Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Same Sex Marriage Referendum Mega Thread - MOD WARNING IN FIRST POST

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Heat_Wave

I don't know how people think it will be a close one, as in 52% Yes to 48% No

As my aunt said earlier - 'Jesus Heat Wave, where have all these gays come from. They're even coming out of the woodwork'.

If the whole gay population are voting then of course the No vote will be outnumbered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Merry Prankster

mrkiscool2 wrote: »
    Not mrkiscool2's quote. A quote quoted in mrkiscool2's post:

NO will definitely count today czs every homo is a danger to every child out ther. Since they do not have guts to directly approach adults for sex, so children are ther sure targets. So if we allow thm to adopt am convinced they r going to abuse de adopted children. It is an uncontrollable sexual urge.

To be honest, I'd view a prospective parent's linguistic capability as being more important than their sex...

EDIT: Although that's a bit snidey too. Love...that's the biggie that all parents need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,792 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

Icepick wrote: »
    What reasons other than bigotry and ignorance are there to vote no?

2 silly ones I can think of:
    - you can't afford more weddings
    - you think marriage shouldn't be a government matter in the first place

because think of the children.

despite the fact that.

Even if they get married gay people still can't create life.
    Gay couples can already adopt.
    Jesus the guy who spent his life with 12 men and never had kids thinks gays are wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

Anita Blow wrote: »

That's interesting alright, though very open to interpretation. Did the Tweeter simply mean that the presence of a person who had campaigned extensively for NO votes in the voting centre was a discouragement to people to vote? It seems ridiculous (and still unbelieveable . . to me anyway) that somebody actively tried to stop a voter from voting while they were working at the vote centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

c_man wrote: »
    When should we hear about initial exit polls?
    Irish media don't do exit polls. There should be a general idea when the boxes are open and the actual story will start becoming clear around lunchtime. It will all be over tomorrow in the late afternoon or early evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭nathang20

I think its safe to say, either side has won, by all accounts it could go either way, its going to be close. By this time tomorrow night, we'll all know which side has won.

Jesus the guy who spent his life with 12 men and never had kids thinks gays are wrong

There's no evidence in scriptures to suggest what Jesus thought about gay people.

I was living in Kildare....

But you have a point, if I was living proper down the country, there would have been no one around to call me lezzer. :D

will ya shtop that plkace is practically dublin!!

That's cos we're too busy on the tractors to care, we don't care about what or who ya **** once ya can draw bales!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

Heat_Wave wrote: »
    I don't know how people think it will be a close one, as in 52% Yes to 48% No

As my aunt said earlier - 'Jesus Heat Wave, where have all these gays come from. They're even coming out of the woodwork'.

If the whole gay population are voting then of course the No vote will be outnumbered.

She will go to hell for using some lords name in vain. At least there will constantly be a heat wave there :)

nathang20 wrote: »
    I think its safe to say, either side has won, by all accounts it could go either way, its going to be close. By this time tomorrow night, we'll all know which side has won.
    No, it's not going to be close now. Once turn-out was above 55% it was always going to be a Yes win and that's the way it is looking now. I am not sure if this is a post fishing for thanks but I thought I'd reply to it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

Wheres the guy who kept going on about mobs putting companies out of business because of their beliefs? He'll love this one.

No voters bullying the business because of its beliefs!

Also poor understanding of the dairy business

Morons! Ah well it works both ways. I might go down to the shop, I have a sudden craving for ice cream!

Errr, you know that they're a minority, right? I don't think that gay people can outnumber "straight" people. Maybe your aunt just meant that the "tolerant and inclusive" people would outnumber the "intolerant" ? I'd like to think that she's right about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

Zen65 wrote: »
    That's interesting alright, though very open to interpretation. Did the Tweeter simply mean that the presence of a person who had campaigned extensively for NO votes in the voting centre was a discouragement to people to vote? It seems ridiculous (and still unbelieveable . . to me anyway) that somebody actively tried to stop a voter from voting while they were working at the vote centre.

She expands on it in subsequent tweets. The individual in question was working at the polling station. She insisted the voter was not on the list despite having a polling card and another worker intervened and showed the voter was in fact registered to vote. The woman was removed, an official complaint was filed.

