Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Ah, What's the worst airport stopover you've had?

Kiwi in IE wrote: »
    There was most likely a logical reason that we weren't aware of.

Maybe an obvious question but, is your child blonde by any chance?
    Uncle Ben wrote: »
    Was going to Leningrad back in the USSR in the '80s. My flight was Aerofkot from Shannon. My flight arrived from Cuba and my seat was inside a 20 stone Cuban who sweated profusely and never stopped smoking. We sat on the tarmac for a few hours before taking off. Then 4 hours plus of a flight.

Now THAT'S "Economy"! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭Thoie

ProudDUB wrote: »
    we were traveling under particularly harrowing personal circumstances, that I won't bore ya'll with.
    I know it's 10 years later, but hope everyone is OK now.
    ProudDUB wrote: »
    Btw, dunno what the beef is with Hotlanta airport. I must have traveled thru it 200 times when I lived there & I don't think I had one bad experience with the security staff. They may not be as polished as those in some other cities, but they deffo have the human touch that those in JFK, O'Hare etc etc sorely lack imo.

I spent 18 hours "trapped" in Madrid airport, airside, and that was still better than my experience of Atlanta! Usually if I know I'm going to be somewhere more than 6 hours (long layover) I book a hotel. The layover in Madrid was only supposed to be a few hours, so didn't bother. Think there was a problem with the plane or something, which led to the delay. All along we were being told another hour, another 30 minutes.

People finally starting demanding vouchers for food/drink, but by the time they organised them, all the airside shops/restaurants were closed so there was nowhere to get anything. I wasn't too bad - I'd used my own money (shock!) to buy stuff before things closed, and ended up donating bottles of water to a family with kids. I still think the parents were bordering on neglect. Sure, the airline "owed" us, but I think if I had kids with me I'd have forked out for some water at least.

The most irritating thing was not being allowed to leave. Once it hit a certain time it was completely obvious that even if a new plane arrived, it wasn't going to be taking off again until at least 6am, so I could have fecked off and got a bed somewhere.

And despite all that, Atlanta was worse :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Dog of Tears

Charles de Gaulle airport is one of the most horrible places on Earth. An hour there feels like a day.
    It's like the French workers actually go out of their way to make your time there as unpleasant as it can possibly be.

Had to fly out of Pape'ete Airport in Tahiti at 5am once, which meant arriving there at around 7pm the previous day. Airport consisted on 1 coffee shop which closed at 8pm.

A 6 hour delay in Bodrum airport in Turkey was less than pleasant. Full of cockroaches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Madrid airport for 12 hours, 10pm till 10am next morning.

Everything closed, this was pre smart phone days also. I'm a light sleeper so can't really sleep in airports but my mate could sleep no bother. I just raced around on trolleys and had loads of hot chocolate from the vending machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,434 ✭✭✭✭endacl

porsche959 wrote: »
    Thinly-disguised 'my world travels were more interesting than yours' post. ;)

Thinly disguised, me hole. I've never been to KL. Or even CDG! Or most airports mentioned...

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Not so much a stop over but I arrived at Dublin airport to get a flight to Cyprus. The screens came up as delayed and the boarding time kept getting put back and back. Sitting around in departures for about 3 hours before we're told the flight has been cancelled. Turned out an airport vehicle collided with the plane somehow so they couldn't fly it for safety reasons. We were told to come back in 24 hours and hope for the best pretty much. Some were put up in the airport hotel but we just drove home. Came back the following night and they stuck us on some unmarked aircraft that was flown in from Paris.
    Seriously how do you crash into a stationary plane!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,422 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Flying from Ireland to Estonia during the christmas period is always a barrel of laughs. The only reasonably cheap way of doing it is going through Stansted or Gatwick (Ryanair and Easyjet respectively). Ryanair flight departs at 6.55am, Easy jet at 8am. My only option is to stay the night. Nothing is open, the limited number of seats are all taken by sleeping travellers so the only option is to sleep on your bag or on the floor and I am a remarkably light sleeper.

Last Christmas I headed home to Ireland via Stansted and lo and behold, after going through security... Swanwick ATC goes down and strands half the travellers in the country. Luckily some of the pilots managed to convince the airport to let them depart on the condition that they fly low enough to be managed by some secondary radar system. I had resigned to being stranded for at least 8 hours (as we were initially told) so I popped into whetherspoons and drank my stress away. Made for a very fun flight low over towns and the Irish sea until we got to the safety of Irish ATC.

