Argos Chat Thread #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭Sam Mac

Thanks for the offer and I really appreciate it, but if its ok with you could I as you to donate the few euro to a charity that means something to you I think they could make much better use of than me.

Personally I get a lot out of running the site, It's a great feeling seeing something you've made being used by so many people. Sure it would be nice to make some money from it but I am lucky enough to be in a position where I don't need it to.

Not a problem, fair play to you. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

It took a couple of weeks maybe, I first made it just as something to do while I was waiting for a new job to start. After I had a proof of concept up and running I shared the link with people here and they seemed to really like it. I implemented some of the suggestions they had at the time (making the calls ajax for example) and released it publicly, have only done minor work to it in the mean time.

All the code is on my github if you are interested in it, should be in my sig below.

Yeah its run out of my own pocket at the moment, its not overly expensive though. Currently I'm hosting it on a VPS with digital ocean which costs $5 a month and it seems to be well able for the load it gets. The domain is €8 or 9 every year too so all in all it costs about €60 a year or so to run at the moment. I have had more expensive hosting in the past, including two months this year at $50 a month (I let a trial expire :o) )

Should setup a couple of ads on it, one above the banner and one at the bottom of the page, I'd click them every time I used the site which has been a lot lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

Corholio wrote: »
    Thanks for that. Did you have to go to the customer service?

No, the price was wrong in the system but a manager just overwrote it at the till when he saw the email price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭dan786

Got the MacBook for €110 this morning, without any hassle. Have two codes for Carlow but there is no way I can make it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭matchthis

I'll take one for Carlow if available pm please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭raviravi

dan786 wrote: »
    Got the MacBook for €110 this morning, without any hassle. Have two codes for Carlow but there is no way I can make it there.

Would love one if you still have it and if valid for tomorrow worth a spin😃

I have one code for 2 macbooks. Not 2 codes. My mistake.

I will post it here if I dont get a swap for a code in dublin by tomorrow evening. Code is valid until monday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭ronanc1000

I have one code for 2 macbooks. Not 2 codes. My mistake.

I will post it here if I dont get a swap for a code in dublin by tomorrow evening. Code is valid until monday night.

What store did they sell you the Macbook at 110 in? No hassle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭matchthis

Me and raviravi will work something out. I'm not far as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭toe_knee

Go Halfs with you. You take one I take one :)
    raviravi wrote: »
    Would love one if you still have it and if valid for tomorrow worth a spin😃

• Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭EITS

Dibs?

How did you manage to get one? I wanna see proof :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Thewife

Please please please I'm begging you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 niamhdeego

I'd love a mac code for Carlow could trade a code for hard drive naas.

Apologies for blocking up thread with code request.

Best of luck to ppl trying to get mac book 😉

• Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭EITS

Fair play, at least someone got on :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Lmao that is insane, hope you shook the managers hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 niamhdeego

Well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭jenno86

What store did you get it in? Did you have to fight for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Thewife

Wow well done I'm thrilled you got it !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,004 ✭✭✭long_b

Without doubt the best BA I have ever seen.
    And I'm here a lot... every day...

Congratulations!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Kenjataimu

Always keep believing :pac:

Fair play to ya! Bargain of the year already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Fresh Pots

An absolute steel. Bet ya nearly ran out of the shop!

Looks like one of the staff didn't get the memo.

128GB of onboard storage? Price is about right so ;) Well done though Dan!

Thanks lads. Certainly a bargain of the year. Did not have to argue with anyone to get it. From years of working in retail, I have learned alot of things, one of them is how make make sure you get the price advertised.

Was in shop for less than 5 mins and walked out with a Macbook for just 110.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭jenno86

Thanks lads. Certainly a bargain of the year. Did not have to argue with anyone to get it. From years of working in retails, I have learned alot of things, one of them is how make make sure you get the price advertised.

Was in shop for less than 5 mins and walked out with a Macbook for just 110.

How did you do it? Was there any push back from Argos?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Kenjataimu

Did you use the self service check out thingy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭_Jumper_

Sam Mac wrote: »
    128GB of onboard storage? Price is about right so ;) Well done though Dan!
    Doesn't say if it's an SSD?

Is it?

Gennie Mac it's massively overpriced at original price.

_Jumper_ wrote: »

Is it?

Don't know tbh.

All Apple products are massively overpriced, pretty ridiculous paying over a grand full price for this machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭Doge

_Jumper_ wrote: »

Is it?

Essentially it is an ssd,
    More specifically its a flash chip soldered to motherboard.