Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Turning a mule into a race horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Nice work PM. How did you find it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Bob Heffernan 5K

So this wasn't a goal race per se. I entered it simply as a test to see if my ultimate target for this block of sub 22 was doable. Goal race in 4 weeks.

Met up with Meno, Yaboya and Adrian522 up at the start line which was a good km of a jog up from the car park / finish area. Meno gave me some advice about the course and advised me to not run the first mile any faster than 7:00. There is a slight incline at the start and the advise was not to go off to fast as it may bite you later on. Meno told me afterwards that he could see I was nervous before the start - and he was right. For some reason this race really hit the nerves hard.

Grand so. Lined up a little back from the start, the gun went off and I hit my watch roughly at the start line. Things went off fast enough but I felt pinned in and not making enough progress. Glanced down at the watch after a few hundred metres and saw 6:30 pace :eek: Eased off a fraction. At this point though 5ks were easy. I mean this was easy and comfortable and great and I was so in control.

And then it started to get uncomfortable. Progressively uncomfortable and onwards to very uncomfortable. First mile beeped in and I was happy to see 6:50 - It meant I could pull back a little and still be in 22 min range.

Mile 1 - 6:50

We'd taken the first turn left before mile 1 had come up and I was expecting the road to flatten out or go downhill but it was actually a little undulating. I actually found the course tougher than people had made it out to be (but more likely because I was at my own limit) A shower of hailstones arrived at this point and everything was going tits up. About halfway the contents of my stomach were threatening to make an appearance. I had stomach cramps, wasn't breathing properly, was getting hailstoned on and I contemplated DNFing or pulling it back completely. Said to myself no - just tough it out. Run as fast as you can. Hold on. And this is your last race. :p Watch beeped. Looked down. Pleasantly surprised.

Mile 2 - 7:10

On one hand I was happy to see I was still on for 22 min despite the slow down but on the other hand I knew I had a very tough last mile to hang on for. Stopped looking at the watch at this stage and concentrated on running. Hung onto the group in front of me. Watched their legs and just tried to keep up. My heart sank at the 500m to go sign. I honestly thought we would have about 250m to go at that point. Also the road has a few all be it small bumps in the road that just served as further punishment. I've seen elsewhere on boards tonight comments of flat as pancake course - mine wasn't !!! but again I guess that's all about your own state at the time.

Mile 3 - 7:15

Watch beeped for 7:15 but I didn't see it at the time. Kind of regret the not looking at the watch during that last mile as if I'd realised how close I was maybe - just maybe I might have squeezed something out. As it was though I mustered up a tiny improvement of pace - by no means a sprint finish coming in for the last .1 at 7:07

Mile 3.1 - 7:07 pace

Watch time 22:04
    Gun time 22:10 (no starting mat)

Spent a good 2 minutes on my hands and knees in bits afterwards. Random strangers asking was I alright :o:D. Met up with the gang from here (finally meeting Tom Joad too which was great) and the general consensus seemed to be a tougher race than normal. Epic spread as normal with club races. Unbelievable value for this race. Nice cool down mile ran with the lads too.

So a big PB for me. And definitely on target training wise for sub 22 in 4 weeks which was the ultimate test / aim for tonight. A tiny tiny bit meh about the 5 seconds. Would have been very sweet to come home under 22 but overall I'm very happy with it. I don't think I left 5 seconds out there effort wise if I'm honest. Enjoying a PB beer whilst typing this. :)

PaulieC wrote: »
    Nice work PM. How did you find it ?

Cheers mate.

Kind of answered that for you in the race report but yeah I found it very very tough for the last 2 miles. It wasn't fun at all. Gave up running completely. Of course all that changes once you get to the finish line. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Well done on the PB and good to meet you tonight. Enjoy the beer - I raise my glass of single malt scotch to you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

Great run. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Well done P - delighted for you - your persistence is really paying off - enjoy the beer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

exactly where you wanted to be, time wise, good for you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Super result PM! Delighted for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

That's great progress, P, very well done. Now if you'd only listened to meno's first mile advice.... :)

Kudos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭eldiva

Nicely on the pb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

I have been recently accused of abusing/being too critical of people (harsh imo), but I do agree with you regarding looking at your watch in the last mile and pushing yourself a little bit harder. I've no doubt you would have broken 22 minutes if you'd done that, as I was watching out for you at the finish line and you looked far too comfortable for someone at the end of a 5k as you finished compared to those around you.

Anyway as you said to me afterwards, you've made huge strides in your running in the past 18 months, and based on tonight the sub 22 in Docklands is a bigger formality than Frankel was to win the Queen Anne in 2012 (went off 1/20). I actually think you might go 30 seconds quicker. What do I know though? I tried to run sub 17 tonight and came home in 17:49 :P

Murph_D wrote: »
    That's great progress, P, very well done. Now if you'd only listened to meno's first mile advice.... :)

Kudos.

Indeed !

But honestly I did listen to it. Just still got it slightly wrong. :o

yaboya1 wrote: »
    I have been recently accused of abusing/being too critical of people (harsh imo), but I do agree with you regarding looking at your watch in the last mile and pushing yourself a little bit harder. I've no doubt you would have broken 22 minutes if you'd done that, as I was watching out for you at the finish line and you looked far too comfortable for someone at the end of a 5k as you finished compared to those around you.

