Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Deiseboy01

Pro. F wrote: »
    I get that you've been copying words and sentences that you've seen me using. What you've failed to copy is tying them all into any sort of intelligent argument. Maybe if you think really hard in future you'll be able to do better.

Mieow, maybe go back to the pretentious latin stuff, gives you a certain faux gravitas, the above just makes you appear to be a whiny little bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,867 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

You can't really call someone who has a multiple league and cup triumphs in extremely difficult leagues a spoofer.

Well of course you can. If, you know, you're an idiot.

I get that you've been copying words and sentences that you've seen me using. What you've failed to copy is tying them all into any sort of intelligent argument. Maybe if you think really hard in future you'll be able to do better.
    Deiseboy01 wrote: »
    Mieow, maybe go back to the pretentious latin stuff, gives you a certain faux gravitas, the above just makes you appear to be a whiny little bitch.

Why don't ye both shut up at this stage nearly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

keane2097 wrote: »
    Why don't ye both shut up at this stage nearly

Meow.

Meow.

That post may have been somewhat reactionary and over the top, I would like to withdraw it. Apologies.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,995 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Deise and Pro F, ye can cut out the personal bickering or ye can take some yellow cards, but either way, the personal stuff stops now. If you don't like each other, feel free to just ignore each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Wouldn't matter if United had Ronaldo and messi up front last night, if the like of blind and Valencia won't even cross the ball when the striker has made the run. Oh how I would love beckham back on the right side of our midfield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Cambridge backed way off Jones most of the time because they knew he can't pass a ball 5 yards. And it's not just forward passes, as some above have mentioned. At one stage in the first half he gave it away when he was looking for Rojo beside him (although he did eventually make up for that mistake with a good clearance). Rojo is definitely better on the ball anyway, and is by far our best CB. Maybe himself and Smalling (who has redeemed himself after the City calamity) should be given a go again.

The midfield was poor but it's hard to know what LVG wants them to do. Surely Herrera should be given a run? Why is Jones on corners? I thought Fellaini on the wing was wasted too. If LVG doesn't wake up soon we won't make top 4 and with the attacking squad we have now, that'd be a sackable offence!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Jones doesn't even look like a footballer at times. I cringe when I see him take 3 touches to turn 180 degrees with the ball barely eaving his sight, his lack of composure is astounding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Jones doesn't even look like a footballer at times. I cringe when I see him take 3 touches to turn 180 degrees with the ball barely eaving his sight, his lack of composure is astounding.

Didn't Fergie tip Jones to become one of United's greatest ever players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Did Valencia get past his man even once last night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

MagicIRL wrote: »
    Did Valencia get past his man even once last night?
    Nope and when he tried he just booted the ball at his shin pads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭dor843088

djPSB wrote: »

Yeah he also tipped cleverly to become one of England's best midfielders. Handy when selling them on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Is there anybody reliable reporting that we are about to sign Alex Dragovic? There's a lot of talk about it but I've yet to see a decent source. Apparently there's quotes from him about it but again unverified.

Blind is getting way too much grief for deciding not to put a cross that was 99% going to be blocked in the first half last night. Shearer has a go at him at HT and next thing the whole world has it that he was terrible.

We would be better served having Carrick pair Rojo at CB and Blind in that DM role. Shaw and Rafael complete the back four. If you take out Jones, then you get three plays in Blind, Carrick and Rojo who can pass the ball and move it out.

Is there anybody reliable reporting that we are about to sign Alex Dragovic? There's a lot of talk about it but I've yet to see a decent source. Apparently there's quotes from him about it but again unverified.

Other than him killing Apollo Creed in Rocky IV, what has Drago done since becoming a footballer? Is he any use?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,995 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Its all apparently coming from the Austrian version of the Mirror so wouldn't read much into it....

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Its all apparently coming from the Austrian version of the Mirror so wouldn't read much into it....

Yeah, I read here http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2338545-manchester-united-transfer-news-kevin-strootman-aleksandar-dragovic-deals-eyed with the usual key words popping up such as likely, eyed, possible.

TL;DR- Bull****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

djPSB wrote: »

Hindsight is great.

This was 4 years ago by the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

The Guardian have a piece up about us weighing up a £13m bid but the author is Ed Aarons, a relative newbie who I know little about.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2015/jan/23/manchester-united-aleksandr-dragovic-weighing-up-bid?CMP=share_btn_tw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Another positive, Valencia looks to be getting his defensive positioning right more often these days. Although it hasn't been hugely tested in the last few games, it's been good to see him getting into the right areas ready to step in when needed.

He's still hopeless at crossing though, so I'd really prefer to see Rafael as first choice, and another brought in if he can't stay fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Apparently followed Rojo and Valdes on Instagram.

B8HUpHVCQAAptNa.jpg

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    Cambridge backed way off Jones most of the time because they knew he can't pass a ball 5 yards. And it's not just forward passes, as some above have mentioned. At one stage in the first half he gave it away when he was looking for Rojo beside him (although he did eventually make up for that mistake with a good clearance). Rojo is definitely better on the ball anyway, and is by far our best CB. Maybe himself and Smalling (who has redeemed himself after the City calamity) should be given a go again.

