Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

secman wrote: »
    That's a bit of if me granny had balls she's d be me grandad ..... We have dropped ridiculous points.. We haven't played well all season.. These are facts..
    No if your granny had balls it would be classed as a civil partnership, who knows marriage in a few weeks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭RichFTW

Timmyctc wrote: »
    That twitter account is absolutely less funny than cancer imo.

Here is a gem of theirs from earlier in the day.

B-Yj2KRIIAA3Hpw.jpg:large

Wow that is actually one of the least funniest things I have ever seen. Thought the philosophy one was funny though. Mate posted the link to the tweet so I'm glad to say I don't have to put up with those sort of tweets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,074 ✭✭✭Xenophile

Never should have sacked David Moyes!

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭tastyt

irishfeen wrote: »
    Ferguson would almost have won the PL in his sleep with most teams in the top 6 teams - his ability to win from losing situations was absolutely staggering... you are right, he probably would have but saying SAF would win the league opposed to any other manager is ridiculous.

SAF was the best manager in club football history.

How do ye reckon say, mourinho would get on with the current United squad. I'm sure ye would be guaranteed top 4 but do ye guys think ye have the defenders at the club to win the league?? Even with SAF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Fortune made a good point today after the game,"Fergie always told the wide men to keep going forward,take a chance,not turn and pass it back,Keane also cajoled those around him to pass and move forward".So many times today we get to 25 yards out and go square,the oft maligned Young was the only one who consistently tried to go by his man or get a quick ball into the box.

Our away form is dire. These are the teams we have failed to get a win against away from home this season; Sunderland, MK Dons, Burnley, Leicester, West Brom, Villa, Stoke, Cambridge, West Ham, and now Swansea.

Obviously I didn't include Man City and Spurs in that since 3 points is never as easily got at their grounds as the previously mentioned teams.

Why is our away form so shít? That question for me is just as important as the next one;

Why, in a team regularly featuring Rooney, RVP, Falcao and ADM, can we not get more chances at goal? The team are failing miserably in the final third and I just can't fathom how a team boasting such talent can't find a way through or at least get a decent shot or two off.

I thought the performance today in everything but the final third of the field was better. The team's play from our own box up through the middle to the outside of Swansea's box was an improvement, but when all that play just ends up in a misfired shot or intercepted pass, what does it matter? That said though, the build-up to Herrera's goal was a beautiful rare example of things going right. Of course that patient build-up play went out the window once Swansea got their 2nd with that deflected strike from the Pale Man, from then on the ball spent a lot of time in the air.

Our strikers are not doing their job and their current efforts make the finishing of Danny Welbeck look groundbreaking. The service to them isn't without fault either, there seems to be a serious struggle to get into the box with the ball no matter who we're playing and this is worrying. All the more reason though that the few chances that come our way we should be putting away.

tastyt wrote: »
    How do ye reckon say, mourinho would get on with the current United squad. I'm sure ye would be guaranteed top 4 but do ye guys think ye have the defenders at the club to win the league?? Even with SAF?
    Mourinho would have went ultra defensive with us I think, probably get top 4 but not a hope he would get close to winning league either - Chelsea had a better team then us last year and collapsed.

Would SAF have won the league with that defence? .. I don't think its possible... no team will win the league with Evans, Smalling and Jones as first pick players IMO... all good decent lads but just off that top class to win the league.

stankratz wrote: »
    Our away form is dire. These are the teams we have failed to get a win against away from home this season; Sunderland, MK Dons, Burnley, Leicester, West Brom, Villa, Stoke, Cambridge, West Ham, and now Swansea.

Obviously I didn't include Man City and Spurs in that since 3 points is never as easily got at their grounds as the previously mentioned teams.

Why is our away form so shít? That question for me is just as important as the next one;

Why, in a team regularly featuring Rooney, RVP, Falcao and ADM, can we not get more chances at goal? The team are failing miserably in the final third and I just can't fathom how a team boasting such talent can't find a way through or at least get a decent shot or two off.

I thought the performance today in everything but the final third of the field was better. The team's play from our own box up through the middle to the outside of Swansea's box was an improvement, but when all that play just ends up in a misfired shot or intercepted pass, what does it matter? That said though, the build-up to Herrera's goal was a beautiful rare example of things going right. Of course that patient build-up play went out the window once Swansea got their 2nd with that deflected strike from the Pale Man, from then on the ball spent a lot of time in the air.

