If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

goat hunting

• 18-02-2015 12:10PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42

Heading out after goats soon and would like a few tips have permission got off all landowners in the area . Went up to have a look and counted over 70 goats in 3 groups one farmer thinks there are at least 120 .

• Subscribers Posts: 337 ✭✭noeleire

stoger wrote: »
    Heading out after goats soon and would like a few tips have permission got off all landowners in the area . Went up to have a look and counted over 70 goats in 3 groups one farmer thinks there are at least 120 .
    if you need a hand pm me i would love to help..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭daithi55

there hardy yokes yal need a bit of stopping power to get one of them to stay still

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭transit260

just back myself from checking the population in my neck of the woods,counted 20 in one mob with 12 kids in tow.try remember they have young at foot right now so if ye shoot a nanny then you are more than likely depriving the youngster a chance to feed from its mother.If the land owner insists on a cull so be it.Stick a few photos up if ye can,be good to see the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 stoger

transit260 wrote: »
    just back myself from checking the population in my neck of the woods,counted 20 in one mob with 12 kids in tow.try remember they have young at foot right now so if ye shoot a nanny then you are more than likely depriving the youngster a chance to feed from its mother.If the land owner insists on a cull so be it.Stick a few photos up if ye can,be good to see the day.
    Ya there's a good few kids around wont be knocking nanny for a while yet ill try and take a puck or two for now

daithi55 wrote: »
    there hardy yokes yal need a bit of stopping power to get one of them to stay still

.223 is all I have hope it will do the job lad coming with me has a .243

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

What about taking a youngster?
    I'm sure it'd taste nicer than a big smelly billy or nanny.
    On a trip to Philippines i killed one and eat some and it was disgusting.

What about taking a youngster?
    I'm sure it'd taste nicer than a big smelly billy or nanny.
    On a trip to Philippines i killed one and eat some and it was disgusting.

No intention if eating an old one the smell alone would put you off . it won't go to waste doe the dogs will have good eating. Your right kid goat is nice having had a wild one yet .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,324 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

.243 is good goat medicine. Yes indeed a kid is ideal eating right about now if they were born early Dec /Jan.Not much on them,but the meat is exellent .Somthing between beef and lamb and they dont taste very strong or smell like their elders. Once they get past four or five months they taste like they smell,and smell like they taste.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

I ate alot of goat in uganda pretty tasty imo. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

I never new people hunted goats.
    What part of the country
    ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭German pointer

You can't beat a kid for taste and the .223 should do the job on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I didn't know you could shoot goats - I presume it's legal?

Feral goats have no protection in law and as long as you have the landowners permission you can hunt them

Can ye shoot feral cats?

I assume so but I stand to be corrected. I think any feral animal can be hunted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

efb wrote: »
    Can ye shoot feral cats?

It's a Very touchy subject on boards. Not entirely sure on the law regarding feral cats myself.

Oooh just searched it there.. I am very protective of my cat and don't want her attacked by ferals. I don't have a gun so not fear of me shooting then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

stoger wrote: »
    .223 is all I have hope it will do the job lad coming with me has a .243

Use a good quality soft point and you should be grand. They're hardy but they're not clad in kevlar and ceramic tiles either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

efb wrote: »
    Can ye shoot feral cats?

Yes. But let's not get into a huge debate as they turn into train wrecks, it's also off topic for a goat hunting thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,190 ✭✭✭Bogwoppit

Vegeta wrote: »
    Yes. But let's not get into a huge debate as they turn into train wrecks, it's also off topic for a goat hunting thread.

And the don't taste great either.

IMG_7320_zps0bfc3308.jpg
    in my opinion way too early yet for kid shooting,I wait till around easter,they are a good size by then but still small enough for the table and oven.heres a few I watched yesterday,
    03c35c8d-f488-45c8-9912-ed78d70f5198_zps79d88d7d.jpg
    IMG_7307_zps42d10259.jpg
    IMG_7300_zps7537b297.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

IMG_7320_zps0bfc3308.jpg
    in my opinion way too early yet for kid shooting,I wait till around easter,they are a good size by then but still small enough for the table and oven.heres a few I watched yesterday,
    03c35c8d-f488-45c8-9912-ed78d70f5198_zps79d88d7d.jpg
    IMG_7307_zps42d10259.jpg
    IMG_7300_zps7537b297.jpg

Roughly what area are you in? Used to be loads in Kildare but all were shot

down south,outside Bantry

Had a great day yesterday got a nice puck
    We also got a young female for the freezer born last year don't no that it going to taste like might be tough. We spent the day up on the hill there are a lot of kids around but too small yet to cull it was one of the best day hunting iv had yet . There is a group of 10 12 pucks on there own away from the main herd so ill take a few of them lads out and leave the main herd alone for a while .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭Jayzesake

Might sound like a stupid question, but is there any way to tell the females apart from the young males through a scope from a distance?

To reduce the numbers of a band of feral goats, taking out the females first obviously makes most sense, but apart from nursing nannies (which I suppose should be left alone unless you're taking the kids too) or the big billies, I have difficulty distinguishing them.

Yesterday was the first time I hunted goat so still a learning curve the lad that was with me could tell no problem he has goats all his life and we'll able to butcher them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

Its great to see them in such numbers. I seen herds liuke that wiped out in such a short period around me. Hunter never thought of the next man. There finished rutting, there rutt is very long. The females are pregnant now. In relation to horn size thats down to blood line. I colum for every year. They live to 12 years and are not really prone to disease. The bucks should be in batchelor herds at this time of year if im correct. I shot one last september, he was biggest of the herd. I left the rest alone as the other bucks have excellent potential due to the size of their horns. Im waiting for head to get measured but im pretty confident it could score 3rd largest on Irish record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭moreau118

anyone hunting goats around clare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭stoeger

moreau118 wrote: »
    anyone hunting goats around clare

What part of clare you in p m me if you want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭moreau118

im in east clare was just wondering cos i never hear anybody on about shooting them or if there is much of a population of them around.