Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭Quandary

^

Daley Blind has been my favourite signing. He's a very understated player with a great football brain. I really hope he gets a shot in midfield. I can see him becoming a very popular player at Utd.

I pretty much feel the same way about Herrera in terms of being a good signing for us and potential for the future. He and Blind in CM should be given a go against forthcoming weaker opposition. Michael Carrick is an enormous player for us but the last couple of games perhaps have shown he could do with being rested for a game or 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭n32

I hope there is no substance in the Coleman rumours. He is very limited when he doesnt get the space he got from defences last season. Not on Rafaels level (providing raf is fit). We dont need another player along with Valencia who gets to the edge of box and checks back to his strong foot. Barkley as well is way overrated for the prices being quoted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Some stats for ye to whet yer beaks

wDdynr0.jpg

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,995 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Thats the "win ratio". How bout the "Not losing" ratio, out of interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,608 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

n32 wrote: »
    I hope there is no substance in the Coleman rumours. He is very limited when he doesnt get the space he got from defences last season. Not on Rafaels level (providing raf is fit). We dont need another player along with Valencia who gets to the edge of box and checks back to his strong foot. Barkley as well is way overrated for the prices being quoted.
    I wouldn't be pushed on Coleman at all,he is a good player but no better than Rafa.Clyne is probably a better buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Mongo

Any links to a video of Nev's analysis of the back 3/4 tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

The 5 goals conceded against Leicester would effect that stat a lot for the back 4 one, I think that was a freak game

Could possibly be less than the 3 at the back one if you disregard that game

Mongo wrote: »
    Any links to a video of Nev's analysis of the back 3/4 tonight?

Anything else I can get you? Cup of tea perhaps?

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=991390840884548

Lord TSC wrote: »

I dont makes these. I just thanks whore.

Lord TSC wrote: »

You can work it out from the points per game.

Back 4 - 10 games, 20 points, 60% wins = 6 wins = 18 points. Need 2 draws to make up the 20 points, 80% not losing

Back 3 - 12 games, assuming 20 points, 42% wins = 5 wins = 15 points. Need 5 draws to make up to 20 points, 83.33% not losing.

Surely points per game is much more important though? You can have 100% not losing and only take 10 points from 10 games, while 40% not losing with 4 wins would get you 12 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭sob1467

This article/vote says a lot really, even though it comes from the mirror.
    Manchester United Supporters' Trust (MUST) say '99 per cent' of fans wanted Spanish stopper to extend his stay rather than bring in Bale

The vast majority of Manchester United supporters would prefer goalkeeper David de Gea to sign a new contract rather than see him used in a deal for Gareth Bale, according to a new poll.

The poll, undertaken by the Manchester United Supporters' Trust (MUST) on their Facebook page, asked fans what their preference would be.

They asked: "If you had a straight choice to either keep David de Gea or sell him as part of a player exchange deal for Gareth Bale with Real Madrid, what would you choose to do?"

MUST said that 'over 99 percent' of the respondents claimed that they would prefer the Spaniard to extend his Old Trafford stay.

De Gea, 24, put in another top-class performance on Saturday in United's 2-0 win at QPR.

The Spaniard, who has just 18 months left on his contract, has been continually linked with Real Madrid possibly as a makeweight in a swap deal with Welsh ace Bale.

However, a MUST spokesman added: "With this in mind it signals the challenge (executive vice-chairman) Ed Woodward and (owners) the Glazers have to get Manchester United's most popular player signed up on a new contract, before Real Madrid attempt to prise him away,"

One fan commented: "Keep De Gea at all cost. The hardest position to fill without a doubt. The foundation for the future."

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/99-per-cent-man-united-5006436

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Flat out down in the Abbey Stadium for Friday night :) .. some night for them!

10341688_10152725363992746_204495178175977572_n.jpg?oh=7cceaa296a826b660245736e6005806f&oe=556CC6C3&__gda__=1428481020_396c1e5238a4c1db47b987c535636f49

4 at the back please Mr. VG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,902 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I wish MUST would just fuk off at this stage. attention seeking *******.

From "Not another penny" to hiring out suites at Old Trafford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Mongo

Anything else I can get you? Cup of tea perhaps?

