Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Warning in OP, 10/12

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Liverpool U19s goals against Basel, two of them from crosses! Get 'em in the senior side.

http://gfycat.com/SpotlessScentedAlpineroadguidetigerbeetle

http://gfycat.com/HarmoniousGeneralBarnacle#

http://gfycat.com/BoilingTotalDragonfly

Defender Sam Hart rushed to hospital on oxygen during the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Suarez looks like he has put on a few extra pounds since his move to Spain not as much as Reina thoughsince his move to Germany.

Probably a side effect of the supplements every one but 'Ronnie' is on over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,205 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Players not performing could also be down to the manager. If you are guaranteed to be getting your game every week then there is no need for you to bust your gut. If you're one of the younger players looking to break into the team knowing that at best you'll be on the bench unless our older players can't manage 3 games in a week, what's your incentive?

The players might also think the manager's a spoofer, some people think it based on weekly press conferences and post match interviews, the players hear a lot more every day.

i hear what your saying,but the difference from last season to this is night and day,there is something very wrong,the manager has changed his whole life/lifestyle in order to portray a certain image for the club.. that takes dedication alone..its obvious why its happened and probably initiated by the americans..

imho the responsibility will fall on the manager but its the players who are the ones not performing ... ala newcastle...same players were rubbish at start of season...now their not so rubbish...but have same manager....

no belief at the club now,perhaps its the main reason things are bad

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Probably a side effect of the supplements every one but 'Ronnie' is on over there.

LZ9GIqY.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

I would love Nainggolan at Liverpool. Been superb for Roma the last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭hadepsx

Gervinho playing well v city. Would yis have him lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

MD1990 wrote: »

A few nainggolans, be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Konoplyanka is available on a bosman we really should be going back for him.

We have been linked to Neto he is also available on a bosman.

Andre Ayew & Hunterlaar are also available on bosmans.

So if don't have money to spend there is at least four players we should be able to afford who would improve the team I believe.

Joe Cole and Jovanovic ended up costing Liverpool a fortune having signed for ''Free''

There's been rumours that Konoplyanka's club might have an option for a further year. They seem a difficult club to deal with.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Konoplyanka is available on a bosman we really should be going back for him.

We have been linked to Neto he is also available on a bosman.

Andre Ayew & Hunterlaar are also available on bosmans.

So if don't have money to spend there is at least four players we should be able to afford who would improve the team I believe.

Was really excited by the prospect of Kono last Christmas but doubt either we'd go for him or he'd come. Things are a mess at the club right now and no CL to offer anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

amiable wrote: »
    Joe Cole and Jovanovic ended up costing Liverpool a fortune having signed for ''Free''

There's been rumours that Konoplyanka's club might have an option for a further year. They seem a difficult club to deal with.

Well it does look like the summer signings have cost Liverpool a fortune as well.

But at least Liverpool didn't break a wage structure for them.

MD1990 wrote: »

Bit of a red card waiting to happen though. Doing some crazy tackles in city game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,261 ✭✭✭✭klose

hadepsx wrote: »
    Bit of a red card waiting to happen though. Doing some crazy tackles in city game

Love that in a midfielder, loads of fight in him. Brilliant player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Thanks for that. Now go to bed,you've got school in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭quarryman

Has this article been posted yet? Sums up so many of the issues IMO.

Delusions of grandeur

If you take out last season, which is clear was a bit of a freak finish of a one man team, then the average final position in the Premiership for the last 5 years has been seventh.

Yet the club has treated the result last season as a return to normality. It was like they were entitled to be spoken in the same breath as Barcelona, Real Madrid or Bayern Munich.

In reality this season is shaping up to match the status quo of the last five. Tight games against mid-table opposition. Flirting around the Europa league spots. Mediocre purchases.

I have certain sympathies for the fans but expectations seem so out of line reality. The telegraph article hits the nail on the head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

Thanks for that. Now go to bed,you've got school in the morning.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wJ0Sxr2gvV8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,983 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

A warning to not just shadowcomplex but the handful of Man United fans who this applies too....

