Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This fat girl runs, breathes and believes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

OP, what is your time window you are targeting for DCM?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

I appreciate the debate, advice and thoughts you all are sharing. I'm not ignoring you but 1) I feel like to respond to you would just open me up to being torn to shreds. So I'm not going to go into detail here but I do want to clear up a few things.

I did not make the decision to run a marathon lightly. If you've 2) read my blog you'd know that I've been preparing to take on marathon training for 8 months now (and running for over a year and a half). I'm a novice marathoner, not a novice runner. Which is why I'm NOT doing a traditional training plan. I knew that the traditional plan was out of my league which is why I hired a coach to write the plan for me over a longer period of time, taking into account my current fitness level (running 3 times a week/PT 2 times a week) and my target time (which is more of a window than an actual time).

My coach is Shona Tomson, you can read more about her and her marathon achievements on her website, but the coolest thing she's done (pun intended) was run the North Pole Marathon last year. Both she, and my personal trainer, are 100% behind me and believe I can do this. They would not be working with me otherwise!

I appreciate the concerns and the debate but I won't be taking part in it as it would be too distracting to be arguing or trying to defend myself all the time. It would do my training no good!

I also appreciate any support and encouragement you might have for me. 3) A little positivity goes a long way!
    1) I can see the wolves circling, recent threads have shown this pattern emerge, some of ye are like wolves circling a lamb (not saying you're not able to stand up for yourself TFGR, I know you are) so I am not at all surprised that the OP feels she 'might be torn to shreds'. Seriously, recent behaviour on boards has been unfecking believable and the onus is on regular boardsies to negate that impression, full stop. So stop circling.
    2) read the blog

3) if you haven't anything nice to say, don't say anything at all (and I don't mean resorting to *backslapping*). This is not a wind up (see #2) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

So 8 months of 'preparing' for marathon training hasn't involved a run of 10k or more?
    Seems strange, but I guess the coach/personal trainer know best.
    I'll get out of here before the wolves start circling around me.

yaboya1 wrote: »
    So 8 months of 'preparing' for marathon training hasn't involved a run of 10k or more?
    Seems strange, but I guess the coach/personal trainer know best.
    I'll get out of here before the wolves start circling around me.

I think we're all going to learn something from this lady. I'm watching with interest, as I said - and NE too - there is more than one way to skin a cat. It's a huge endeavour but she is going into it with her eyes wide open (as wide open as they can be prior to the event anyway). Those of us who have done it, know what it's like but only from having done it and from my perspective, she is going into it with 100% more prep than I did.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

OK, I think it's a little unfair to say Wolves circling. TFGR, knows herself, that what she is doing is going to bring on debate and attention.

Many of us have had our motives, training etc queried in our logs...and you know what, no matter who you are, when someone criticises or queries your session (to be helpful) it does suck a little bit, sometimes a lot...but by having public logs we're opening ourself up to this...and people are only trying to be helpful, not nasty.

I don't believe anyone wishes to tear TFGR to shreds, she doesn't have to answer their questions, but I do believe most queries here are more out of support than being negative.

I'm not going to mod this unless I think someone has stepped over the mark, I/we will watch. However folks, be nice, this is going to open debate - but remember this is a log and it's not for hijacking if you wish to debate over this perhaps open a thread. She has indicated she does not wish to debate this.

TFGR, to be honest, I think this is a good thing for you, it shows how many experienced runners and marathon runners are following your log that you can get any sort of help and guidance from.

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    I think we're all going to learn something from this lady. I'm watching with interest, as I said - and NE too - there is more than one way to skin a cat. It's a huge endeavour but she is going into it with her eyes wide open (as wide open as they can be prior to the event anyway). Those of us who have done it, know what it's like but only from having done it and from my perspective, she is going into it with 100% more prep than I did.

I think it is fair of people to express their concerns though. She doesn't appear very prepared. If you wanted to climb Everest, would you jump straight from a Glendalough hike to it, or would you attempt Ben Nevis, Mt Fuji, and Kilimanjaro first?

