Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chelsea Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭McDave

I'm not buying all this Messi hype. Barca are *engineering* his exit. He simply won't be worth the ridiculous asking price. He's also going to go into decline.

Stay away from Messi like the plague. Don't play Barca's transparent game. There are better ways to spend the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

In fairness himself and Cesc would tear the premier league asunder for a few years at least. The pair have an almost telepathic understanding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Barca cant sell him as they are on a transfer ban and couldnt buy a replacement or use the money gained until 2016, its as simple as that lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Barca arent banned from selling players.

Id also agree that anything like the figures quoted would be insane as you can buy about 6 world class players for the sum.

Id also agree with Turtwig, Messi and Cesc would be mental. Couple it with Hazard and Costa and its almost scary what you could do with the starting XI

Varane and Khedira both starting too ;)

Varane just made a huge tackle after mistake.

The lad is class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

The more and more I hear of the Messi deal the more and more it doesn't sound crazy. If Turkish Airlines are willing to put up money, We sell, lets just say Oscar for £50m, As well as half of our players out on loan we could get near £100m ourselves.

Match that with the shirt sales, new fans around the world buying merchandise plus the fact we'd probably win alot too.

If he has fallen out with Barca we're his only viable option, I'd imagine Barca lads had it in their heads that Chelsea was not a club they liked, but I would also imagine Cesc would have changed his mind.

Double post

Club of clubs could manage the deal id say.

Utd
    City
    Bayern
    PSG
    Real (no hope)

It all depends that if he wants out, who does he decide he wants to go too.

i still cant see it happening, even if we got money from adidas/turkish airlines we'd need a big enough clearance.

willuan, schurrle, oscar could all be sold, probably in the 70+ million too.

Torres looks worse now than he did with us. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Tubbs4

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Torres looks worse now than he did with us. :o

He only needs a few goals and he be back to his best. Thanks we don't have to say that to convince we got the worst dud of all time.

He wont start with Mandzukic there.

I wish him well though and hes not our issue no more which is good.

Well rumours in the Catalan press during the summer was that he wasn't very happy with Cesc leaving and Alexis to a lesser degree. It wouldn't suprise me in the slightest if he ended up at the Bridge purely because of Cesc. Shur, if ye want to guarantee it just get Busquets/Thiago. :pac:

Nando, will probably give Simeone the work ethic he requires. Most optimistic thing I can say for him.

(Jeez I'm on a posting spree at the moment, all cos of being unable to get my sky app to work. Pretty soon I'll be like ill homer with the shaking fever and stuff. )

Turtwig wrote: »
    Well rumours in the Catalan press during the summer was that he wasn't very happy with Cesc leaving and Alexis to a lesser degree. It wouldn't suprise me in the slightest if he ended up at the Bridge purely because of Cesc. Shur, if ye want to guarantee it just get Busquets/Thiago. :pac:

Nando, will probably give Simeone the work ethic he requires. Most optimistic thing I can say for him.

Cesc is a huge asset regardless. If he can convince Jose he needs messi and also convinces Messi he'd go down as a Chelsea legend :pac: still highly doubt Messi will leave though. Enrique will be chopped before Messi.

Ya, usually what you lack in goals with torres his play and effort usually males up for it.

If Barca chop Enrique then the rest of Europe might be pissed. 17th different line-up of the season with no coherency. Not quite Agent Moyes level becaues Messi and Neymar kept rescuing them but still ManC fans would be pissed!

Turtwig wrote: »
    If Barca chop Enrique then the rest of Europe might be pissed. 17th different line-up of the season with no coherency. Not quite Agent Moyes level becaues Messi and Neymar kept rescuing them but still ManC fans would be pissed!

Time well tell. Of course if Enrique continues and the squad harmony goes out the window or nearly worse, get divided, it could cripple Barcelona.

City will fancy their chances hugely, Toure and Bony will be back from the ACON and Aguero should be up to speed itll be a great set of games too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭kalych

Hi guys, new Chelsea supporter joining your ranks. Long time lurker on the soccer forum and finally decided to apply for access seeing as i'm just back from my first FA cup match at the Bridge and still buzzing with all things Chelsea. KTBFFH

May it be a long and fruitful season of goals and trophies :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

GavRedKing wrote:
    Barca arent banned from selling players.

Yeah I know, I said they wouldnt be able to replace him so they arent going to sell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Sheepy99

I think everyone is pointed more toward it not happening, than it happening.
    Barca however are the one club at the high end performance-wise that has no problem blooding up and coming youngsters.
    That coupled with the fact that their latest acquisitions in the window aren't doing much, if even playing would knock back the whole "they won't sell because of their embargo" theory a bit.
    Personally think Bayern (or wherever Pep is at the time) if he were ever to leave.

