Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

I can't prove it now but I would always have preferred Sanchez over Di Maria , I wanted him at Udinese and was pissed off we didn't get him when Ronaldo left , he still scored 20 goals last season for barca , he's a tough little fecker too , well suited to the premier league . Di Maria is good too but never had the goals return a bale robben , Reus or bale would provide , he's most def playing below his usual standards for United but I believe his season for Real last year was a freak year for him also

in fairness to Fergie, he did try to sign him, had a 30m offer accepted as far as I remember and he chose to go to Barcelona.

Not necessarily , Ozil joined Arsenal 2 years ago and we aren't raving about him

I said "we would all probably" its all hypothetically anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Despite his inconsistency, Di María is second in the league with eight assists. He’s scored four goals, equalling last season’s total in Madrid.Yeah he's been bad:rolleyes:

Has anyone noticed that when he runs with the ball,so many around him stand still admiring him rather than making runs themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,199 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

zerks wrote: »
    Despite his inconsistency, Di María is second in the league with eight assists. He’s scored four goals, equalling last season’s total in Madrid.Yeah he's been bad:rolleyes:

Are you trying to claim that Di Maria has played well this season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

You forgot the 2nd part of my post.I get the feeling he's being scapegoated a little,imagine Sanchez charging around at Arsenal while everyone else moved at a slower pace,he wouldn't look half as good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭dor843088

In terms of the standard thats being set at utd this season I think hes played well. In terms of his own personal standard , no.

I can't prove it now but I would always have preferred Sanchez over Di Maria , I wanted him at Udinese and was pissed off we didn't get him when Ronaldo left , he still scored 20 goals last season for barca , he's a tough little fecker too , well suited to the premier league . Di Maria is good too but never had the goals return a bale robben , Reus or bale would provide , he's most def playing below his usual standards for United but I believe his season for Real last year was a freak year for him also
    Liam O wrote: »
    It's kind of funny that nobody actually knew the type of player Di Maria was before he moved to United. Probably thought they were getting a Robben or Bale style player but got someone who is more of a creator.

And as everyone knows United fans hate those type of players...

Yep.

Has anyone noticed that when he runs with the ball,so many around him stand still admiring him rather than making runs themselves?

3 goals in the league, 10 assists

his first goal was a cross, 2nd goal was pure class v Leicester and his third v everton was a good finish.

his assists have been good but 3 or 4 at least have been flukes.

Overall he has been disappointing but he is one of our few world class players. Form is temporary, class is permanent.

hopefully he will push on now for the final run in and we finish 3rd and win the cup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Do you think he's had a good season?

Do you always answer questions with questions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

You forgot the 2nd part of my post.I get the feeling he's being scapegoated a little,imagine Sanchez charging around at Arsenal while everyone else moved at a slower pace,he wouldn't look half as good.

Yes Fabregas is the only player with more assists but its almost double the amount and again stats don't show the whole story because the quality of those assists from Cesc have been much better. Like someone said earlier some of Di Maria's assists have come from scuffed shots that fell to someone in the box.

ADM has been poor, very poor. His crossing is shocking at times, his corners were and are terrible, link up play hasn't been good either and his pass in the final third very poor too. His dribbling has been good at times, at other times he runs into dead ends and gives the ball away.

He started off well for us but his form has gone downhill, way down.

I can't see how he has been scapegoated either. The press bizarrely have given him a free pass almost whilst Ozil got slated in his first season. You see people on here always saying we should let Falcao go, he's a flop, I hope he doesn't start, not worth the huge fee but you never hear that about ADM.

For me ADM has been a flop so far and his form makes him very dropable but due to the huge fee we paid it seems to equate he must be world class with some posters or they just want to save face and see him start because of the fee. Well Falcao was considered world class by many and he has struggled like ADM.

If Falcao on form is dropable and a flop so is ADM. Manager using a bad system or the player is poor argument aside, if Falcao gets judged this way than so must ADM.

A lot of Madrid fans will tell you that ADM could be dazzling for a couple of games and have long periods of being shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

I genuinely believe Utd's season would be completely different if they played like the United teams of old and focused on pace and precision on the counter.

I would go with a 4-2-1-3, with some high profile casualties!

GK + Back 4

Blind + Herrera (Fellaini/Carrick Subs)

Di Maria

Januzaj-Rooney-?

Rooney has to play centrally, one of the most consistent goalscorers in the league over the last 10 years, get him in there scoring goals. RvP looks like he is going to struggle for the rest of the season, the problem I think Utd have now is that they don't have the pace in attack they have been famous for. I think the formation above gets the most out Rooney and Di Maria, the 2 most likely to reignite Utd's season, needs another pacey player to slot in the top three. Not sure who that should be, Young?

That's the type of player I feel Utd are missing, someone with pace to play beside Rooney and ahead of Di Maria.

Yes Fabregas is the only player with more assists but its almost double the amount and again stats don't show the whole story because the quality of those assists from Cesc have been much better. Like someone said earlier some of Di Maria's assists have come from scuffed shots that fell to someone in the box.

ADM has been poor, very poor. His crossing is shocking at times, his corners were and are terrible, link up play hasn't been good either and his pass in the final third very poor too. His dribbling has been good at times, at other times he runs into dead ends and gives the ball away.

He started off well for us but his form has gone downhill, way down.

I can't see how he has been scapegoated either. The press bizarrely have given him a free pass almost whilst Ozil got slated in his first season. You see people on here always saying we should let Falcao go, he's a flop, I hope he doesn't start, not worth the huge fee but you never hear that about ADM.