Never a dull moment on that route in December. If its not storms its technical faults. Good thing there is always a large number of lads at the whetherspoons pub and the craic is usually mighty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Have relatives (one elderly) who had a flight to Australia. They had a stopover somewhere in Aisa where there was some issue with the plane. They were told they could be transferred onto another flight and there would be no issues, but this one was going to the USA first. It was the only available option for a few days so they reluctantly agreed.

They arrived in the USA (not sure which airport) and were told they had entered the country illegally. Apparently they weren't treated very well, lack of water (they were very dehydrated from the flight) etc... and it was all a bit of an ordeal, especially for someone 80+ years of age. I think one of them (not the elderly person) may have fainted. I don't know if there was any follow up, but I imagine they were compensated by the Airline company. It was all pretty embarrassing on their part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,504 ✭✭✭Sinister Kid

Flew home from from Boston via Paris, 8 hr stop over in Charles De Gaulle... About an hour in to the stop over a guy sits down beside me that I vaguely recognize, he worked next door to my job about three years earlier, we probably spoke twice in the whole time I worked there. He did not shut up asking question after question like we were BFF's having a good catch up. All I wanted to do was finish my book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

I've been fairly lucky on stopovers down the years.

Only entertaining one was last year, we had a 7 hour stopover in Toronto before our connecting flight to Winnipeg. We decided to leave Pearson and go into Toronto for food. My 4 year old, who'd been great on the flight over, fell asleep in the back of the cab but woke with a start and vomited everywhere. We mopped up what we could but the back of the taxi was a bit of a state. We got to the mall and the cab driver just turned around, took our fare and said nothing. We got out and ran into GAP to get a change of clothes for the little one. Was half expecting to be hunted down by the cabbie.

I spent my 21'st birthday alone in Dublin airport delayed for 12 hours while my family were in Majorca celebrating without me. To make things worse the flight was delayed by an hour, then two hours & so on... If it had of showed as a 12 hour delay from the start I could have gone home for a while & came back. I may have shed a little tear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Was meant to fly to Singapore with herself and our 3 year old daughter last year. Just as we are getting into the car to drive to the airport the missus discovers her passport is out of date, cue hysteria and panic. We decide the best plan was to change her flight for the following day (cost 500 euro) and for me to fly solo with our 3 year old as it was too expensive to change all 3... I didnt hold out much hope that she would make the flight the next day but it was all we could do. Arrived in Abu Dhabi airport and the terminal was unbearably warm and both myself and my daughter are extremely tired and emotional having not slept on the flight at all. Stopover was meant to be 3 hours, flight delayed another 3 hours so thats 6 hours in total. Abu Dhabi was absolutely rammed full (ive never seen it like that before) and there was literally no where to sit down. My phone wasnt working and I couldnt find any working WIFI \ internet kiosks or payphones in the terminal we were in so had no idea if herself managed to get a passport and make the next flight.

My daughter has really blonde hair and blue eyes which is a bit of a novelty in Abu Dhabi so literally spent 6 hours sitting on the ground with random strangers coming up and rubbing her hair and giving her melted chocolate bars and warm jellies \ sweets, which was charming at first but got annoying really quickly as my daughter hadnt eaten a thing on the flight and I was trying to get some proper food in to her and she just wanted to eat the junk. My tablet and laptop had died so literally just sat on the floor with a crying 3 year old in my arms for 6 hours straight staring at the floor thinking FML, After what felt like an eternity we were shuffled onto a packed bus which sat on the tarmac for another 40 minutes in the searing heat with no seats before we were eventually allowed to board.

When we landed, we had been travelling for nearly 30 hours straight, One of my best mates met me at the gate at 3am local time with a hug and 3 bottles of ice cold Tigers and informed me that herself managed to make the flight.. I could have kissed him..but I was too tired

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

I spent my 21'st birthday alone in Dublin airport delayed for 12 hours while my family were in Majorca celebrating without me. To make things worse the flight was delayed by an hour, then two hours & so on... If it had of showed as a 12 hour delay from the start I could have gone home for a while & came back. I may have shed a little tear.

That's the most annoying part,

I've been in situations where they've said the flight was delayed and when I checked the flight on Flightaware you can see its landing at a different airport.

Happened in Eindhoven with Ryanair, flight was "delayed" they could have just told us the story up front, the plane was sitting on the Tarmac for 2 hours in Maastricht Airport up to that point they swore blind it was landing in 20 minutes and was circling over Eindhoven.

Finally they informed us it was in Maastricht and we had to get a bus.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

The airport in Abu Dhabi is fairly cramped past the gates, I think that is why it gets uncomfortable.

Worst for me was in Amman, in the boarding area for hours while cutoms and immigration where loading up the back of the plane with refugees that where being sent I imagine back home.
    This was quite obvioulsy a distressing time for the people being sent home, probably first time on an airplane and generally being treated like sh*t mainly because they were forgetting thier paperwork, or have given it to someone else to look after.

