Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

Thats the other side of it, of the occams razor thing.

If United expected De Gea to leave they would not be replacing him with Valdez, they have the time and money to aim higher than an out of contract keeper with fitness concerns.

Not a lot of other world class or near world class keepers around though are there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

thelad95 wrote: »
    Valdes was toxic at times for Barca. He's not even in the same hemisphere as De Gea.
    bangkok wrote: »
    yes he is a number 2, but he can also help improve de gea even more, given his experience and all that

I dont see what Dave is going to learn from an inferior keeper. We might as well have brought in Mark Schwarzer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,199 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Spazdarn wrote: »
    Not a lot of other world class or near world class keepers around though are there?

You asking me or telling me?

Because like I say, with time and plenty of money I would fully expect a massive club like United to find one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

beno619 wrote: »
    I dont see what Dave is going to learn from an inferior keeper. We might as well have brought in Mark Schwarzer.

your missing the point, yea he is not as good but he has been in a lot more situations than de gea. That's like saying whats the point in Frans Hoek being the goalkeeper coach, what has he ever done in his career? doesn't work like that.

another sport snooker, Stephen Hendry was coached by terry Griffiths, Hendry one of the best players of all time.

tennis, andy murray is coached by Amelie Mauresmo and so on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,865 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Valdes is not close to as bad as he tends to be made out amongst EPL fans IMO.

bangkok wrote: »
    your missing the point, yea he is not as good but he has been in a lot more situations than de gea. That's like saying whats the point in Frans Hoek being the goalkeeper coach, what has he ever done in his career? doesn't work like that.

another sport snooker, Stephen Hendry was coached by terry Griffiths, Hendry one of the best players of all time.

tennis, andy murray is coached by Amelie Mauresmo and so on

Fair points if Valdes was coming in to coach him, he's going to be a #2, Dave has probably already trained with him a bit in the Spain setup.

I just dont see how this will be of great benefit to Dave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

It's handy to have a solid back up keeper. Chelsea have cech, city have cabello and liverpool have mignolet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

beno619 wrote: »
    Fair points if Valdes was coming in to coach him, he's going to be a #2, Dave has probably already trained with him a bit in the Spain setup.

I just dont see how this will be of great benefit to Dave.

again, valdes is a good goalkeeper and a big step up from lindegaard, can only be a good thing for de gea to push on and prove himself even more. anyway, valdes has already been training with united the last few months, maybe that's why we have seen a big improvement in de gea already....

It's handy to have a solid back up keeper. Chelsea have cech, city have cabello and liverpool have mignolet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

Be worried about this being contingency if De Gea doesn't sign Valdes replaces him.....

Naive to think hes just back up. Lindegaard is more than adequate. Really fear this is De Gea going home.....not good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Maybe LVG thinks he is a better keeper than De Gea !
    he does like to mould his own team does Mad Louis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Can't see De Gea leaving this summer, things have picked up this season and with CL footy and a shot at the title next year (hopefully) the timing just seems way off. If he does leave I`ll think alot less of him :( He's only 24 but as someone said already there's very little loyalty in football, probably even more so with foreign players playing in England

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

I am afraid that this is the first sign that De Gea may be moving on to Real Madrid.

Victor Valdes is a good keeper. Too good to sit on our bench. Keep in mind that Lindegaard didn't even play against MK Dons or Yeovil, so if De Gea is fit then he will play 100% of our matches.

Victor Valdes is 32, so if De Gea was to leave, he could give us a season or two to find the next legacy keeper. There are not that many guaranteed World class keepers out there, but there are a number of talented young keepers who we may want to bring in and sit behind Valdes or compete for a place.

Real Madrid are sneaky twats and they love to get a deal in place that won't go through until the summer, ala Ronaldo. They absolutely could be telling us to keep De Gea until June, then they give us a player part of a deal or something.

I think the idea that Valdes has just worked his way back to full fitness in order to see out his career on the bench is a bit naive. Why would he do that?

A lot of questions, no answers. If David De Gea leaves the club this summer I'm seriously going to cry.

Exactly Valdes could easily find himself a #1 gig so why come to the bench to end his career? Him signing would be a disaster due to its connotations and loosing of DDG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

@ManUtd 37s

#mufc's FA Cup fourth-round tie away to Cambridge United will kick off at 19:55 GMT on Friday 23 January.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,995 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Exactly Valdes could easily find himself a #1 gig so why come to the bench to end his career? Him signing would be a disaster due to its connotations and loosing of DDG

Simple; a 1.5 year deal is not a deal to "end his career" at United.

Valdes is joining because one of the biggest clubs in the world has offered him a paycheck and the chance to train and participate with them. He'll know he's not number one, unless he drastically proves himself, but he also knows he can be our number 2 for 18 months, probably get a few games next season, he's joined a project heading in the right direction and in 18 months time, he can move on to another "small" club.

