If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Run Around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Darren 83

26th February

Week 1
    Training Block 2

Yesterday was a rest day.

[/B]Warm up & Cool down of 10-20 mins @ Conversational Pace (50-65% of MHR)
    The Session Proper: 6 x 800m @ 80-90% MHR. Finish off with a few strides off the bend to get rid of lactic before cool down.
    [/B]

Finished work at 5 so didn't have to rush to the track, did my normal warn up up to the track and a few laps before the intervals, right leg was bothering me so took off my shoe to find my daughters gogo in my shoe. The 800s went great really happy with the session.

Warm up 1.61 miles @ 9:51 pace

6x 800s 3.07 miles @ 6:58 pace

Cool down 1.12 miles @ 9:50 pace

Total miles 5.80

Rest day tomorrow, then parkrun on Saturday weather permitting, going to jog up for my warm up and back for my cool down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

What's the target for Parkrun Darren? Best of luck!

Ososlo wrote: »
    What's the target for Parkrun Darren? Best of luck!

Cheers Ososlo, If i can beat my course pb 24:18 I'll be happy

28th February

Week 1
    Block 2

Oldbridge Park Run 24.17 1 sec pb!!!

For the last few weeks I've have been really trying to warm up properly before a race or a session, for a while I would do a race not cold but not warmed up enough. I have it stuck in my head it will take away from the race which I want to stamp out. So I set out to do the park run with a real good warm up and see would it effect the race. I miss calculated the distance to the pack run but none the less did not effect the race, I had no intention of going all out but see if I could match the previous park run time as the grass was very muddy from previous runs.

Warm Up 3.44 miles @ 8:44 pace (Will cut this down to 2 miles)

Park run 3.05 miles @ 7:58 pace (Corners where cut as grass was in terrible shape)

Cool down 2.95 miles @ 10:05 pace

Total miles 9.44

Happy enough and will continue with the better warm up/cool down runs.
    I wont be doing another park run until conditions improve, I intend to pick a race near the end of March and see how I get on.
    I should have more miles done this month but what you do with sickness.Will be aiming for over 100 per month from now on.

February Miles

1st March

9 mile lsr

I was not expect too much out of the long run as I was out last night and didn't get much sleep. Took on a lot of water and went back to bed as a run would be counterproductive, woke up two hours later and headed out, just went by feel, definitely felt dehydrated so half way stopped to get a drink to carry for the rest of the way. Felt a lot better after another mile so went on. I felt really strong bar being thirsty, a little surprised as I had 28 miles done before this run.

9.02 miles @ 8:40 pace

Really happy with this run, just checked on previous lsr heart rate was higher for 9:00 pace so fitness is improving, 37 miles done for the week.

2nd March

Rest or Recovery Jog, 30- 50 Mins @ Conversational Pace (50-65% of MHR)

A nice and slow recovery run, left the daughter in school and headed of. I enjoy the recovery runs as there is no real target just enjoy it.

43.05 mins @ 9:54 pace

Total miles 4.35 miles

5th March

Missed Tuesday session

Warm up & Cool down of 10-20 mins @ Conversational Pace (50-65% of MHR)
    The Session Proper: 6 x 800m @ 80-90% MHR. Finish off with a few strides off the bend to get rid of lactic before cool down.

Warm up 10.43 mins @ 8:41 pace = 1.24 miles

Session 20.30 mins @ 6:42 pace = 3:06 miles

Cool down 10:04 mins @ 10:10 = .99 miles

Total miles 5.29 miles

So it's been a while....

Fell into a bad slump running wise just couldn't get into it. Soon enough running four days a week dwindled down to nothing. I tried to get back into it but really wasn't bothered. It wasn't until i was on holiday gained a bit of weight and the other half mentioned it to me, so decided to turn it around and get back into the running, no less than 24 hours getting back from holidays I was back on the road, unfit but back.

So started back doing easy runs for a month before joining back with the club, I knew the best option was to go with a group below me and build from there. Did a full block of training with the group naturally enough struggled to keep up but near the end of the block the confidence grew, then had the mile trial, one mile flat out I was dreading it so much so I did a test run but only managed the mile in 7:04 a lot short from my pb of 6:30. So did the mile trial and ended up getting a pb of 6:28!! I'm back:D

Monday
    19/10/15

The club is doing a Couch 25k in the hope to get people out running so signed my self up as a coach to lend a hand as well as getting a nice easy recovery run done in the process. Helping people with running is the best thing ever really enjoying it.

