Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland vs England, Sunday 1st March 3pm; RTE/BBC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,216 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

shuffol wrote: »
    As good as we were England just never turned up, inexperience showed and their discipline was very poor. Surprised Joubert never gave them a warning.

I thought Best had a great game and was the pick of the forwards for me but he has a propensity for missing a tackle in open field.

I think that is harsh. He misses tackles because he is killing himself to get in a position that most other hookers wouldn't even be in to attempt the tackle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭captbarnacles

Ireland probably 1 pt favourites vs Wales or else scratch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,216 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Ireland probably 1 pt favourites vs Wales or else scratch.
    Sexton and Henshaw can contain roberts. If they do, Wales will really struggle against Ireland.

Edit - not writing off Wales, who are very good. But I think without Roberts on front foot there is no obvious plan b.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

mfceiling wrote: »
    To be fair the drop to the second out half in Ireland is huge. Sexton is head and shoulders above every 10 in the NH.

It's a huge issue fore Ireland. Much of the gameplan is built around the excellent Murray/Sexton combo, either of those unavailable due to injury, and it becomes very difficult to play like that. It is basically a carbon copy of SA in 2007, replacing Fourie du Preez with Murray and Butch James with Sexton (although Percy Montgomery and Butch James kind of made a Sextron hybrid).

Madigan played to his level, so I'm not going to criticism him, but as we all know Sexton >>>> all other Irish flyhalves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

Sangre wrote: »
    I think that is harsh. He misses tackles because he is killing himself to get in a position that most other hookers wouldn't even be in to attempt the tackle.

Agreed, he also made a few bootlace grabs, and slowed down the break to let another faster tackler to make the hit, and importantly today, a few backrowers to get in over the ball. I've said before I wasn't a massive fan of his (around the Flannery era) but today he was the best hooker in the world, my motm, and wouldn't have changed him for anyone. It's not often Cronin comes on to a pitch and the carry/tackle rate of the Hooker drops.

• Henshaw was immense.

3 games in a row now!

O'Donnell filled some pretty big boots brilliantly too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭penybont exile

England
    Great win for Ireland ..... Never in doubt for me.

Congrats lads & Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Henshaw and Zebo were my picks. Sexton and Murray were the difference. They controlled the game.

Any word on SOB? I presume he was knocked out after seeing hm fall over when he got back on his feet. His head seemed to hit the ground as he was tackled.

• clsmooth wrote: »
    Henshaw and Zebo were my picks. Sexton and Murray were the difference. They controlled the game.

Zebo did some great work, got really involved in everything. Huge game from him.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,029 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Any news on SOB?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭kuang1

kuang1 wrote: »
    Said it before in a different thread, but Ireland by 8+.
    Joe has consistently brought results since Twickenham last year, he nearly pulled it off that day too.
    This Irish team fears no one. The days of having to get yourself into an aggressive frenzy in the changing room before playing one of the 'BIGGER' teams (because deep down you actually fear them) are long gone.
    A team that is marshaled well, with confidence based on achievements, knows they can beat anyone.

I expect joe to surprise us all today.
    With England left wondering what the f*** just hit them.

Henshaw MOTM.

Next time I'm going to the bookies after I make my prediction post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭aimee1

shuffol wrote: »
    As good as we were England just never turned up, inexperience showed and their discipline was very poor. Surprised Joubert never gave them a warning.

I thought Best had a great game and was the pick of the forwards for me but he has a propensity for missing a tackle in open field.

ireland didnt let england play. The supposedly big bad monster pack that was going to scrummage us off the park nowhere to be seen. Vunipola and Haskell are brain dead. Billy kicking the ball dead from his break was the moment i knew Ireland would win. Haskell just gives away penalties in the early part of every game. Total Liability. Their second row is average [missing 3 players].

They looked good in the first two games against teams who defended poorly

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

clsmooth wrote: »
    Any word on SOB? I presume he was knocked out after seeing hm fall over when he got back on his feet. His head seemed to hit the ground as he was tackled.

Joe said in his interview that he's some form of concussion and will be going through the rtp protocols

Apparently he's grumpy that he had to come off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

The pessimistic/realist in me says we'll get pushed around by England in the scrum giving away too many penalties and our maul won't be effective. Also, the lineout is a slight worry.
    Ireland 13 England 22.
    Im a miserable bastard, I know

Yeah..... Well. ... bye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Stheno wrote: »
    Joe said in his interview that he's some form of concussion and will be going through the rtp protocols

Apparently he's grumpy that he had to come off

They told him the game was over and the physio had a lollipop for him...he's grand!

Zebo did some great work, got really involved in everything. Huge game from him.

Yep excellent performance. Took some excellent high balls, was strong in contact and threw Watson (?) to the ground in the lead up to the try. I think he's really come on during this Championship with regards workrate. Involved in alot. JS seems to have the ability to get an extra 10% out of every player.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 216 ✭✭theboy1

Madigan just doesn't have the kicking game for our game plan.

Keatley should be benching against Wales with Fitz or Earls replacing Jones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Flipper22

Wang King wrote: »
    France tried kicking to Zebo as they thought he was a weak link... They were wrong....England looked at that game and said, yes! we'll kick to Zebo too, ....what's that Einstein said about doing the same thing and expecting different results..

That take where he beat about 4 Sassanachs including one being lifted was a jaw dropper

theboy1 wrote: »
    Madigan just doesn't have the kicking game for our game plan.

Keatley should be benching against Wales with Fitz or Earls replacing Jones.

in an ideal scenario sexton doesnt come off. I thought madigan did well when he came on. I would be surprised to see any unforced changes now

aimee1 wrote: »
    in an ideal scenario sexton doesnt come off. I thought madigan did well when he came on. I would be surprised to see any unforced changes now

Yes but the bench is meant to be used in the absence of an ideal scenario.

Madigan did not do well when he came on and was probably the biggest factor for England coming back into it.

theboy1 wrote: »
    Yes but the bench is meant to be used in the absence of an ideal scenario.

Madigan did not do well when he came on and was probably the biggest factor for England coming back into it.

What did he do wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

What did he do wrong?

One out on the full and one forced pass were his two mistakes. He didn't cause Irish momentum to slip, the inevitable change of the game made Irish momentum slip.

What did he do wrong?

Loose kicking x3,poor hands x2.

It would be unfair to expect a substitute to reach Sexton's performance but the team was noticeably poorer with Madigan in it.

I think Keatley,although no messiah himself, would be am better option.

• aimee1 wrote: »
    What did he do wrong?

His kicking from hand wasn't really good enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

errlloyd wrote: »
    One out on the full and one forced pass were his two mistakes. He didn't cause Irish momentum to slip, the inevitable change of the game made Irish momentum slip.

Why inevitable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

England
    His kicking from hand wasn't really good enough.

Sexton had two or there very poor kicks as well.

errlloyd wrote: »

one out on the full fair enough but that happens, and england had lineout on their own 10m line as opposed to their own 22 like, Keatley kicked very poorly from hand in the opening 10-15 in Rome. I dont see Madigan being left out. JS said in interview shown today from earlier in the week that continuity now is crucial so I think with a title and a slam at stake, it will be minimal changes.

Ireland as a team have a tendency to allow teams come onto them late in games so it was nothing new today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

is man of the match always someone on the home team?and who chooses the man of the match?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,600 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

So, Jordi Murphy, lads.

Think he deserves some credit.