If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Eleaf iStick (availability, reviews etc.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Thecageyone

Yeah, should have got that really. First time mine broke the replacement glass was only €7, on sale. Second time it was €10 - I'm not spending anymore on the Nautilus, got an atlantis too - at least that came with spare glass! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,655 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Why dont they just develop a pyrex casing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭moleyv

+1 on the metal cased tank. they also don't seem to get stupid tight to open. I had to bust a glass one open with a screwdriver the other day. but I had a spare glass tank anyway. I never tighten them too much but they seem to tighten themselves.

I couldn't even open the glass one other day with pliers. Took a few hits to break. seemed fairly strong to me. I can open the metal one by hand without fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭54kroc

I'd recommend the dick and balls tank for the mini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Allan45121

54kroc wrote: »
    I'd recommend the dick and balls tank for the mini.

Yeah it was a toss off... Sorry a toss up between the penis tank and the hollow-out one, the hollow out one was hard to see your juice level, but the dick and balls one looked.. Like a dick and balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,655 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

They made a cock up in the design of that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 noelyf

Wonder if the juice level decreases in the cold?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Didihno

Those ones tend not to work so well after a few pints though.
    You can tell it wants to but it just can't. Allegedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭kingtiger

does anyone know if the Aspire Atlantis sub-ohm tank work with the eLeaf 20w?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 noelyf

25w and upwards is best. Some say 30w plus as a minimum :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭nuttyboy79

kingtiger wrote: »
    does anyone know if the Aspire Atlantis sub-ohm tank work with the eLeaf 20w?

It wont work with the stock 0.5 ohm coil the 20w iStick will only work with coils above 1 ohm. You could use the rebuildable section and build a coil above 1 ohm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭jousting with chairs

AFAIK there isn't a rebuildable base for the Atlantis but I saw 1.2 ohm coils somewhere.

If you're looking at sub-ohm tanks the Delta 2 or sub-tank have much better flavour the the Atlantis.

nuttyboy79 wrote: »
    It wont work with the stock 0.5 ohm coil the 20w iStick will only work with coils above 1 ohm. You could use the rebuildable section and build a coil above 1 ohm.

thanks but I was thinking of upgrading my old Kanger Aerotank to a Kanger Subtank or a Aspire Atlantis

dunno yet though in two minds about what to purchase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭nuttyboy79

Both wont work with the iStick of the 2 the Kanger one comes with a rebuildable section that you can make your own coils and then it will work. If you are stuck on getting either of the 2 clearos with out getting into rebuilding you're going to have to look at the 30w or 50w iStick. But if you are going to rebuild just get a kayfun it's a piece of pi55 to build and will work with your 20w iStick once you stay above the 1 ohm mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭youdipstick

thanks but I was thinking of upgrading my old Kanger Aerotank to a Kanger Subtank or a Aspire Atlantis

dunno yet though in two minds about what to purchase

It's nice to have both,Atlantis cost me another 11euro to upgrade to a bigger tank.
    The Subtank is the way to go,it has everything a vaper needs & no extra money to fork out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭EGriff

They make 1.2 Ohm coils for the subtank don't they? They should work ok on a 20W iStick.

grand thanks lads, so its looking like the Subtank and an eLeaf 30w

don't know if I would have a patience or dexterity to rebuild coils though

:D:D:D you will,eventually...

You might as well pay a little extra for the istick 50,the battery is a 4400Mah & better than the 30w.

You had better hurry up & buy this before the next verion comes out :D:D:D

One more question lads before I purchase

what strength juice should I going for on a sub ohm tank? is 18mg too strong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭EGriff

One more question lads before I purchase

what strength juice should I going for a sub ohm tank? is 18mg too strong?

Way too strong, 6mg would be ok or even 3mg if you can get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭RIchieNouveau

I can build them on a kayfun. Let's just say, if I can build one, anyone can...

My granny won't get out the good crockery when I visit :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Thecageyone

I use 12mg regularly, but when I bought the Atlantis I got some 6mg, and even that gives a powerful kick on certain juices. I'd suggest trying that out, 18mg in a sub ohm tank is going to explode your throat and lung! :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Dubba

The threads went in my iStick 20w after about 3 months of use. I thought it was ready for the bin, but watched this video where he suggests using a piece of cardboard as a temporary fix and it work really well.

I'm hoping I can use the iStick Bending Adapter, as a permanent solution. Anyone else had their threads go and fix it?

Update:

Instead of buying the istick bending adapter, I used a beauty ring I had lying around and wrapped the male connector with a small piece of duck tape. It work perfectly, tight connection and I can add and remove tanks.

Any one know if its safe or not to have duck tape so close to the connection?

Dubba wrote: »
    Update:

Instead of buying the istick bending adapter, I used a beauty ring I had lying around and wrapped the male connector with a small piece of duck tape. It work perfectly, tight connection and I can add and remove tanks.

Any one know if its safe or not to have duck tape so close to the connection?

I would do some roasties & cabbage to go with it :D:D:D

Haha. I like this quote - "If it can't be fixed with d̶u̶c̶k̶ duct tape, then you're not using enough" .

I can confirm the bending adapter does not work as a fix for fecked threads.

Interesting with the duct tape. I had used a piece of kanthal as a temp solution but it wore down my threads a bit more even.

Cheers J Mysterio, saves me buying the bending adapter that wont work.

Duct tape solution didn't turn out well - when warmed up in my pocket the glue melted and it came off. I've gone back to the cardboard strip, which is working well, so far.

This is a comment in the video I posted earlier... might be a solution - "I would also suggest using PTFE tape on the male connector if you're looking for a more permanent solution ."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Didihno

I wonder could you take it apart and replace the 510 with one of the smaller Fat Daddy ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭CourierCollie

Dubba wrote: »
    The threads went in my iStick 20w after about 3 months of use. I thought it was ready for the bin, but watched this video where he suggests using a piece of cardboard as a temporary fix and it work really well.

I'm hoping I can use the iStick Bending Adapter, as a permanent solution. Anyone else had their threads go and fix it?
    J Mysterio wrote: »
    I can confirm the bending adapter does not work as a fix for fecked threads.

Interesting with the duct tape. I had used a piece of kanthal as a temp solution but it wore down my threads a bit more even.

I suddenly had problems with the threading on my istick, after 4 months usage. Got that bending adapter during the week, and it's now working perfectly.