What's After Hours' favourite anime?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Korvanica wrote: »
    Ok im gonna start watching monster later. Sounds awesome.

It really is, one of my favourite shows by far. It is quite slow going at first though, so you kinda have to stick with it, but it's worth it. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

Links234 wrote: »
    It really is, one of my favourite shows by far. It is quite slow going at first though, so you kinda have to stick with it, but it's worth it. ;)

Suppose its not on Netflix!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

The anime re-imagining of Fritz Lang's Metropolis is worth a watch.

I'll never forget watching Akira on Vhs as a young teenager, my friend brought it over for a sleepover. We were all like 'This is level 9 awsome!!!'

The Wind Rises is a lovely film also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭RogerWilco1982

Wolf's Rain
    The Legend of The Four Kings
    Vampire Hunter D: Blood Lust
    Spirited Away
    Elfen Lied

Also, I saw an anime years ago but I don't know the name;

The jist of it was humans were enslaved in mines on some random planet. They were policed by robots armed with red laser whips. The main bad guy looked like a human but it turned out he was a robot when the protagonist chopped him in half with the hilt of a broadsword and he fell into a lava moat at the end. :pac:

Does this ring any bells with anyone? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

Mr Freeze wrote: »
    Suppose its not on Netflix!?

Theres a lot of sites you can watch anime on, in high quality, for free. :D

Also, I saw an anime years ago but I don't know the name;

The jist of it was humans were enslaved in mines on some random planet. They were policed by robots armed with red laser whips. The main bad guy looked like a human but it turned out he was a robot when the protagonist chopped him in half with the hilt of a broadsword and he fell into a lava moat at the end. :pac:

Does this ring any bells with anyone? :o

Starchaser: The Legend of Orin? It was an American production, but sounds about right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

This is why I'll probably never ever watch any of the "Big Three" Naruto/Bleach/One Piece or similar shows that just go on and on endlessly.

Bleach is finished though right? And if you can find somewhere that will give you a difinitive list of the story arc episodes and cut out all the filler episodes it is doable.

I watched Bleach from the original airing/first fansubs, so it wasn't a major task, but I lost track of it after a while and went back and finished it (to be fair I was only 30 or 40 episodes shy).

It's quite enjoyable, but nothing deep.

Naruto, I started the first season of Shippuden when it first came out but out grew it. I much preferred the old Naruto. If you were going to start Naruto though you would absolutely need an episode list of story arc only episodes. It caught up on the manga very quickly and there is literally an entire season of filler only episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭RogerWilco1982

Starchaser: The Legend of Orin? It was an American production, but sounds about right.

That's it! :eek:

I've been curious about this for years.
    I remember being being traumatised by the old man being killed by the robots and the main bad guys' death when I saw it as a child. :o

I'll have to see if I can "acquire" it somewhere on the internet. :cool:

Makaveli wrote: »
    Bleach is finished though right? And if you can find somewhere that will give you a difinitive list of the story arc episodes and cut out all the filler episodes it is doable.

Oh I know there's lists that cut out the filler, but it's still not something that I'm too eager to watch. And I probably wouldn't skip episodes either, I'd always feel like I'm missing something anyway. But even then, there's a shedload of stuff I need to get around to watching and that takes way more priority, and at 366 episodes I'm just like nope!

I think perhaps one of the weightiest shows I'm planning to watch is Legend of the Galactic Heroes which clocks in at 110 episodes, meant to be incredible and who am I to say know to a grand space opera?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,222 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Speaking of mecha, what did you think of the Rebuild of Evangelion?

I'm a bit frustrated by how little most characters are fleshed out compared to their counterparts from the original series. And don't get me started on those delays...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Oh I know there's lists that cut out the filler, but it's still not something that I'm too eager to watch. And I probably wouldn't skip episodes either, I'd always feel like I'm missing something anyway.

You wouldn't be. Although Bleach was not nearly as bad as Naruto for the filler episodes. The Naruto ones were shocking, except for one, where he is searching for a beetle that can be used to track things based on smell.

Edit - actually, it looks like I haven't seen the last two seasons of Bleach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

Has anyone watched Memories: Magnetic Rose?

Its, all kinds of wierd. I was somewhat shook and confused as **** when it was over.

I have yet to continue watching Memories. (Stink Bomb & Cannon Fodder)

I'm a bit frustrated by how little most characters are fleshed out compared to their counterparts from the original series. And don't get me started on those delays...