Chivito550 wrote: »
    I think it is fair of people to express their concerns though. She doesn't appear very prepared. If you wanted to climb Everest, would you jump straight from a Glendalough hike to it, or would you attempt Ben Nevis, Mt Fuji, and Kilimanjaro first?

Shall we move this to another thread? Not sure we should debate here as TFGR has stated she would prefer not to.

I fail to see the purpose of her having a log if there is to strictly be no debate. She already has a blog to log her training. It all seems a bit odd. Most people set up logs partly to learn from those more knowledge.

I don't think it would be appropriate to debate her training methods on the main forum in any case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,494 ✭✭✭✭walshb

That's a fair point, but conversely, on a public forum I don't think you get to censor everything you feel is not fair. Only give me high 5s or fence sitting comments on this log is a bit off putting...For me that's not a true training log.

I fail to see the purpose of her having a log if there is to strictly be no debate. She already has a blog to log her training. It all seems a bit odd. Most people set up logs partly to learn from those more knowledge.

I don't think it would be appropriate to debate her training methods on the main forum in any case.
    I have not seen TFGR state anywhere that there is to be "strictly no debate" on anything in her log that's a bit of a stretchy-assumption. I think it's clear from the last post where she doesn't want to enter into debate. My suggestion was to open a thread on the theoretical question of marathon preparedness, certainly not a subjective discussion of a poster's log :eek:
    walshb wrote: »
    That's a fair point, but conversely, on a public forum I don't think you get to censor everything you feel is not fair. Only give me high 5s or fence sitting comments on this log is a bit off putting...For me that's not a true training log.
    See above response to chivito. More of that assumption and I'll set Ivan on you walshie :pac: Let's get to know the poster and think about *what* we are saying, *how* we are saying it and why.
    She is on the marathon ride now, only injury will get her off it, let's get her there as far as we can. Again, I think we can learn a bit too. Mwah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

I actually always thought a training log was just a place to put your training times/mileage/workouts etc.

At any rate, I feel like most of you posting (or thanking posters) have been dismissive about my goals, making assumptions about me and my training and posting nothing but criticism and negativity here. All I'm hearing is 'you're bonkers', 'how dare you', 'don't even think about it' (no, it hasn't been SAID exactly, but that's what I'm getting, reading between the lines). I'm not hearing any good, useable advice or constructive comments that will help. It seems no one here wants me to run the marathon and certainly no one here wants to help me succeed (with one or two exceptions, of course).

This isn't helping. All this is doing is tearing a big hole in my confidence, at least, it would if I let it. Which I won't.

For me, all this negativity is also not a true training log. That's why I won't debate the issues or go into detail about my training; I don't think anyone would care or even listen to what I have to say. They'd just use what I say as fodder for more negativity.

I really never expected this kind of response to my wanting to run a marathon. For that, I really AM unprepared! Feel free to debate, if you want to use my thread to do it, I can't stop you. But like I said, I can't engage in that when no one wants to listen to me or take me seriously.

So, I'll keep up with my training this week, and post a report on Sunday. Have a lot of good stuff planned and hoping the weather stays nice for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Hi TFGR,
    I have been reading this log with interest. I did note that in your very first post you said you hoped others could learn from your experience, but unlike some other loggers, you didn't actually ask for advice/tips from more experienced runners...

I have also read many other logs here, and one of the real beauties of logging is that there is a wealth of experience on boards and many great runners who are more than willing to offer the value of their experience and give tips to novices (I was a DCM novice last year and found this hugely beneficial).

I actually don't think people have been dismissive of your goals... or critical of you personally. Everyone here is very aware of the enormity of the goal you have set yourself, they are looking to understand how you are planning to tackle it and you will find lots of people willing to help. And as someone around here used to say, 'running is a relatively simple sport', but there are tried and tested methods of preparing and training. And there is a common theme here that it's better to have a strong base established before attempting a marathon. That's where some of the concerns above are coming from, IMO.

