McGregor vs Siver on BT Sports 19th Jan. Prelims: Midnight. Main Card: 3am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,140 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Gits_bone wrote: »
    So you don't think the trash talk in WWE is fake?

I was talking about the UFC, specifically McGregor post fight, try to keep up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Gits_bone

Mellor wrote: »
    I was talking about the UFC, specifically McGregor post fight, try to keep up.

You are just trying to be condescending now. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Don't know the first thing about MMA or any contact sport but the sight of McGregor jumping over the fence to confront another fighter was fairly embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,427 ✭✭✭Roar

Don't know the first thing about MMA or any contact sport but the sight of McGregor jumping over the fence to confront another fighter was fairly embarrassing.

why?

You are just trying to be condescending now. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
    It was a straight forward question, you gave a play dumb answer.
    If you can't engage in intelligent discussion, then I'm not going to drag it out of you.

It was a straight forward question, you gave a play dumb answer.
    If you can't engage in intelligent discussion, then I'm not going to drag it out of you.

You said in what way is it fake? It's the same fake that's used in WWE. "You come out here and I'll kick your ass" type of thing.

Then we had Pendred.

What is with this guy. Talk about the luck fo the Irish.

got into TUF without winning a prelim. Got badly beatup by that Mexican but still won.

Then he has 3 fights in the UFC and should literally have lost every one.

He has a good chin and good heart but he's just hopelessly bad to watch.

I watched him last nite when I got home for the first time in this event. I don't care If I get a ban for bashing but suffering jasus, he's shocking bad!!!
    and then rogan says he's got a good future in MMA but needs to learn to strike ha ha ha. In fact the guy he fought looked like a 1920's boxer, stiff shoulders, tight guard etc, a good striker buy all accounts but both should be struck off now, terrible cringey match...

and they need to give over with that immigrant we're hear to take over crap. Houlihan was the same in the ring, something like " we came here starving 150 yrs ago, look at us now!!". shut up ya clown you're on a prelim card on not likely to ever see a main in case nobody has the heart to tell em!!!

The athletic and fighting freak in all of this is only conor McGregor, fair dues to em, he's very good. Though acted like a knacker car thief 18 yr old in the post fight. how was he let ramble on for so long too!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Is this what this place is gonna be like until May/June at the least.
    Christ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Mmmm_Lemony

If McGregor can spend the next 4 months learning to defend leg kicks then he has a chance. Otherwise...he could be in trouble.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FuzI7A4ZBtM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,448 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

rusty cole wrote: »
    I watched him last nite when I got home for the first time in this event. I don't care If I get a ban for bashing but suffering jasus, he's shocking bad!!!
    and then rogan says he's got a good future in MMA but needs to learn to strike ha ha ha. In fact the guy he fought looked like a 1920's boxer, stiff shoulders, tight guard etc, a good striker buy all accounts but both should be struck off now, terrible cringey match...

and they need to give over with that immigrant we're hear to take over crap. Houlihan was the same in the ring, something like " we came here starving 150 yrs ago, look at us now!!". shut up ya clown you're on a prelim card on not likely to ever see a main in case nobody has the heart to tell em!!!

The athletic and fighting freak in all of this is only conor McGregor, fair dues to em, he's very good. Though acted like a knacker car thief 18 yr old in the post fight. how was he let ramble on for so long too!!

Don't post in this thread again

You said in what way is it fake? It's the same fake that's used in WWE. "You come out here and I'll kick your ass" type of thing.
    See, you making it something it not in order to call it fake.
    McGregor won, he dominated. It was confirmed that he would get the shot so he knew he was fighting Aldo next. He jumped the fense and roared at him. Was Aldo intimidated, hope. Was Connor going to attack him, nope. He just asserting that he's next, and that he's gunning for the belt.
    They are going to be fighting, a real fight. Not sure how it's "fake", it is what is it.

See, you making it something it not in order to call it fake.
    McGregor won, he dominated. It was confirmed that he would get the shot so he knew he was fighting Aldo next. He jumped the fense and roared at him. Was Aldo intimidated, hope. Was Connor going to attack him, nope. He just asserting that he's next, and that he's gunning for the belt.
    They are going to be fighting, a real fight. Not sure how it's "fake", it is what is it.

I know the fighting is real. But everything outside the octagon by Mcgregory is fake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

I know the fighting is real. But everything outside the octagon by Mcgregory is fake.

Like what? His confidence?

I don't think so.

Are you saying he didn't teally jump over the fence and roar at Aldo?

Look up the definition of fake and imaginary there.

Imaginary:
    existing only in your mind or imagination
    Fake:
    a thing that is not genuine; a forgery or sham.

