Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I guess Preston lost last night given they had Kilkenny playing football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

bangkok wrote: »
    for man utd yes, but not in the grand scheme of things. Falcao is not even getting a chance to show us what he can do, we are not giving him any through balls, everything is lumped up to him. I though he was doing ok last night. how many times did he receive the ball with his back to goal and then fouled by the defender?

There's a reason why he's not getting any through balls and its nothing to do with service. Why is it that Rooney was able to get in behind and get on the end of 3-4 through balls last night and Falcao can't? Its to do with his physical abilities and nothing else. As someone explained the page previous his pace is shot and players know he's not going to get on the end of through balls. He had one through ball played into him in the first half and he miscontrolled it and it ran back to the keeper.

As for saying his performance was ok last night, it was far from OK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

no I think he is decent, but I still stand by my original assessment of him, I don't think he is a man utd player

he is a manutd player, was playing for man utd last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

why because he caused havoc v preston, west ham and Cambridge?

call a spade a spade, he is at a certain level. against the likes of city or Chelsea the level we should be at he will be at nothing. Even last year in the champions league, any decent side we played fellaini was so out of place, teams just passed the ball around him and he didn't have the ability or mobility to cope

Ehhh.. Fellaini was basically our man of the match against Chelsea at home this season. Cesc didn't get a thing in the game. And against City away he was fairly decent too and played some nice balls up to RVP and Rooney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

dor843088 wrote: »
    Whqt the hell happened to Raphael ?

hes crap and always has been

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,569 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

call a spade a spade, he is at a certain level. against the likes of city or Chelsea the level we should be at he will be at nothing. Even last year in the champions league, any decent side we played fellaini was so out of place, teams just passed the ball around him and he didn't have the ability or mobility to cope

What;s surprising about your point is he was not great against Preston, West Ham and Cambridge. But against City and Chelsea he was the best player on the field i presume you missed those games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

dor843088 wrote: »
    Whqt the hell happened to Raphael ?

At this point I'd say Donatello, Leonardo or Michelangelo would all get picked ahead of him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

I love Bangkok. He makes my day. The weird thing is, his opinions gets a few thanks. It's amazing there is fans out there that are so deluded.

The whole team was bad last year. Are they man utd players? Or was it just Fellaini dragging them all down?

Fellaini has been out best player this season and has won us games. Himself and de gea has saved our season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭dor843088

hes crap and always has been

So is valencia tho

don't even try compare fellaini with toure. Toure is world class, 24 goals last season, fellaini didn't even score a single goal last season

Should we zip back to the season before that when Fellaini got almost twice the league goals and more assists than Toure despite playing for Everton and not Man City or would that not suit the narrative?

I love Bangkok. He makes my day. The weird thing is, his opinions gets a few thanks. It's amazing there is fans out there that are so deluded.

The whole team was bad last year. Are they man utd players? Or was it just Fellaini dragging them all down?

Fellaini has been out best player this season and has won us games. Himself and de gea has saved our season

I guess some of us are just hung up on the old days of pacey wingers , clinical forwards and somewhat attractive football. Theres no doubt standards have plummeted if fellaini is dragging us through games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭Quandary

Fellaini right now, is one of the reasons we are in 3rd. He has rescued games for us and is seriously starting to show his worth to the squad. If us staying in the top 4 means that we will be placing the ball deep into Fellainis fro while he barges through teams and gets the ball across the line by diving into the opposition net then so be it - for now.

While LVG tinkers around trying to get plan A working, we need to be satisfied with plan B for now because it is pulling results out of the fire for us.

As for Fellaini not being able to do it against quality centre halves? Go back a few years when we were playing Everton and ask Rio and Vidic. They very often had problems with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,867 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Fellaini no good against the better teams except when he's United's best player against them

If fellaini wins us the game against arsenal I will buy a utd shirt with fellaini on the back ,grow a 6 inch afro and put miracle gro on my eyebrows in solidarity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

Fellaini is more than just a big target man in the box, he's also very good at having balls fired into his feet and holding on to them. All season we've watched falcao and rvp unable to hold the ball or it just bouncing off them. If used right then fellaini could be perfect to feed runs from di maria, herrera, mata and rooney. It might not be the prettiest at times but points over style this season and try to make sure of getting back to the champions league

For the record I don't want Fellaini up front. I want him in midfield where United have been lacking someone like him for a while now.

Any idea of united game is 7th or 8th of March lads? Just got offered tickets and can't accept untill I know :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,569 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Liam O wrote: »
    For the record I don't want Fellaini up front. I want him in midfield where United have been lacking someone like him for a while now.

I think Herrera gets himself about enough to offer steel in midfield and is better on the ball than Fellaini.