If you are willing to share details of your plan and training, it would certainly be of interest to others. I know I personally have learned from the debate and advice that is available here on Boards, which can sometimes be a bit robust :).

I'm glad you are not letting it dent your confidence. Any challenge you get on here is nothing compared to the challenge you have set for yourself :).

Best of luck with the training.

So a training log where the OP doesn't want to go into any detail about her training, nor get any advice or constructive criticism. Seems like the only purpose is for high 5s so. A pity.

annapr wrote: »
    Hi TFGR,
    I have been reading this log with interest. I did note that in your very first post you said you hoped others could learn from your experience, but unlike some other loggers, you didn't actually ask for advice/tips from more experienced runners...

I wasn't really aware that I could...like I said above, I just thought the log was exactly that...to log my training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

So a training log where the OP doesn't want to go into any detail about her training, nor get any advice or constructive criticism. Seems like the only purpose is for high 5s so. A pity.

In fairness, she made the purpose clear in post one:

I'm starting this training log both as a way to remind myself of where I've been and focus on where I'm going with my running goals, and also maybe to help motivate and inspire others who might have a similar story to mine.

annapr wrote: »
    In fairness, she made the purpose clear in post one:

I'm starting this training log both as a way to remind myself of where I've been and focus on where I'm going with my running goals, and also maybe to help motivate and inspire others who might have a similar story to mine.

+100 :D thanks annapr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

I actually always thought a training log was just a place to put your training times/mileage/workouts etc.

At any rate, I feel like most of you posting (or thanking posters) have been dismissive about my goals, making assumptions about me and my training and posting nothing but criticism and negativity here. All I'm hearing is 'you're bonkers', 'how dare you', 'don't even think about it' (no, it hasn't been SAID exactly, but that's what I'm getting, reading between the lines). I'm not hearing any good, useable advice or constructive comments that will help. It seems no one here wants me to run the marathon and certainly no one here wants to help me succeed (with one or two exceptions, of course).

This isn't helping. All this is doing is tearing a big hole in my confidence, at least, it would if I let it. Which I won't.

For me, all this negativity is also not a true training log. That's why I won't debate the issues or go into detail about my training; I don't think anyone would care or even listen to what I have to say. They'd just use what I say as fodder for more negativity.

I really never expected this kind of response to my wanting to run a marathon. For that, I really AM unprepared! Feel free to debate, if you want to use my thread to do it, I can't stop you. But like I said, I can't engage in that when no one wants to listen to me or take me seriously.

So, I'll keep up with my training this week, and post a report on Sunday. Have a lot of good stuff planned and hoping the weather stays nice for it!

I've been there in this exact position (have a look at my first log on the site if you want ;)) and I do understand how you are feeling. Trust me !

The logs though are much more than just a place to put your training times/mileage/workouts etc. You already have that. That's what your blog is for. Logs here on boards are interactive. You get debate advice and constructive criticism - as well as perhaps some undeserved harshness too at times. But the thing is in my experience it was all coming from a genuine interest in running and development. I once saw a lot of people here as wolves who turned out to be my best source of encouragement, advice and help over the years. Some I now consider proper friends.

Honestly the advice I have seen you been given has been genuine and good. It's not designed to dent your confidence for the sake of it. I want to see you run the marathon. And even if you go ahead this year I want to see you succeed. I would though for your own sake prefer to see you run it when more prepared and in a better place to enjoy it rather than suffer it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Hi TFGR whatever about the training the experts can comment on, but as for posting here, I think people will (and are) listen(ing) to what you have to say and although its probably coming across badly to you, they are trying to keep you safe. Have you read any of the marathon race reports around here? People actually hurt! Not 5k hurt or 10k hurt its 42k hurt. But you know that. I have hopes to try and tackle it next year, but I saw the finishers last year and a lot hobbled afterwards. I wouldn't even dream of it until I've a lot more experience. Thats me though.