For me ADM has been a flop so far and his form makes him very dropable but due to the huge fee we paid it seems to equate he must be world class with some posters or they just want to save face and see him start because of the fee. Well Falcao was considered world class by many and he has struggled like ADM.

If Falcao on form is dropable and a flop so is ADM. Manager using a bad system or the player is poor argument aside, if Falcao get judged this way than so must ADM.

A lot of Madrid fans will tell you that ADM could be dazzling for a couple of games and have long periods of being shocking.

I miss nani

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

You'd almost wonder if ADM might have had a... different diet in Madrid.

ps...Di Maria is not a wide player, if you bought him looking for someone to knock crosses over then you really didn't do your research. He looks lost because his game is based on really fast transition from mf to attack. Don't think he knows how to operate in LVG's side. Too slow, too laboured for him.

Personally this is why I think so many of our players look bad. Slow, overly cautious system from LVG. RVP, Rooney and others too.

Falcao and ADM would shine under Fergie imo. I hear Madrid are sniffing around Falcao. You watch him bang in the goals for them if they sign him and us left wondering what might have been.

kryogen wrote: »
    Do you always answer questions with questions?

You mean like you just have? :pac:

in fairness to di maria, he had runners ahead of him at madrid, Ronaldo, bale, benzema all stretching the defence giving him plenty of room to operate.

at united he has a static van persie and a not very mobile fellaini "making the runs"

Personally this is why I think so many of our players look bad. Slow, overly cautious system from LVG. RVP, Rooney and others too.

Falcao and ADM would shine under Fergie imo. I hear Madrid are sniffing around Falcao. You watch him bang in the goals for them if they sign him and us left wondering what might have been.

Falcao is a different story I think, he might come good next year but it's unusual for a player to have a big season after coming back from that type of injury. He also rushed himself to try and get into the Colombia world cup side. You have to wonder what he sacrificed this season in terms of being 100% rehabilitated to get into that side.

I'd say you'll see a different player next year. Looks short of confidence too.

Agree though, United have some of the peices they need to be an excellent counter attacking side, that's the Utd DNA for me (as a Liverpool fan!), but the team looks strangled to me now with players out of position. Lots and lots of mf players, very different types of mf players and 3 high profile central strikers. Not enough width. I also think the possession game increases the likelihood of turning the ball over in risky areas. Some of those young defenders are being exposed by the LVG system. They might grow into it, but the learning process will be tough on them!

A more direct, quicker counter attacking game suits about 60 to 70% of the utd team, but you'd need to drop some high profile players and find some solutions for the wide positions.

Just don't fix it this season :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,199 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

He looks lost because his game is based on really fast transition from mf to attack. Don't think he knows how to operate in LVG's side. Too slow, too laboured for him.

Its really the sort of thing the manager should be considering before spending £60m on a player.

I suspect LVG's inner voice tells him that if they listen to him and do what he wants they will win, maybe they would if they could forget everything they know about how they used to play football and take up his ideas about how their role overnight! Not that easy though....Di Maria is a fairly instinctive player, Rooney too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Would you call them street footballers though magic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I genuinely believe Utd's season would be completely different if they played like the United teams of old and focused on pace and precision on the counter.

Sounds nice in theory, but I don't think United have the pace in the squad to carry it out successfully. Dí Maria and Young are very quick, Rooney can be quick. That's about it. Janujaz seems like the type of player that should be fast, but he's not. Nani coming back would include a nice injection of pace.

Buuut, going by the reactions that Nani, ADM and Young garner from United fans, the majority would have rage induced heart attacks by the end of every game they start together.

baz2009 wrote: »
    Sounds nice in theory, but I don't think United have the pace in the squad to carry it out successfully. Dí Maria and Young are very quick, Rooney can be quick. That's about it. Janujaz seems like the type of player that should be fast, but he's not. Nani coming back would include a nice injection of pace.

Buuut, going by the reactions that Nani, ADM and Young garner from United fans, the majority would have rage induced heart attacks by the end of every game they start together.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3zb8oXMGlb0

you forgot this guy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

bangkok wrote: »

Two and a half years ago.
    Also, he's no where near technically good enough to be a forward player anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭MythicalMadMan

bangkok wrote: »
    in fairness to di maria, he had runners ahead of him at madrid, Ronaldo, bale, benzema all stretching the defence giving him plenty of room to operate.

at united he has a static van persie and a not very mobile fellaini "making the runs"

Wait are we back to questioning if Fellaini has legs cause I'm nearly sure that was cleared up last season. He definetly has at least one leg..
    Just out of interest how many games has fellaini started playing higher than Di Maria again?

I'm on Docs positive train anyways. Hoping for top 4 and improved performance to calm a few in here too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Not sure what more Di Maria can provide in the system we play, laboured and predicable is a big change from the fast paced chaotic style of Madrid, he's one of the best in the world and looks clueless on the field

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I'm on Docs positive train anyways. Hoping for top 4 and improved performance to calm a few in here too.

Wouldn't hold your breath. PL / CL double in 2008 only calmed things down in here until about September. ;)

Wait are we back to questioning if Fellaini has legs cause I'm nearly sure that was cleared up last season. He definetly has at least one leg..
    Just out of interest how many games has fellaini started playing higher than Di Maria again?

not many as our manager seemed to think di maria is a striker, well that experiment lasted for about 3 or 4 games, but now the last few games fellaini has played ahead of di maria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,569 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Not necessarily , Ozil joined Arsenal 2 years ago and we aren't raving about him

Because Wenger signed the best #10 in the world and played him on the wing.

Just a reminder that Berbatov is back in England tonight for the Arsenal v Monaco UCL clash.

We can get to admire those casually silky skills that graced our own team once again from the coolest player ever to play football.

andy_garcia.jpg