While Fellaini offers far more going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

The Van Gaal dossier

Great article here on LVG and his different spells at different clubs.

It talks about his formational evolutions and his sometimes frosty relationship with executives and players. Some nice graphs showing his various formations like his 3-1-2-1-3 at Ajax. Some personal stuff is covered too, the death of his first wife for example I wasn't aware of and how his strict upbringing is reflected in his management style.

Its got a good sense of humor
    In 2007 the AZ squad were treated to the sight of van Gaal roaming around the training ground in a golf buggy, which he had been forced to use after breaking his leg trying to do the pole vault at his old school reunion.

http://s.telegraph.co.uk/graphics/projects/the-van-gaal-dossier/index.html

Nuts102 wrote: »
    I think Herrera gets himself about enough to offer steel in midfield and is better on the ball than Fellaini.

While Fellaini offers far more going forward.

I think for now I'd probably play the 2 of them in front of Blind with Di Maria, Rooney and Mata ahead of them with Di Maria and Mata switching throughout the game. I'm talking ridiculous things now though, how could United assemble a lineup like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,308 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Again im only basing it on last 30 minutes but thought Fellaini was terrific.

Played some lovely passes.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

everyone banging on about falcaos pace, he was never a lightning fast forward, ever, he was just a lethal finisher in the box. He is getting zero service at the moment as we are playing football that is not easy on the eye to put it mildly. Currently we only look like scoring when we put the big man up front and try to get the 2nd ball

Falcao was never rapid but he was quick enough to play on the shoulder of the defense and beat them with pace, now he can't even win a single race.

Also his touch, link up play is awful and he isn't anywhere near as sharp in the box as used to be, otherwise he could have scored 2 goals yesterday, 1 from Di Maria free kick and another from the chip pass that he tried to pass it to Rooney instead of trying to score.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭MythicalMadMan

Name one game this season where fellaini has been shown up or outplayed, this from a player who has played DMF, right wing, no 10 and striker for us this season and always given 100%, that versatility added to the strenght he brings makes him a valued asset to the squad.
    You so blind sided by what other fans are saying about him its obviously tainted your opinion and your begining to look quite silly constantly beating the same drum.

Every player cant be a messi or ronaldo teams need different players to do different jobs, If you cant see the value Fellaini adds to our squad I then you really have been blinded by ur agenda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Fellaini is a good midfielder, I can't believe people doubt that at this stage.

The worry is that our plan A is lethargic cross-ball and plan B is lumping it to Fellaini

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,057 ✭✭✭✭adox

Fellaini has a lot more to his game than being a target man, like many of the detractors here would to portray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I really enjoy the balance playing Fellaini off Rooney brings. They both offer different options for an attack, and that works so well. Fellaini isn't a #10 in the traditional sense. He just kind of floats between the midfield and off the striker, making those runs we desperately need. I doubt we'll ever see him picking out passes or assist like Mata or Silva.

Possible for the next game against Swansea?
    De Gea
    Valencia - Smalling - Rojo - Shaw
    Blind - Herrera
    Di Maria - Fellaini - Young
    Rooney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Name one game this season where fellaini has been shown up or outplayed, this from a player who has played DMF, right wing, no 10 and striker for us this season and always given 100%, that versatility added to the strenght he brings makes him a valued asset to the squad.
    You so blind sided by what other fans are saying about him its obviously tainted your opinion and your begining to look quite silly constantly beating the same drum.

Every player cant be a messi or ronaldo teams need different players to do different jobs, If you cant see the value Fellaini adds to our squad I then you really have been blinded by ur agenda

I never said I cant see the value he brings to the table, there is obviously something there, but the fact we need to throw him up front in games as our general play before that has been septic, its the plan B.

Other posters saying he was great against Chelsea this season? he was great at what..stopping fabregas play? that's not what united are about, it should have been fabregas playing for us instead of fellaini. Ye are giving him praise for stopping another player with talents play. 38 games for united 4 goals. I stand by what i say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

did you see the whole game or just the last 30? we were shocking again in the first half, fellaini was poor, but plan B throw him up front and cross a few balls to him in the last 30 yea he looked decent, but we were playing preston who realistically were out on their feet last 15-20 mins

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,995 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

The worry is that our plan A is lethargic cross-ball and plan B is lumping it to Fellaini

I think Plan A is (or at least, is supposed to be) a slow, methodical build up, dominating possession and waiting to find the small hole that arises to exploit. Problem is, our wingers/midfielders seem to struggle with that through ball, and when they do get it, our strikers aren't quick/alert enough to take advantage of it. We're doing ok defensively, defending through possession, but we don't have the attacking options to capitalise.

Plan B then is All Out Attack, lumping it into the box, shot after shot, trying to overwhelm them, with the likes of Fel taking center stage.