Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

No. We won't.

Might win 2-1 or something similar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,363 ✭✭✭G1032

efb wrote: »
    No. We won't.

Might win 2-1 or something similar

We will!
    4-0!
    And Ozil will score two and Danny Murphy and Michael Owen and every other t0sser 'analyst/commentator/journo' will have to start eating their words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,827 ✭✭✭emmetlego

G1032 wrote: »
    We will!
    4-0!
    And Ozil will score two and Danny Murphy and Michael Owen and every other t0sser 'analyst/commentator/journo' will have to start eating their words.

You just don't get this reverse psychology thingy, do you?

WE WILL WIN 2-0, WE WILL NOT GO THROUGH TO THE NEXT ROUND… (Jedi mind trick hand waving in front of your face)

http://www.quickmeme.com/meme/3ump1y

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭symbolic

Fair play to the Arsenal team and manager last night, proving many pundits and fans wrong.

I hope it continues. Good luck to them.

A great team and club whatever happens.

efb wrote: »
    But they are out

Got 4 goals though. So if we can keep it tight at the back and get two early goals i think we are well in it. I think if we play with a high tempo we can do it. Hopefully we wont be as suicidal in defence.

Indeed fantastic. And we were extremely close to beating Liverpool too at Anfield with very very little possession. To be honest i dont mind not having the ball if we are this effective on the counter attack. Box smart not hard.

Should Rosicky and Theo start in Monaco? For me most definately yes. Two tricky players who love playing at a high tempo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭MaxPower89

Should Rosicky and Theo start in Monaco? For me most definately yes. Two tricky players who love playing at a high tempo.

Interesting, my guess would be just Walcott on the right. Who would you drop for Tomas? Santi? As much as we need goals, we can't be gung-ho either, balance needs to be right in midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Walcott's best against a high line where he can get in behind them.

Monaco do not play a high line.

Is Tomas not injured?

Football! Football!

Are you on yokes?

Football!

And no, this is me drunk. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Lahinchians

cathalio11 wrote: »

Scary to read as a human being

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Walcott doesn't have to have a team pushed up and bags of space to run into.

I'd go

Coq
    Rambo
    Walcott - Caz - Ozil
    Sanchez

Rosicky and Giroud to come on late on and finish the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,773 ✭✭✭emergingstar

gosplan wrote: »
    Walcott doesn't have to have a team pushed up and bags of space to run into.

I'd go

Coq
    Rambo
    Walcott - Caz - Ozil
    Sanchez

Rosicky and Giroud to come on late on and finish the job.

Id def start giroud

Them little one twos around the box will be crucial

Walcott, Giroud, Sanchez and Ozil have to start, that's our best attacking line up for goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,338 ✭✭✭DenMan

The lads are going to Singapore for pre-season in July. Everton and Stoke from the Premier League will also be taking part in the tournament.

11010307_1078436285503929_8020249884936295963_n.jpg?oh=c964a82e78743f8eb75822738abdf8f2&oe=55BDF0D4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,779 ✭✭✭Marcus Antonius

DenMan wrote: »
    The lads are going to Singapore for pre-season in July. Everton and Stoke from the Premier League will also be taking part in the tournament.

11010307_1078436285503929_8020249884936295963_n.jpg?oh=c964a82e78743f8eb75822738abdf8f2&oe=55BDF0D4

Urgh Stoke, last thing we need is injuries in a warm up match before the season even starts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,321 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Who in Singapore wants to see fcuking Stoke?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭byrneg28

Who in Singapore wants to see fcuking Stoke?!

7865430536_b804cd7a66_b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Arsenal need only look at Schalke's performance tonight to see it's well worth having a go in Monaco. Di Matteo really has them playing some fantastic football.[/QUOTE

Schalke were brilliant and deserved to win. With such determination we might do the same in Monaco..

Id def start giroud

Them little one twos around the box will be crucial

Nah. Reckon their CB's will have Giroud's measure.

We never score lots with him playing and I reckon a fair majority of his goals have come in the second half. Confidant he might get one late on when people tire but that's not good enough.

Play the fast mobile players. Score early and bring Giroud on after 65 mins to make a further impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Yep I'd start Wellbeck for that game, he has earned his chance after slapping the ball in the net on Monday night :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Spanish Johnny

We never score lots with him playing and I reckon a fair majority of his goals have come in the second half. Confidant he might get one late on when people tire but that's not good enough.

Play the fast mobile players. Score early and bring Giroud on after 65 mins to make a further impact.

Jeez so many things not right their Gosplan...how would they have his measure??

He should have had a hatrick in the Emirates against them...the reason he didn't was himself which is quite out of form. His goal scoring record since his injury is insanely good.

As even the Monaco coach stated after 1st game....Arsenal start very well...they like to score early and build momentum. Giroud gets a huge amount of our 1st goals.

Furthermore....how in the name of God to we not start Giroud against a team that will certainly sit deep. Do ya really think we will play through them????

We will need our most physically strong offensive player, best hold up man, strong presence in the air, long ball option into the box and proven goalscorer in our team and that is Giroud...how on earth could we leave him out? Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Fast mobile players will have less of an impact against teams playing with 2 banks of 4. They won't get much of an opportunity to use their pace. We need the variety in our play that having a strong tall centre forward provides.

Jeez so many things not right their Gosplan...how would they have his measure??

He should have had a hatrick in the Emirates against them...the reason he didn't was himself which is quite out of form. His goal scoring record since his injury is insanely good.

As even the Monaco coach stated after 1st game....Arsenal start very well...they like to score early and build momentum. Giroud gets a huge amount of our 1st goals.

Furthermore....how in the name of God to we not start Giroud against a team that will certainly sit deep. Do ya really think we will play through them????

We will need our most physically strong offensive player, best hold up man, strong presence in the air, long ball option into the box and proven goalscorer in our team and that is Giroud...how on earth could we leave him out? Seriously?

We don't score many with Giroud in the team, that's all.

How many doubles has he gotten?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭shano_88

Ya, Giroud definetly starts for me aswell. Hes a handful for any defender and with Monaco likely to be sitting deep again, we will need him as our fulcrum who everyone else will play off. Presumably Ox is out for this one so Id go for something like this
    Ospina
    Bellerin Mert Kos Monreal
    Coq
    Ozil Cazorla Ramsey Sanchez
    Giroud

Aim to come out of the blocks as quickly as possible and get that early goal. Anything can happen then. I certainly think we are capable of scoring 3 goals against them. Id imagine there will be some rotation this weekend. I wouldnt be suprised to see Walcott, Rosicky and Gibbs starting vs WHU.