Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Same Sex Marriage Referendum Mega Thread - MOD WARNING IN FIRST POST

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Reported. An apology would've sufficed.

It would have, Fidelma. When will you apologise for your comments on life being full of suffering?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,051 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Maybe it's an exception but over the weekend I polled 3 of my friends who would be fairly socially conscious and all 3 said they were voting No. I was shocked. This vote will be tight!
    Did you ask them why they were voting no? I'm very concerned that a lot of the no votes are based on the false misdirections of the No side. They're using powerful imagery and, if you don't know the actual truth, it could sway people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

traprunner wrote: »
    What's that got to do with the price of spuds?

The price of spuds will fall if this referendum is passed.

The LGBT crowd don't eat spuds, only pasta and wheatgerm. The fall in demand will drive down the price of the humble spud and farmers will go out of business.

Ahem! Apologies, but I was curious to experience what it must be like for NO campaigners who like to grasp at straws. Not tarring all NO voters with the one brush of course, but some!!
    Please disregard this post before voting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

Just a genuine question. Will SSM couples discriminate against each other down the line? I didn't rob ye at gunpoint jaysus.

It has absolutely nothing to do with the referendum just like the price of spuds.

There will be a mothers and fathers day as long as it is profitable for greeting card companies. That's a commercial thing, nothing to do with sexual orientation, marriage or spuds!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

Just a genuine question. Will SSM couples discriminate against each other down the line? I didn't rob ye at gunpoint jaysus.
    No? Why would they? If a bi woman wants to marry another woman the change to the constitution by the referendum will allow that. Same as if a transsexual wants to marry a person of the same sex (I'm not quite sure if the law will take their original gender or their chosen one) it will be covered by this referendum.

floggg wrote: »

If it is Fidelma then surely she should be doing something we pay her for....work...:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Baggy Trousers

ixoy wrote: »
    Did you ask them why they were voting no? I'm very concerned that a lot of the no votes are based on the false misdirections of the No side. They're using powerful imagery and, if you don't know the actual truth, it could sway people.

Yeah it was all confusing and tangental arguments around adoption and how children need a mother and father.
    These 3 were in 30s and 40s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭GCU Flexible Demeanour

GSU, I have contested your point - you ignored me.
    In case you haven't noticed, I've been answering many posters saying much the same thing. Perhaps I should explain again, I don't have staff.
    The age requirements for marriage have nothing to do with this referendum
    Yes it does. It's one of the "160 differences" listed on the marriage equality website. The right to marry of under 17 years olds will automatically extend on foot of a Yes vote.
    Further, under 17s (which is really only 16 year old in this context) require parental consent to marry.
    There is no requirement for parental consent to marriage in Ireland, regardless of the age of marriage.
    Pherekydes wrote: »
    Do you advocate withholding marriage from all people because some (11) under 17s wish to marry?
    I did answer you question fairly. You didn't answer mine at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

What's that got to do with the price of spuds?

Voting Yes will allow more weddings, increasing demand for mash or roast (or a bit of both) with the beef or salmon, hence increasing overall demand and driving up the price of potatoes.

Vote No for cheaper spuds!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

It has absolutely nothing to do with the referendum just like the price of spuds.

There will be a mothers and fathers day as long as it is profitable for greeting card companies. That's a commercial thing, nothing to do with sexual orientation, marriage or spuds!

Thank you! Yeah, it's actually a job well done on me to say it started out as a commercial venture first day.

Yeah it was all confusing and tangental arguments around adoption and how children need a mother and father.
    Did you challenge them on it? For example, adoption will be in place regardless so they shouldn't be voting on that. I think a very large number of people are unaware of it and how a constitutional change will strengthen these families that are going to arise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

Voting Yes will allow more weddings, increasing demand for mash or roast (or a bit of both) with the beef or salmon, hence increasing demand and driving up the price of potatoes.

Haha I hope the Iona doesn't read this, they might actually use that slogan.

Thank you! Yeah, it's actually a job well done on me to say it started out as a commercial venture first day.

While it wasn't commercial at first it is now. Do mothers day and fathers day have standing in law?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Voting Yes will allow more weddings, increasing demand for mash or roast (or a bit of both) with the beef or salmon, hence increasing overall demand and driving up the price of potatoes.

If there's more weddings, we should vote YES FOR JOBS surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,265 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

What madness is this?

Its a proposal to allow marriage to be contracted between two persons without distinction as to their sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Its a proposal to allow marriage to be contracted between two persons without distinction as to their sex.

That wording annoys me so I might have to change to a No vote.

Surely it should be 'without distinction as to their gender'.