I also had a doozy in Jo'Burg where we were not allowed to leave the plane and it was surrounded by cops. We were on the plane for about 1 hour with the engine and aircon turned off while the cops were planning something outside. They eventually let us off onto buses and then apprehended some dude. But 1 hour in an un air-conditioned small airplane in SA was a sweaty affair (and with the cops planning a raid outside)and I still had a few hours in SA, a flight to London, a few hours then a flight to Dublin to contend with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

2 days in Keflavik airport, skint & hungover, after spending Paddy's day in Reykyavik & the first eruption of the Eyjafjallajokull volcano the 20th :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

where to start? having to sleep overnight in Atlanta due to all flights being cancelled due to biblical rains ; Havana Airport back in the 80's - we had very little money left and had pooled our resources to get some food before the flight and the local Cubans came over and asked were we russian because we were sharing the plate of food between 4 of us ; and Rome in the early 80's waiting overnight for an Air Kenya flight from Nairoibi to Rome to Frankfurt to Gatwick (I think it was) arrived at the airport at 6.00pm and the flight wasn't til 8.00am, chatted up a waiter in the Airport bar who let me sleep in the bar area when it closed but I didn't realise he had locked the door until the cleaners came in at 5.00am

boy I could write a book

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Expected much more in Salzberg in Austria or Lyon in France, could get nothing once past Security, or if I could it was stupidly over priced.

I had occasion to spend 4 hours in Salzburg airport recently and was lucky not to have been able to print my boarding pass in advance. There's a decent enough restaurant upstairs before you go through security but very little worthy of attention after the security (at least in Terminal 2 - a barely glorified barn).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,595 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

9 hours in Munich Airport after an epic stag weekend, a few of us missed the flight home. We were all skint from having to shell out about €350 a piece for new flights and in the absolute horrors from a weekend of serious excess. Three lads sitting in a bar for most of the day and not one of us could face ordering a beer... Ah, the Celtic Tiger, I don't miss you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭evilberry

London Stansted - flew from Dub with the last flight of the day, had a another flight at 10 am in the morning. Friends thought it would be a great idea to tell me how they got their belongings stolen there while asleep so I ended up trying to come up with a whole system that would wake me up while someone tries to open/steal my backpack/handbag. It involved me leaving my backpack on and having it against the wall. My handbag was tied to my arm in case someone tries to steal it. In case they just wanna dive in to get my wallet or so I simply (sic!) removed my shoelace and tied it around the handbag. I also removed pads from my bra (there is a tiny pocket for that in there, yeah :D) and used it as a safe place to store the most important bits - my phone in one cup and my passport in another one.

Now that I read this... sweet jesus I bet I am online somewhere given the preparation and coming up with the solution for that paranoia took me about an hour :D

Ah and no, I don't do that anymore! It was my first stopover ever... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

evilberry wrote: »
    London Stansted - flew from Dub with the last flight of the day, had a another flight at 10 am in the morning. Friends thought it would be a great idea to tell me how they got their belongings stolen there while asleep so I ended up trying to come up with a whole system that would wake me up while someone tries to open/steal my backpack/handbag. It involved me leaving my backpack on and having it against the wall. My handbag was tied to my arm in case someone tries to steal it. In case they just wanna dive in to get my wallet or so I simply (sic!) removed my shoelace and tied it around the handbag. I also removed pads from my bra (there is a tiny pocket for that in there, yeah :D) and used it as a safe place to store the most important bits - my phone in one cup and my passport in another one.

Now that I read this... sweet jesus I bet I am online somewhere given the preparation and coming up with the solution for that paranoia took me about an hour :D

Ah and no, I don't do that anymore! It was my first stopover ever... :P

Seems like you need to start a "Don't travel after smoking weed" thread :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Abu Simbel airport in Egypt, some years ago. Pretty much what I imagine Shannon was in the 1940's. A check in desk, waiting area, no shop, and a small toilet.

Delayed 4 hrs because the flight back to Luxor had 'technical issues'. Saw a lot of guys scratching their heads and kicking the tyres of the plane, from the waiting area. Didn't inspire confidence. The delay meant we missed the famed light show that evening at the Temple of Karnak.

I vowed I'd get to see it one day, but never have as yet.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭conor_ie

Worst Airport I've been in has to be Agadir a few years ago.. Had a lovely holiday with the now ex partner.. Got to check in for the flight in home to be told the plane was going to be late in.. Didn't think much of it at the time.. Delays happen etc

No news after an hour.. then 2 hours... 3 hours... Finally we got vouchers for something to eat.. Not that any of it looked appetizing! We had some money left over so ended up going to the vending machines..

