Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Be still my beating heart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Ososlo wrote: »
    Are you on drugs:confused:confused:

Yes there are bb creams and now you can even get cc creams:)
    I might agree with that conclusion:eek:
    I'm intrigued as to why you were listening to such a debate!

I had no choice but to listen. This was a debate between my two female house mates and I needed the open fire in the sitting room after a session in those conditions tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Notsoslo has a nice ring to it, plus it has a touch more positivity to it...
    Change your username, change it now Notsoslo :D

Good running there today, sorry to hear of the recent sleeping drought.
    I find it hard getting one bad night sleep and yet you get it so much worse
    over a few days :(

Oh and I did google that touché éclat, I had an idea it was fillers of some kind :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

I had no choice but to listen. This was a debate between my two female house mates and I needed the open fire in the sitting room after a session in those conditions tonight.

Ah I see:) At least you learned some useful stuff. It won't go to waste!

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Notsoslo has a nice ring to it, plus it has a touch more positivity to it...
    Change your username, change it now Notsoslo :D

Good running there today, sorry to hear of the recent sleeping drought.
    I find it hard getting one bad night sleep and yet you get it so much worse
    over a few days :(

Oh and I did google that touché éclat, I had an idea it was fillers of some kind :)

Yes I like Notsoslo. But it has to be earned Marty so it'll be a while yet. I wasn't christened Ososlo for nothing :)

All the men are learning something new tonight. It's actually a great gift for any woman as it's expensive, luxurious and a little touch of magic;) You can't go wrong if you're ever stuck for a gift idea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

I went to bed at 10pm and did everything possible to try and sleep but nothing worked. I don’t count sheep anymore to help me drift off, I count runners jumping over hurdles on a track:) but I swear I must have counted 5,000 of them. A lot of them knock the hurdle or fall before they get to it for some reason:confused:

hee hee hee, giggle :) very picturesque...

but not funny at all about the sleep thing, must be horrible, would have hoped the regular running might have knocked it on the head (I think I suggested taking up running to an insomniac from my office while back, of course was just guessing).

Notsoslo I think it has to be, has the same stress/rhythm as the original...

hee hee hee, giggle :) very picturesque...

but not funny at all about the sleep thing, must be horrible, would have hoped the regular running might have knocked it on the head (I think I suggested taking up running to an insomniac from my office while back, of course was just guessing).

Notsoslo I think it has to be, has the same stress/rhythm as the original...

I've been an insomniac since I was 8:( and all through my life really. I was drunk most of my 20s so actually got decent sleep then as I conked out most nights:D
    It didn't really improve much with running:(

Yes I think it'll be Notsoslo. Not forgetting my roots and all that;)

I was drunk most of my 20s so actually got decent sleep then as I conked out most nights:D

Hmmm... pity it's not the running that gave the 'solution' ;)

Friday 30 January
    6 miles recovery
    AIS, LM pre run

Nice little jaunt to collect the car. Legs felt great after Thursday's session.
    10:10 avg pace

Saturday 31 January
    3 x 8 mins @ 5k-4 mile effort off 5 min recoveries
    AIS, LM pre run

Slept for 9 hours! Woo hoo! Felt good before this except for the pre session nerves that I always get, especially when anything at 5k effort if on the cards!!! Since pistol mentioned that he thinks it's normal to feel this way before a session I've started to ignore the false signals my body's sending out!
    Worked the session so the wind was mainly on my back or coming from the side although there were a couple of crazy gusts here and there! Would have been such a perfect day only for that damn wind!
    I did it to feel and didn't look at the watch until the 8 minutes was up when I had a glance at the watch. I tried to maintain effort for the 3 reps and am amazed I managed to keep them all so similar and the last 2 identical!
    The efforts felt controlled and relaxed and I felt my form was good. Head up, back straight, light feet. Definitely wasn't straining anything today.

Paces for the 3 reps were 7:40, 7:37, 7:37

Last time I did this before xmas paces were: 7:45, 7:48, 7:44 so nice to see some improvement there. Could have done another rep no problem.

