Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what's the best thing you learnt on boards.ie Farming

• 25-04-2015 10:46PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭

Mine has got to be;

Put an electric fence up in the shed, so they all get a whack before running a muck out in the field. .

Works a treat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Not sure if 'the best' is the right words to use but I realise that I'm not the only one prone to feel a bit down/fed up/whatever word you want to use.

Also learned that reggie likes posting bits on here.:)

On actual farming, putting tub of dry cow minerals in shed rather than shaking on silage works a treat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Ok I've learnt a lot reading on here the last few years. Prob that we are all grass farmers and that if we get that right it is half the battle no matter what stock or type of farming we choose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭ihatewinter

The fostering bucket. Great thing and saves the tying up of ewes. I think they take to lams quicker as they are not demented with being constrict in a small space. Had two this year and worked a treat. Left it on them for a week and no trouble now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭bonaparte2

the geared electric reel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

bonaparte2 wrote: »
    the geared electric reel

Expensive the first day but priceless after that. A God send for a one man band trying to work with cattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,653 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Have learnt a lot about growing grass from reading on here, haven't implemented much of it yet mind you but the knowledge is building.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

The real difference between milk recorded yields and milk delivered per cow and what it indicates about your management. Concentrated my mind on a number of husbandry areas I probably neglected before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,815 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

learnt alot, couldnt pin point one thing that is/was the best but very handy to ask a question and to get different views on a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,626 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Same as whelan above. Everything I now know about handling cattle and welfare of cattle I learned from boards. The folks on it ain't bad either ;)

Well some of ye :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Better advice and more practical than any teagasc advisor :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭nhg

Learnt everything I know about farming on here...... This time 3 yrs ago was a townie with absolutely no interest what-so-ever in farming - unfortunately the untimely passing of an uncle (age 60) turned our lives upside down & inside out.

Ran a family business with my OH for my Dad & another uncle, tried to do both until last December - life was a crazy. We don't live on the farm, OH went to the farm at 5.30 am to do the days farming & back for 9am when we would both go to work for the day after dropping the child to school, after work both out to the farm if anything needed to be done, Saturday & Sunday spent farming, couldn't keep it all going, no quality of life. Closed business last December due to my dads ill health & both my Dad (69) & uncle (74) retired. Best thing ever.

Now OH farms full time & takes care of child and I am working full time on a 9mth contract & loving it, can forget the job once I walk out the door. Hubby even has dinner on the table when I come home most evenings. Our evenings are free & if OH needs a hand we can get it done at weekends or an hr in the evening. We have a life again.

Learnt about soil testing, spreading lime, reseeding, growing grass, silage, bought a grass Harrow (reggie's reccomendations) was able to advise OH to put a temp elec fence across field to get cattle to eat the grass off better rather than having the run of a 5 acre field straight off (now I see he has most paddocks set up this way) learnt about spraying, ended up buying a sprayer, (OH in middle of sprayer course) fencing, dosing & the list goes on & still a lot to learn.... Thanks everyone

Oh ya & calves... Now have 20 calves, 10 weaned, 8 in process of being weaned & 2 on OAD for another little while... Reggie again....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭White Clover

Similar to Whelan, have picked up lots of tips here. Every day is a school day.
    No one knows it all !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Learnt a little bit about a lot of things. But I've taken a lot of info on paddocks and grassland management, it's rare that a group can speak freely about a situation and can give reasonably honest answers without worrying about offending or impressing someone else. I've also learnt we as suckler farmers have a lot of catching up to do with the dairy boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Like the most of yas there are way too many individual things to list here that I've learnt from boards, but probably the single most useful and indeed profitable item I've implemented as a result of boards is grass measuring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

It like a discussion group in my pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,685 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Similar to Whelan, have picked up lots of tips here. Every day is a school day.
    No one knows it all !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Learned a little bit about everything from here - particularly like seeing pics of other peoples setups too, and has given me some great insight over the past couple of years.
    bonaparte2 wrote: »
    the geared electric reel

Case in point - ordered one of these for the old man about half an hour ago, thanks to this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭P_Cash

What's a geared real, versus my standard one

P_Cash wrote: »
    What's a geared real, versus my standard one

Standard reel - one turn of the crank gives one turn of the spool.

Geared reel - one turn of the crank gives 3-4 turns of the spool, depending on how it's geared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,626 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

mike_ie wrote: »
    Standard reel - one turn of the crank gives one turn of the spool.

Geared reel - one turn of the crank gives 3-4 turns of the spool, depending on how it's geared.

You had to look that up :P

Reggie. wrote: »
    You had to look that up :P

Well I did, earlier today, when I saw it posted here :o Had a fair idea what it was from the name though :D

I hadn't seen them before, and the old man isn't getting any younger and still works a lot on his own. Figured for the price of it, it would make his life a bit easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭P_Cash

So buying this saves 2 or 3 turns over a std real.

I wish there was a spring loaded real, esp when strip grazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

I've always been a quiet chap in school etc, using my ears as intended learning from questions other ppl ask rarely askin them.
    So even though I'm not firing questions out im listening...in this case reading

What I've learned...each farm has it's own problems(and pluses)
    Everyone has their own way of fixing those problems.
    Not many ppl like sheep(as neighbours)
    Sometimes it's better to plough on before the ducks are lined up

And I expect to have a steep learning curve with these calves :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

P_Cash wrote: »
    So buying this saves 2 or 3 turns over a std real.

I wish there was a spring loaded real, esp when strip grazing

+1 !

Was thinking this just this week, got one of the new gallagher geared reels (with a bike mount which annoyingly is too small for a quad rack) ...

what I really want is a much smaller reel with a braked release.

Thinking of converting an old 130lb Marlin reel and see how far I can wind the break off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,865 ✭✭✭visatorro

learned that advice is only any good if you take it and put it into practice for you.
    very diverse group, old lads like Pudsey and rangler throw a great spin on things from the life experience.
    greengrass's youthful energy is contagious.
    perfectionists like Mahoney, fraz and stan are great to watch.
    pictures of cows calving on the burren or in "winterage" is something to behold.
    AP is the only fella miaking money on beef!!!
    reggie smells of diesel or exhaust fumes!
    the farming woman would make any man look useless.
    im not the only one that ever felt a little low from time to time
    they are more militant in france.
    nekar is a great lad for sticking a yoke together and a great knowledge of machinery.
    prob forgetting most of what iv learned but there's someone there for every question or problem just just a nice comment when its needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭buffalobilly

Cutting silage when it's ready and not waiting for it to bulk up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Friesian bulls are actually worth money rather than just looking like narrow arsed bastárds.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Kovu wrote: »
    Friesian bulls are actually worth money rather than just looking like narrow arsed bastárds.....

I wish at times people had not wised up to that. But hopefully there memory is short.

Have picked up little tips here as they say every days is a school day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

I wish at times people had not wised up to that. But hopefully there memory is short.

Have picked up little tips here as they say every days is a school day.

By re-reading your own posts pudsey ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

I'm giving oad feeding from what I've read here.
    So I'll be back in a few weeks to let yee know of it's the best thing I learned here