If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you part 479

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

JanaMay wrote: »
    Ah there's nothing like a line of freshly-washed and air-dried clothes! Have a dryer but haven't used it in years. It also helps that I live in a country with hot weather so don't have to keep an eye out for rain!

"Watch out for rain..."

"THE CLOUDS ARE 20 FEET FROM THE EARTH AND THE WIND HAS BLOWN YOUR YOUNGEST CHILD THREE GARDENS AWAY IT'S GOING TO FECKING RAIN IN THE NEXT FIVE MINUTES."

"A quick blast will do them wonders..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,164 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

PandaPoo wrote: »
    I've always said Ne Pal!

I've always said it like it's said in In The Name Of The Father,

Try a little bit of Ne-Pall

followed swiftly by the line "teak ya to da Himilayas"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Running out of toothpaste.
    I squeezed/rolled the tube as much as possible and managed to get a TINY bit out, at the risk of breaking two fingers.
    But it wasn't enough so my teeth didn't feel very minty/clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,180 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

People reading the news out loud to me in the morning! :mad:

I want to tell her to SHUT, UP and let me get on with my work... but instead all I'm able to say is "Oh yeah, yeah, right...", in the hope that she'll take the hint :pac:

Never does :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,662 ✭✭✭Gamer Bhoy 89

Being associated with the county I live in and I'm not even Irish (I'm from Scotland).

I live in Waterford, and my girlfriend lives with her family in Kilkenny. I go up every weekend... then during the summer, it's a Sunday, the hurling is on (I know not a curdy of the sport, I'm a football fan). Girlfriend is up watching it, I'll go up for the company. I don't care for the sport. But everytime Waterford get beat (which I hear they do, a lot) all eyes are on me, and the fingers are pointed.

Yeah ha, ha, ha, I get your joke, I live in Tramore, that means I adore the Waterford GAA team by default. But when it's brought up EVERY TIME. 90% of the time I'm unaware any GAA matches have been played (what can I say, I prefer Super Sunday). But I'll get an unexpected encounter from one of her friends/family and it's "unlucky Dave".... How am I unlucky? .... "Waterford are out, now" (or beat, I don't know).

This is just as bad from the home side as well. My girlfriend gave me a wrist band (I like wristbands, I have a few) and this one is black and amber, has a Kilkenny logo on it. Mammy's new fiancé (he's from Waterford) clocks the band on my wrist. "Take that band off, now. Not wearing them colours here" I understand he's messing but cut me some slack I don't care for all this colour-coded County crap and I do not enjoy the GAA. I've tried watching it but I just can't get into it.

Then there's this other bollox of people here debating to me that Hurling is better than Football/Soccer, and trying to explain to me why.

"Do you like hurling, Dave?"
    "Nah I prefer football. Grew up with it"

"Oh, oh, oh, but Hurling is the fastest field sport in the world.." "I don't care.."

I was playing FIFA once, had a two-man audience from a couple of GAA-watchers looking at me goin "Football is crap, how can you play that muck?"

Well f*ck me, sorry for insulting you.

I get that it's all for fun and games but when it's turning into a running gag in my life since 2004, it tends to get repetitive and irritating... That, and "sure you're foreign" . yaaaay I'm Scottish, that means I'm... oh go on, just take your joke. Have fun with it. Ugh... I'm a grumpy auld Jock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

People reading the news out loud to me in the morning! :mad:

I want to tell her to SHUT, UP and let me get on with my work... but instead all I'm able to say is "Oh yeah, yeah, right...", in the hope that she'll take the hint :pac:

Never does :(

I dont think you would like to be in a car with my mother inlaw.

"oh look, a shop"
    "There is a man walking his dog"
    "Is that Mrs Flynn?"
    "Is this the way we normally go?"
    "There's the post office"
    "Oh, they have a Florist over here"
    "I would say it's going to rain"
    "I would say it's going to stop raining"
    "You get a lovely cup if tea in there"

On and fcuking on, non stop:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Tomorrow bus strike. Playing havoc with my social life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Irish supermarkets being so slow to get new products in-store.
    I saw an ad about two months ago for this new Cadbury Puddles bar.
    I've been looking every week in a few shops for it and nobody has even HEARD of it, let alone stock it.
    I reckon we'll have it around Christmas time.
    If I went to the UK, I bet they'd have it.

fussyonion wrote: »
    I've been looking every week in a few shops for it and nobody has even HEARD of it, let alone stock it.

I saw that bar in Tesco actually! :eek:

The only reason I remember is because I was looking for the Marvellous Creations one :D

Oh, my phone's back working. Right now I just got a call from 0000353... number (it's one of those scam calling companies using Skype's geolocation options to make it look like they're calling from Ireland).

Heey, they had me on hold and then they just hung up! That's not nice! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

What

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    What

Got some bad news for you!

http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0430/697799-bus-strike/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Mudmask

My annoyance has been the lack of coverage it's been getting! And the first article I saw in days started with "bus strike should not go ahead". It then goes on with a statement from the minister saying this but it's still happening. I'm not sure if it was misleading or im too tired to comprehend anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

fussyonion wrote: »

I saw this bar in Dunnes Stores in Clondalkin last Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Jaysus, just heard Eileen Dunne there now, and it really does sound wrong! 'Ne-pal-ese' she said, rather than 'Ne-paul-ese"... reminds me of that whole 'onvelope', or 'an otel' :rolleyes:

Ne-paul-ese, that's fierce posh altogether !! I've never heard it pronounced that way.
    It annoys me that I get such a slagging for saying "onvelope". I'm the least posh person you could meet, and I actually don't have a clue why I pronounce it like that, just always have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Having a stuffy nose. One nostril is always worse than the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭miezekatze

fussyonion wrote:
    Irish supermarkets being so slow to get new products in-store. I saw an ad about two months ago for this new Cadbury Puddles bar. I've been looking every week in a few shops for it and nobody has even HEARD of it, let alone stock it. I reckon we'll have it around Christmas time. If I went to the UK, I bet they'd have it.

I got one in dunnes the other day, the hazelnut one. Found it a bit disappointing tbh. They had a mint one too.

TA that I'm wearing a white top today and spilled coffee on it. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

Trying to find a dog park! I won't let my dogs off the lead anywhere except a dog park but I'm not seeing any close by :(

Idiots who let their dogs off the lead and they jump up on me or my son, annoy my dogs etc. There's a sign up saying they must be kept on a lead you imbeciles!!

PandaPoo wrote: »
    Trying to find a dog park! I won't let my dogs off the lead anywhere except a dog park but I'm not seeing any close by :(

Idiots who let their dogs off the lead and they jump up on me or my son, annoy my dogs etc. There's a sign up saying they must be kept on a lead you imbeciles!!

I don't have a dog, but there is a dog section of our local park where the dogs can run free. Love going there and watching other peoples dogs.
    TA that I don't have a dog!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

I don't have a dog, but there is a dog section of our local park where the dogs can run free. Love going there and watching other peoples dogs.
    TA that I don't have a dog!

I have 7 if you want one ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,594 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Samsung mobile battery life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Wreckless MotorCyclists that drive up your hole

Nothing more Dangerous on the road than an Impatient prick on Motorbike

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Knackers with modified cars pumping tunes parking in disabled parking spaces with no card. Screaming and shouting at each other while their miniature sprogs waddle around the outskirts of the car looking to get squashed. Jesus Wept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

Wanting to make a post about something.

Doing a search to see if it has already been discussed before, to avoid people moaning at you for starting a thread that already exists.

Finding thread has already been started.

Posting in it.

Thread instantly closed because it's old.

Can't win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Aidric wrote: »
    Samsung mobile battery life.

Let it drain all the way until it powers itself off. Then plug it in and don't switch it on until it's finished charging completely. Depending on what's wrong with it, you might be pleasantly surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Ordering a cuppa and a toasted hang & cheese sanger in a cafe/pub and not being asked if you want them together, or if you want the tea first. Drives me fcukin demented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

the ''I told you so'' type of people who lord it over others when proven right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

My boyfriend blew the engine of my car :( I'm so sad, it was my first car and I loved it. :(

Let it drain all the way until it powers itself off. Then plug it in and don't switch it on until it's finished charging completely. Depending on what's wrong with it, you might be pleasantly surprised.

After draining the battery you should remove it from the phone for 3 mins. This resets the battery calibration file and can help!

KatW4 wrote: »
    My boyfriend blew the engine of my car :( I'm so sad, it was my first car and I loved it. :(

Ahh now, that's a bit more than just trivial :(

I think the worst I ever heard was when I lent a guy a laptop (think he was doing a college assignment or something), and he handed it back to me with a cracked screen. He didn't seem to care a whole lot and then he goes "well you shouldn't have lent it to me in the first place then, should you?"...

If ever there was a time I wanted to kick someone up the hole so badly, that was it! :mad:

TA: Playing lift roulette this morning when the lift still goes up and down, but you never know what floor it's gonna land on. I wanted to go to the fifth floor, took me ages, and then I didn't want to get out because I thought "it'll go to the right floor this time"...

Eventually had to get out and take the stairs. Hate stairs :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,594 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

People who can't articulate their argument beyond "it's an absolute disgrace".