The people here can offer you great advice that will keep you going when you have little left (and I'm only doing a 10k training log :pac: ). They can judge by what you put in here what might work better, or what might be holding you back and you can then relay that to your coach. Its an absolute gold mine of resources!

Anyhow, it was just a side point that, as you're going to do it, use the bejaysus out of this place. Read the logs, the reports, there is great stuff around here, and log log log :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

My only piece of advice would be one I'm sure you've heard before - don't have a time in mind, just aim to finish and enjoy your first marathon. I ran my first ( and I'd say last!) marathon in 2013 and I was aiming for a time window, like you. My training / racing implied that I should have made it, but I didn't. I didn't enjoy most of the marathon, and only now (spring 2015) am I getting back to the times I was running for the shorter distances pre marathon training. More importantly, I've now been injury-free since last November; before then I think the training and the marathon itself made me injury prone, for all of 2014.

By all means run the marathon, but just don't overdo it either in training or on the day - you seem to really like running, so dont let training for one event get you injured and put you off the roads.

Best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭demfad

What sort of sprint intervals session did you do? Was it like a fartlek run? What distance were the sprints and how many reps?

What is the general purpose of doing this faster work when you are training to run 26.2 miles?

If you dont do faster work during a slow buildup phase then you are a lot more likely to get injured.

TFGR What a lot of posters don't get is the importance of a stimulus to successful training.

Yes some of the advice about running a marathon too soon could be sound.

The marathon is obviously a huge dream for you. It is the main distance that motivates people into running. It is clearly your stimulus.

You can do it. But keep your running relaxed and keep the diet good.
    I would include a lot of cycling for aerobic fitness until youre legs get used to the pounding of a lot of running.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

demfad wrote: »
    If you dont do faster work during a slow buildup phase then you are a lot more likely to get injured.

TFGR What a lot of posters don't get is the importance of a stimulus to successful training.

Yes some of the advice about running a marathon too soon could be sound.

The marathon is obviously a huge dream for you. It is the main distance that motivates people into running. It is clearly your stimulus.

You can do it. But keep your running relaxed and keep the diet good.
    I would include a lot of cycling for aerobic fitness until youre legs get used to the pounding of a lot of running.

I'm not an expert, just someone who's been running since 2008 and done 8 marathons in that time, but in my opinion, and I'm not a cyclist, the best way to 'get used to the pounding of a lot of running', is to do a lot of running. Not huge amounts from the off, but gradually increasing the workload to the point where your legs can not only take it, but expect it, so that on the days when you don't run, you find your legs twitching almost in disappointment.

davedanon wrote: »
    I'm not an expert, just someone who's been running since 2008 and done 8 marathons in that time, but in my opinion, and I'm not a cyclist, the best way to 'get used to the pounding of a lot of running', is to do a lot of running. Not huge amounts from the off, but gradually increasing the workload to the point where your legs can not only take it, but expect it, so that on the days when you don't run, you find your legs twitching almost in disappointment.

Hi Dave.

Im not saying she shouldnt run, I am saying that in addition to her running she should also cycle (swim etc)

Broadly speaking IMO, there are two types of abilities needed to run a marathon:

You must have the muscular (and skeletal) strenght to take the training and eventually the race itself. To avoid injury, this development needs to be able to cope with the current training volume.

You also need aerobic development. Because of the OP's starting position (10 miles per week now) aerobic development through running alone will be slow. She will build her running miles slowly as you suggest which is correct, but in addition she can greatly develop her cardiovascular fitness and aerobic abilities through cross training in parallel.

This will lead to greater improvement in aerobic abilities; some transfer to muscular endurance particularly if its cycling.

The OP also has a great opportunity to improve her muscular endurance indirectly through weight loss.

Look at this calculator

Affect of weight loss on speed

Every pound lost is worth 2s per kilometer.