The midfield was poor but it's hard to know what LVG wants them to do. Surely Herrera should be given a run? Why is Jones on corners? I thought Fellaini on the wing was wasted too. If LVG doesn't wake up soon we won't make top 4 and with the attacking squad we have now, that'd be a sackable offence!

I keep seeing people say that Smalling has been alright and in this post "redeemed" himself. Have people not been seeing how bad he's been? Worse than Jones, worse than Evans, worse than anyone. Everyone giving out about Jones last night, there were no goals conceded. Give out about Januzaj, give out about Di Maria, what did Carrick do creatively? I'd even take criticism of the starved for service forwards over a CB who actually tried to push forward a couple of times and make something happen.

The lack or urgency when the team needs a goal stinks of a team that just doesn't care. Not caring for a Manchester United team is a cancer because as far as rich overpaid footballers go, you always felt that to the likes of Keane, Giggs, Cantona, Ronaldo, a young Rooney and countless others that they would lay down everything for that competitive edge. More than anything looking back that's what Veron, Berbatov and some others lacked, though I think at some stage Berbatov took a bit of stick and gained some more spine. The lack of a competitive spirit is missing from so many players and Jones isn't one of them so right now he stays.

I think it may have to do with language barriers. If it was Beckham, Keane would have no problem going off at him. Is Carrick, Fellaini, Herrera or Blind going to do that to Di Maria? Bar Herrera, could they? You can see a lot of communication breakdowns in the team recently. Rojo and Carrick against QPR and Blind and Falcao's last night turned out to be very costly.

Either way, after 2 managers there's some cancer there that we don't see and some of Fergie's baffling team selections in his last couple of seasons may look very interesting in a revisionist sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭KH25

Another positive, Valencia looks to be getting his defensive positioning right more often these days. Although it hasn't been hugely tested in the last few games, it's been good to see him getting into the right areas ready to step in when needed.

He's still hopeless at crossing though, so I'd really prefer to see Rafael as first choice, and another brought in if he can't stay fit.

Agree, his defending has improved alright but as an attacking outlet he is virtually useless. This would be fine if his job was to defend only but when he's expected to attack also it just renders the whole right flank useless. I'd also prefer to see raf as either first choice or cover. Sell Valencia and get in a proper RB.

Liam O wrote: »
    I keep seeing people say that Smalling has been alright and in this post "redeemed" himself. Have people not been seeing how bad he's been? Worse than Jones, worse than Evans, worse than anyone. Everyone giving out about Jones last night, there were no goals conceded. Give out about Januzaj, give out about Di Maria, what did Carrick do creatively? I'd even take criticism of the starved for service forwards over a CB who actually tried to push forward a couple of times and make something happen.

The lack or urgency when the team needs a goal stinks of a team that just doesn't care. Not caring for a Manchester United team is a cancer because as far as rich overpaid footballers go, you always felt that to the likes of Keane, Giggs, Cantona, Ronaldo, a young Rooney and countless others that they would lay down everything for that competitive edge. More than anything looking back that's what Veron, Berbatov and some others lacked, though I think at some stage Berbatov took a bit of stick and gained some more spine. The lack of a competitive spirit is missing from so many players and Jones isn't one of them so right now he stays.

I think it may have to do with language barriers. If it was Beckham, Keane would have no problem going off at him. Is Carrick, Fellaini, Herrera or Blind going to do that to Di Maria? Bar Herrera, could they? You can see a lot of communication breakdowns in the team recently. Rojo and Carrick against QPR and Blind and Falcao's last night turned out to be very costly.

Either way, after 2 managers there's some cancer there that we don't see and some of Fergie's baffling team selections in his last couple of seasons may look very interesting in a revisionist sense.

Realistically, this is all amateur psycho-analysis you've done from your couch. Full blown nonsense IMO for what it's worth.

You don't get to be a top level professional sportsman without being ultra-competitive, the idea that these guys don't care/aren't trying is just laughable.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Realistically, this is all amateur psycho-analysis you've done from your couch. Full blown nonsense IMO for what it's worth.

You don't get to be a top level professional sportsman without being ultra-competitive, the idea that these guys don't care/aren't trying is just laughable.

That's bull

I was lying on my bed :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,753 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Everyone saying Smalling has redeemed himself must remember that the last two times they've lost in the league he was the chief problem. Stupid lunge and red (and a ridiculous first yellow) against City, and standing there with his hand up looking at Tadic rather then putting a tackle in against Southampton. I don't give a scutter if he performed well against the hum drum sides in between, he's not a top level defender. I don't want to live in a world where he is regarded as a first choice United defender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

Smalling is far worse than Jones and Evans, dreadful on the ball, and in general just an awkward footballer.

Liam O wrote: »
    That's bull

I was lying on my bed :p

Post withdrawn again, apologies :pac: