If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming ChitChat Ploughs On To Five

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

if the texts were identical or near identical and not from a +353 no. it prob is a scam wanting you to text back YES - signing you up for a paid subscription

Well thats my guess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

whelan2 wrote: »
    ye oh didnt reply as thought he would get charged extra or something,

I know there's an ongoing scam where they ask you to reply via email instead of the number, spotted a thread on it over in Consumer Issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/ifa-confirms-final-speaker-line-up-for-fertiliser-conference/

wouldn't mind going to that to watch the fert guys try and justify the high fert price

Heritage Hotel, Killenard, Portlaoise, commencing at 4.30pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Suckler

Watched these videos interviewing farm accident survivors. Hard watching some of them although they were lucky to live to tell the tale despite the lasting injuries.

http://hsa.agtel.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Sold heifers on dd friday. Lad came down paid cash and a 3rd party cheque. Should have copped it ! Went in today to lodge it said id check to see if there was money to meet it and there wasn't. Rang your man. Said he'll sort it out he rang me back an hour later saying it sorted. So went ahead and lodged the cheque. At least i didn't transfer the cattle. Tis gas how some people can't stick to their word and couldn't give a fuqk !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,818 ✭✭✭✭Base price

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Sold heifers on dd friday. Lad came down paid cash and a 3rd party cheque. Should have copped it ! Went in today to lodge it said id check to see if there was money to meet it and there wasn't. Rang your man. Said he'll sort it out he rang me back an hour later saying it sorted. So went ahead and lodged the cheque. At least i didn't transfer the cattle. Tis gas how some people can't stick to their word and couldn't give a fuqk !
    I am not surprised. I had a ad on DD last month selling cattle. Within a few mins of the ad going up a man phoned and said he would be with us in the next hour to look at the cattle. He arrived, looked at the cattle and bid us a fair price. At the time he did say that his son was applying for a herd number that had not been granted but if there was a problem he had a friend who was a dealer and he would move the cattle into the dealers herd number. I took €500 cash deposit from him.
    2 weeks later and numerous phone calls/texts from me and excuses from him we still didn't have a herd number to move them into. He ignored/didn't answer calls or texts from me or OH in the latter days.
    Finally I sent him a text (followed with a voice mail to his phone number) saying that as far as I was concerned he had not honoured the agreement, he had forfeited his deposit of €500, the deal was off and I was re advertising the cattle.
    We re advertised the cattle that afternoon and they were sold that evening to a man from the West for a bit more.
    The original man phoned me later that day to apologise for messing us about as it was not his intention. I felt sorry for the man as I believe he was genuine. I told him that the cattle were sold but when his son got his herd number sorted and if he was still interested we had a selection of slightly younger bulls (that he had seen) to pick from and that we would go easy on price or throw in delivery to his place.
    Never heard from him since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Reggie. wrote: »
    We usually just go to the relations in England. It's usually cheaper to fly and hire a car over there than to get the ferry but would love to get the ferry. If only I wasn't such a tight arse :o

I have a 20% discount for stenaline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,660 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I have a 20% discount for stenaline

How ya manage that. Do they sail from rosslare?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

How ya manage that. Do they sail from rosslare?

Yeah. Where im emgland are u going?

Id estimste i spemd 5k a year on the ferry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭davidk1394

We have a neighbour (john for names sake) over the road who's a famous man for not paying people and now has to go off up the mid lands to catch lads out. A few years ago he hired a lad to cut maize for him (paul for names sake). The contractor went in to cut the maize. The contractor who cut the maize the year previous (sean for names sake) was passing along the road when he saw the maize being cut. He went into the field to warn this lad about what his getting himself in for. The driver of the harvester (paul) demanded to be paid before he'd cut anymore. The farmer (john) came along and said he'd call the gards. When the guards arrived sean ran into the field of maize which was roughly 20 acres. All harvesting stopped and the guards went in to find him. After 2 hours sean started shouting out to the guards the that john owes him money from the previous year and he'll come out when his paid in cash. john and paul went into the bank and took out money to pay both contractors on the day. When they went back to the field john gave the money to the guard and they went in to give the money to sean. Once he got the money he came out and harvesting resumed. All was fine. Anyway the next year john rang paul asking him to cut maize and he did. When paul went to get paid john asked him how did he pay him the year previously and paul said "cash". John then replied "did you declare that to revenue" paul said no. So john only paid him half what he was owed for the maize. just shows how low some lads but they'll be caught out in the end. By the way this store is true to the word

Yeah. Where im emgland are u going?

Id estimste i spemd 5k a year on the ferry

Pemsbroke port I think it is. We go to dorset

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

We usually just go to the relations in England. It's usually cheaper to fly and hire a car over there than to get the ferry but would love to get the ferry. If only I wasn't such a tight arse :o

Ya must have great relations Reggie.. I can't stand seeing most of mine round home, never mind seeing the cnuts on me holidays :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

Pemsbroke port I think it is. We go to dorset

Rosslare - fishguard i think Reg, extra 30 mins vs extra time on bout going into Pembrooke port iirc? If don't splash out on extra bucks to get faster boarding/disembarking will normaly get caught with traffic all way to St. Clears real pia.

_Brian wrote: »
    Ya must have great relations Reggie.. I can't stand seeing most of mine round home, never mind seeing the cnuts on me holidays :cool:

We go over for the harvest. Get to play with the big machines over there

Blackgrass wrote: »
    Rosslare - fishguard i think Reg, extra 30 mins vs extra time on bout going into Pembrooke port iirc? If don't splash out on extra bucks to get faster boarding/disembarking will normaly get caught with traffic all way to St. Clears real pia.

We always went into pembrook with the combines but you think fishguard is better?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

We always went into pembrook with the combines but you think fishguard is better?

Not exactly, i just hate sitting on that bloody boat 5 seconds longer than necessary and have a heavy right foot ;).
    Couldn't tell which is best option as never wen pembs way as ws always longer on boat :o.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,818 ✭✭✭✭Base price

AAAGGGHHH....feck/bollox/pulling my hair out.
    Can someone please give me an active email address that works for Horse Sport Ireland and not info@horsesportireland.ie cause it doesn't work. I checked out our Dept of Agri site to get a link but it's the same link :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Base price wrote: »
    AAAGGGHHH....feck/bollox/pulling my hair out.
    Can someone please give me an active email address that works for Horse Sport Ireland and not info@horsesportireland.ie cause it doesn't work. I checked out our Dept of Agri site to get a link but it's the same link :mad:

Well, ya can email the chief exec.....
    Dmcdonald@horsesportIreland.ie

Well, ya can email the chief exec.....
    Dmcdonald@horsesportIreland.ie
    Thanks Mickey I will try that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

We go over for the harvest. Get to play with the big machines over there

Isn't one farm enough to be eying up!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Muckit wrote: »
    Isn't one farm enough to be eying up!!! :D

I hear he's getting tweeds for Christmas in anticipation ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

I hear he's getting tweeds for Christmas in anticipation ;)

And a 1970s land rover to match!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

http://www.tweed-jacket.com/
    Two Purdey's and a labrador, and he'll be set!

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    http://www.tweed-jacket.com/
    Two Purdey's and a labrador, and he'll be set!

Must put that on my Christmas list :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,294 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Must put that on my Christmas list :D
    did ya get your gear box fixed:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

So thats how you manage to drive a massey!

whelan2 wrote: »
    did ya get your gear box fixed:)

Hopefully be back on the road for Friday or sat.
    Driving the fathers micra at the minute.

I've dubbed her the "juggernaut" :D

So thats how you manage to drive a massey!

If I drove a deere I wouldn't be able to afford holidays at all :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Anyone know how much Lakeland Dairies shares are worth? Or Golden Vale for that matter. I've shares that were given to me in both and had forgotten all about them until I got a couple of letters in the last week.
    I can't make head nor tail of share prices online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

As far as I know , Lakeland shares are not traded on any Market. They are of nominal value. They can only be traded by agreement with the board, or sold back to the Co-Op. They can be transferred to another supplier at market value (nominal) or whatever agreement you come to yourselves. Milk suppliers can acquire shares pro-rata to their supply. There were share issues and conversions a few years ago, iIrc, and thus you might actually have a lot more registered to you than you think you have.