Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Warning in OP, 10/12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Maybe Mignolet asked the manager if there any chance he and the defenders could work with a defensive coach so they could get a working understanding of playing together and what to do on set pieces.

Or

Maybe he likes cornflakes and the manger doesn't. The prick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

T-K-O wrote: »
    Or

No that's why Assaidi was never picked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,385 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Or

That's what did for Borini.

Apparently the weights are from the official website.

Lambert 1 kg heavier than Sturridge, 9 lighter than Mario. I know its Xmas but come on ... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

garra wrote: »
    OK ok you are all making good points but when you consider that Mignolet has only successfully claimed 10 crosses all season, you know that there is something fundamentally wrong with him, whether its his confidence or depth perception of the ball or whatever.
    In this case it could benefit us long term to get the problem sorted out and put up with more howlers in the mean time.

You think a couple of weeks on the sidelines could sort out Mignolets shortcomings? When presumably decades of coaching & development haven't been able to? :confused:

Mr Alan wrote: »
    You think a couple of weeks on the sidelines could sort out Mignolets shortcomings? When presumably decades of coaching & development haven't been able to? :confused:

Do you think he couldn't improve his game?

Nope, I think at his age & stage of his development there's very little improvement to be had imo.

Asked about signing Fernando Torres or Petr Cech
    "If there is a possibility that we can strengthen in January, we will look at that," Rodgers said.

"There will always be speculation, but I won't comment on any players."

On Jones.
    "Brad is in the team at the moment and has done well," Rodgers added. "He is consistent right the way through. You need your number two goalkeeper to be loyal and work well when he comes in."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭mada999

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    anyway lads its Xmas eve. I'm stuck in work, so I can post, what are ye all at? Go out and buy some crap, thats not needed.

working too and on call 24/7 this week.... :(

Nope, I think at his age & stage of his development there's very little improvement to be had imo.

De Gea is only two years younger and has shown massive improvement very recently.

Simon is far from that level but IMO he can of course improve on
    1. Footwork
    2. Commanding the box

Not many GK's are great with the ball at their feet, many a GK would struggle playing our 'expansive game'

I'll say it now, We will not find a GK to solve both of those issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭garra

Players are human, they lose form sometimes, happens to the best of us. If your voice lost its strength for a period would you write off your music career?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

So who do we go with for the next few games, mig or Jones? I'd go back to Mig, Jones has looked shocking so far. I dont even think he has made on save since he came into the team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Asked about signing Fernando Torres or Petr Cech

On Jones.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/fernando-torres-back-to-liverpool-rodgers-refuses-to-be-drawn-on-speculation-30861265.html

Also linked with a loan move for Adrien Rabiot from PSG for the remainder of the season.

Carra's all time Premiership 11: Schmeichel,Neville,Adams,Terry,Cole,Ronaldo,Gerrard,Keane,Giggs, Shearer,Henry.

Cant argue with the choices, 5 Utd players listed so you cant accuse him of bias I suppose

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/jamie-carragher-has-picked-his-alltime-premier-league-11-30861552.html

Players are human, they lose form sometimes, happens to the best of us. If your voice lost its strength for a period would you write off your music career?

If I was 26 & I wasn't able to sing in key, I don't think its something I'd be able to get sorted over a few weeks :rolleyes:

This is not a loss of "form" from Mignolet, it's fundamental shortcomings in his game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭mosstin

If I was 26 & I wasn't able to sing in key, I don't think its something I'd be able to get sorted over a few weeks :rolleyes:

This is not a loss of "form" from Mignolet, it's fundamental shortcomings in his game.

All together now.....

¸¸.•*¨*•♫♪¸¸.•*¨*•♫♪"Tis the season to be jolly...."¸¸.•*¨*•♫♪¸¸.•*¨*•♫♪

As I pointed out, De Gea a mere two years younger had those same flaws. To suggest a 26 year old, GK of all positions cannot improve is just plain wrong.

Who would you like to see in goal, (within reason)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Pulsating Star

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    anyway lads its Xmas eve. I'm stuck in work, so I can post, what are ye all at? Go out and buy some crap, thats not needed.

Just catching up on here while waiting for the call to say the visitors have gone and the coast is clear :)
    Also been going through the house looking for stuff I can recycle as presents,
    "FSG thrifty style".

Have a good one all.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,893 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

As I pointed out, De Gea a mere two years younger had those same flaws. To suggest a 26 year old, GK of all positions cannot improve is just plain wrong.

He had those same flaws 2 or 3 years ago, not now when he is 24.

I would like to see a new keeper at the club and keep Mignolet as backup, but your original contention that the break from 1st team will not do him good is wrong imo.

How is the music going anyway? seein as its the season of goodwill i thought i'd ask

5starpool wrote: »
    He had those same flaws 2 or 3 years ago, not now when he is 24.

The point being, 26 is not too old to improve those aspects of his game.

He has now been working with the same manager and coaches for 2.5 seasons and hasn't shown any signs of improving either that is down to the player or it is down to the manager and coaches.

If as you say the player can improve then is must be down to the coaching he is getting at the club.

He has now been working with the same manager and coaches for 2.5 seasons and hasn't shown any signs of improving either that is down to the player or it is down to the manager and coaches.

If as you say the player can improve then is must be down to the coaching he is getting at the club.

He's definitely better with the ball at his feet.

Yes, that's exactly what I am saying, a 26 year old pup can improve.

The DDG comparison is very silly & not even accurate.

I'd like us to try everything possible to get Peter Cech.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,893 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I know what point you were trying to make, but your example didn’t make it.

The DDG comparison is very silly & not even accurate.

I'd like us to try everything possible to get Peter Cech.

How so? Did he not make weekly errors just two seasons ago, was it not him dropping or not even trying to catch corners. Will De Gea stop improving at 25, or does all improvement cease at 26.

To suggest the man cannot improve is beyond silly, in fact it's ridiculous. Then again, anything other than your previous comments would not fit with the agenda.

Cech would be a solid signing, however I believe our style of play is a massive test even for Peter Cech.

5starpool wrote: »
    I know what point you were trying to make, but your example didn’t make it.

How old was Friedal when he established himself as a top GK? The list of GK's that improved into their late 20's early 30's is endless.

Our very own one man band Luis Suarez took his game to other level at the ripe old age of 26.

I'm not defending Mig or suggesting he's the answer long term but can he improve, absolutely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Then why not go get Valdez? You wont find many better with their feet than him.

And he's cheaper than Cech. Okay, he hasn't played much because of injury recently but that doesn't really have the same effect on a keeper as it does an outfielder. 2 or 3 weeks of intensive training and he would be back to his best.

He's definitely better with the ball at his feet.

Yes, that's exactly what I am saying, a 26 year old pup can improve.

Not much if any better to be honest.

With the right coaching he and most of the defenders can improve a lot more even simiple things like who is calling the defenive plays and then they all follow.

We all have to get used to the fact that this manager doesn't believe in defending as a way of winning so blaming the goalkeepers and defenders for all the mistakes they make is wrong.

Individual mistakes are going to happen in every game as the players and keepers aren't drilled enough in what to do therefore they will make mistakes.

The more the same back 4/5 play together and are drilled together the less individual mistakes will happen.

These changes would show improvement alround.