Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Turning a mule into a race horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Runchick

Geez PM you are flying! Amazing progress, well done :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Sunday

A very nice half km run alongside my daughter who was doing her first ever race - a 1km in length kids fun run at the national sports campus. I had told her to take it easy out there and enjoy it and if she had a bit left in the tank at the end to speed up but the most important thing for me was to see her happy and smiling at the end. There will be plenty of time for her to run eyeballs out races but for now it's just about the fun aspect. 6:05 for 1km and a very proud me.

On the reverse side of that I saw some parents there absolutely roaring at their kids and one in particular - well I felt like going out on course and clothes lining the daft cow. Her child was roaring crying, in great distress, hanging on for dear life and she running beside him shouting at him to cop on, he won't be allowed out to run again if he's such a cry baby etc. Made my blood boil :mad:

Monday

Not related to the above but a general day of absolute pissed offness ensued. Some personal stuff off boards and some historical bullsh!t on boards left me really pissed off. :mad: Top tip folks: Be very careful who you PM slagging off the community here with snide remarks. It could well bite you in the ass some day. PMs are of course private but don't expect to hide behind them for ever. Enough said about that for the moment but suffice to say it added fuel to a fire. Also only had a 30 min window left in the day to get a run in before baby sitting duties tonight. So I'm out the door quite worked up for 30 minutes. Schedule was for 4 easy miles. Didn't have time for that and didn't want to run easy. Wanted to run some steam off so warmed up with a brisk walk up to my usual starting point and decided to open it up on a strava segment I haven't ran since last December. 1:40 off my previous best on this and a CR too. Felt a good bit better after that.

Total approx 3 miles.

Promise a more cheerful post next time. :pac:

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Just catching up now (log backlog is at #stupid), that sounds like a great race and well done on the PB! Pacing is a funny one - as I have learned - but p, and it has been said before, you are definitely going to have to think about changing your moniker. Mule is no longer appropriate ;)

.... More cheerful post as promised :cool:

Cheers :) Some day the moniker will change again but for now just happy to be seeing progress away from the mule end. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Ah jaysus there was no need for the PM drama. Careful now, you could start sounding like Netwirk Orrur. :)

Murph_D wrote: »
    Ah jaysus there was no need for the PM drama. Careful now, you could start sounding like Netwirk Orrur. :)

Only if I delete it this morning ! ;)

Ah there kind of was a need for me personally. If I didn't rant a little here I would have ended up posting the pms and calling out directly the person involved - and I would most likely have ended up with a forum ban :) Itch scratched a bit. They know who they are from it. Might encourage them to think twice in future. I'm moving on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Only if I delete it this morning ! ;)

Nah, deleted all mine last night. Posted about 10 rants in reply to Murph but they were lacking passion so I binned them. Feeling lazy this morning so I'm just going to go with the ol classic.

Fup off Murph:pac:

Actual rant: email notifications:mad::D

Nah, deleted all mine last night. Posted about 10 rants in reply to Murph but they were lacking passion so I binned them. Feeling lazy this morning so I'm just going to go with the ol classic.

Lol. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Lol. :D

Well played sir!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Email notifications for the win!! Soon as that ding goes you're on the clock!! :D

Tuesday

5.5 miles easy avg 9:18

Fraction faster than easy so or easy is becoming faster ! Had the headphones in and Beastie Boys Fight For Your Right To Party was responsible for part of that speed - pace increased without me realising. What a kickass song to run to. :pac:

Wednesday

4.5 miles - 2 ST, 1MP, 1St 0.5 E

9:00, 8:56, 8:37, 8:55, 9:41

Sore feet once again for this. Stretching and rolling like a lunatic these days but feel like I'm fighting a losing battle. Pace wise an absolute doddle. Easily hit the times.

Have you adjusted pace to match your recent PBs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

I've a lot of logs to catch up on so just getting to this. Well done P on the 5k result. Great to see you making progress.

You lost me on the whole PM drama thing though???:confused:

Murph_D wrote: »
    Have you adjusted pace to match your recent PBs?

I've been gradually bringing down the paces as things progressed. Easy pace had originally been set at 9:45 when ECOLII done up the plan. Some of the calculators are setting easy as 9:00 direction now but they would also champion a 3:37 marathon and that's way too optimistic IMO. I'm balancing between the two and were I feel I am effort wise each day.

RedRunner wrote: »
    I've a lot of logs to catch up on so just getting to this. Well done P on the 5k result. Great to see you making progress.

You lost me on the whole PM drama thing though???:confused:

Cheers R.

Yeah that's come across as a random rant with no explanation. The fundraiser I setup around the Bohermeen half marathon was for a cause very close to me. The support that was received was awesome. It was a truly special thing to witness, be a part of and to see just how great this forum and the majority of posters here are. A real community event that I can't put into words how much it meant to me and Zachs family.

It turns out that there were certain conversations taking place in private that had the opposite opinion. The fund raiser was ridiculous, it had no place on a running forum, shouldn't have been allowed by mods, was organised by a clique within the community and was an internet dick waving contest to see who was more generous - a vanity excercise on everyone's part. I saw screenshots of this the other night and it has really pissed me off especially given that on the public board these people pretend to be supporting of me and the community.

It would be wrong to post up screen shots of private messages no matter how ****ty they are and I won't be doing that but I just had to vent a bit the other night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Cheers R.

Yeah that's come across as a random rant with no explanation. The fundraiser I setup around the Bohermeen half marathon was for a cause very close to me. The support that was received was awesome. It was a truly special thing to witness, be a part of and to see just how great this forum and the majority of posters here are. A real community event that I can't put into words how much it meant to me and Zachs family.