5 miles @ 11:16 pace in 56:20

Tuesday
    20/10/15

5 mile tempo with pick ups

Warm up 1.05 mile @ 10:45 pace
    Tempo 5 .04 miles @ 7:58 pace
    Cool down 1.07 mile @ 9:38 pace

It was hard keeping the pace with this session with the rain and wind belting us for the whole session, definitely could have picked it up the wind/rain was not a factor.

Thursday
    22/10/15

6 x 1000s

Warm up 1.07 @ 9:37
    6 x 1000s Avg pace for each was 4:20
    Cool down .94 mile @ 10:59 pace

Saturday
    24/10/15

This is meant to be 5 x 1 mile repeats @ 7:30 to 7:40 but I am going to build up to the five starting with two adding one more each month concerned about over doing it.

Warm up 10 mins @ 9:57 pace

Mile 1: 7:36
    MIle 2 7:38

Cool down 10 mins @ 10:13

I really want to get back to a decent level of fitness and will be training with the club for a while, the group will be targeting the Jingle Bells 5k so will train towards that.

Good to see you back logging and some nice sessions done recently.
    Keep it up! (the log and the running ;) )

Sunday
    25/10/15

Lsr with 5st

Got up at 7 and was out the door after 8, It was a great morning for a run although uneventful, just had insects trying to increase my protein intake. Very few runners out you would know it's DCM tomorrow. Just let the legs dictate the pace. The miles few by the way home was along the river and was just fantastic running along it.

11.50 miles @ 9:07 pace

Monday

Couch 25k

Cycled up to grounds and started training with the groups, it was a nice and easy recovery pace.

1.29 miles at 12:45 pace

Tuesday

5 mile tempo with 2 min pickups

Didn't make the club session but when I eventually got out I didn't feel right stomach was doggy so after about 2 miles I had to stop.

2.28 miles @ 9:18 pace

Wedensday

Rest day

Thursday

6 x 1000

10 min warm up 1.3 miles @ 9:16 pace

6 x 1000s All in at 4:20

10 min cool down .58 mile

Unfortunately I wont be racing the Jingles Bells 5k instead it's the target race for the Couch 25k so i'll be running it to support the group.

I wont be out Saturday as will be busy trick or treating with my daughter, that's another solid month done, 99.97 miles under the belt.

Going to target DCM next year so looking to increase the long run every second week, I've a good eight months to get some solid training done. I'm looking under for sub 4 hours but I'll see how the training goes.

Sunday

L.S.R

I didn't sleep well at all last night woke up at 5 so had porridge and getting ready to head out a 6 but ended going back to bed. Eventually got up at 8 and really was in no humor to go out but got out at 9. I didn't really have a pace in mind just went by feel. First mile was 9:22 second was 9:19 after the third I was wide awake. Had my base layer on and had to stop mid run to take it off and just tie it around my waste instant relief ahh. Mile 1 to 9 was in the 9:22 range and mile 10 to 12 was under 9min/mile, a little too quick but wasn't going by the watch.

12.5 miles done in 1:55:21 @ 9:14 avg pace

Monday

8/11/15

The block of training is finished and now on a recovery week.

C25k training, cycled up to the grounds and did the session. Great to see the progress made by everyone, they swore they couldn't run for more than 8 mins at a time but there was no bother to them.

2.13 miles @ 14.03 pace

Tuesday

Mile trial

I had no interest doing it today but looking at Thursday weather I quickly changed my mind. Did the warm up a few laps around the track. There was very few people who turned up so about 8 of us running in one trial. Started off way to quick first lap done and pace was 5:45 so slowed it down and got passed and was last place. By the last two laps the next two lads where struggling with the pace, I was on course for around 6:28 my pb. On the last lap passed one lad tried to get back at me but didn't push too hard, on the last 200 meters the next fella was about 30 meters ahead so I started sprinting by the last few meters I finished ahead by 1 meter.

I had too much left too sprint that much but I'm happy with the result.
    Did a few laps cool down

old mile pb 6:28
    New mile pb 6:20

excellent Darren! That's a nice chunk off the pb!
    Congrats!

Ososlo wrote: »
    excellent Darren! That's a nice chunk off the pb!
    Congrats!

Cheers Ososlo was not expecting a pb

Thursday

12/11/15

4.47 miles @ 8:32 avg pace

No real pace in mind just to keep the legs ticking over, found it tough after the last recovery week just doing easy runs so opted to make it a bit quicker.

