Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Same Sex Marriage Referendum Mega Thread - MOD WARNING IN FIRST POST

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭kevin12345

It's seriously starting to piss me off that people keep bringing children into this debate. We are voting on whether or not we are going to extend the right to marry to same sex couples. That's it. There's nowhere in the wording where it says that the day after the referendum passes a baby will be delivered to the door of every SS couple free of charge.

I don't know why the No side are assuming all gay couples want children anyway, either way, it's irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,504 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Is it nature?! Is it "right".."perfect".."normal"...? Or is it what we've been told is all of these things up until now? No one actually knows what is right or wrong.. We know what we're told.

Voting yes will change nothing.. Not for kids.. Not for you.. Not for me. Some lgbt people will get the extra rights they so strangely don't already have.. But that's about it!

It's about as exciting as whether the president should be 21 or 35 really! :)

Very good. I am definite on the president one anyway.

I am going on gut feeling starting to feel like it is not my battle and and will spoil my vote rather then not vote (because those lads from 1916 might haunt me for not voting!)

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,622 ✭✭✭swampgas

That is the best argument I have heard so far in fairness. But if by voting yes am I encouraging same sex couples to get children in their new legal married family unit (where they other wise would not?). When i think that Mother and Father is ideal for any family unit?

I very much doubt that people base their decision on whether to have kids or not on their legal marital status. Look at the number of unmarried couples having kids right now - people usually have kids simply because they want to, not because they are married.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Kermit.de.frog I've heard your type of "family line" argument before from the first gay person I met in my life (2000). He told me he came out at the age of 12 (10 years earlier) to his mother, who threw him out of the house. Thankfully they got over it and let him return home. 40% of homeless youth in the US is believed to be LGBT according to wikipedia. I think you need to remember that he was made that way in his genes. He cannot help it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭evo2000

kevin12345 wrote: »
    It's seriously starting to piss me off that people keep bringing children into this debate. We are voting on whether or not we are going to extend the right to marry to same sex couples. That's it. There's nowhere in the wording where it says that the day after the referendum passes a baby will be delivered to the door of every SS couple free of charge.

I don't know why the No side are assuming all gay couples want children anyway, either way, it's irrelevant.

Theres no legitimate reason to stop ssm only narrowmindedness so they have to bring in the children angle of have any bit of legitimacy to there arguement and its a fairly hollow arguement at best.

Theres no reason outside of badness to vote no

kevin12345 wrote: »

You obviously have not heard the nursery rhyme first comes love then comes marriage then comes the baby in the golden carriage.:D

So your telling me the babies are not going to be used as fashion accessories or something? I hope not. Dil Wickremasinghe from Newstalk already has one on the way which may scare undecided people like me into voting no. if I am been honest.
    However, the counter argument by the yes side would be this should be a reason to vote yes legal rights etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

i am well aware of that but it does copper-fasten surrogacy and adoption for the same sex couples by completely changing the nature of the relationship both for the parents and the child.

There is no point ignoring the fact that adoption and surrogacy are very much tied into the debate even though both can be done already regardless of the result of the referendum. As the legal rights etc will have changed like another poster stated.

No.

Adoption is now allowed under law for all couples who are cohabiting or married or civil partnered. The referendum will not change this and will copperfasten nothing regarding this. Surrogacy will be subject to regulation regardless of this referendum.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

evo2000 wrote: »
    Theres no legitimate reason to stop ssm only narrowmindedness so they have to bring in the children angle of have any bit of legitimacy to there arguement and its a fairly hollow arguement at best.

Theres no reason outside of badness to vote no

The vote no makes you evil argument is spurious and unfair. If people people that children are better served with a married mother and father based on whatever value they hold are they not entitled to the viewpoint? I thought we live in a democracy?

So your telling me the babies are not going to be used as fashion accessories or something? I hope not. Dil Wickremasinghe from Newstalk already has one on the way which may scare undecided people like me into voting no. if I am been honest.
    However, the counter argument by the yes side would be this should be a reason to vote yes legal rights etc.

