Woman who failed to pay TV licence fine taken to jail in five-hour taxi trip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

I've a tv with no digital doohickey, no satellite or cable, can't receive a single channel as far as I can tell. Don't watch tv. But I do watch a lot of movies. Why should I pay if I'm incapable of receiving any signal? Unwilling to receive them in fact. I got it eight years ago when I had a job and plenty of money. Some here clearly think I should throw it out since I can't afford a license. Do they understand how daft that sounds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

Just as a matter of interest, and I haven't read back on all 12 pages, but why didn't she just buy TV stamps, €4 a week.

I hate paying the TV licence, but I pay it because I have to - I'd hate even more if I had Court Orders or Bailiffs or the like chasing me for money. So to give me peace of mind, I pay it - but its going on the list to discuss for the would be TD's when they start calling to the house for the next election.

RTE is a commercial tv station and I'd be interested to see the salaries of RTE presenters compared to BBC, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

i buy the 4euro stamp every week. hate buying a licence for a tv for a station i don't watch. actually don't watch tv, watch netflix. but our govt can pass laws that suit them and only them so a cover-everything broadcasting law is really cushy for them.

pity they don't spend more time on laws that actually need to be introduced in this country.

oh forgot, they probably wouldn't make money for them and their cronies in rte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

i buy the 4euro stamp every week. hate buying a licence for a tv for a station i don't watch. actually don't watch tv, watch netflix. but our govt can pass laws that suit them and only them so a cover-everything broadcasting law is really cushy for them.

pity they don't spend more time on laws that actually need to be introduced in this country.

oh forgot, they probably wouldn't make money for them and their cronies in rte.

If you're watching Netflix why are you buying a TV licence?

Sell the TV, buy a decent sized computer monitor. Job done.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

mickstupp wrote: »
    I've a tv with no digital doohickey, no satellite or cable, can't receive a single channel as far as I can tell. Don't watch tv. But I do watch a lot of movies. Why should I pay if I'm incapable of receiving any signal? Unwilling to receive them in fact. I got it eight years ago when I had a job and plenty of money. Some here clearly think I should throw it out since I can't afford a license. Do they understand how daft that sounds?

You're not fooling anyone.
    You put the digital doohickey down your kacks when the inspector calls.
    RTE are well on to your tricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,998 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Until the "broadcast licence" comes in.

Tony EH wrote: »
    Until the "broadcast licence" comes in.

Aye, but for now. And that things been delayed already.

It's only delayed until after the election.

Just like a lot of other shite they have waiting in the wings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,016 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

He never said that
    ah shur didn't you hear? i support rape and murder because i believe someone shouldn't be jailed for a tv licence, and i support people doing whatever they like. lol

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

not when the broadcasting charge comes in you will have to pay if you have anything like that

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭Baby Jane

not always true. some companies couldn't give a ****
    I don't know if that's true. It's a belief, often supported by irresponsible media reporting, but not necessarily true. Companies do have to facilitate people who can't pay. It's when it gets to "won't pay" that they have a case. The woman in this wouldn't pay until a fine was incurred, so not paying was only shooting herself in the foot
    It will if enough don't but that's the problem not enough people with backbone to stand up for what's right and hence the electorate keeps getting shat on from a height.
    I don't know if the TV licence will disappear if enough people don't pay - it's standard to pay towards the public broadcaster (if owning a TV). My problem with the Irish one is that it's too costly and what it funds is not just public broadcasting, it's those ludicrous salaries.
    I wouldn't even mind the additional revenue from advertising once the costs of those over-paid and mediocre presenters were removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭keyboard_cat

A computer monitor that is larger then 32 inches costs mad money compared to a equivlent sized tv like 2.5 to 3 times the cost. And its damn near impossible to find a screen larger then 42 inches. So why should people be restricted like this because of rte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

If you can afford a 45 inch tv ,you can afford to pay the tv licence.
    buy an old hdtv 32 inch ,non saorview tv on adverts.ie

if you have no cable tv,or sky tv sub,
    you have no way of recieving rte tv.
    Hence you are not liable to pay a licence.

Rte no longer broadcasts on uhf frequencys.
    Its easy to attach a laptop or pc to any hdtv,
    thru hdmi or vga port .
    And watch tv programs on the web.
    Any person who subscribes to sky or upc, will get a visit from the licence inspector ,
    if you dont currently have a tv licence .
    A sky box connected to a dish will recieve alot if free uk channels,
    bbc,itv etc
    but rte1,2, tv is blocked unless you subscribe to sky tv.