Had the tae already. Any cans?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭fuzzydunlop85

irishfeen wrote: »
    Flat out down in the Abbey Stadium for Friday night :) .. some night for them!

10341688_10152725363992746_204495178175977572_n.jpg?oh=7cceaa296a826b660245736e6005806f&oe=556CC6C3&__gda__=1428481020_396c1e5238a4c1db47b987c535636f49

4 at the back please Mr. VG.
    . Is this on bbc ??

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

. Is this on bbc ??
    Yep.. BBC One/Setanta - KO 7.55

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

The Express running with the story of United putting a £50 million valuation on De Gea & that they are looking to sign Pique for £15 million.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,234 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

i think Giggs is part of the problem to be honest.

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Hmm I can see it now...we sign Pique and Falcao, a nice Shakira combination between both of them.

They were talking about Pogba on Off the Ball, the person they had on whose name I can't remember said: Pogba is the best player at Juventus and basically in the Italian league, said he is now valued at €70 million.

They talked about him staying in Italy for a maximum of one more season but could be the biggest transfer this summer, they mentioned all the places he could go except United.
    I think United would re-sign him, at 21 years of age, he is only going to get better and better.

They said he could go to Chelsea or Man City. Nothing about how Pogba said he still loves United, which seemed like a 'I'm more than happy to return if you want to re-sign me' from Pogba.

Wouldn't be surprised if France was to win a major tournament with the amount of talent they have coming through.
    Wouldn't mind either Laporte or Varane from their defense, Pogba from midfield, Lloris if De Gea was sold, Lacazette too would be nice.

This is the best I could find in terms of the MNF football analysis on the 352 vs 442 debate...

The Metro has stolen my story from yesterday....

http://metro.co.uk/2015/01/19/adidas-to-help-manchester-united-make-200m-lionel-messi-transfer-5028313/?
    Adidas ‘to help Manchester United make £200m Lionel Messi transfer’

Is the big bold headline, I want to be a sports writer journalist who does Manchester United stories. :p

Pogba must really want out of Juventus, he says he is worth nothing....
    The 21-year-old Juventus star, who is attracting interest from both Real Madrid and former club Manchester United during this transfer window, made the shocking but modest opinion of himself at the weekend.
    When interviewed following his side’s 4-0 win over Hellas Verona – in which he opened the scoring – the Frenchman said to Sky Italia: ‘I am worth £0. I am worth nothing unless I work on the field in every single game.
    ‘I need to do more. I want to be a champion like Andrea (Pirlo), Gigi (Buffon) and Giorgio Chiellini. I want to be one of the best in the world and must do everything to reach that level.’
    Pogba’s comments are likely to raise an eyebrow or two among the Juventus hierarchy, who value the Frenchman in the region of £40million.

I think he has a great attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

RobertKK wrote: »
    The Metro has stolen my story from yesterday....

http://metro.co.uk/2015/01/19/adidas-to-help-manchester-united-make-200m-lionel-messi-transfer-5028313/?

Is the big bold headline, I want to be a sports writer journalist who does Manchester United stories. :p

I remember Nike helped us sign Sneijder and resign Ronaldo.

Being a football journalist must be great craic...

BE2axHaCIAAoAXg.jpg

He has the Coleman ball, now which team will he pick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,308 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

RobertKK wrote: »
    Pogba must really want out of Juventus, he says he is worth nothing....

I think he has a great attitude.

I might be late to the party here but I saw a few quotes last night after their game last night where he referred to United as his home.

Follow quite few Juve lads and know few who are resigned to him leaving.

I can't see him coming back to us now mind, but nice to hear him have good words about us after what happened.

We left a good one go.

EVENFLOW

We left a teenager go because fergie didn't think he had the right attitude. I have no problem with that.

Fair play for him for turning it around and proving him wrong. That was a big move for his career.
    Just watch ferguson come out now and proclaim it was all his doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,300 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

We left a teenager go because fergie didn't think he had the right attitude. I have no problem with that.

Fair play for him for turning it around and proving him wrong. That was a big move for his career.
    Just watch ferguson come out now and proclaim it was all his doing.

Why do you think Fergie would do that?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    Why do you think Fergie would do that?

Sorry.

I really should have put lol jk to spell it out. I guess it's early.