Do you understand now or will I break it down more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭ASOT

Fair play to the UFC & everyone involved for making this lads night so special!

www.joe.ie/sport/pics-how-the-ufc-and-conor-mcgregor-treated-a-young-irish-cancer-sufferer-like-a-king-in-boston/481802

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭paulieeye

The last few pages were a great read...its like an added bonus the next few days after every mcgregor fight night!

On the subject of bandwagoners...dont really agree with that name, lets say new fans. Nothing wrong with new fans..the newly found exposure is always gonna generate new fans and thats great. Its when the new fans become experts overnight is the problem. Right..i'm off to train...5 sets of 5 doughnuts first set this morning...gotta get that cushion goin!

Look up the definition of fake and imaginary there.

Imaginary:
    Fake:

Do you understand now or will I break it down more?
    You haven't said how it was fake?

He genuinely jumped over the fence and roared at him. That's all it was. You are escalating it to something it's not to justify your label.

The fight game is built on hype and promotion. It's the most talked about FW titke fight ever. So I'd say they're on point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭rolexeagle1

paulieeye wrote: »
    The last few pages were a great read...its like an added bonus the next few days after every mcgregor fight night!

On the subject of bandwagoners...dont really agree with that name, lets say new fans. Nothing wrong with new fans..the newly found exposure is always gonna generate new fans and thats great. Its when the new fans become experts overnight is the problem. Right..i'm off to train...5 sets of 5 doughnuts first set this morning...gotta get that cushion goin!

Dont forget your post work out 6 pack, get them gainz!!

Seriously though, a fair few keyboard warriors and overnight experts as mentioned above. If only they were all fighting in some sort of MMA franchise, the Irish take over would be in full swing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,734 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

ASOT wrote: »

That is just class man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,132 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Anyone else really impressed with how Conor leapt over the fence? Not that easy to do. He made it look like a small garden wall. Very elastic and springy dude!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Roar wrote: »
    why?

Honestly because it's what I'd expect from a skanger looking for a fight in a nightclub. I'm sure it's all part of the entertainment of the sport but anyone I know seems to be thinking along the same lines. Anyway just this man's opinion hope the fella does well for himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Jesus fúcking christ... This thread...

I much preferred the place when it was the same 20 posters and we had the fantasy league going.

People spouting ill informed garbage in here is the worst.

On topic a sec, Cathal Pendred is the worst fighter on the UFC roster by a country mile. He doesn't deserve to be in the octagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭Tefral

I much preferred the place when it was the same 20 posters and we had the fantasy league going.

On topic a sec, Cathal Pendred is the worst fighter on the UFC roster by a country mile. He doesn't deserve to be in the octagon.

Im a total bandwagoner and have absolutely no shame in saying it. I have a red belt in Taekwon-do though so hopefully im allowed in...

About people saying Cathals win was a shame, the stats back it up dont they?
    Total Strikes - Pendred (66/153 43%), Spencer (63/159 39%).
    Takedowns - Pendred (4/16), Spencer (0/0)

Sure the fight didnt look pretty but maybe someone can enlighten me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

cronin_j wrote: »
    Im a total bandwagoner and have absolutely no shame in saying it. I have a red belt in Taekwon-do though so hopefully im allowed in...

About people saying Cathals win was a shame, the stats back it up dont they?
    Total Strikes - Pendred (66/153 43%), Spencer (63/159 39%).
    Takedowns - Pendred (4/16), Spencer (0/0)

Sure the fight didnt look pretty but maybe someone can enlighten me?

I don't know all the stats for the fight but of the 66 landed are we talking significant strikes? Because from what I saw, he landed one significant strike yet received plenty more. He had no aggression or cage control, was always on the back foot.

Takedowns count for far more than they should - especially in an instance with a fighter like Cathal who does nothing but peppers his opponent with pillow punches.

The only thing I can give him credit for is that he has heart. Nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭MojoRisinnnn

I don't know how Cathal has managed a 3-0 but fair play to him, If he fights anyone of real worth he will be in serious trouble, Cannot wait for McGregor/Aldo, Think the 02 should have it up on screens and bring your own booze haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭bono_v

"He doesn't deserve to be in the octagon"
    I really think he does deserve to be in the octagon. Not the greatest fighter but has worked his bollox off day in day out for six years to achieve his dream of becoming a ufc fighter when probably thousands of more talented fighters never realised their dream of signing to the ufc because they dont have the same focus/ determination/ singleminded stubbornness that pendred has. He's living his dream and deserves it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,997 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Don't go into the threads in After Hours if you value what remains of your sanity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

Rewatched the Pendred/Spencer fight last night, he did a lot more than I had initially thought.

As mentioned previously, he has a ton of heart but needs a LOT of work on his striking.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Beaner1

You haven't said how it was fake?

He genuinely jumped over the and route at him. That's all it was. You are escalating it to something it's not to justify your label.

The fight game is built on hype and promotion. It's the most talked about FW titke fight ever. So I'd say they're on point.
    You've lost this one badly.