This is really really insulting suggesting that children are merely fashion accessories.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

You obviously have not heard the nursery rhyme first comes love then comes marriage then comes the baby in the golden carriage.:D

Isnt that already happening? whats the lads name Westeast or... northwest! nuff said.

The vote no makes you evil argument is spurious and unfair. If people people that children are better served with a married mother and father based on whatever value they hold are they not entitled to the viewpoint? I thought we live in a democracy?

The view point has no factual basis tho?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Vivisectus

B_Wayne wrote: »
    Should have thrown that in quotation marks, I was referring to the absurdly silly phrases on posters.

Damnit - my sarcasm detector was next to my irony meter, and when it blew up when that one guy was complaining about the unequality of voting yes it must have taken it out too

I think the children of such families would be deeply offended at being referred to as fashion accessories by the no side.

There are some parallels with how the RCC used to insult illegitimate children. See the film the Magdalene Sisters where babies were taken from single mothers. It was horrible. And that is still the way the Church sees gay people.

I will acknowledge though that Mam's local priest seems like a nice enough fello. He was visiting Mam when I turned up last. I did wonder was he trying to persuade her to vote no but she said they didn't discuss it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

If people people that children are better served with a married mother and father based on whatever value they hold are they not entitled to the viewpoint? I thought we live in a democracy?

We do indeed. And if you think children are better served with a married mother and father, I suggest you vote for a candidate who will support that view in the Dáil. You could try to make divorce illegal, take children off single parents and have them adopted by married couples, there are lots of routes that could be pursued... all evil, of course, and none with a pup's chance of being implemented, but hey, it's a democracy.

But it has nothing to do with this referendum, which is about allowing all couples to marry, regardless of their sex, and not about issuing each baby with a married mother and father.

I agree with you that "vote no makes you evil argument is spurious and unfair"

However the thing is your belief/argument can be suggested and that's fine to have and express a viewpoint/opinion. Noone is stopping people put forward that opinion. However it is merely an opinion and it's an opinion that has been disproven and can be strongly refuted and challenged.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Not a NSA agent

I think the children of such families would be deeply offended at being referred to as fashion accessories by the no side.

Could be worse think there was something from a bishop which referred to the children as synthetic, I suppose refering to children as illegitiment is no longer PC

On Gormdubhgorm's talk of "values". Values can be unjust sometimes. I was fortunate in that my parents did not freak out when I told them I was gay. At that stage I was 22. But I began to have these feelings around 10 or 12. You gonna tell me Ireland was full of "gay propaganda" in 1990-2? It was actually a crime to be gay back then and I repressed it until I was 22. Gorm please believe me that sexual orientation is not something that is learned. It is the way someone is born and if parents insist on trying to "pray away the gay" all it will do is repeat the tragedies of the past with youth suicide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,123 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Ah come on, a Victorian nursery rhyme that was taught to children? I really don't think we need remind ourselves of what happened if baby came before marriage in those times?

Some people choose to use babies as fashion accessories regardless of their sexual orientation. How many parents do you know put every piss, fart and poop their children make up on Facebook? I know plenty, far too many in fact. My brother 'unfriended' my other brother on facebook because of his constantly clogging up his newsfeed with baby pictures! :D

Exactly. I don't know why people are avoiding talking about the benefits this will mean for all children, especially when the ISPCC, Barnardos, Social Workers and a whole barrel load of children's charities and organisations are encouraging a Yes vote in the referendum and each of these charities, organisations have released statements on their websites in support of marriage equality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭MrWalsh

Let's say you have an only child and he comes to you and says he is gay. Do you think that the only consequences are for him?

In this scenario I would never be a grand parent and the family line would be over. You think I would not have reason in such a situation to be disappointed or pissed off?

The whole gay rights thing has always been selfish and self centered. Never thinking of others only their own "rights". I am voting no. My mind has been made up for me.

I'm straight and I don't want kids, nor does my straight husband.

Continuing the family bloodline has **** all to do with being straight or gay.