Sunday

15/11/15

LSR

Got out a later than I would have liked as I had to work today. Decided to do the Boyne 10k route with a extra mile or two. Still on recovery week so only did about 8 miles. The pace was a bit too quick I was struggling too keep my balance with the wind and rain battering me. 8.27 miles @ 8:51 pace

Undecided if I'm racing the Jingle Bells 5k or going as support, Iv'e only done two races this year last 5k was Duleek and the time was 22:48 really think I'm in better shape now.

Monday

16/11/15

C25k

Coaching the c25k tonight, had to take to the roads as the field was to wet. The group did 10 mins w 2 min rec x 3 pace unimportant It was a nice recovery for myself.

3.39 recovery miles

Tuesday

17/11/15

5 x 1 mile repeats with 1 min recovery

A new training block the last of the year, The plan was for a tempo run but I needed to switch sessions around to suit my self. The weather was terrible but had a group of six doing the mile repeats.

1st mile @ 7:22
    2nd mile @ 7:25
    3rd miles @ 7:17
    4th mile @ 7:18
    5th miles @ 7:20

A great confidence booster for me delighted with this session considering the weather ran in. Defiantly going to race the Jingle Bells 5k it will be a great indication of where I am. I was contemplating doing a half marathon plan aiming towards Bohermeen Half but think the sessions I'm doing are enough, might tweak it a bit.

warm up 1.63 mile @ 9:42

5 x 1 miles avg pace 7:12

cool down .65 miles @11:13 pace

Thursday

19/11/15

Got a new pair of Saucony Guide 8 today and used them for today's session.

10 x 400s w 1 min rec

Only four of us doing this session today, the session was over way too quickly all the 400s where between 91s and 95s all on target.
    Felt good for the session bar the legs on fire. Did a longer cool down just to get a few more miles in the new shoes.

Warm up 1.37 miles @ 9:58 pace
    Session 10 x 400s 2.56 miles @ 6:16 pace
    Cool down 1.68 miles @ 10:37 pace

Saturday

21/11/15

Tempo run with pick ups

Found this a hard session not feeling a 100% but got it done.

Sunday

22/11/15

Lsr

Didn't expect it be a nice morning for it but it was fantastic morning for a long run.
    Love doing the long runs find them great to unwind after a hard week.

9.75 miles @ 9:11 pace

Doing the Jingle Bells 5k, Decided to do the Cork City Marathon and possibly the Dublin City Marathon as well, the Cork marathon suits me time wise no holidays in the way. Going to follow Jack Daniels 2Q Program two Q sessions and the rest is easy runs I can fit 2-3 easy runs but will hopefully keep it too four days a week and one cross training day.

So I will increase the long run and build from there, I feel I have a good base now and will start the 18 week plan in February two weeks early to allow for sickness or missed sessions.

Monday

23/11/15

C25k Training

Had to hit the roads as the usual grounds was waterlogged, second last session with the group before the big race next Saturday. Session was 2 x 15 min with 2 min active recovery. Watched knocked off on me during the session so just guessing the distance.

Total distance about 3 miles

Tuesday

24/11/15

Tempo run with 2 min pick ups every 6 mins

Had the day off work today so decided to do the session on my own and get it done before the weather got worse. The main focus of this session is the pick ups, still not feeling 100% like I'm fighting off a cold but still managed the session.

Time|Target Pace|Result
    Warm Up 10|No target|9:53
    6 mins|8:00-8:10|8:15
    2 mins|7:50-8:00|7:55
    6 mins|8:00-8:10|8:05|
    2 min|7:50-8:00|7:56|
    6 mins|8:00:8:10|8:05|
    2 mins|7:50-8:00|7:54|
    6 mins| 8:00-8:10|8:08|
    2 mins|7:50-8:00|7:44|
    6 mins|8:00-8:10|8:24|
    2 mins|7:50-8:00|7:47|
    Cool down 10mins|No target|9:53

Total miles 7.03

Unfortunately there was a bereavement in the family so training stopped after Thursdays normal session. Total millage for November was just over 93 miles.

I lost my self didn't want to go training and had no interesting the race next week, after last week but the other half pushed me out the door knowing I would regret not getting out to the c25k session. I'm glad I did I really needed it to get out clear the head.

Monday

30/11/15

C25k

Cycled out to grounds and hit the road, the plan was to run the 5k with the group with a rest half way. I actually had to hold them back a bit.

3.86 @ 12.35 pace in 48:35

The group where delighted they did over 5k a little weeks they where doing 100m at a time.