Our strikers are not doing their job and their current efforts make the finishing of Danny Welbeck look groundbreaking. The service to them isn't without fault either, there seems to be a serious struggle to get into the box with the ball no matter who we're playing and this is worrying. All the more reason though that the few chances that come our way we should be putting away.

Lack of pace moving the ball is killing us.Too easy to defend against,all those teams mentioned just kept their defensive shape and watched us play in front of them.

BTW City have scored their 4th....Runners creating space,we don't do that any more.

5-0 city :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,300 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Aye but when Fergie was the manager Evans looked very good and smalling and Jones were showing huge potential. Two poor managers in succession have done huge damage, all our young players are playing terrible and lacking confidence. It can't all be a coincidence.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

5-0 city :eek:

Newcastle are a shambles but City are finding space and moving into it.Our play is like watching a chess match.Go through the motions then get hit with a sucker punch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,917 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

zerks wrote: »
    Newcastle are a shambles but City are finding space and moving into it.Our play is like watching a chess match.Go through the motions then get hit with a sucker punch.

And the sad thing is we still probably won't beat them in a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Really not sure which was worse; that RVP constantly got opportunities he squandered, or that Rooney never looked dangerous at all and never got any chances. After all the talk that "Rooney is our best option up front", the reality is he had a very poor game again today. It's scary we have RVP, Falcao and Rooney and yet our strike rate is dismal. RVP couldn't hit a barn door and Rooney just never looked all that bothered.
    Lord TSC wrote: »
    I thought his "touches" were constantly ones he should have been trying to fire off as shots, but instead he'd slow down play by constantly laying balls back. He had no pace or urgency at all to the game, and came across (to me) as not being bothered by anything at all. He was utterly anonymous for chunks of the game, wasteful for others and certainly not the world beater some thought he might be if played up front.

Our front line is in horrid form at the moment; none of them have any confidence or have shown signs of getting out of their rut.

Rooney was good today. He had lots of good hold-up and link-up play and got on the end of a few chances, despite the awful lack of creativity in the rest of the team. For the record, RVP was also good in his own way - more shots, mostly from outside the box, and far less showing for the ball and link-up play.

Nobody said that Rooney would be a world beater in this team at this time if returned to playing up front alongside another CF. It is extremely disingenuous that you are pretending otherwise. It obviously takes time and a functioning team and formation for a player to get into top form. Rooney has only just returned to the position, the team are set up awfully and are playing rubbish.

You say that Rooney constantly neglected shooting opportunities to pass the ball backwards, yet he still had three shots inside the box to RVP's four. And yet you don't have any talk of RVP not being bothered or slowing down play.

For a player that you think wasn't bothered, he sure got on the ball a lot. Rooney received it 32 times in the final third. That is an awful lot of work for a striker, requiring a lot of running. Interesting to note that it's twice as many final third receptions as RVP, who you seem to think was bothered. Rooney also competed for 7 headers and won 4; compare that to RVP who only competed for one header, which he lost. I'd also be interested to know which periods of the game Rooney was anonymous and wasteful in, I don't recall them.

You are saying that we need to bring in a new striker and yet here we are struggling to build good attacking play and reverting to hoof-ball even though we have RVP, Rooney, Falcao, Mata and Di Maria in the squad. Except for maybe Falcao (because of injury), they are all world class attacking players. Replacing them with different world class attacking players would most likely be a complete waste of money when the manager has shown precisely zero competence in selecting a team and formation that suits the group he already has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,199 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

tastyt wrote: »
    How do ye reckon say, mourinho would get on with the current United squad.

Mourinho has been successful with far worse players than United have at the minute. At the very least he would have been able to impart his philosophy to the team, he would have had them organised and if that squad of players were in any way organised they would make top 3 at a canter.

I'd love to see LVG throw that notepad away and stand up, start running the show from the sidelines and let us see a bit of fire in the belly .. He is far too quiet and dignified for my liking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

I'd love to see LVG throw that notepad away and stand up, start running the show from the sidelines and let us see a bit of fire in the belly .. He is far too quiet and dignified for my liking.

I remember a time Moyes was ridiculed for celebrating an equaliser once :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Not even a surprise we lost been playing rubbish for months, going to be a real struggle for top 4 I actually think Liverpool will get in ahead of us

Was there any post match comment from LVG?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Kind of funny that we lost a game we probably deserved to win more then most of the ones this season!

I don't know what to think. LVG is an exceptional manager. Anybody who thinks otherwise should keep their opinions to themselves and then barstool buddies.

