Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Spanish Johnny

Definitely not. Play the best team and go for it. It'll be unbelievable if we get through but what you're suggesting could be interpreted as a defeatist attitude

Absolutely. Have to go for it. It's a pressure free game in many respects I think. As in expectation is low. I reckon we could do them 3-1 there. Then to extra time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,773 ✭✭✭emergingstar

couldnt sleep last night watched the game again

I think the team
    Is sfter adapting to Sanchez

Ozil is absolute baller he links it all together for us

And arise sir coq

90 days ago he was struggling with Charlton, last night he won 10 of his 12 aerial duels with with Fellani, and bossed a game at Trafford

He is my hero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Spanish Johnny

Why are you convinced? I think Liverpool will struggle against Blackburn and would even struggle against a Fired up villa in the semi. I think whoever won today has their name on the trophy and thankfully it was us

I know it's not rational..just had that feeling for a bit. I hope I'm completely wrong. I remember after we beat them last year a week after being hammered at Anfield and 3 days after the 0-0 with United that this was our Cup. Ya get some decisons, etc. Maybe it's the Gerrard thing and the fact they have dominated us the last time despite the 2-2 draw. Anyway...enough of me tempering the good mood!

Last night was great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,827 ✭✭✭emmetlego

It wasn't great. It was fantastic!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,773 ✭✭✭emergingstar

A special word for the boss

Team selection right

Tactics right

Subs were spot on

He looked so happy at full time

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

why or who shut down the match thread lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,754 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Augmerson wrote: »
    why or who shut down the match thread lads?

I'm assuming the mods do it after a certain time period. It really annoys me though how they can be ignorant enough to not even leave a message to say they are closing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Woke up this morning to find all my college classes are cancelled then remembered we beat United away last night!! Happy Tuesday to all my fellow gooners! :)

Cracking bit of weather we're having too btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Monreal has really pulled away from Gibbs recently. Fair play to him and my man of the match last night. Our best left back since Cole imo, which wouldnt be too hard :pac:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,680 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

What did everyone think of Danny Murphy's comments on Ozil during the game - assuming you were watching BBC? Some of these pundits are so influenced by the trend of the day that they just spout out garbage thinking they'll receive popular support.

He went on and on about Ozil and how he's got great ability but he needs to see more from a player with such great talent. Jesus Danny, try opening your eyes and watching the game rather than checking what's trending on Twitter.

I'm sick of so-called pros who fail to understand certain players roles in the team. If it's not clearly apparent that Ozil is a play maker and not an out and out striker then I think you're in the wrong line of work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Basking in the glory after winning that match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

Hyzepher wrote: »
    What did everyone think of Danny Murphy's comments on Ozil during the game - assuming you were watching BBC? Some of these pundits are so influenced by the trend of the day that they just spout out garbage thinking they'll receive popular support.

He went on and on about Ozil and how he's got great ability but he needs to see more from a player with such great talent. Jesus Danny, try opening your eyes and watching the game rather than checking what's trending on Twitter.

I'm sick of so-called pros who fail to understand certain players roles in the team. If it's not clearly apparent that Ozil is a play maker and not an out and out striker then I think you're in the wrong line of work.

Yeah it seems popular for pundits to call him lazy and question his work ethic when really all they're doing is looking at his body language which seems lethargic but is just his natural style. I thought he was excellent last night. I suppose the only criticism I'd have would be with the late chance when he opted to pass to Alexis, I'd love to see Ozil but his boot through it there and finish the game off. That said I wouldn't be complaining if De Gea hadn't made a great save from Sanchez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,011 ✭✭✭Soups123

Hyzepher wrote: »

He also said 'I know Arsenal fans have been very disapointed with his performance since he came back from his injury'

Just appalling lazy commentary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Soups123 wrote: »
    He also said 'I know Arsenal fans have been very disapointed with his performance since he came back from his injury'

Yeah he said hes been a shadow of himself since coming back from injury, pretty sure they were his exact words. Complete and utter bollocks talk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,214 ✭✭✭maximoose

Danny Murphy is brutal. He was flip-flopping all night on his opinions based on what had happened in the previous 30 seconds.

Up until Arsenal scored the first he was saying they weren't being creative enough and used the word 'toothless' to describe their attacks, then all of a sudden Monreal scores and he says "They've been dangerous every time they go forward"

Eejit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I nearly threw my tea at the TV when I heard that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

efb wrote: »
    I nearly threw my tea at the TV when I heard that

i went on a big rant and the mrs was just looking at me going "yes dear".

f*cking danny murphy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,779 ✭✭✭Marcus Antonius

Still buzzing from the amazing win last night :D but a bit more coherent now! Monreal was man of the match for me, played a blinder but there were many contenders. Coq who actually got man of the match as also immense, from being a player who looked like he was on the way out to one of our most consistent players since he came back is brilliant! On a side note, has anybody heard how bad Ox's hamstring injury was? He as looking great down the right wing before he was forced off, hope it is not serious. The united fans throwing their toys out of the pram in the match day thread put an even bigger smile on my face this morning, lol :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

monreal was brilliant last night.
    he's having a great season in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Sanchez 19 (13)
    Giroud 13 (10)
    Cazorla 8 (7)
    Welbeck8 (4)
    Ramsey 6 (3)
    Ozil 4(3)
    Walcott 3(2)
    Koscielny 3 (3)
    Rosicky 3(2)
    Ox 3(1)
    Podolski 3(0)
    Bellerin 1(1)
    Gibbs 1 (0)
    Wilshere 1(1)
    Chambers 1 (1)
    Debuchy 1 (1)
    Arteta 1 (0)
    Sanogo 1(0)
    Mertersacker 1 (0)
    Monreal 1 (0)

Goals scored (League goals in brackets)

And Monreal makes 20!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,611 ✭✭✭wonga77

Raf32 wrote: »
    Anyone up for playing the reserves out in Monaco? rather focus on what we have now

So we should rest players in order to help us qualify for the competition in which we are resting players?

Personally Im more interested in winning the league than anything else, I cant see us getting anything in Monaco either, but il be well pissed if we dont go balls out to win it.
    Id rather throw every single thing we have at them and if we lose or dont go through then so be it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,011 ✭✭✭Soups123

bad2dabone wrote: »

For me he has to be nailed on first choice left back based on how he has performed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,611 ✭✭✭wonga77

Yeah Monreal has really proved me wrong, I like Gibbs but think he's a bit headless at times and doesnt offer a whole pile going forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Muirshin Durkin

Haven't felt this good on a Tuesday in years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Right back to business, looking for a good performance now on Saturday vs West Ham and then for us to really go for it against Monaco on Patricks Day!!!

There is no point in us breaking our balls to finish in the top four to get into the Champions League and then to field a 2nd team in what could be our final game this season in the competition. We need to go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Any word on Ox ? Really enjoyed his contribution last night and it will be a real shame if it's cut short again!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

Our best defender this season by a mile. Total constancy every match. Really inspired signing by the boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

ozil has been good. he was crap last season but thats about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

couldnt sleep last night watched the game again

I think the team
    Is sfter adapting to Sanchez

Ozil is absolute baller he links it all together for us

And arise sir coq

90 days ago he was struggling with Charlton, last night he won 10 of his 12 aerial duels with with Fellani, and bossed a game at Trafford

He is my hero

Coq also made his debut at arsenals 8:2 smashing where fergie said in his book taht he never heard of this bloke before.

He wont forget him after last nights display

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

All the players stood up to be counted last night. Merts was magnificent in defence.