AN old hdtv tv can,t recieve rte tv,
    unless its connected to a soarview box, or a sky reciever ,
    with a subscription card in it.

IF you read the papers , rte salarys are around 200k,
    for the top presenters,
    small compared with what bbc tv presenters get .
    eg the top gear presenters are multi millionaires .

IF you can afford cable tv, or sky ,
    then you can afford a tv license .

i,m not a lawyer but i think they can,t ask you to pay a tv license ,
    if you have no device capable of recieving irish tv stations.

riclad wrote: »

no you can't. one could have gotten that tv from savings or money for birthday/doing a little job or whatever.

yes you are

no you can't

why can't they

A computer monitor that is larger then 32 inches costs mad money compared to a equivlent sized tv like 2.5 to 3 times the cost. And its damn near impossible to find a screen larger then 42 inches. So why should people be restricted like this because of rte

Because it's the law.

So to get this straight it's not just free TV people are entitled to, it TV on a massive cinema system. Is there a constitutional right to a home cinema system? How many speakers should there be? :rolleyes:

Seriously, it's on thing to object to the licence fee; some of the arguments being put forward here are bordering on the bloody ridiculous.

Are people who don't have a television liable for a licence?
    I thought this broadcasting charge being mooted was to "remedy" that.

Baby Jane wrote: »
    Are people who don't have a television liable for a licence?
    I thought this broadcasting charge being mooted was to "remedy" that.

yes, i think once the broadcasting charge comes in they will need a licence for anything that can potentially view tv or listen to radio, the charge being brought in to remove all possible loop holes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

I think a broadcasting licence will be brought in ,
    if you have net acess, ie
    a broadband you,ll have to pay it .whether you have a tv or not.
    Since rte, tv3 programs are avaidable thru the iplayer.

So is the law ,
    if i have an old tv,uhf, vhf,
    non saorview compatible tv,
    i still have to pay a tv licence.
    i,ve never been asked for a tv licence ,
    nor have i recieved a letter about it.
    IN 10 years living here .
    i have no sky sub,no dish,
    no saorview tv.
    Just a broadband connection.

I think once you get cable tv, or sky tv installed ,
    you,ll recieve a visit from the tv licence inspectors.

buy an old hdtv 32 inch ,non saorview tv on adverts.ie

Rte no longer broadcasts on uhf frequencys.
    Its easy to attach a laptop or pc to any hdtv,
    thru hdmi or vga port .
    And watch tv programs on the web.
    Any person who subscribes to sky or upc, will get a visit from the licence inspector ,
    if you dont currently have a tv licence .
    A sky box connected to a dish will recieve alot if free uk channels,
    bbc,itv etc
    but rte1,2, tv is blocked unless you subscribe to sky tv.

AN old hdtv tv can,t recieve rte tv,
    unless its connected to a soarview box, or a sky reciever ,
    with a subscription card in it.

IF you read the papers , rte salarys are around 200k,
    for the top presenters,
    small compared with what bbc tv presenters get .
    eg the top gear presenters are multi millionaires .

actually you still need a licence even if u dont have a saoirview box you could have a broken tv in your bin waiting to be disposed of and legally you have to have a licence for it because its capable of being repaired. we would all be better off if rte sent out a subscription card like sky does so only people who pay can watch it

Because it's the law.

So to get this straight it's not just free TV people are entitled to, it TV on a massive cinema system. Is there a constitutional right to a home cinema system? How many speakers should there be? :rolleyes:

Seriously, it's on thing to object to the licence fee; some of the arguments being put forward here are bordering on the bloody ridiculous.

I dont feel entitled to free tv i use my tv for playstation dvd's and netflix and i dont have an ariel connected to it and i dont use sky. I buy boxsets of all tv shows i want to watch So why exactly should i be paying for a service that i have never used, and dont intend to use?
    assuming that anyone who has a tv is connecting it to RTE is nonsense. and what is worse is assuming that anyone who has an internet connection is using rte player is as stupid as it gets
    I have noting against the licence and if i did watch rte i would pay the fee. but forcing a fee on people who use their tv like i do is pathetic they could easily regulate it like sky does with subscription cards.
    If sky decided to get rid of the encryption on their channels and posted a bill to everyone in the country with a tv because they could potentially be using sky would you still think people are being entitled?