I think these moderate effort sessions with decent recoveries which are part of my base training are great from a psychological point of view. They're giving me confidence that I can hold a specific pace for a decent amount of time but I have good recoveries so it's easy to go again for the next rep. Over the weeks I find I'm gradually starting to say to myself that running to these paces is not such a big deal and I should be able to do them without too much of a problem and I'm not as scared of them as I was before. I think not looking at the watch for the faster stuff is really helping me here too as I'm more relaxed at speed and not panicking if I'm not running a particular part of a rep at a specific pace. Sorry for the ramblings!

January total : 231.29 miles
    Most I've ever done by far but to be honest, the miles never posed a problem for me. I think I could easily manage more easy miles but what is great is that I'm managing to do 3 moderate sessions a week along with high-ish mileage and not getting injured or sick. Long may it continue!!!
    16 days - no alcohol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭barryoneill50

Well done on that session. I did that one a few weeks ago and really suffered....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

What's your 5k pb?
    You must be due to give one a go and set a new one.
    I'm guessing off that session it would probably be a formality?

yaboya1 wrote: »
    What's your 5k pb?
    You must be due to give one a go and set a new one.
    I'm guessing off that session it would probably be a formality?

Hey! It's 24:48 from last autumn and yes I should get a good pb at this stage.

Training will be geared more towards half marathon distance for the next 3 months (Wexford Half) but I'm sure I could fit one in. St. Anne's Parkrun probably or maybe MSB. I liked that one the time I did it. Yes actually I think I'll do MSB Patrick's weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Training will be geared more towards half marathon distance for the next 3 months (Wexford Half) but I'm sure I could fit one in. St. Anne's Parkrun probably or maybe MSB. I liked that one the time I did it. Yes actually I think I'll do MSB Patrick's weekend.

I reckon you might break 23 minutes.

yaboya1 wrote: »
    I reckon you might break 23 minutes.

that'd be nice but if I were you I wouldn't be putting any money on that for a few more months. Maybe by MSB though! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

That'll be my first race of the year. Not likely to be a PB but hoping I can give it a decent lash. I've got a load of people from work doing it too as a big charity event.

That's some month's work for you A. Well done!

RedRunner wrote: »
    That'll be my first race of the year. Not likely to be a PB but hoping I can give it a decent lash. I've got a load of people from work doing it too as a big charity event.

That's some month's work for you A. Well done!
    thanks!

I'm sure you'll be in great shape by then R! Let's hope they get the distance correct this year as there was a lot of controversy last year about course being short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Let's hope they get the distance correct this year as there was a lot of controversy last year about course being short.

It's such a great route - definitely PB territory if they get the distance right. My guess is it was off by around 150m last year :( Can see you knocking a massive chunk of your PB based on your recent sessions. How are you fixed for the 10K ?

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    It's such a great route - definitely PB territory if they get the distance right. My guess is it was off by around 150m last year :( Can see you knocking a massive chunk of your PB based on your recent sessions. How are you fixed for the 10K ?

Yeah I loved it the time I did it. Definitely pb territory but a bit too much so last year due to short course!!!
    Not thinking about 10k (nerves already..ridiculous. ... so let's not talk about it until Sunday ;) ) but quietly confident ish :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Yeah I loved it the time I did it. Definitely pb territory but a bit too much so last year due to short course!!!

Yeah, I don't count it as a PB and I'll be a while beating it but for about 10 minutes after the race I was the happiest girl in the world :rolleyes:
    Not thinking about 10k (nerves already..ridiculous. ... so let's not talk about it until Sunday ;) ) but quietly confident ish :)
    Ok let's not, BUT, you are going to smash it. And nerves are good. I always get nervous in advance of the big races but once you're running it doesn't matter and it's better than just being meh about it :D Channel those nerves, be grand!

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Yeah, I don't count it as a PB and I'll be a while beating it but for about 10 minutes after the race I was the happiest girl in the world :rolleyes:

Ok let's not, BUT, you are going to smash it. And nerves are good. I always get nervous in advance of the big races but once you're running it doesn't matter and it's better than just being meh about it :D Channel those nerves, be grand!
    Thanks yeah talking about it makes it worse for me so we won't mention the r word until Sunday :)
    Not a goal one really but wanna do well.
    Now back to you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Mimojo

Friday 30 January

Paces for the 3 reps were 7:40, 7:37, 7:37

January total : 231.29 miles

You have just gotta change that username!!