Great managers have tough times. I remember a couple of seasons in the late 80s and mid 00s that SAF really struggled with United.

That said, I am finding it hard to understand why uniteds performances are so consistently poor. The players struggle to create chances, the defence looks like Kevin Keegan put it together and the general play is not good. I'm not as concerned about how boring they are this season as I am how badly good players are looking.

How much of it is the manager and how much of it is other factors is difficult to judge. Football pundits have people dumbified into believing football management is as simple as a team underperformance equates to bad management.

These players were given a pass last season when they turned to **** and moyes took all the blame. Amazing how quickly some fans are to turn on LVG and put it down to successive managers.

One of the biggest problems has been our defence undermining our entire team. Many a time SAF was able to revert to a more defensive minded formation and players would execute a tight ship as United grabbed a slender one nil win. All this talk of free flowing United football is stuff of the very distant past. The team stopped playing great attractive football long before SAF retired.

I do feel that LVG needs to start steadying things quickly because there are at least 5 league games where United will drop points if things don't improve. I try to reserve judgement until May and hope that United gets a top 4 so LVG can take things further next season. Say what you want, if he can get us to a top 4 spot playing like this I would love to see what he can do if he gets us playing proper football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

zorro2566 wrote: »
    Was there any post match comment from LVG?

Said it was the best 2nd half performance of the season

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,995 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Pro. F wrote: »
    And yet you don't have any talk of RVP not being bothered or slowing down play.

Please don't try and make out as if I'm somehow defending RVP; in the first post you quoted, I gave out about him. He's not been up to scratch for 18 months now and under two managers, and displays just as many problems as Rooney is imo. Trying to put words into my mouth is just lazy; RVP can **** right off in the summer too.

As for the stats and the rest of your post, I guess we'll have to agree to disagree; I stand by my belief that Rooney is not the way forward for us any more. I'm not going to base my opinion on how many touches he had in numbers, but on what i felt he did with those touches when he got them. Stats without context is, again, lazy. After all, based on stats, we're the 4th best team in the league as we've got more points than the other teams. So we're brilliant, right?

There's a discussion going on about Fergie parallel to this, and how he'd possibly have the team firing better. As Fergie was walking out the door, he pretty much had Rooney one foot out with him. The year before he left, he sought to replace Rooney up front with RVP (and we won the league in the process). Fergie seemingly had lost patience with Rooney. Meanwhile, Moyes comes in and gives him the new contract, and then makes him pretty much the key creative force of the team, not as a striker but in number 10....and we flounder.

Then LVG comes in, Rooney is captain, and, be it in midfield or up front, the team continues to flounder.

We can keep cycling managers but eventually we need to realise the tools being given to them are not working. That's not defending Moyes either btw; he was tactically inept. And it's not saying that LVG is nailing his tactics either. But I firmly believe that so long as Rooney is out supposed leader, and so long as any new manager has to work with the likes of him and a few others, we're going to be struggling.

(And one other mention; I'm not saying we just need a striker; we need a wide attacker as well, and a better wing back on the side. It's not all Rooney. Just that he's a key problem).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,871 ✭✭✭keano25

Am I the only one that thinks RVP should be dropped and Wilson given a run in the team??

I mean how many games should RVP be given to start scoring goals... Ultimately LVG stubbornness is costing us wins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

I'd drop RVP too and play Rooney up top on his own with Mata behind him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

jebus I see RVP is in a cast

**** it feck it feck it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Headshot wrote: »
    jebus I see RVP is in a cast

**** it feck it feck it
    I fail to see the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I'm just going to lob this in - if the worst happened and the club finished just outside the Cl places and bagged a EL spot (and maybe won the FA Cup) would that be enough to keep or sack him? Bearing in mind that ditching the coach is only the tip of the iceberg, once one considers all the support staff, players bought in (though only a couple seem to be LVH own choices) and then the search for a manager of sufficient talent and experience for such a club with its ambition and budget.

I fail to see the problem.

We won't notice a difference in his speed of movement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

had a look at the table. If Southampton get a win, we are out of top 4 and even if they get a draw, the will be ahead on goals.

No way am I going to be supporting Liverpool though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,142 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

had a look at the table. If Southampton get a win, we are out of top 4 and even if they get a draw, the will be ahead on goals.

A win for Liverpool wouid be terrible for utd. Southampton will fall away.

We've a poor Sunderland team at home next followed by Newcastle away who aren't exactly great...........like so many times before it should be 6 points before the Spurs game.