Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Eircom apprenticeship

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭GLC

Got an email this morning also, again July to September. September would be ideal as I have holidays booked for August but sure whatever happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 pollyfunnel

It's becoming a long drawn out process. Here's hoping the ones they choose stay with them this time!!!!

I know the last week has been torture for me knowing other ones had received emails so I can sympathise with anyone who is yet to hear, don't give up hope just yet though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭arccosh

if I hadn't heard anything yet, I'd take it as a good sign, what it was like for us, majority of people got their PFO contact fairly soon when the offers started coming out

arccosh wrote: »
    if I hadn't heard anything yet, I'd take it as a good sign, what it was like for us, majority of people got their PFO contact fairly soon when the offers started coming out

But the thing is no one seems to have heard anything......so it can't be a good sign for everybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Rgdajd

Wel lads I got an email dos morning askin me to complete my background check , I rang to find out more and from my understanding they offered 25 positions for each start date July August September some of them rang back and said they are goin on holidays etc so basically at the minute they are re jogging the 75 people as best as they can to suit the applicants needs , I can presume that if some one tells them they are not available to start on all three they would say bye bye and give number 76 a ring or email and offer them the position , so that's is probably why there is so many left in limbo because there is stil a chance for some of ye depending on your number

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭arccosh

people have had offers, some haven't, obviously they're working their way through, I'd be taking it as no news is good news at the moment

I'd be taking it as.....we're fecked with a capital F!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭feelpablo

I'd be taking it as.....we're fecked with a capital F!!!!

certainly looks that way

I must say though of 220 people assessed and only 75 positions, they should have been able to let people on the lower end of the panel know that they have been unsuccessful. Not very fair to people to keep them waiting this long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

Rgdajd wrote: »
    Wel lads I got an email dos morning askin me to complete my background check , I rang to find out more and from my understanding they offered 25 positions for each start date July August September some of them rang back and said they are goin on holidays etc so basically at the minute they are re jogging the 75 people as best as they can to suit the applicants needs , I can presume that if some one tells them they are not available to start on all three they would say bye bye and give number 76 a ring or email and offer them the position , so that's is probably why there is so many left in limbo because there is stil a chance for some of ye depending on your number

So you are saying positions that people got offered today were originally given to someone else that didnt take them

Although I was told that there hiring three lots of 25, so this is only the second take. All we can do is hope that there is one more take of 25. However the agony continues to at least next tuesday!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 georgeo17

Hi

Just seen this thread today when searching the Internet trying to see if anybody got information back yet on the apprenticeships.

I haven't heard anything myself yet but I have heard from an internal source that there was a shortlist of 90 to 100 drawn up and the successful applicants will be selected from that in groups of 15 or 20 at a time, and the unsuccessful applicatiants only hearing their faith after all the offers have been accepted.

I believe from reading this that alot of people have received offers already. Nontheless for the people that haven't heard yet(including me) there is still every chance of getting the position.

So you rekon they could be taking up to 100 people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Rgdajd

thekopend wrote: »
    So you are saying positions that people got offered today were originally given to someone else that didnt take them

Quite possible I'm only summising I got my offer the first day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

thekopend wrote: »
    So you rekon they could be taking up to 100 people?

A short-list of 90-100! Meaning they'll choose their 75 from that list.

I've heard nothing yet either by the by.

I cant see them only offering about 10 places at a time......at the rate there going that would take weeks. Surely they will have to wrap it up in the next two weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭TheInspector

Just got a phone call there asking me my earliest start date and if I need to give my current employer notice and how long. Seems like I'll be starting August the first by the sounds of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Mcbaine1990

Just got a phone call there asking me my earliest start date and if I need to give my current employer notice and how long. Seems like I'll be starting August the first by the sounds of it.

I only received my offer on Wednesday but I got the same call today. Was told I'll be put into the first group starting in July

Wonder does that mean not all the places are offered if ye are starting so early after only getting offers or is there just a heap that cant start early.

I'd say all places are offered and the rest of us may take a run and jump for ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 georgeo17

It's not looking good for us alright... oh well all we can do is wait. ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭HoggyRS

Got the call about the start date too and hoping to get into the first group to as i might have to go abroad with my current employer for work for the summer if they want me to wait on till august/sept

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 jimd123

Did anyone that got an early offer get an email to fill out a background form? I got it today filled it out got an email back in a language that looks like German

It seems one messy recruitment process...... There all over the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭HoggyRS

Think there is a crowd starting today; a lad at work randomly saw on snapchat that his mate was starting a new job at eircom today and he reckoned it was the apprenticeship! So don't take it as fact but seems that way!

Must be graduates lad. Apprentices arent starting till july

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Horse84

Has anyone heard about medicals or anything yet? It's all turning out to be a very messy process. Nobody seems to know what's happening. It wouldn't give a person a huge pile of faith in the apprenticeship as whole if this is a measure of how it's going to be run.

Horse84 wrote: »
    Has anyone heard about medicals or anything yet? It's all turning out to be a very messy process. Nobody seems to know what's happening. It wouldn't give a person a huge pile of faith in the apprenticeship as whole if this is a measure of how it's going to be run.
    It's not Eircom in charge of the recruitment process though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Horse84

GLC wrote: »
    It's not Eircom in charge of the recruitment process though.

I'm aware. They should still be on top of things however.