You come across as completely ignorant and uneducated, possibly just because rather than just state you are homophobic you try to hide it behind ridiculous arguments that don't stand up to even a moments analysis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Blogatron52

There is no point ignoring the fact that adoption and surrogacy are very much tied into the debate even though both can be done already regardless of the result of the referendum. As the legal rights etc will have changed like another poster stated.

“Marriage may be contracted in accordance with law by two persons without distinction as to their sex.”

Adoption and surrogacy are not tied in to this referendum. The wording is very clear.

Same sex couples can already adopt, have kids and use surrogates.. And the world has not imploded.

This is about equality and the contract of marriage only! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

I meant the ultra-religious slant of the no vote I will fix that typo.
    I have no doubt that the issue raises pent up aggression from the gay community over the way that they were treated by society but the fact is when most people refer to a family unit it refers to mother and father, That is my issue with it. If gay people did not adopt children or have children via surrogacy, I would have no problem voting yes.

But at the moment it comes down to three choices for me:

1) Have a child brought into the world who has a mammy and a mammy or a daddy and a daddy. Which i think is unfair on the child. Not to mention the complication of the surrogate mother heaped in on top of this,

2) It is unfair that the gay people cannot marry as they do not have the same constitutional entitlements as the rest of society, Everyone should have the same rights etc etc.

3) Three abstain from voting on it

Families come in all shapes and sizes. Is a divorced woman and her children a family? What about a widowed father and his children - are they a family? A single mother and her children - are they family? What about Colm O Gorman his husband and their adopted children - are they a family? Were the Brady Bunch a family???

There was a time - not so long ago - that Irish society was so rigid in insisting that a family was Married Daddy + Mammy that we incarcerated unmarried mothers and stole their children. Did they not have the right to also be considered a family?

The No Campaign would say they did not have that right, that Colm doesn't have that right, that back in the day I didn't have that right because my partner was the same gender as me and we had a little boy who we loved and cherished and raised to be the man who did a AMA thread her on boards about what it was like to be raised by two mothers. We were and are a family.

But lets look at your concerns about children:

Firstly, Gay people already adopt children. At the moment they can only adopt as an individual even if in a Civil Partnership but with the signing into law of the Children and Family Relationship Act that is about to change (unmarried couples will also be able to adopt)

They will adopt children under the exact same lengthy, demanding, intrusive, exhaustive criteria that straight people do. They don't have a 'right' to adopt. They don't get extra points. They don't jump the queue. It is just as difficult for a gay person (soon to be couple) to adopt as a straight person/couple.

Gay people can and do already adopt - the main change when they will be able to do so as a couple will be the non-biological parent of a child that is already being raised by a same-sex couple will adopt the child as joint parent and this gives the child the security should the biological parent die or become incapacitated. The alternative - the way it has been up until now - is a child being raised by a same-sex couple is at risk of losing both parents if the biological parent dies as the 'other' parent is legally a stranger.

That's awful. Why would anyone want to put a child through that?

Adoption by a non-biological parent (step-parent) is already possible in heterosexual marriage - my own nephew was adopted by his step-father, a man he first met aged 10 and who has been an excellent (if grumpy) father.

Now - I am specifically talking about children that were conceived and born into a same-sex couple. When the children are from a previous heterosexual relationship the same rules apply as if the (divorced/unmarried) mother married a man.

Also 'common' (given adoption in Ireland is extremely rare) is gay people adopting a foster child (usually an older child) who due to circumstance ended up in care. Most people don't want to adopt older children, they are left to the tender mercies of the HSE. Isn't it better that a child in long-term foster is given the security of having legally recognized parents?

But - all of this comes under the Children and Family Relationship Act which is now law. Voting No will not make one iota of difference to this.

If the Referendum doesn't pass gay couples in a Civil Partnership will still be able to adopt as a couple and unmarried cohabiting for more than 3 years couple will still be able to adopt as a couple.

Secondly, most people who use surrogacy are heterosexual - are you against that as well? It is also very rare as it is damn expensive - and no, we are not talking about 'buying' a baby - just the expenses of finding a willing surrogate, medical expenses, living expenses - c 50 k... do you really think there are that many gay couples in Ireland who can afford that? If there are they ain't giving large donations to the Yes campaign.
    Surrogacy is an ethically fraught issue and one government urgently needs to legislate for - and whatever legislation they do finally introduce will apply to gay and straight equally even if the referendum isn't passed so voting no will not make one iota of difference there either.