Well done on January mileage, that is seriously seriously impressive :cool:

Sunday 1 February
    5 miles easy
    Did this around the homeplace in Kilkenny. This is literally in the middle of nowhere and one doesn't expect to see humans, let alone running humans in these here parts. Well lo and behold but there were 2 runners heading towards me about a half mile away in the distance. Couldn't believe my eyes. I was super excited. When I got to them it seemed like they didn't want to stop and talk :(
    I understand why now and feel a bit bad for stopping them in their tracks but I just had to stop and chat. Turns out they're a mother and daughter doing the OP Trans 5k programme. They were on one of the 5 minute running bits and believe me, I know how difficult they are when you're starting out, and the worst thing in the world is having to stop to chat to an annoyingly cheery happy smiley person if you're in the middle of that mammoth task:(. I apologised profusely and gave them loads of encouragement and they nearly fell down with excitement when I said I started a similar programme 3 years ago and did the marathon last year and am running every day now, so I felt a little bit better about it as they were (seemed) genuinely interested to hear about my running history and the fact that I started out exactly where they did.

Skipped the pm run as the roads were icy and it was completely dark and I didn't want to have to drive to Kilkenny to run due to the slippy roads.

45 miles weekly total
    Turned out to be a bit of an unintentional recovery week as I was feeling a bit 'off' early in the week so took a day off and dropped some doubles. No harm.

Monday 2 February
    10 miles very easy w/ 6x45 sec strides near end
    I've had 2 of the most amazing nights of sleep that I've ever had. I must have slept 9 hours on Saturday night and about 10 hours last night and I could have slept for longer. I was very surprised to see my rhr up to about 57 this morning but I felt fine so not sure what that was about.

Drove back to Dublin and hit the Phoenix Park on one of the most glorious afternoons that we've had this year. Honestly, the scenery was just breath taking at times and I was so happy that I could run it all very relaxed and take it all in. Ran a lot of hills and kept it all lovely and smooth with easy breathing, barely breaking a sweat. Happy happy days :)
    Ran past the fairly old dude I often see running around the park. Well he's doing some kind of running motion but more like walking, but looks like he was definitely a runner in the past. He always looks SO happy I love when I pass him and we always exchange greetings and he puts a smile on my face. Maybe I put a smile on his face too ;) Cool guy ;:)

9:58 avg pace
    Easy tomorrow and strides session Wednesday!

Day 18 - no alcohol (I'd love a fecking glass of wine or even a bloody dry sherry would be welcome at this stage!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Great views of snow-covered Seefin and Seefingan from Chesterfield Ave. today. Had I the time, I would've headed up that way.

PaulieC wrote: »
    Great views of snow-covered Seefin and Seefingan from Chesterfield Ave. today. Had I the time, I would've headed up that way.

Yeah truly stunning vistas. I can see how you'd be tempted by the lure of the mountains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Ran past the fairly old dude I often see running around the park. Well he's doing some kind of running motion but more like walking, but looks like he was definitely a runner in the past. He always looks SO happy I love when I pass him and we always exchange greetings and he puts a smile on my face. Maybe I put a smile on his face too ;) Cool guy ;:)

9:58 avg pace
    Easy tomorrow and strides session Wednesday!

Day 18 - no alcohol (I'd love a fecking glass of wine or even a bloody dry sherry would be welcome at this stage!)

Don't suppose he has a beard by any chance ??

kit3 wrote: »
    Don't suppose he has a beard by any chance ??

No not an obvious one anyways as far as I remember! 80s I'd say and very lean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Sounded like a friend of mine who hit 70 recently but has a very obvious beard :) Great runner in his day, can't run now but walks a lot in the park - the friendly greeting made me think it might be him.

I've had 2 of the most amazing nights of sleep that I've ever had. I must have slept 9 hours on Saturday night and about 10 hours last night and I could have slept for longer.

whoop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Isn't he someone on this forum's dad ? Or did I imagine that ?

Not sure. I remember seeing him and Harry Gorman and another older gentleman one day last summer out for a walk/jog in their running gear. It would have made a great picture. The 3 of them looked so happy and healthy.
    I rarely see people of that age out running. It's great! Come to think of it, any time I do see older people running, it's always older men, and never older women. Wonder why...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Think it's Bulmers74 himself.... :)