If the OP was to lose say 30lbs over this marathon cycle (a super achievemnt but not unreasonable) then her 5k time would be down to 35min (not counting the 6 months training) and would be IMO below 30 min counting it.
    That presents a very different scenario for her.
    Cross training increases metabolism (more muscles used and requiring repletion) which will help with any weight loss goals.

Also muscular endurance (relative to velocity) is increased.
    This will help her run more without injury risk, that means that cross training will eventually allow her to run more than running alone.
    The proportion of running to cross training can be altered over time as the OP gets better able to cope with the running load.

If the focus is to have a powerful motivation to lose weight then a marathon is a good target.

Thats why the OP should focus on:

A safe amount of running slowly built up to avoid injury.
    Throwing in plenty of non weight carrying aerobic activity (cycling, swimming) mixed in with a pretty healthy, sustainable diet.

Once the injury risk is addressed then motivated marathon training is a huge help to weight loss and general health .

And that is what she needs to hear. Every pound of weight lost will directly help your marathon training and the marathon itself. Diet, cross training, slow build up of running to achieve that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭NetwerkErrer

demfad wrote: »
    Hi Dave.

Im not saying she shouldnt run, I am saying that in addition to her running she should also cycle (swim etc)

Broadly speaking IMO, there are two types of abilities needed to run a marathon:

You must have the muscular (and skeletal) strenght to take the training and eventually the race itself. To avoid injury, this development needs to be able to cope with the current training volume.

You also need aerobic development. Because of the OP's starting position (10 miles per week now) aerobic development through running alone will be slow. She will build her running miles slowly as you suggest which is correct, but in addition she can greatly develop her cardiovascular fitness and aerobic abilities through cross training in parallel.

This will lead to greater improvement in aerobic abilities; some transfer to muscular endurance particularly if its cycling.

The OP also has a great opportunity to improve her muscular endurance indirectly through weight loss.

Look at this calculator

Affect of weight loss on speed

Every pound lost is worth 2s per kilometer.

If the OP was to lose say 30lbs over this marathon cycle (a super achievemnt but not unreasonable) then her 5k time would be down to 35min (not counting the 6 months training) and would be IMO below 30 min counting it.
    That presents a very different scenario for her.
    Cross training increases metabolism (more muscles used and requiring repletion) which will help with any weight loss goals.

Also muscular endurance (relative to velocity) is increased.
    This will help her run more without injury risk, that means that cross training will eventually allow her to run more than running alone.
    The proportion of running to cross training can be altered over time as the OP gets better able to cope with the running load.

If the focus is to have a powerful motivation to lose weight then a marathon is a good target.

Thats why the OP should focus on:

A safe amount of running slowly built up to avoid injury.
    Throwing in plenty of non weight carrying aerobic activity (cycling, swimming) mixed in with a pretty healthy, sustainable diet.

Once the injury risk is addressed then motivated marathon training is a huge help to weight loss and general health .

And that is what she needs to hear. Every pound of weight lost will directly help your marathon training and the marathon itself. Diet, cross training, slow build up of running to achieve that.

Yes demfad, I agree that there are a lot of benefits to cross training on the bike but I feel you are overstating the performance benefits that aerobic capacity gained from cycling gives a runner. I would argue that that cycling would only give minimal gains in aerobic improvement for runners as you can have the strongest heart and biggest lungs in the world but if your specific economy is not there to back it up, that aerobic capacity can't be tapped in to. That is what the principle of specifity teaches. Performance is not just a function of one system, it is the combined function of all the systems together. Cycling will not improve running economy, lactate threshold, Vo2 max or aerobic threshold in runners because it is not specific to the task at hand. Cycling will help with general fitness but not specific fitness. That's why you see some of the most aerobically fit people in the world like professional cyclists struggle to run a 3 hour marathon even though they would destroy an elite runner in aerobic capacity. They simply do not have the economy to use their aerobic fitness.