While Messi would be an unbelievable signing, one that would nearly guarantee both the league and the Champions League in the next few years, I can see nothing but trouble with it. No resale value, issues with FFP, probably delay in any possible works on SB, as even Roman is unlikely to sponsor a 200M player alongside a costly stadium expansion (if at all possible, hopefully those guys that built the Alliance Arena are really that good) and a reduction in income as we relocate somewhere else for the duration of construction and have to pay rent.

Anyone else think signing Messi is just a dream?

Yeah I know, I said they wouldnt be able to replace him so they arent going to sell

I know, we could also use that 200+ million in other areas like say a stadium expansion ;)
    Sheepy99 wrote: »
    I think everyone is pointed more toward it not happening, than it happening.
    Barca however are the one club at the high end performance-wise that has no problem blooding up and coming youngsters.
    That coupled with the fact that their latest acquisitions in the window aren't doing much, if even playing would knock back the whole "they won't sell because of their embargo" theory a bit.
    Personally think Bayern (or wherever Pep is at the time) if he were ever to leave.

I think he fell out with Pep too, all signs point to Messi being difficult to work with really.
    kalych wrote: »
    While Messi would be an unbelievable signing, one that would nearly guarantee both the league and the Champions League in the next few years, I can see nothing but trouble with it. No resale value, issues with FFP, probably delay in any possible works on SB, as even Roman is unlikely to sponsor a 200M player alongside a costly stadium expansion (if at all possible, hopefully those guys that built the Alliance Arena are really that good) and a reduction in income as we relocate somewhere else for the duration of construction and have to pay rent.

Anyone else think signing Messi is just a dream?

Messi is a dream a far flung one too IMO. You've said it and I've said it above too, the 200 million could be used to budget for a stadium that will be around fro decades or a player that will be here for what, 5-7 years?

Or alternatively get in half a dozen world class players over 2 years that also adds up to 1 messi.

Messi is a dream a far flung one too IMO. You've said it and I've said it above too, the 200 million could be used to budget for a stadium that will be around fro decades or a player that will be here for what, 5-7 years?

Or alternatively get in half a dozen world class players over 2 years that also adds up to 1 messi.

Our squad is about 3 players away from being perfect (rw, cb and a CM) 60-70M, which we can easily afford in the summer even with FFP. Messi is like a trophy wife.:rolleyes:

the hardest position to fill, IMO will be CB.

Even if Zouma dislodges Cahill , JT will have to be replaced eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

the hardest position to fill, IMO will be CB.

Even if Zouma dislodges Cahill , JT will have to be replaced eventually.

Yep, we need to sign at least 1 top class CB next season. Back-up options at CM will be needed, as well as someone to push Willian on the right. Messi?

Lukker- wrote: »
    Yep, we need to sign at least 1 top class CB next season. Back-up options at CM will be needed, as well as someone to push Willian on the right. Messi?

Seeing rumors that Stoke are putting in a bid for Shaqiri. Would love him here tbh.

Were we ever in for Kompany at all? would have been some replacement for Carvalho. I think he was one of the only great youngsters in football manager that ended up fulfilling his early promise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

Got a ticket on Twitter for the Newcastle match this saturday! should be apartment hunting but couldn't resist, happy out :)

Lukker- wrote: »

Varane, Hummels would be the two candidates I'd love. On the right it has to be a goal threat as Willian doesnt do it or else hope Schurrle becomes consistent.
    TimRiggins wrote: »
    Seeing rumors that Stoke are putting in a bid for Shaqiri. Would love him here tbh.

Thought he was Liverpool bound no?
    kalych wrote: »
    Were we ever in for Kompany at all? would have been some replacement for Carvalho. I think he was one of the only great youngsters in football manager that ended up fulfilling his early promise.

A few have from FM but I wouldnt use that as a barometer either :o

Too many factors concerning development, game time, injuries, club setup and of course the biggest thing, mental attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭blue-army

I think people here are seriously underestimating the commercial value of signing Messi.

This guy could quite possibly go down as the greatest player to ever play the game. Having him in a Chelsea side will probably double our merchandise and sponsorship revenue almost overnight - Let alone our fanbase.

People thought Madrid were crazy paying 90m for Ronaldo, yet their megastore sold 1.2 million 'Ronaldo 9' shirts in year 1 in Madrid alone.

FFP also has a shítload of loopholes and I'm sure Abramovich and Granovskaia have enough experience to make any possible deal financially sound.

Whether we would be better off signing 2-3 top players instead is another argument, however I think Messi would put the Chelsea brand into another league.