Anyway as you said to me afterwards, you've made huge strides in your running in the past 18 months, and based on tonight the sub 22 in Docklands is a bigger formality than Frankel was to win the Queen Anne in 2012 (went off 1/20). I actually think you might go 30 seconds quicker. What do I know though? I tried to run sub 17 tonight and came home in 17:49 :P

Interesting you should say that. Meno reckoned I looked spent and totally blown. :pac: Certainly didn't feel too comfortable. But yeah those 5 seconds are bugging me a bit. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Interesting you should say that. Meno reckoned I looked spent and totally blown. :pac: Certainly didn't feel too comfortable. But yeah those 5 seconds are bugging me a bit. :rolleyes:

All the cool kids miss out by 5 seconds. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Legend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Well done pacing mule, great progress. Setting yourself up nicely for the goal race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Well done! Perfect test race I think as you're very close to the ultimate goal but learned a few lessons that'll help you smash it next time out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Great run, and excellent progress. I'd be thinking of 21:30 in 4 weeks time to be honest, rather than sub 22.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Great run, and excellent progress. I'd be thinking of 21:30 in 4 weeks time to be honest, rather than sub 22.

There's always someone on boards who thinks you can do better. :) long may it continue !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭davemcmahon

There's always someone on boards who thinks you can do better. :) long may it continue !

He's right though. I always find it takes a few races close together to get used to racing that distance before you run to your full capability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

That was a great performance Pat. I mean the slowest person on the night ran 38 minutes so to throw yourself into a race like that, coming from where you came from, is brave. I know a lot of people who wouldve taken one look at last years results and said no way. And you didnt bottle it on the night, even though you had a moment where you considered a DNF. That was a big test and you passed it which takes courage. I think you have what it takes to improve very quickly, you're willing to put yourself under pressure, face your fears and you're open to feedback. These things, I think seperate those who suceed from those who dont.

tunguska wrote: »
    That was a great performance Pat. I mean the slowest person on the night ran 38 minutes so to throw yourself into a race like that, coming from where you came from, is brave. I know a lot of people who wouldve taken one look at last years results and said no way. And you didnt bottle it on the night, even though you had a moment where you considered a DNF. That was a big test and you passed it which takes courage. I think you have what it takes to improve very quickly, you're willing to put yourself under pressure, face your fears and you're open to feedback. These things, I think seperate those who suceed from those who dont.

Cheers E. Nice words to read.

Funnily enough I was standing there talking to I think it was Meno last night 11 minutes after coming in and I remarked that it felt like we had been standing there ages yet on my first 5k race I would have still been out there running. The me from where I came from wouldn't have dared line up for that race last night. It's a super fast field of mainly club runners and would have been the type of race I would have avoided completely for being very out of place. Not that a race like that would ever discourage a slower entrant but you know yourself !

These days I do feel I've done enough / had enough progress to earn a place at the starting line of solid club events like this and not feel like one of the token backmarkers. Granted in a race like this I won't be in the top half of the field (for now ;)) but I'm by no means at the very back. At a glance I think there was only about 25 people ahead of me not registered to a club. So honestly wasn't intimidated at all by the field which in itself felt very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Congrats on the PB. Great running :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Will the beer mile be your debut track race?

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Will the beer mile be your debut track race?

As an adult yes. There was some sprinting done for the community games as a kid :)

Hmmmm Yaboya may have a point. I look a lot fresher than I felt at the time ...

https://m.flickr.com/#/photos/peterm7/17886690872/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

enough presence of mind to be ready with the thumbs up anyway :)

Back on the horse.

Took a couple days off. The feet were still very tender yesterday so let it go.

1E,1ST,2E with the dog first.

9:30, 8:58, 9:22, 9:19

The dog didn't fancy the steady pace. He was struggling a bit. My achilles on both sides was a little tender too so pulled it back to a little faster than easy. Comfortable for us both !

Dropped him home, grabbed the polling card and did another steady mile jogging up to and back from the polling station to register my YES vote.

Total for the day 5 miles.

Saturday

Mess of a run :o

Plan was originally down for 8 Steady this weekend. The plan alternates at the moment with 8 steady or 10 Easy at the weekend. My instinct was niggling at me that with the race this week perhaps I should switch around the weekend runs to keep it easy. Decided to stick with the plan and it turned out to be a bad call.

Set off for 8 steady. Ran the first 2 miles a bit too fast. Around 8:30 pace. Felt ok though. Then I found myself speeding up a bit more involuntarily. Legs felt light and energy was buzzing through me which was great but then I copped that the burst of energy was coming from the same place that the second wind comes from mid race. I hope that makes sense to everyone else and it's not just me that gets that kind of adrenaline rush when you're just about to crash for the first time in a race. It's digging in time and then the body gets that little buzz and steps up ?

But wtf was that rush doing 2 miles into a training run. Eased off a bit but the moment I started to ease off the energy levels dropped rapidly. Got towards the end of mile 3 and I was that knackered the legs went to jelly, the head went woozy and it was like the end of a marathon. Didn't want to wuss out of the run but at the same time I knew for sure that trying to smash through the 8 miles at steady would not be smart.

Took a few minutes rest and turned around and headed home at easy pace. Parts of that felt a little challenging too so eased off and left it purely easy.

Total 6 miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Just catching up now (log backlog is at #stupid), that sounds like a great race and well done on the PB! Pacing is a funny one - as I have learned - but p, and it has been said before, you are definitely going to have to think about changing your moniker. Mule is no longer appropriate ;)