It's also useful to point out that studies have found out that maximal aerobic capacity is not limited by weight, sub-maximal aerobic function and economy are the biggest performance limiters from excess weight. This is where I agree with you on the benefits of cycling as crosstraining. Cycling is by miles a far more efficient way of travelling because of the lack of weight bearing and impact on the body thus making it a much better form of exercise for weight loss. You can go much farther at a given intensity because of low impact on the joints making great leaps in the possibility for weight loss thus improving running performance because of gained economy from just losing weight. cycling was not the main contributor to this gain, the weight loss alone was the main contributor in economy improvements.

Injury prevention would also be helped by cycling as you stated. So in a roundabout way, I agree with that the OP would benefit from crosstraining because of the potential for weight loss and injury prevention but not in aerobic performance and functionality for running.

If it did, every top coach in the world would have their marathon runners cycling huge mileage to supplement their running but that is not the case. You can have a huge aerobic capacity but if you can't use it, it's pointless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Lads ..the bleeding cycling forum is thataway>>>>>>>

^^^^^ :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭NetwerkErrer

ultraman1 wrote: »

Haha! Point taken. If there can be improvements made by any means, I think it's a worthy discussion but I don't want to hijack this log any more than already has.

I'm out!

If it did, every top coach in the world would have their marathon runners cycling huge mileage to supplement their running but that is not the case. You can have a huge aerobic capacity but if you can't use it, it's pointless.

But if the top coaches in the world knew that their runners could only safely start marathon training at 10 miles per week would they not advocate large amounts of cross training to supplement aerobic gains?

Lets take a couple of examples:

All other things being equal who would you bet on?:

Eg 1.

Runner A: who runs 10 miles a week only
    OR Runner B: who runs 10 miles per week + cycles 60 miles per week?

Eg 2.

The Brownlee brothers 10k performance when

a) They partake in full triathlon training
    b) They can use the triathlon run training time only. They cant increase the run time but they can use it anyway they want. No cycling or swimming.

We both know the answers and I imagine the top coaches would also.
    And I think we know neither Brownlee would run under 30 minutes in EG 2 (b), and it would have nothing to do with weight.

You said that you can have the strongest heart in the world but it matters not. if the training is not specific she cant tap into it.
    But the OP will be running also. She will be using this stronger heart which will have a higher stroke volume beating more blood and oxygen to the peripherals.

For the peripherals cycling is a superb low-impact alternative to running. Complete recruitment of the FT motor units is lost on the bike, as is the pre-stretch of the ankle. But you will get significant strenght benefits in the quads, that are transferable to running strenght.

I think you are misunderstanding the law of specificity.
    The best training is that which is specific to the sport or event.

That in no way implies that it is the only training.

Sometimes you have to apply the laws as they best suit the specific situation.

In this situation:

Very limited specific training + unlimited more general training
    is far superior to Limited specific training alone.

In this specific situation:

10 miles a week only is far inferior to 10 miles per week only + loads of cycling.

Interesting discussion, it's giving me lots to think about!

Just keep in mind the 10 miles per week will definitely increase. This week I'll be hitting 12 miles.

Also, I am already crosstraining with my trainer. I workout with him twice a week doing spinning, pilates, light weights for upper body and leg/posterior chain strengthening.

Does that change things?

ultraman1 wrote: »

I heard a rumour that a few of the ultra folk have been fond of the oul rothar.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

Forgive me for speaking my mind, but the above training discussion sounds needlessly and excessively complicated to me - so I'm calling bull**** on it. As far as I'm concerned, cycling makes you good at cycling, and running makes you good at running. If you're running 10 miles a week, and cycling 60, then in my book that makes you a cyclist, doing cycling training with a bit of running thrown in. If you want to train for a marathon, you've got to be running, first and foremost. Other sorts of training are irrelevant, if you are starting at 10 miles a week. The only thing that matters is training the body to run more miles. In my opinion.