Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - See Mod Warning in OP, 09/11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

I got MOTM in Navan a few months ago and we lost 7-1.

Al > ddg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Why so much DDG talk?

Multiple sources have relayed comments made by his father that he as no intention of leaving and sees good things happening at United. DDG himself saying he only sees his return to Spain to to play with Athletic again...that he would find it immensely difficult to join Madrid and its highly unlikely.

Did this come from Liverpool fans disgruntled over how garbage their goalkeepers are ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

I doubt we'll have to really worry about De Gea leaving until 2016, we need to be winning some trophies next season to keep him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭RichFTW

ericzeking wrote: »
    Does anyone have any actual factual lowdown on his affinity to Athletico apart from the usual conjecture?

This is the only way I see him not ending up at Real in the medium term.

Here is the letter he wrote when he left Atletico. It doesn't sound like something someone would write and then play for their rivals. Obviously it is possible he would join Real but not as sure a thing as some people are making it out to be. I think anyone who was with a club since they were four will have an affinity to that club!

(Taken from: http://bleacherreport.com/articles/771317-world-football-read-david-de-geas-touching-letter-to-atletico-madrid-fans)
    "It’s been just over a week since I signed the contract with my new team. It seems like yesterday when I was four and joined for the first time Atleti in Casarrubuelos. From the plane I travel in to join Manchester United I remember with nostalgia, that this nostalgic feeling will be my traveling companion for a long time.

Like any child, every evening was accompanied by excitement and my parents (without their support none of this would have been possible) with the sole aim of defending the goal of Calderón someday.

A little over a year and a half I completed my dream and sealed it with two titles, I will never forget that feeling, I will never forget the people’s faces painted red and white. I can not forget neither the tears of Barcelona, ​​behind the chants of support for us.

Today, 16 years later, I undertake a new challenge with the same enthusiasm of the boy and the eternal gratitude of a feeling, that only we understand, that I will carry forever in my heart regardless of the badge that adorns my chest.

I see from the airplane window how I leave behind my house, thanks to my new club for the opportunity it provides me with the security there to finish my education from a distance, that they only put the miles, you are proud of that boy who dreamed that the Calderon would sing his name.

A thousand feet above the ground I remember, now more than ever, all the teammates, coaches and club workers who made it possible that the child is now a man.

Winning a title there is a mix of smiles and tears. This is what happens to me now, tears because I am leaving, smiles for the illusion of something new, but also the assurance that someday I will return home. Thanks for everything."

And his situation is nothing like Suarez last year. Suarez wanted to leave and Liverpool were never going to be at the same level as Real or Barca any time soon. United are a bigger club with less pressure to sell their stars.

Think Liverpool fans should be more worried about Sterling moving to Real. He is the only bit of talent they have at all and will be even worse if he leaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭MuPpItJoCkEy

Don't know if ye have seen this but the Juan Mata is some man!

http://juanmata8.com/blog/en/a-special-day-in-the-theatre-of-dreams/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,015 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I love him so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,171 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

Not sure if the point was made already but the starting 11 yesterday were all pre Van Gaal signings. The difference that Van Gaal has brought to the performances in terms of self belief and confidence is something else, when compared with the performances versus Liverpool last year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭GK1001

Can't get through to this for some reason, just getting a blank page, can you post it on here?

Love mata, yesterdays kind of game suits him perfectly where he has runners in front of him as opposed to our pedestrian style at times in the last year of gradually moving up the pitch and shifting it across the box

Even though Jones in goal for Liverpool made an arse of himself for the 3rd that was a beautifully disguised pass for RvP's goal and the through ball to Rooney immediately before is just what he does best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,132 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

EF wrote: »
    Not sure if the point was made already but the starting 11 yesterday were all pre Van Gaal signings. The difference that Van Gaal has brought to the performances in terms of self belief and confidence is something else, when compared with the performances versus Liverpool last year!

Been mentioned 100 times, important to also remember that we gave up a lot of clear cut chances. Thankfully they were just too terrible to take them, had Suarez and sturridge been on the field it could have been very different.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Julez

GK1001 wrote: »
    Can't get through to this for some reason, just getting a blank page, can you post it on here?
    Juan wrote:
    Hi everyone,

To tell the truth, this is not the usual blog entry. I got home a while ago and I still keep a smile on my face. This Sunday in Old Trafford has been a day to remember. For Manchester United, the games against Liverpool are always special. That circumstance, added to our good run of results in the last few games, were enough to create a spectacular atmosphere inside the stadium.

Believe me, when you are playing football in a place like Old Trafford and the crowd starts roaring you do feel it. The support of the United fans during my time here has been amazing, something really gratifying, but this Sunday was special. This 3-0 strengthens our position at the top side of the table; it makes us feel strong. Since the moment I stepped onto the pitch from the tunnel to the very last minute of the match, the atmosphere was incredible. I feel very lucky to be able to participate in this kind of games, which is what every footballer wants.

Personally, I was fortunate to score again. To be honest, I watched the footage and it’s true that I’m offside after Robin’s header. That is something you don’t realise when you are on the pitch. Anyway, we scored two more goals and that reinforces our victory.

And we won, among other things, thanks to the ‘Man of the Match’ David de Gea, who has had yet another great performance. He is in top form. Everybody’s praising him and now we have to keep working so we don’t need so many saves from him in the next few games; we have to get better in that regard. David gives us complete confidence. Liverpool created chances and they didn’t score because of him.