Tuesday

1/12/15

Warm up 1.06 mile

10 x 400m w 1 min rec 91s- 98s

Had to brave this alone as I only got home from work at 7:30, so changed and headed for the track. Got warmed up and started the intervals. It was hard session going alone but got it done and happy with it.

Cool down 1 mile

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Sorry about your loss, don't let the running slip it's great for clearing the head and releiving stress when you feel life getting on top of you.

Cheers tang, Getting the run in helped a lot and I would be pissed off if I didn't get out to the c25k group.

Thursday

3/12/15

Tempo run

Working late again tonight so headed out at half eight in the morning, cut the session down too a 24 min tempo run. Didn't want to over do it before the race on Saturday.

Time | Target| Result|
    10 mins Warm up| No target|9:51
    6 min|8:00-8:10|8:08
    2 min| 7:50-8:00|7:50
    6 min|8:00-8:10|8:08
    2 min |7:50-8:00|7:57
    6 mins|8:00-8:10|8:01
    2 mins|7:50-8:00|7:51
    10 cool down|no target|9:14

Looking to get a pb in this race all going well, current pb is 21:57 from last year so hope I can improve on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Take it very handy if your running tomorrow, hope the PB attempt goes well for you on Saturday.

No pb 22:25 happy enough considering the conditions. Will do report tomorrow other half's birthday weekend.

Saturday

5/12/15

Jingle Bells 5k

I didn't expect to run this race as I had a really bad sore throat thought it was going to develop into the flu since Friday. After overdosing on orange juice and anything that would keep it at bay. Lucky enough It didn't get any worse.
    It was more than a race for me as I had the C25k group running the race as well.

I really needed to know where I am fitness wise and this race was the test, as I will be using Jack Daniels plan getting the proper vdot training paces is key, just the start at least will do a half marathon in March and will adjust accordingly. The weather was far from ideal going to give it a good go. A quick warm up done about .70 of a mile.

Mile 1: 7:01

Wished all the C25k group all the best, got soaked before the race and was eager to get going after the false start. Eventually got started. I was weaving in and out to get some space eventually got it but time had suffered a bit over it. Turned the first corner and nearly got knocked over in the wind. There was not enough runners to shelter behind the trees provided some shelter before the turn off to Chesterfield Ave. Just about managed to get the first mile in 7:01

Mile 2 7:26

The wind was in my face during the run up Chesterfield Ave, working very hard to keep pace, passing quite a few runners along here feeling the force of Desmond. Along the Furze rd was a lot calmer. Still working hard to keep the pace but was getting pushed back quite a bit. Watched beeped with 7:26, knew a pb attempt was gone at this stage.

Mile 3 and a bit 7:14

The last section down hill and to be honest a welcome relief tried to pick up the pace and passed a few more runners while gunning it for the finish line.

Chip time 22:25
    Watch time 22:15 and exactly 3.1 miles?

Verdict

I'd take any time on a day like that, I am just glad I was able to run and get close to my current pb. Overall I'm happy but will attempt a pb in a few weeks. Definitely think there is a pb there my only concern is getting the training in as December is a busy month in work. All the C25k group finished the race if that race doesn't turn them off running them nothing will.

The race it self was very well organised and Donore Harriers where more than accommodating with my club.
    The spread at the club house was brilliant unfortunately I had to run the other half's birthday week end was starting so had to run from the club house to buseireann a nice cool down, quite enjoyed it it was a nice change of scenery for me. Cool down 3.71 miles.

Sunday

6/12/15

Very easy run

Every one was hung over from last night and fast asleep and I had my running gear with me so set out and do part of the 5k route in a few weeks time in Navan. Legs where heavy so kept it slow and enjoyed the scenery. Got back and every one was still fast asleep.

5:04 miles @ 9:50 pace

Well done on Saturday Darren! That's a really decent time for you under such conditions! Delighted to hear your C25k group had a good outing too. Fair play to you for taking that on. Do you enjoy coaching them? Are they all of very varying abilities by the end of the programme?

Thanks Ososlo, sorry to hear about the incident with the lads little sh***, I really enjoyed coaching them as much I like getting my Monday back I will miss them.

Right from the start they all varied in ability and this changed right to the end. If anyone could go faster they where moved up to the next group like wise if they struggled. A few did move back but I'd rather them move back than quit the training. I think a lot of them just wanted to finish the race.

A lot of the C25k want to join the club so we did something right