It turns out that there were certain conversations taking place in private that had the opposite opinion. The fund raiser was ridiculous, it had no place on a running forum, shouldn't have been allowed by mods, was organised by a clique within the community and was an internet dick waving contest to see who was more generous - a vanity excercise on everyone's part. I saw screenshots of this the other night and it has really pissed me off especially given that on the public board these people pretend to be supporting of me and the community.

It would be wrong to post up screen shots of private messages no matter how ****ty they are and I won't be doing that but I just had to vent a bit the other night.

Really surprised to read this PM. The fundraising event was one of the most positive things I've seen on here in a long time & I thought it showed a great community spirit & was great fun. I suppose you'll find dickheads everywhere - some people have a very narrow view on what should be on here - I can't understand this one though! Forget about it - people like that aren't worth worrying about. It was a great initiative & a credit to yourself & Ecoil. I hope that had nothing to do with Ecoli closing his account !

kit3 wrote: »
    Really surprised to read this PM. The fundraising event was one of the most positive things I've seen on here in a long time & I thought it showed a great community spirit & was great fun. I suppose you'll find dickheads everywhere - some people have a very narrow view on what should be on here - I can't understand this one though! Forget about it - people like that aren't worth worrying about. It was a great initiative & a credit to yourself & Ecoil. I hope that had nothing to do with Ecoli closing his account !

Thanks Kit

I hope it didn't either. Tbh don't know if he was aware of it before now (and only would be because reading why I was off plan) I am forgetting about it now though and viewing it as a lesson learned in true colours. I ran it off the other day and had a rant here but it kind of needed an explanation I suppose before people thought I had lost my mind over something childish. :)

Jaypers. The drama indeed. Don't sweat it - it was a good thing you did and the vast majority can see that plainly.

Back to business, 3:37 marathon, why not? No bother to you if you can stay injury free. And by at least one measure that's now your marathon training pace whether you believe it or not. Much easier than a sub-20 5k, if you ask me! Keep up the good work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Wow. I could only see "good" in the fundraiser thing and it was all centred around a running event so seems well placed on this forum IMO.

I can see how that might pi55 you off alright!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

RedRunner wrote: »
    Wow. I could only see "good" in the fundraiser thing and it was all centred around a running event so seems well placed on this forum IMO.

I can see how that might pi55 you off alright!

+ 1 to that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Some serious wands out there PM, dont let them bother you. What you did was a generous, honest and most importantly kind thing, if some people cant see that they have serious issues. Fook the begrudgers. And savage running in Johnstownbrige, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

It was a fantastic thing to organize, and well done on the money raised. I remember being quite busy in work at that time and it always seemed like a very fast-moving thread anytime I dipped in. To be honest, there was a lot of 'banter' that could have made it seem cliquey ( I don't know most of the people that posted there, so I don't know if it was a clique as such). I just didn't really get involved because I don't understand handicap betting that much and it was just confusing...gimme normal odds any day :D

PaulieC wrote: »
    It was a fantastic thing to organize, and well done on the money raised. I remember being quite busy in work at that time and it always seemed like a very fast-moving thread anytime I dipped in. To be honest, there was a lot of 'banter' that could have made it seem cliquey ( I don't know most of the people that posted there, so I don't know if it was a clique as such). I just didn't really get involved because I don't understand handicap betting that much and it was just confusing...gimme normal odds any day :D

Ha no chance of normal odds in that scenario. That was the only way to level the playing field and give anyone a chance to win it. Perhaps once involved in the thread there was a group vibe to it but anyone could be in the group :) There was over 40 seperate donations made to that - that's way too big to be a clique.

And tbvh that aspect would p!ss me off the least if at all. It's the other views that sent me ranting :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

I have to say the amount of sh1te on here is unbelievable, it's like listening to a bunch of pre-teen girls* ... who said what to who, blah blah. It is just boring.

And to be clear, PM, that's not directed at you... I thought your sweepstakes was great fun and in great spirit and I wouldn't let that other stuff get you down. If people don't have the integrity to comment in public on a public forum, then it's not worth even considering their comments.

Edit: *this is not a sexist comment, I'm speaking from experience of pre-teen girls :) for all I know, pre-teen boys are just as bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I thought that thread and event was nothing but positive and as others have said to you; one of the few positive things to happen on this forum recently.

So your news is shocking Pat but unfortunately not surprising :rolleyes:.

PaulieC wrote: »

I suppose it depends on how you view the banter - I didn't do Bohermeen because it was just after Donadea but that thread made me wish I was doing it. Not doing it didn't stop me getting involved in the thread though & I loved the whole thing - I was never made to feel that I shouldn't post there.

annapr wrote: »
    I have to say the amount of sh1te on here is unbelievable, it's like listening to a bunch of pre-teen girls* ... who said what to who, blah blah. It is just boring.

Edit: *this is not a sexist comment, I'm speaking from experience of pre-teen girls :) for all I know, pre-teen boys are just as bad

For information - in my experience, pre-teen boys are more the silent grunty types ;)

annapr wrote: »

And to be clear, PM, that's not directed at you... I thought your sweepstakes was great fun and in great spirit and I wouldn't let that other stuff get you down. If people don't have the integrity to comment in public on a public forum, then it's not worth even considering their comments.

Ah to be fair me posting about it in the first place is only adding to it. When Murph said there was no need for the PM drama he was probably right. Could have just left it as was pissed off and done a silly blowout run. :) Will shut up now and let it die down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

For information - in my experience, pre-teen boys are more the silent grunty types ;)

Indeed, and some of us never get past that stage.

davedanon wrote: »
    Indeed, and some of us never get past that stage.

Thanks for adding that - I sooooo wanted to but thought I'd be nice seeing as it's PM's log ;)

Don't let me stop you :)