Should also clarify that the women in question was a prominent MFM campaigner in the city

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

When is a result expected? Are there exit polls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Heat_Wave

Zen65 wrote: »
    Errr, you know that they're a minority, right? I don't think that gay people can outnumber "straight" people. Maybe your aunt just meant that the "tolerant and inclusive" people would outnumber the "intolerant" ? I'd like to think that she's right about that.

She was saying that they're all crawling out of the woodwork, as in they've all been in the closet until now.

You're right, of course there are more straights than gays. But it appears majority of the straights are voting yes therefore;

All gay population + majority of straights = Yes

I voted No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

The scaremongering and ridiculous portrayal of themselves as the victims from the no side had me really worried over the last week. Don't feel the slightest bit worried anymore! Will Iona p*ss off now when they find that the nation doesn't want to listen to their divisive, prejudice bullsh*t?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,897 ✭✭✭✭road_high

No, it's not going to be close now. Once turn-out was above 55% it was always going to be a Yes win and that's the way it is looking now. I am not sure if this is a post fishing for thanks but I thought I'd reply to it anyway.

Quick read of the websites, turn out apparently higher in urban areas. Which is opposite to most votes. I'd think high turnout in urban areas is going to mean Yes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,998 ✭✭✭Satriale

Holy Mary wants ye to vote No Lads!

(Satriale wants ye to vote Yes ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,897 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Anita Blow wrote: »
    She expands on it in subsequent tweets. The individual in question was working at the polling station. She insisted the voter was not on the list despite having a polling card and another worker intervened and showed the voter was in fact registered to vote. The woman was removed, an official complaint was filed.

Should also clarify that the women in question was a prominent MFM campaigner in the city

Just shows theres no depths to which these crowd won't sink. Hopefully with the Gardai now, imagin this kind of tampering with the electoral register is a serious criminal offence.

road_high wrote: »
    Quick read of the websites, turn out apparently higher in urban areas. Which is opposite to most votes. I'd think high turnout in urban areas is going to mean Yes?
    Almost certainly. Urban areas would be a lot less conservative less religious. So I can't see anything but the yes side getting at least 55% of the vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

road_high wrote: »
    Without a shadow of a doubt.

People on Twitter claiming 80% turnout in Donnybrook @ 8pm.

If the urban/rural turnout divide is correct, then I reckon that the "No" side failed to capitalise on the undecided voters, and they all decided to stay at home instead.

When is a result expected? Are there exit polls?
    There is no exit polls, Irish media doesn't do it cause it costs money. The actual result will be announce tomorrow late afternoon/early evening but we should have a pretty good idea by lunchtime when the smaller centres announce the tallies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Almost certainly. Urban areas would be a lot less conservative less religious. So I can't see anything but the yes side getting at least 55% of the vote.
    Don't be complacent however, get out and vote. The Seanad referendum was supposed to be in shoe-in too, and that was defeated. There's a lot of people who will vote "no" irrespective of the question, and they have to be overcome.

don't be so sure of that, the majority of people I know claim to of voted yes and we're all country folk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Are there any exit polls to be expected?

I voted No

Auntie won't be pleased :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Iwasfrozen wrote: »

I'm not sure, but I don't think they can be released until polling closes anyway.

hmmm wrote: »
    Don't be complacent however, get out and vote. The Seanad referendum was supposed to be in shoe-in too, and that was defeated. There's a lot of people who will vote "no" irrespective of the question, and they have to be overcome.
    Again, I'm going from current turn-out. About 1% of the votes will come in the next 75 minutes. If you haven't voted go vote though! I voted yes earlier
    don't be so sure of that, the majority of people I know claim to of voted yes and we're all country folk
    I'm not saying that rural areas will definitely be No, I am really not sure. It is just way more likely that urban areas were going to say Yes and if there was high-turn outs in urban areas (like there has been) the Yes side were going to win. The only worry for the Yes side was a low turn-out, that hasn't materialised.

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    For the 4th time the Irish media do not do exit polls. They cost money and the media can't be bothered spending that much money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

seamus wrote: »
    Without a shadow of a doubt.

People on Twitter claiming 80% turnout in Donnybrook @ 8pm.

If the urban/rural turnout divide is correct, then I reckon that the "No" side failed to capitalise on the undecided voters, and they all decided to stay at home instead.

On my way back from the polling booth I bumped into two neighbors (male and female, Early 30's) that would be sure No's.
    I asked them were they on their way up to vote.
    "Nah, not gonna bother our arse voting" was the reply.
    There will be a lot of that.