No matter what happens with the Referendum adoption by gay couples is already legal, surrogacy has to be legislated for but the law will apply to gay and straight equally and lesbians will continue to give birth to children.

Children who are not 'accidents' by the way - children who are planned and wanted. I know because I gave birth to a very wanted child in 1984 - I had to do it in England as at the time if my son had been born in Cork we both could very well have ended up in Bessborough, my son taken away from me, given up for adoption without my consent and denied any knowledge of me.

Ironic eh - Irish lesbians went to England so their biological children wouldn't be taken from them and now we are being accused of wanting to deny children a mother or a father by the ideological bedfellows of those who called unmarried mothers degenerates.

I do ask you to look deep inside yourself and honestly examine why you have a problem with same-sex parents?
    Do you think we will harm our children?
    What is causing you concern?

Now, I would like to thank you for your honesty, politeness and openess in a genuine discussion. I understand your fears - I do but all I can say is apart from being gay (and veh veh arty :cool:) I am a typical middle aged Irish woman who grew up watching Wanderly Wagon, thought Dev was like, president for-ever, did me inter and leaving and would lay down my life to protect my child (grown man with a beard now but still my child)- and I would do the same for my grandchildren. I am an Irish mammy who is also gay.

Vote as your conscience tells you but please understand that adoption, surrogacy, parenting are not part of this. They really aren't. This really is just whether or not two people of the same gender can enter into a contract of marriage. That's it.
    Some of them want a quiet, tasteful little ceremony, some of them want to be bridezillas (and that's just the men :p ), some just want to pop into the registry office in a low key way. They just want what straight people want - to get married.

My son is about to get married yet ironically his parents can't because both his parents are women. You have to laugh at the how absurd that is when you think about it.

Personally I'd rather stick toothpicks under my fingernails (and I think my long-term monogamous life partner would willingly hand them to me) than get married *shudder* but that's me. Others dream of it -just like many straight people.

Is that really too much to ask for?

I think i might just right "yes but no but" on the ballot paper.

So far I have been told only one decent argument which has made me think maybe yes is the way to go.

Think of the same-sex couples who already have kids and how voting yes would improve the kids situation on a legal basis.

Oh and the big long cogent arguement by yer wan Bannasidhe up there.

Most of the rest of the arguments I have read on this thread so far have made me think I should vote no. As they lump all the no side into one group. It is a very complex issue for the non gay community particularly older generations.

I think people on the thread should realise that to convince or swing undecided voters like me a passionate simplistic statement will not sway me, it has to make me think like the above argument.

Despite this i think I am 55/45 no after reading this thread. 50/50 after Bannasidhe's arguement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,928 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

So far I have been told only one decent argument which has made me think maybe yes is the way to go.

Think of the same-sex couples who already have kids and how voting yes would improve the kids situation on a legal basis.

Most of the rest of the arguments I have read on this thread so far have made me think I should vote no. As they lump all the no side into one group. It is a very complex issue for the non gay community particularly older generations.

I think people on the thread should realise that to convince or swing undecided voters like me a passionate simplistic statement will not sway me, it has to make me think like the above argument.

Despite this i think I am 55/45 no after reading this thread.

With respect, if you cannot understand, after being told multiple times, that this referendum has nothing to do with children, then I do not think you should be looking for something other than a simplistic argument.

If you vote No based on your current concerns, you will be voting no for reasons that completely unconnected to this referendum, a fact which you should by now be aware of.

Do you accept that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

i am well aware of that but it does copper-fasten surrogacy and adoption for the same sex couples by completely changing the nature of the relationship both for the parents and the child.

How in the world do you imagine it does that?

The relationships between SS couples and any children they may have will be exactly the same on May 23rd, regardless how the votes come in.

