Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What really obvious thing have you only just realised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

murpho999 wrote: »
    People in Ireland are always confusing Calendar seasons based on old pagan events to Meterological seasons.

I'm not confusing them I'm just refusing to acknowledge your "meteorological" seasons because they're silly :p

AUgust, AUtumn, are you trying to tell me that's a coincidence :rolleyes:. The leaves start to turn in August as well, are you trying to tell me that "meteorologists" know better than the trees?

November is clearly winter!! There aren't any leaves on the trees in November let alone ****ty brown ones. And February is clearly spring, it even sounds springy. I'm usually on good terms with "science" but when it comes to defining seasons it can fúck rightly off, the pagans knew what they were on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,869 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

FunLover18 wrote: »
    I'm not confusing them I'm just refusing to acknowledge your "meteorological" seasons because they're silly :p

AUgust, AUtumn, are you trying to tell me that's a coincidence :rolleyes:. The leaves start to turn in August as well, are you trying to tell me that "meteorologists" know better than the trees?

November is clearly winter!! There aren't any leaves on the trees in November let alone ****ty brown ones. And February is clearly spring, it even sounds springy. I'm usually on good terms with "science" but when it comes to defining seasons it can fúck rightly off, the pagans knew what they were on about.

Ehhhhh... Science backs up you November - Winter, February - Spring claim :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

Quazzie wrote: »
    Ehhhhh... Science backs up you November - Winter, February - Spring claim :confused:

It does now, I had a word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭davidrowe

My toilet does not double up as a bidet, 2 in 1 should be invented.

Better than the other way around. Which reminds me of a line from The Inbetweeners Movie: "I just took a **** in the kids' toilet but it won't flush." Or something like that

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

EXACTLY! Its NovemBBBRRR and DecemBBBBRRRRR for a reason!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭How so Joe

newmug wrote: »
    EXACTLY! Its NovemBBBRRR and DecemBBBBRRRRR for a reason!

Septembrrrr?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,803 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Leaves may (but not that much) start to turn in August as Autumn approaches as they're gradual processes not overnight. You'll find leaves are still on trees and falling in November too.

However, the seasons don't follow the exact same patterns every year so you'll find variations but to say that Feb 1st is the 1st of Spring or August is Autumn is plainly wrong.

Lived in Holland and there the seasons followed the Solstices and Equinoxes so March 21 - Spring, June 21 Summer, Sep 21- Autumn and Dec 21st Winter, always seemed pretty logical to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Breakfast

I just realised that breakfast actually means to break fast(ing) as your body is fasting while you are asleep.

Its weird, when I say breakfast as one word it sounds like breckfast but if you separate it into two words it sounds weird.

Mind blowing....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Flowers start "springing" up in February. I would consider February spring and not winter and no amount of science will change my mind :P

Leaves may (but not that much) start to turn in August as Autumn approaches as they're gradual processes not overnight. You'll find leaves are still on trees and falling in November too.

However, the seasons don't follow the exact same patterns every year so you'll find variations but to say that Feb 1st is the 1st of Spring or August is Autumn is plainly wrong.

Lived in Holland and there the seasons followed the Solstices and Equinoxes so March 21 - Spring, June 21 Summer, Sep 21- Autumn and Dec 21st Winter, always seemed pretty logical to me.
    So it's still Autumn here now??

Get out of here Hippy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

So it's still Autumn here now??

Get out of here Hippy.

It's 12 degrees and p*ssing rain. Looks like summer to me :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭Misty Moon

Nokotan wrote: »
    Summer officially starts in June and not May as I and many others were seemingly led to believe.

ww.met.ie/education/pdfs_eng/YP%20Fun%20Facts%20Seasons.pdf

I think we were taught it was May in school, as it is in the Gaelic/Irish Calendar

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_calendar

I don't have enough posts to put up proper links :(

There's even a whole other thread on the topic. :eek: ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭JaseBelleVie

Radar = Radio and Ranging. Christ.

And the text message tone is Morse Code for S.M.S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,923 ✭✭✭Wossack

SOund Navigation And Ranging (SONAR)

scuba, self contained underwater breathing apparatus
    modem, is modulator-demodulator
    fax short for facsimile
    etc

can tell Im feckin mighty craic at a party

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

SCUBA = Self Contained Underwater Breathing Apparatus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Walking around Bray yesterday for the first time ever and I spotted a Dublin Bus with destination Palermo

Now I know DB are hiring drivers so I thought some rookie messed up. Or else somebody was having a laugh, sure Palermo is in Italy :P

Well I wrong, there is an area in Bray called Palermo and the 185 goes there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭NoMore MrNiceGuy

I really don't think it's reasonable to call dec 20th autumn even if some Metreologists do that.

Quick - when is mid-Winter? Is it early feb? Or Dec 21st?

November isn't winter either but December is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭chrysagon

I wondered why the football was getting bigger..............then it hit me !!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭DarkyHughes

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Walking around Bray yesterday for the first time ever and I spotted a Dublin Bus with destination Palermo

Now I know DB are hiring drivers so I thought some rookie messed up. Or else somebody was having a laugh, sure Palermo is in Italy :P

Well I wrong, there is an area in Bray called Palermo and the 185 goes there!

That's been there for at least 20 years. (the sign on the bus saying "Palermo", I don't know about the estate because I've never got on the bus, maybe I will get on it someday & find it out where it goes.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭mr.anonymous

It's RAdio Detection And Ranging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

In the song "Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer", Grandma dies. I thought she just fell down.

And that runners on power lines mean drug dealers? I thought it was some poor sod had their runners stolen for a laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭chrysagon

eviltwin wrote: »
    In the song "Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer", Grandma dies. I thought she just fell down.

And that runners on power lines mean drug dealers? I thought it was some poor sod had their runners stolen for a laugh.

the wee discreet signs that cops wont noticed..a pair of size 10 rummers swinging overhead in the breeze!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

The logo for 9Gag is both a 9 and a g :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭JaseBelleVie

It's RAdio Detection And Ranging

oops... :o Well, I was nearly right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,141 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Hyperbole is NOT pronounced "Hyper Bowl" ha ha.

MayDay distress signal comes from the French "M'aidez" Help me.

And I probably do need help at this stage too!

Great thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

H

MayDay distress signal comes from the French "M'aidez" Help me.

Great thread.

Never made that connection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭NoMore MrNiceGuy

There is a bear in the Toblerone logo hidden in the mountain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,141 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

This is a good thread, most of it 95% of us know, but there is always the 5% post that sets of the light-bulb moment....

how did I not see that

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    This is a good thread, most of it 95% of us know, but there is always the 5% post that sets of the light-bulb moment....

how did I not see that

What's excellent about is that the 5% of posts that we didn't know about, is a different 5% for everyone. So something you might think is very obvious i might be amazed by and vice versa.