The panic some people seem to be letting wash over them is baffling to me. You'd swear we had signed Neuer or someone....not a 32 year old who hasn't played a top level game in how long....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

There's a thread on the dying 'magic' of the FA cup but when you see a TV lineup of mismatches with the exception of one game between two mid-table PL sides scattered across a few days, it looks more tedious than an international weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,234 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

I see what you did there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭SherlockWatson

Trilla wrote: »
    I see what you did there

Yeh he made up a new player, who's Cabello? :pac:

Holy shíte, pop in here to see that some of you guys have DDG sold and bid farewell to already, without a shred of evidence...and no, Valdes signing is not that shred of evidence. Especially not when our number 2 Anders Lindegaard was heavily rumoured to have been given permission to leave last Summer.

I must be one of the rare few in here who does not feel insecure about the medium-term status of DDG at Man United. Is it because most of the great Spanish players eventually go home one day to either Real or Barca that has posters predicting his inevitable and imminent departure? Any signs I've seen or quotes from the man himself indicate that he is very happy and feeling very loved at Man United, and vitally, he also believes strongly in the LVG project which is currently underway at the club.

Although I dream, I don't actually believe in reality that DDG will stay with us until the twilight years or end of his career. In the present though, he is fully settled in the club, a club which is on the up once again. He is playing in one of the world's best leagues, where he is gradually emerging as the best keeper in that league and by extension, the modern game. He and the other Spanish speaking players in the club seem to have their 'Spanish corner' thing going on which appears to be keeping them from feeling homesick or isolated.

I know appearances can be deceiving and anything can happen on a whim in today's game, but I would be utterly shocked if DDG left the club in the next 2 years. He is where he needs to be right now, and of course he is where we need him to be.

Signing Valdes as number 2 is a good bit of business IMO, obviously not as good as giving Dave a new contract, but I see that happening in the next few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

keane2097 wrote: »
    Valdes is not close to as bad as he tends to be made out amongst EPL fans IMO.

Yep, he was quite good at Barca for the most part. He's one of the best I've seen with one on ones and has great distribution.

He did make plenty of blunders, and sometimes struggled with crosses however he was expected to help out more than normal in that regard given the team of tiny players he was playing with. Busquets and Pique (who isn't very dominant in the air) were the only regulars over 6 foot.

He was very much appreciated at Barca but I don't know if he can get back to that level after the injury he's had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Does DeGea have an old doll in Manchester with him I wonder? .. We could badly do with him settling down where he is .. The faster baby Dave's start school in Manchester the better :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,760 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

irishfeen wrote: »
    Does DeGea have an old doll in Manchester with him I wonder? .. We could badly do with him settling down where he is .. The faster baby Dave's start school in Manchester the better :)

She's based in madrid afaik

So Dave will have no reason at all to head home and we are signing Valdes for the craic. Yep no way hes leaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

if we sell another world class player to Madrid without getting top players in return plus a huge chunk of cash, somebody at the club should get the boot.

when we sold them Ronaldo, there was players like Robben and Wesley who would have made a huge difference to us in 2009 and we didnt go all out to include them in the deal. beckham was sold to them for pittance also, considering his marketing value.

Varane would be first on the list but theres 4 or 5 more suiters if we did decide to deal with them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Jeez lads a bit of calm please.

Clubs now have international back ups for their first choice goalkkeper, so why shouldn't we. If anyone remembers AL was a Danish international when signed. He never developed or threatened to displace DDG and should now be sold. Amos has never developed into what was hoped for and will also be sold and Johnstone doesn't have the look of a United no 1 and could also be sold.

Valdes is on a free transfer, a proven international, being signed on an 18 month contract and likely a small base salary with pay as he plays bonuses (i'm not ITK on that, before i'm accused of it) He needs to prove he's worthy of being a first choice to replace one of the worlds best at the moment.

What happens if big dave does his cruciate in the morning, I know i'd rather have Valdes come straight in than AL or Amos..

And where has DDG ever said I want to go to Real/ Barca... Has he made any noises about being anything other than happy at United.

BTW has FutureGuy been on to confirm "We're NOt" signing Valdes??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,199 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Naive to think hes just back up. Lindegaard is more than adequate. Really fear this is De Gea going home.....not good.

Its not naive in the slightest, because its so incredibly obvious why this deal has been done.

Valdes is a far better choice for no.2 than Lindegaard for a very important reason. Its not about ability, most keepers at this level have ability, thats a given.

Instead its about experience and mentality. Lindegaard has never played the really big games, so if De Gea gets injured before the FA cup final and Lindegaard has to step in, how will Lindegaard do under the pressure? Nobody knows, not even him.

Valdes on the other hand has played and won European cup finals, classicos, some of the biggest games in world football. Thats what experience is, experience of those types of games. Valdes has it, Lindegaard doesn't.

If De Gea had signed a new ten year contract last month I bet United would still make this signing, because its such a blindly obvious win for everybody. Valdes gets a club, United get a top class no.2.

And aside from that aspect, I would be very confident that Valdes hasn't signed for another club because no other club wants to take a chance on him for fitness reasons. You think Liverpool wouldn't take him right now if they thought he would stay fit? Behave yourself. I have little to no doubt that he is fit enough for an occasional backup but not to be a reliable no.1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

What's Red Issue's hit rate on these kind of stories?