They kinda did the same thing with the Berserk movies, they removed so much plot and so many characters, it was unreal. One thing that really annoyed me was that they removed the Queen of Midland even, which is a bit crazy because
    Griffith's eventual imprisonment doesn't make as much sense
    . The icing on the cake was removing Guts' origin story, I mean that's pretty god damn integral. It's like the movies just did some big flashy battle scenes, for people who're already familiar with the story.

I think the idea really was the trilogy to be more of a 'recap' and that from that point they'd tell more of the saga. But as with Eva it's pretty much up in the air at this point. It's a pity, because Berserk makes Game of Thrones look practically tame, it really needs a proper adaptation. The anime from the 90's was kinda cheap and nasty, but story wise it was a lot better than the movies.

Korvanica wrote: »
    Has anyone watched Memories: Magnetic Rose?

Its, all kinds of wierd. I was somewhat shook and confused as **** when it was over.

I have yet to continue watching Memories. (Stink Bomb & Cannon Fodder)

Yup, downright amazing! Written by the great Satoshi Kon and directed by Koji Morimoto who was an animator on Akira. It was beautiful and downright nightmarish.

I really must watch that again at some point. ;)

Neon Genesis Evangelion was the first proper anime I really watched, and I think it's raised the bar too high that I'm gonna be disappointed with anything that comes after. It's a total mindfúck but riveting and also very touching; there's something very odd about emotionally identifying with a depressed 14 year old who pilots a giant robot. :o

I started watching Death Note and was really enjoying it at the start but kind of lost interest after a while. Misa was extremely irritating, and when it got to the stage where L just conveniently had a 23 storey building HQ appear from nowhere I was just like "ah come on!"; Shinagami and the notebook I could deal with but that just wasn't realistic at all! :p

I tried watching Full Metal Alchemist: Brotherhood but didn't take to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

anyone rememeber this trailer on the old vhs tapes???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Dragonball Z Abridged is hilarious!

I tried watching Full Metal Alchemist: Brotherhood but didn't take to it.

How far into it did you get? It's one I think that needs some time to get into, the earlier episodes are quite rushed and it is a bit kiddish, but once you get past that it's really incredible. It's got a huge sprawling plotline that just comes together wondefully towards the end, and some amazing action. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

Good timing for this thread, I'm just after watching Attack on Titan on netflix. Been a few years since I'd watched any anime before that.
    My list is pretty similar to others:
    Death Note
    Elfen Lied
    Guyver (Mental)
    Cowboy Bebop
    Fullmetal Alchemist
    Edited to add; Ghibli films.

I used to be big into Bleach, but the filler got too much. There was one episode where they had to win a football match. Feck sake like.
    Same thing with Naruto. They had to make noodles, and the big suspenseful climax was that they had to serve hundreds of people all at once - if only the main character's signature move was to make copies of himself!

TPD wrote: »
    I used to be big into Bleach, but the filler got too much. There was one episode where they had to win a football match. Feck sake like.
    Same thing with Naruto. They had to make noodles, and the big suspenseful climax was that they had to serve hundreds of people all at once - if only the main character's signature move was to make copies of himself!

Yeah, crap like that is the reason I don't even bother with any of those shows. Give me a good show that has a story to tell, and just tells it, no filler and no crap, then wraps things up. Madoka Magica only had 12 episodes, and they did something in that timeframe that was incredible, it is one of the most memorable shows in years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Flood

No japanese cartoons when i was growing up.

Flood wrote: »
    No japanese cartoons when i was growing up.

when were you growing up?

40 years ago, when did all these jap cartoons come on tele?

40 years ago, when did all these jap Japanese cartoons come on tele?

FTFY

Western licenses of Japanese shows date back to the 60's with shows like Astroboy, Speed Racer, Gigantor and Kimba the White Lion.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

40 years ago, when did all these jap cartoons come on tele?

Jap can be considered offensive, so please refrain from using it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 SharkWhale

Jap can be considered offensive, so please refrain from using it.

What? PC GONE MAD!!

Western licenses of Japanese shows date back to the 60's with shows like Astroboy, Speed Racer, Gigantor and Kimba the White Lion.

No offence was meant on using that abbreviation, I didn't know. Learn something new every day.

Who in the 1960s had televisions in Ireland to be watching Japanese cartoons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 SharkWhale

Gits. Cat soup. All of studio ghibli. Akira. Deathnote. Astroboy. Metropolis. Most anime...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

FTFY

Not a fan of speed racer....used to annoy me!!!

Enjoyed Astroboy.

Was battletech anime?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

That one where the Asian girl sticks a funnel into another Asian girls arse and pours eels inside her. Then she poops them out into the first Asian girls mouth. Beautiful cinematography. Can't remember Tue name of it for the life of me now.