Eventually the plane arrived to take us home.. with 1 small problem.. Only 1 toilet working for 160 adults and 30 or so kids... I was never as glad to kiss the tarmac when we got to Dublin..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭rocky911

Philadelphia 2 years ago, connecting flight to Ocean City was delayed 8 hours due to electrical storms so just got langers with some fella from Buffalo who I met in the bar and a young one who did a gap year in UCC on her way to visit her sister in OC. Doesn't sound bad but what made it a balls was the phonecall 48 hours later from US airways asking why I didnt make the PHL to OC connecting flight and that my return flights were cancelled, apparently the ticketing steward never scanned my boarding pass which meant that in their eyes I didnt make the connecting flight..so took 2 days of convincing in order for them not to cancel the return leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭scdublin

Had boarded a plane in Dublin that was set to go to New York when they made an announcement that there was a technical issue. They told us it wouldn't take long etc but after 2 hours we were asked to get off the plane and wait at the gate.

There was a small restaurant/bar area that every passenger on the plane headed to, so we queued up for ages and got some food. There were no other shops etc as far as I can remember.

We got updates every so often but weren't any closer to knowing what was going on. We were told at one stage that they were trying to get a part flown in from London that might fix the issue and as long as they got it by a certain time we would still be flying. They had to be careful legally that the crew could still fly after a certain delay time or something.

Eventually...after about 6/7 hours since boarding the plane, we were told to start getting ready to board again.

So there we were...in the queue...tired but delighted to finally be starting our holiday, when I noticed some policemen walking towards the gate. I immediately turned to my friend and said "That's not a good sign. Bet they're going to cancel the flight". And what would you know, two minutes later when I was in the toilet doing my "just in case we really are boarding" wee, they made the announcement that they were now cancelling the flight because the crew time deadline had gone past.

There was an article in the papers about it actually because many passengers had to sleep on a hotel room floor instead of being given rooms because they were "booked out". City centre hotels weren't booked out but the airline wouldn't pay for the transport. Pr!cks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Woshy

Charles De Gaulle airport with an 8 month old. We were on our way home from Johannesburg, so had already been on a 12 hour flight and had a 5/6 hour wait. They refused to give us our pram for the transit time because "this is France and we don't do that" even though they gave it to us on the way out. They have these "courtesy buggies" that are rock hard and the poor baby has to sit completely upright. We had to transfer terminals before we had access to these so we were struggling lugging him and our hand luggage around.

It was the early hours of the morning and he was desperate to sleep but was too uncomfortable so he was an absolute crank monster. Added in that there was nowhere for us all to sit and the few shops that were there were closed and we were all desperate for breakfast. Plus the staff were so rude.

Just an awful experience all round. We just walked around like zombies for a few hours. I'm not surprised to see CDG mentioned a few times in this thread. We'll never fly through there again, especially as we had a bad experience on the actual plane with Air France too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

My worst airport experience wasn't actually a stopover. Eleven hours on the tarmac in Gran Canaria the week after 9/11. Bags checked on flight with no passenger boarded. We weren't allowed back in the terminal and had to keep getting on and off the plane to stand beside our luggage. No food or drinks were supplied. It was lashing rain. Plane due to leave at 7pm left after 6 the next morning. I understood the reason for the hysteria but felt it was very poorly handled all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,338 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Spent a night in bratislava airport which was rough enough. But the worst was sitting in the plane on the runway in Miami waiting to take off for over an hour. The heat was intense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,777 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Worst stopover airport is/was probably Charles de Gaulle.

was on an assignment not too far from Nantes, so the company travel vendor got me flights from Dublin - Paris - Nantes (which cost about €800)
    Had to change terminals, which involved going on a bus out onto the motorway for what seemed like an eternity to get to the other terminal.

Horrible airport
    bad attitude from all Air France staff
    crap terminal transfer set up.

turns out Ryanair flew direct to Nantes from Dublin for about €60-€80 (which turned out rather handy as I was there for 8 months, and flew home almost every weekend, and the flight time averaged 55 minutes).

going back to the OP, I had a few stop overs in Zurich, and didn't find it terribly bad!(at least it was clean)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

MadYaker wrote: »
    Spent a night in bratislava airport which was rough enough. But the worst was sitting in the plane on the runway in Miami waiting to take off for over an hour. The heat was intense.
    Had that exact experience in Miami two weeks ago actually!

Worst for me was probably in Delhi. Nothing went wrong, it was just a long stop over. 9 hours or something like that.