What would be different on May 23rd, if they proposed change is accepted by the people, is that the state would afford protection to any LGBT couples who chose to get married.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Vivisectus

I see the argument put by a few people where heterosexuals are infertile and adopt/go for the surrogate mother option that it negates the argument on procreation.

But in my view that is trying to aid the creation of the family unit of the mother and father. Rather then completely rip up nature and have two males or two females as the legal parents of a child.

At the moment after reading the bit of this thread I am no nearer deciding.

I will either vote no or spoil my vote instead. That is as far as I have got!

Gotcha - you are going to vote no because the idea of same-sex parenting makes you feel kinda icky. Despite the fact that it really has no bearing on what we will be voting on. Or the fact that you have neither experience nor knowledge about the effects of same sex parenting - just a sort of gut feeling that it would be sort of icky if two men or two women were partners and parents. But you have nothing against gays - goodness no! You would not stand in the way of anyone's happiness, and you are a live and let live kinda guy.

It's ok. What you are suffering from is low-grade aversion to homosexuality. It is not your fault - it is the way you were brought up. Just try to remember that those gay people could be your sons and daughters, your nieces and nephews, your friends and your neighbors, and then decide if you would tell them, to their face, that they cannot marry the person they love because you would feel kinda icky over something they can do anyway.

If you would be happy to say that to your gay son / cousin / nephew / daughter / friend / whatnot, then you should vote no. If you would not, then you should probably vote yes. Anything else is just dishonest beating about the bush.

Gorm hardly any gay people have children in this country. It just isn't something more than a small percentage are interested in. The RCC's obsession with procreation in this debate is such that they might as well change the marriage vows to "do you Mr X take you Ms Y to be your incubator". They are completely divorced from the concept of marriage as being about love. Perhaps not surprising as they have deprived themselves of it through celibacy - something that is not required by the Bible.

I am also very hurt that you seem to believe gay couples are bad parents - without presenting any evidence other than you find their situation unusual. It is those kinds of views that cause the real damage to children. Having to go to school and listen to bullying because of what they are hearing in the home. I would remind you that it was the natural mother of COG's children that asked him to look after them after she died. So she obviously must have trusted him.

However this issue - the fear of diversity - is the biggest problem in the world today. Ask the Yazidis and Christians in Iraq. In Western Europe we are better at accepting it. But some voices in the debate that I have heard - and I accept they are entitled to express their views - show we still have somewhere to go to exorcise the view that everyone must be the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

I am going on gut feeling starting to feel like it is not my battle and and will spoil my vote rather then not vote (because those lads from 1916 might haunt me for not voting!)

How is spoiling your vote any more useful to society than staying at home that day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

If you did that it would be counted as a spoilt vote and would not matter either way. If you care about peoples rights you will vote according to your conscience. Can you say voting no would make a difference to the people who are impacted by this decision the most?

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    I do ask you to look deep inside yourself and honestly examine why you have a problem with same-sex parents?
    Do you think we will harm our children?
    What is causing you concern?

Ok I decided to answer your question do I think that same-sex parents wll harm our children?

Absolutely not unless you happened to be some mad deranged person regardless of sexual ordination.

What is my concern? I feel that it is a further break down of the traditonal family unit. Everyone should be given the chance to have a Mam and a Dad as their family where possible.

There are already ready plenty of broken families in the hetrosexual world. This has the potential to further complicate things. Although the referendum will not change adoption it will change the rights of the child because the parents are now married.
    Will there be a fad of the gay community wanting to "create families" as a result of this referendum to be a family.
    Will the child get bullied at school because he/she has two mammy's or daddy's?
    Will this result in hetrosexual surrogates been "farmed" for payments by the gay community to produce children.

Will this be the final nail in the coffin for the traditional family and the al a carte family will be come the norm?

This in turn could lead to the acceptance of genetically modified babies where requests are put in and the baby produced. As the necessity for natural procreation decreases. (I know this is far fetched but that is what I see the future as in about 100 years).

Zen65 wrote: »
    How is spoiling your vote any more useful to society than staying at home that day?

I won't have the ghosts of 1916 haunting me next year!:cool: