Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

case cs 94

• 13-11-2014 10:36AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27

Has any one got a case cs 94 whats ye're verdict on them ? Thinking of buying a 04 reg one a neighbour of mine is trading one in new year.should i try buy of neighbour or go through garage for a warranty ? Its an 04 one owner ,4000hrs needs two front tyres never did any real hard farm work .dealer said it would need a clutch in the next year !!!!!!!! i'm moving up from a 1991 case 885xl 2wd great tractor never let me down .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Has any one got a case cs 94 whats ye're verdict on them ? Thinking of buying a 04 reg one a neighbour of mine is trading one in new year.should i try buy of neighbour or go through garage for a warranty ? Its an 04 one owner ,4000hrs needs two front tyres never did any real hard farm work .dealer said it would need a clutch in the next year !!!!!!!! i'm moving up from a 1991 case 885xl 2wd great tractor never let me down .
    Great tractor absolute work horse? What sort of work did it do? Loader?
    Friend had one up on close to 22k hrs and would be still goinh only it went on fire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 realchewytiger

Great tractor absolute work horse? What sort of work did it do? Loader?
    Friend had one up on close to 22k hrs and would be still goinh only it went on fire

He only brought in 200 bales a year topping and fertilizer spreading and pulling a 12x5'10 cattle trailer .never had a loader on it . whats she worth to buy ??what would a clutch cost to replace in
    one any ideas ??? its a nice tidy compact tractor from looking at it.

He only brought in 200 bales a year topping and fertilizer spreading and pulling a 12x5'10 cattle trailer .never had a loader on it . whats she worth to buy ??what would a clutch cost to replace in
    one any ideas ??? its a nice tidy compact tractor from looking at it.

Clutch could cost you 2-4k.
    Full day would do it. If it needs clutch I would let garage do it and get a service in aswell. Garage could put 8-10k on asking price if he puts new tyres on and does clutch aawell somr other bits and bobs.
    Fact you know the previous life of tractor us worth alot.
    Could be worth 20/25k off tge dealer

He bought her new in 04 so has had a handy life.i think garage allowing him 23k on new tractor the farmer is delighted with that his new case costing 61k i think i would be better dealing with garage to get them bits done if i buy her and take my auld gurl as a trade in .any ideas what a 1991 case 885xl 2wd with 9k hours and a quike 2030 and grab worth in good condition no issues with her working 100%.

12/14k maybe not sure
    We got 6 for our 4240 pro with a loader bald tyres 20k hrs and a broken front axle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭mayota

I'd say yours is worth 7 or 8k, dealer would prob want between 15 and 20 along with your 885.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭case885

Clutch could cost you 2-4k.
    Full day would do it. If it needs clutch I would let garage do it and get a service in aswell. Garage could put 8-10k on asking price if he puts new tyres on and does clutch aawell somr other bits and bobs.
    Fact you know the previous life of tractor us worth alot.
    Could be worth 20/25k off tge dealer

2-4K would be extortionate rates, we got a complete clutch from mc donagh for an 855 for 250 pound. Cs 94 would be extra but 500-700 should cover it.

case885 wrote: »
    2-4K would be extortionate rates, we got a complete clutch from mc donagh for an 855 for 250 pound. Cs 94 would be extra but 500-700 should cover it.

Again we got our flywheel skimmed for our case and got clutch and paid labour wasn't too far off 2k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Do you need to replace your current tractor? What will the cs be able to do that the 885 can't now?

Cs is 4wd our 885 is only 2wd .the cs has a 40k gearbox we have land in 3 different blocks .dont need the loader any more since building slatted houses .save on abit of tax with the new purchase . never had a notion of changing they 885 until i was talking to the neighbour.

I thought mine would be only worth 4or 5 grand if i got 7 or 8 happy days :)

A mechanic told me last night parts are crazy money for these tractors because of the steyr connection.. anybody find this true??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭fastrac

The CS range were super tractors.What you described is a rare find. Buy it off the neighbour. Put the tyres on it and sell your own. If he trades that I guarantee the Case dealer will have a customer lined up before it lands in his yard.

Thanks for advice,Is she worth giving the 23k ?? part time farmer here big investment but a tractor for years if bought .is it hard sell a 2wd case 885xl with loader private these days would ya think ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Thanks for advice,Is she worth giving the 23k ?? part time farmer here big investment but a tractor for years if bought .is it hard sell a 2wd case 885xl with loader private these days would ya think ?

An 885 2wd would only be worth 4-5k the loader would probably be worth another few quid all dependant on condition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

sorry to go off topic, but why is a man that is just doing those jobs spending over 60k on a new tractor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Birtles

http://www.donedeal.ie/find/tractors/for-sale/Ireland/cs94

check this out to give you an idea of what they are asking for these.

or approx value for your 885xl.

http://www.donedeal.ie/find/tractors/for-sale/Ireland/885xl

http://farm.autotrader.co.uk/categorysubcategory/category/tractors/makemodel/make/case/search?keywords=CS94

or a few UK Models.

Lads what do ye think of a 04 case cs 94 with 4500 hrs dealer wants 28k for it . sum money for an 11 yr old machine .i offered him 25k only because i know the tractor he wouldnt take my offer .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

That's way too much for that tractor. Does it have a loader

No, no loader on it .very very clean tractor .couldnt justify 28k though on it !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,851 ✭✭✭White Clover

Reggie. wrote: »
    That's way too much for that tractor. Does it have a loader

I agree Reggie but second hand tractors are mental money at the moment. Knowing the tractor is worth a couple of grand Imo. Don't know much about them Case but they get great reviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I agree Reggie but second hand tractors are mental money at the moment. Knowing the tractor is worth a couple of grand Imo. Don't know much about them Case but they get great reviews.

20000 max without a loader Def. A loader would add maybe 3000 more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

way over priced.
    We paid 28k for a 4 year old 4245 with 2k hours back in 2004. Thats insane money for a case nearly 3 times older, and well over double the hours!
    Even the 25k you offered is too much imo