I dont feel entitled to free tv i use my tv for playstation dvd's and netflix and i dont have an ariel connected to it and i dont use sky. I buy boxsets of all tv shows i want to watch So why exactly should i be paying for a service that i have never used, and dont intend to use?
    assuming that anyone who has a tv is connecting it to RTE is nonsense. and what is worse is assuming that anyone who has an internet connection is using rte player is as stupid as it gets
    I have noting against the licence and if i did watch rte i would pay the fee. but forcing a fee on people who use their tv like i do is pathetic they could easily regulate it like sky does with subscription cards.
    If sky decided to get rid of the encryption on their channels and posted a bill to everyone in the country with a tv because they could potentially be using sky would you still think people are being entitled?

It's the law.

Vote the TDs in that have this on their agenda, until then no point in giving out about it, especially when there's a way round it.

Kids should be using the smallest possible screen for PS3s anyway, read the epilepsy warning.

It's the law.

Vote the TDs in that have this on their agenda, until then no point in giving out about it, especially when there's a way round it.

Kids should be using the smallest possible screen for PS3s anyway, read the epilepsy warning.
    there is no way around it. "its the law" means nothing. sometimes laws deserve to be broken

This unjust laws bollocks in relation to the TV licence demeans people and events where genuine unjust laws have been overturned.

It's the law means quite a bit, otherwise why should I pay my taxes and allow them to be spent on the dole? Ah thats right because the law of this country means that we pay taxes for things we don't like for the benefit of others. We pay a TV licence, if we choose to own the covered equipment because it allows for a national broadcaster, it was decided democratically that this was a good thing. If you don't like it change it democratically if you can get the votes, don't own the equipment, or shut up and pay up.

I think it should be less - it's way too expensive and clearly contributing towards stupidly high salaries for mediocre people, but I agree, not liking it is fine, but if that's used as the sole reason not to pay, you can't complain when the consequences (which you are aware of) bite you on the ass.

If you're on social welfare you may not have to pay, so investigate this with the welfare office. If you can't pay it in one go, organise an installment plan.

This unjust laws bollocks in relation to the TV licence demeans people and events where genuine unjust laws have been overturned.

It's the law means quite a bit, otherwise why should I pay my taxes and allow them to be spent on the dole? Ah thats right because the law of this country means that we pay taxes for things we don't like for the benefit of others. We pay a TV licence, if we choose to own the covered equipment because it allows for a national broadcaster, it was decided democratically that this was a good thing. If you don't like it change it democratically if you can get the votes, don't own the equipment, or shut up and pay up.

Bollocks.

Bollocks.

You tell me I've never voted in Ireland, I assume you vote in the people you want with the policies you want?

If you don't then maybe you've bigger problems than a TV licence to worry about?

You NEVER voted for a TV licence. NOBODY has and it was NEVER put to the people, nor will it be.

No matter how stupid "just pay it" is, or how weak "it's the law is", calling it "democratic" is simply talking the piss.

No matter where one stands on the payment of a TV licence.

i won't shut up and pay up. how dare you tell me to do as such. where and when was it democratically decided it was a good thing? it wasn't. the government brought it in themselves without a vote from the people.

You NEVER voted for a TV licence. NOBODY has and it was NEVER put to the people, nor will it be.

No matter how stupid "just pay it" is, or how weak "it's the law is", calling it "democratic" is simply talking the piss.

No matter where one stands on the payment of a TV licence.

You vote them in, up to you to hold them to account when they're there. Until then it's the law there's no point in giving out about it being enforced.
    i won't shut up and pay up. how dare you tell me to do as such. where and when was it democratically decided it was a good thing? it wasn't. the government brought it in themselves without a vote from the people.

You demean people who genuinely fight injustice in this country, you deserve to be told to shut up, that's how I dare tell you to do it, despite my previous comment being a general one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭timetogo

the government brought it in themselves without a vote from the people.

OK, you're showing that you don't really know how the country (or any country) works.

We don't vote for every law the government brings in. I don't really want a referendum every week. If you want a law changed get a group of people and lobby your TD. Keep this moving until the law is debated in the Dail and they (our representatives) vote on it.

You've said above that some laws deserve to be broken. Do you have a list of laws that deserve to be broken? Who decides what gets put on this list? You? Did we ever vote for you? What if most people don't agree with you?