England fans in Temple Bar Tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭gooner99

Walked through there bout 8.probably 50 - 100 england fans outside a pub, well on but just singing.plenty uniformed guards about, few guards on horse back, 2 guards with dogs, lots or marked and unmarked vans with riot squad in back. Went for a bite to eat and when leaving the riot squad and a big paddy wagen were taking a walk through.id say just making their presence felt. Id imagine english police would be keeping them informed of any known trouble makers if any were in the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Well, one things for sure, the england fans are being completely ripped off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Collie D wrote: »
    confiscating flags and banners from home fans

And why not seeing as home fans typically have no respect for the flag to begin with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

Cienciano wrote: »
    Well, one things for sure, the england fans are being completely ripped off.

Following their team all over the world playing that type of scutter for the last 50 years they're well used to it.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Temple Bar looks like Blade Runner's LA 2019 on a very low budget with those lit mobile signs and rickshaws

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Darpa

Temple Bar looks like Blade Runner's LA 2019 on a very low budget with those lit mobile signs and rickshaws

oi arry eve it awt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

JustTheOne wrote: »
    My dear friend, you need to educate yourself before making such wild assumptions and accusations.

The Germans drove many to an early grave because we couldn't pay back money, seriously?

people died cause of the recession - people i know - so less of the patronising ****e - Germany did us little favours in our time of economic need , they wanted all debt payed to there precocious bankers & investors . Obviously they weren't solely to blame , but the British were much better friends to us in our time of economic need

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I've just left the oval pub in Dublin with my mate and received a very important lesson.

Apparently Roy Hodgson is taking his team to Paris and Britain never surrendered to the IRA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭LincolnsBeard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

About time the poxy Wolfe Tones were decommissioned. Remove the banjos and bury them under concrete...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

Time to grow up ffs. Them days are gone. "English knackers" says yer man when there were kids there with their dads supporting England who have no recollection of the troubles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Darpa

Where's the obligatory lad with the Celtic top and the "NO to Foreign Games" sign ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭chair28

FalconGirl wrote: »
    Time to grow up ffs. Them days are gone. English knackers says yer man when there were kids there with their dads supporting England who have no recollection of the troubles.

I really don't understand this attitude of "lets forget the past" bullsh1t. its only a few years ago that they were murdering innocent people on the streets of this island. Thats hard to take and stupid friendlies like this mean nothing.
    ya have idiots saying that they are their second favourite team now.... are we really that thick and easily fooled.

Yep it was Tony and Harry from Brighton over for the weekend that done killed them all. Jesus, by that logic we're all 'RA bombers down at Canary Wharf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

chair28 wrote: »
    I really don't understand this attitude of "lets forget the past" bullsh1t. its only a few years ago that they were murdering innocent people on the streets of this island. Thats hard to take and stupid friendlies like this mean nothing..

The England national football team were murdering innocent people in Ireland a few years ago?

I knew John Terry had character flaws but wow.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Yep it was Tony and Harry from Brighton over for the weekend that done killed them all. Jesus, by that logic we're all 'RA bombers down at Canary Wharf.

Could very well be Tony and Harry it was so recently. they people who did it arent even dead yet and We're licking English arse. Its pitiful to be honest.

The England national football team were murdering innocent people in Ireland a few years ago?

I knew John Terry had character flaws but wow.

Is that really what you got from my message or have you nothing better to say?

I don't really think i need to explain what i meant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

I really don't understand this attitude of "lets forget the past" bullsh1t. its only a few years ago that they were murdering innocent people on the streets of this island. Thats hard to take and stupid friendlies like this mean nothing.
    ya have idiots saying that they are their second favourite team now.... are we really that thick and easily fooled.

Im not saying forget the past. Steady progress is being made up North for republicans through democratic means. Both sides had casualtys and its better for everyone if we can move forward peacefully and have the English as Allies rather than enemies.

Of course we should never forget what happened but there is a time to move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

thebaz wrote: »
    people died cause of the recession - people i know - so less of the patronising ****e - Germany did us little favours in our time of economic need , they wanted all debt payed to there precocious bankers & investors . Obviously they weren't solely to blame , but the British were much better friends to us in our time of economic need

britain gave a loan to ireland. they didn't bail anyone out. they gave a loan which had significantly better interest rates than what they would have gotten on the open market, so we still ended up paying them back at rates similar to the ECB and IMF loans.

FalconGirl wrote: »
    Im not saying forget the past. Steady progress is being made up North for republicans through democratic means. Both sides had casualtys and its better for everyone if we can move forward peacefully and have the English as Allies rather than enemies.

Of course we should never forget what happened but there is a time to move on.

Sorry FalconGirl, i dont accept that, how can it be just that easy to move on. They have done some pretty ****ty things to us, walked all over us for years cos they could. You could write an essay about all they horrible things that has happened in the last 50 years alone. That to me cant be forgotten that easily.

What do you mean as Allies? we're a neutral nation that dont need allies.

britain gave a loan to ireland. they didn't bail anyone out. they gave a loan which had significantly better interest rates than what they would have gotten on the open market, so we still ended up paying them back at rates similar to the ECB and IMF loans.

This is the kinda thing im talking about Ballsy, Irish people hear something and believe it as gospel. They probably heard it down the pub that we got free money.....
    Without sounding too critical on ourselves,we can be very gullible and simple sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Is that really what you got from my message or have you nothing better to say?

I don't really think i need to explain what i meant.

I just don't understand what Roy Hodgson and his team have to do with political stuff that happened before his players were even born. Although I hear Danny Welbeck's father Stan Welbeck, used to work I'm Bomb difusal.

Again, is that what you think i meant or are you just a wind up merchant?

Either that or your incredibly stupid..... what i dont think ya are to be fair to ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

So, similar but not the same?

They were getting better rates from us..... IE they were benefiting more from the deal while looking like the nice guys that people seem to think they are now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

They were getting better rates from us..... IE they were benefiting more from the deal while looking like the nice guys that people seem to think they are now

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-14256280

similar.... broadly in line with... whatever phrase you're having yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-14256280

similar.... broadly in line with... whatever phrase you're having yourself.

Capitalism at its finest then. Depressing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

This is the kinda thing im talking about Ballsy, Irish people hear something and believe it as gospel. They probably heard it down the pub that we got free money.....

Hearing it down the pub is probably a better source of information than a Wolfe Tone's album
    Without sounding too critical on ourselves,we can be very gullible and simple sometimes

Now there's a fine bit of irony