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I personally know more people who are voting No than Yes and quite a lot who just won't be voting. Many of whom were convinced from a Yes because of John Waters and his talk about children, step-parents stealing them if the gays get married and appending Article 41 like it's going to turn Ireland into a Mad Max-wasteland.

Will be a very tight result, I imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

Duggy747 wrote: »
    I personally know more people who are voting No than Yes and quite a lot who just won't be voting. Many of whom were convinced from a Yes because of John Waters and his talk about children, step-parents stealing them if the gays get married and appending Article 41 like it's going to turn Ireland into a Mad Max-wasteland.

Will be a very tight result, I imagine.

Who could possibly be convinced by that charlatan? It sickens me that we lack a proper tough interviewer in this country. The media are far too incestuous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭floggg

Reported. An apology would've sufficed.

That's what was said to Fidelma...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Maybe it's an exception but over the weekend I polled 3 of my friends who would be fairly socially conscious and all 3 said they were voting No. I was shocked. This vote will be tight!

I was at a family gathering at the weekend and a discussion about the referendum came up while we were sitting around having a few drinks. Ages in this discussion ranged from 30 to 75 (about 10 people) and they ALL said they were voting Yes. I was delighted.

Zen65 wrote: »
    The price of spuds will fall if this referendum is passed.

The LGBT crowd don't eat spuds, only pasta and wheatgerm. The fall in demand will drive down the price of the humble spud and farmers will go out of business.

Ahem! Apologies, but I was curious to experience what it must be like for NO campaigners who like to grasp at straws. Not tarring all NO voters with the one brush of course, but some!!
    Please disregard this post before voting

Em, no carbs at all. At least not until after Pride hot pants season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

Duggy747 wrote: »

Will be a very tight result.
    That's what I am worried about. I know a lot of people are hoping for a Yes victory but I am really hoping to see a resounding win for the Yes side. We would not only be the first country to allow same-sex marriage but we could also give it a resounding yes and show the world that Ireland is no longer the backwards country, ruled by the church, it once was. I am starting to realise I may not get that but lads, if people don't go out and vote and the No side wins it would be a shocking state of affairs.

If it is Fidelma then surely she should be doing something we pay her for....work...:pac:

She's a senator.

So work isn't really in the job description.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

floggg wrote: »
    She's a senator.

So work isn't really in the job description.

Mean...

Somedays they have to make the tea for the other Senators, its a rota.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

A few things the NO side should remember

1. Every child HAS a mother and father. There is no way of creating life without both a man and a woman.
    2. Children will not be taken from their own mother and father and given to couples in SSM.
    3. Surrogacy is not a SSM concept.
    4. Adoption of children - across the board for both heterosexuals and homosexuals - is carried out where the child's mother and father are no longer around or can no longer care for the child. So children up for adoption have effectively no mother and father present regardless of who adopts them.
    5. There is only one new family type that will be introduced if a Yes vote wins - a married homosexual couple. All other types exist today. A good percentage already function without both parents present or in the case of adoption, neither of the biological parents present.

The negative impact on children due to this referendum - in real life situations - will be nil. For the most part a Yes vote will increase the security and well being of children as they will now have more rights than before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,266 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

I don't think John Waters or the no campaign have convinced anyone, the debate has been lame from both sides, the political party's pushing for a yes are doing so very limply, I don't believe Enda Kenny has changed his mind in the slightest or most of the ff and fg supporters. It's not pc to hold a different view which is the sad thing about this vote. People can't voice their true concerns.
    The T in lgbt is also a big elephant in the corner, I'd say even amoung their own group there aware of this as if it got traction a lot of people would have serious reservations of opening marriage to them. Panty has been very low key for such a vocal supporter, not sure what way he's inclined but him popping out in drag looking for a yes vote on telly would have a lot of people scratching their heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Wonder will Mothers Day or Fathers Day be a thing of the past in years to come?

Only if Hallmark get out of the Greeting Card business :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

Who could possibly be convinced by that charlatan? It sickens me that we lack a proper tough interviewer in this country. The media are far too incestuous.

When Waters was on tele he was very impassioned and pointed his finger a lot, sadly some people are drawn in by these very simple expressions without ever considering the content of what's being said = basically that they shouldn't support equal opportunities.

You'd think any gay couple getting married gets a free baby to adopt the way it's portrayed rather than the rigorous control they will actually take place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭MrWalsh

ixoy wrote: »
    You'd think any gay couple getting married gets a free baby to adopt the way it's portrayed rather than the rigorous control they will actually take place.

You mean they dont????!!!!???

Vote Yes for Free Babies!!