with my dogs for fun. I focused more on strength training as well.
    What is your athletics background? Have you run before? What other sports have you taken part in and at what level?
    Running since 2011
    Volleyball
    weight lifting

Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)

2011: Dublin Marathon 5:26
    2013 romaostia half 2:16

Done loads of half marathons but Romaostia was my best time. I usually come in around 2.20 but I used to do a lot of back to back halfs (like 1 week apart) so I think that's why my times didn't improve much (and why I burned out).

Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training? not usually
    How much training do you currently do incl cross training?
    running 2-4 times a week between 5-12k
    weight lifting 4-5 times per week
    various gym classes 2 times a week (aerobic)
    Volleyball 1x per week but the season is ending
    Walk the dogs at least 5km everyday that I don't run with them

What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Or just complete it in no specified time?
    My main goal is to stick to the plan and be injury free. I hope to beat my previous time so under 5:26, really hoping to get under 5, but in all honestly I'll be happy to finish.
    What marathon programme are you following/intending to use?
    HH1

Thanks for having me! I'm looking forward to this thread and seeing everyone's progress.

Hi Limoncella, welcome to this year's thread :) Lovely to see a nice few years of running behind you. Yeah, your HM schedule sounds like it was hard going alright, I think you did the right thing to ease off. Your mileage is low enough right now so don't escalate anything too drastically. What races do you have planned over the next 18 weeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,067 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Phoebas wrote: »
    The pace guide recommends doing LSRs at 45 to 90 seconds slower than marathon pace.

Whats that for those of us in km land?

Looking at the McMillan calculator, if I want a marathon time of 4.45 my pace should be 6.45 minutes per/km. So should my LSR pace be 45-90 seconds slower than that? 7.30 mp/k?

Ooooh in advance, it is late but:

Km:mile = 1000m:1609m (let's call it 1600....)
    So roughly km pace should be 30-60 seconds slower= 7:15 to 7:45 pace. Have I got that right? Meno or Murph D heeeeeelp.....:D*

* I owned up right from the start in my log "I am also not a mathematician...." :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

So roughly km pace should be 30-60 seconds slower= 7:15 to 7:45 pace. Have I got that right? Meno or Murph D heeeeeelp.....:D*

* I owned up right from the start in my log "I am also not a mathematician...." :o

Something I think I can help with.......

I think the agreed logic is that your LSR pace should be 45-90 secs PER MILE slower, so:

6:45min/km = 10:48min/mile

10:48 + 0:45 - 1:30 = 11:33 - 12:18min/mile

11:33 - 12:18min/mile = 7:13 - 7:41min/km

I think that's right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Sounds good to me, I got 7:13-7:41 using a race pace calculator. I should be in bed, not doing sums :confused: Well impressed with nop98 getting all bilingual with his paces. I will never get used to Km. Still freak out when I'm on the M50 and see the speedometer going over 100....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

McMillan helpfully provides training paces in both Km and Miles... just use the calculator :D there's a little button that says Km... I use it all the time :)

yaboya1 wrote: »

I think the agreed logic is that your LSR pace should be 45-90 secs PER MILE slower, so:

I think that's right?

Snap! It just took me longer....:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Sounds good to me, I got 7:13-7:41 using a race pace calculator. I should be in bed, not doing sums :confused: Well impressed with nop98 getting all bilingual with his paces. I will never get used to Km. Still freak out when I'm on the M50 and see the speedometer going over 100....

imperialists, the lot of yiz... :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Still freak out when I'm on the M50 and see the speedometer going over 100....

You obviously don't drive on the M50 during rush hour.......

No, thankfully. I believe it's a car park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

annapr wrote: »
    McMillan helpfully provides training paces in both Km and Miles... just use the calculator :D there's a little button that says Km... I use it all the time :)

Anna a woman after my own heart none of this mind calculations ....it's too late us runners should be asleep !!! Sounds good to me !

I think that's right?
    'S what I said innit :p;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer