If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The rave thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

RIP Billo. A sad loss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Dat burds voice on dublincity morning drive...will give alison curtis a close second

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭rom

Warming up with a random guy tonight who has an age cat national record and is only running 2 years after a 30 year break. I was saying he must have been handy back in the day. He ran a 14:22 5k. Rave: meeting random people at races. Met a guy with a age cat world record one day, not that he said it but I knew who he was once he told me what distance he ran.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

Getting married to a fellow A/R boardsie Rainbow Kirby last Saturday in my home town. A relationship that would never happened if it wasn't for this forum :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Getting married to a fellow A/R boardsie Rainbow Kirby last Saturday in my home town. A relationship that would never happened if it wasn't for this forum :-)

She should be raving about getting hooked to a blue ;)

Congrats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭johnruns

Now that is a RAVE congrats to you both:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭Larry Brent

Fantastic! Congratulations and best of luck to both of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭ger664

Congrats and best of luck to both of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭aero2k

Great to have met you both IRL - here's wishing you a long and happy life and many happy miles together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Congratulations & the very best of luck to you both.

As a matter of interest, any other romances start here ( outside of the 'golden couple' ;) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

kit3 wrote: »
    Congratulations & the very best of luck to you both.

As a matter of interest, any other romances start here ( outside of the 'golden couple' ;) )

TRR & himself!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭pgmcpq

Congrats to both of you !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

tang1 wrote: »
    TRR & himself!!

That love affair was started well before I/We started posting here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

I've been cycling/running into & out of work along the Grand Canal all year & have been severely hassled by an aggressive swan who has been guarding a nest - have had to go around on occasion it was so bad. All worth it this morning to see this (picture not the best as he was still protective)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Clearlier

It's a small thing but I realised yesterday that since the firmware upgrade a year or two ago not only has my garmin stopped going mental every time a bead of sweat hits it, it can also handle torrential rain as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭KJ

I've just registered for Castleknock 5k, Trim Braveheart 5k, Docklands 5k, Dublin Front Runners 5k and Rathfarnham 5k.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

robinph wrote: »

Does it actually work?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

chickey2 wrote: »
    Does it actually work?

It was certainly doing it's magic a few hours ago and will send them back to sleep if they are starting to stir.

My posting at 4am shows that the magic is not 100% effective though.

If nothing else it sends me to sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Ron Gomall

Injury nearly over (strained ligaments), back running in 7 days - happiness is :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,293 ✭✭✭✭walshb

KJ wrote: »
    I've just registered for Castleknock 5k, Trim Braveheart 5k, Docklands 5k, Dublin Front Runners 5k and Rathfarnham 5k.

Why not just do a half marathon?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭KJ

walshb wrote: »
    Why not just do a half marathon?:)
    I'm saving myself for the Rock n' Roll half in August. My first ever half marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,293 ✭✭✭✭walshb

KJ wrote: »
    I'm saving myself for the Rock n' Roll half in August. My first ever half marathon.

Best of luck with it! I hope to see a rave about it when you finish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭opus

Getting the opportunity to meet this gentleman last Monday :cool:

1zevwwk.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

opus wrote: »
    Getting the opportunity to meet this gentleman last Monday :cool:

1zevwwk.jpg

Well done on the 'Up' PB opus. :)
    Are you gonna give us some sort of report?
    Presume you'll have to go for a 'Down' PB next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

I did it! Solo dinghy sailing. Delighted, wetsuit not too frightening either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

aquinn wrote: »
    I did it! Solo dinghy sailing. Delighted, wetsuit not too frightening either.

Picture ?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Fish Tacos. Food of the gods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

annapr wrote:
    Picture ?!?

No chance. Picture mental hair and actually a lot less screaming and cursing than anticipated by myself and instructor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Christopher McDougall. His stories are somewhat fantastical, but he really does write them well. Started Natural Born Heroes last night and was hooked immediately. Woke up at 6 to read some more this morning and was somewhat p1ssed off that I had to leave it to come to work.