But I don’t want to focus only on the praise; the team has to keep working as we did in the last few weeks. That’s why we are improving. In just a few days we play against Aston Villa in a stadium with a very good atmosphere, where winning is always tough, and right after that we will be in Christmas. We have to maintain this positive streak and try to get as many points as possible this month.

Talking now about Spain, this weekend I was able to follow several games since we didn’t play very late. Real Madrid won again (20 times in a row already). This time in Almería with more goals from Cristiano. When you check his stats it looks as if we were at the end of the season instead of the first half. On Saturday, Barcelona drew in Getafe –they are hard to beat at home– and Valencia won 3-0 against Rayo. I also watched a bit of Atlético vs Villarreal, and the Basque derby, very intense as always and also rainy.

Before I say goodbye I would like to highlight the club’s partnership with Unicef, an organization I use to cooperate with. Unicef’s work is really commendable: it helps millions of boys and girls all over the world, I encourage you to collaborate. This is a good time to be with the ones you love but also to be aware of those who struggle in life. I hope the next year is even better than this one. But there are still a few days left in 2014… Let’s make the most of them ;-)

Thank you once again for your messages, I read them all! Have a nice week! Hugs,

Juan

<3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

I think people are just jealous of our bromance with Dave and just want to break it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Some gems in post of the year thread, when you look back some of the posts from last season they are lolworthy.

Mars Bar wrote: »

That's Epic. What a legend.

Love how he says "I'm not interested in what your doing next year!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,140 ✭✭✭KH25

It's great to see him put journalists in their place. I felt moyes was too nice to them, especially when the knives were out.

TheDoc wrote: »
    Why so much DDG talk?

Multiple sources have relayed comments made by his father that he as no intention of leaving and sees good things happening at United. DDG himself saying he only sees his return to Spain to to play with Athletic again...that he would find it immensely difficult to join Madrid and its highly unlikely.

Did this come from Liverpool fans disgruntled over how garbage their goalkeepers are ?

No it's Liverpool fans looking for an angle to disgruntle happy Man Utd fans since yesterday evening. That is all!

BTW some great reading in here to catch up on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,406 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

advertsfox wrote: »
    Ted's Vimeo reactions, love this guy.

http://vimeo.com/114503417
    "He's not getting past those two, is he? Oh my God, he has!"

bangkok wrote: »
    question for ye, if real Madrid said the want to take De Gea but offered Bale as part of the deal and told us to pay 30-40m on top would ye be happy?
    Nope, horrible deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

J. Marston wrote: »
    Nope, horrible deal.

Bale and 40m for de gea and we'll talk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Don't know has this been mentioned today and sorry to put a dampner on things but Herrera has been implicated in a match fixing scandal in Spain. This was when he was with Zaragoza.
    Really hope it doesn't become a distraction for him but I'm sure nothing will come from it ultimately.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2014/dec/15/ander-herrera-real-zaragoza-levante-alleged-matchfixing

Few other big names included on the list as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Would just about be happy with signing Bale for 40m. So that would effectively be giving them De Gea for free in my eyes. Fook right off tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭madcabbage

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    That's Epic. What a legend.

Love how he says "I'm not interested in what your doing next year!!"

The fact he takes no bullsh*t whatsoever wins him so many fans. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Would just about be happy with signing Bale for 40m. So that would effectively be giving them De Gea for free in my eyes. Fook right off tbh.

well seeing as we already bid 100m for bale when he was at spurs and madrid signed bale for 85m not a hope they would sell him for 40m. add in the fact they sold di maria to us for 60m i reckon they wouldnt take anything less than 65-70m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Don't know has this been mentioned today and sorry to put a dampner on things but Herrera has been implicated in a match fixing scandal in Spain. This was when he was with Zaragoza.
    Really hope it doesn't become a distraction for him but I'm sure nothing will come from it ultimately.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2014/dec/15/ander-herrera-real-zaragoza-levante-alleged-matchfixing

is this story not months old and apparently something to do with the owner paying wages directly to players during a financial mess at the club. (2nd half of that sentence is hearsay but the first half is certainly true)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

bangkok wrote: »
    well seeing as we already bid 100m for bale when he was at spurs and madrid signed bale for 85m not a hope they would sell him for 40m. add in the fact they sold di maria to us for 60m i reckon they wouldnt take anything less than 65-70m

Yeah, I've no doubt they wouldn't take 40m, so they can fook right off. Bale for 85m was hilariously overpriced.

bale is class, would love him at united

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Was he not on the team that won? And it's alleged the players on the losing team were paid to lose?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,405 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Was he not on the team that won? And it's alleged the players on the losing team were paid to lose?

Every player involved in the match (including subs) are called for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,015 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

looking forward to MNF after the advert. They are talking about utd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Trilla wrote: »

Then take Cech of Chelsea's hands for less than the cash taken in.

It would have to be a stellar deal from Madrid to lure him away from us but as good as he is every player is sellable when the right deal comes along.

Madrid are very strong in every area and will want only the best in goal. Neur is at Bayern for life imo and Courtois has just left Spain to start his Chelsea career so I think they will come calling for DDG.

Lets see what they bring to the table first of all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Trilla wrote: »

I'm serious

De gea will save us more than bale will score for us :p

Then take Cech of Chelsea's hands for less than the cash taken in.

It would have to be a stellar deal from Madrid to lure him away from us but as good as he is every player is sellable when the right deal comes along.

Madrid are very strong in every area and will want only the best in goal. Neur is at Bayern for life imo and Courtois has just left Spain to start his Chelsea career so I think they will come calling for DDG.

Lets see what they bring to the table first of all.

they have the best goalkeeper in spain on the bench..Navas