Cut out the dropping in to the topic like this and trying to provoke Pool fans. Its pretty obvious this is going to be a busy week for the mods, so I'm issuing this warning now. If you want to discuss Liverpool, feel free to do so in a constructive manner. If you want to troll, prepare to get carded and not be posting come match day.

(This obviously goes for Pool fans heading to the United thread too, which, in fairness, hasn't been a problem yet).

EDIT: And to the Pool fans, don't respond and get baited into it. Report and ignore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,261 ✭✭✭✭klose

quarryman wrote: »
    Has this article been posted yet? Sums up so many of the issues IMO.

Delusions of grandeur

If you take out last season, which is clear was a bit of a freak finish of a one man team, then the average final position in the Premiership for the last 5 years has been seventh.

Yet the club has treated the result last season as a return to normality. It was like they were entitled to be spoken in the same breath as Barcelona, Real Madrid or Bayern Munich.

In reality this season is shaping up to match the status quo of the last five. Tight games against mid-table opposition. Flirting around the Europa league spots. Mediocre purchases.

I have certain sympathies for the fans but expectations seem so out of line reality. The telegraph article hits the nail on the head.

Good article but it seems to absolving rodgers of some of the blame when in reality he harbours most of it for me. Blaming the transfer committee is all well and good but theres no way in hell we should be playing this badly down to the incomings. Our problems stem from rodgers stubbornness and playing politics with the club regards transfers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Liverpool forward Raheem Sterling 'nowhere near agreement' over new deal despite £70,000-a-week offer.
    After being offered a weekly payrise of £40,000, Liverpool youngster is understood to be unhappy with £70,000 a week wages following disappointing Champions League exit
    In the wake of their Champions League exit, Liverpool need to make a statement of intent quickly about their ambitions and that means sorting out Raheem Sterling’s future. Liverpool and Sterling are “nowhere near any agreement” on a new contract, according to a source close to negotiations, although there are hopes of an eventual resolution.
    Sterling faces his 100th game for Liverpool against Manchester United at Old Trafford on Sunday and has been one of their stars of 2014. Sterling, who turned 20 on Monday, dovetailed brilliantly with Daniel Sturridge and Luis Suárez last season and, following a brief dip, signaled his talent again in recent games, particularly in the win over Leicester City last week. His form has not been at last season’s phenomenal levels but he represents a vital part of Liverpool’s future.
    He played out on the right against Basel and then centre-forward but any praise for his selflessness and versatility was lost amidst Liverpool’s dismay at bowing out of the Champions League. With Sturridge injured, Suárez transferred to Barcelona and Mario Balotelli yet to justify his £16m purchase, Sterling has become even more important. He is a beacon of hope in difficult times for Liverpool.
    Liverpool have been keen to tie down their most valuable player to a long-term deal. Sterling, whose current deal has more than two years left to run, is on roughly £30,000 with assorted first-team appearance bonuses. Liverpool’s new offer is understood to be £70,000 a week with handsome bonuses for progress in the major competitions

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/liverpool/11286529/Liverpool-forward-Raheem-Sterling-nowhere-near-agreement-over-new-deal-despite-70000-a-week-offer.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

100 games for the club by the age of 20 is pretty impressive you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Dicking around with Sterlings contract offer :(

No doubt if we lose him many here will rationalise it & protest he wouldn't be worth the big wages :rolleyes:

Free?. Come on rte get the players' name right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Andre Schurrle scored tonight for Chelsea. He's struggling to get many minutes for Chelsea this season. No doubt he'll be back on the bench this weekend for the Hull game. I wonder if there's a chance he could be bought in January? I reckon if Pool can afford his wages he'd be a great signing for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,916 ✭✭✭brevity

Pighead wrote: »
    Andre Schurrle scored tonight for Chelsea. He's struggling to get many minutes for Chelsea this season. No doubt he'll be back on the bench this weekend for the Hull game. I wonder if there's a chance he could be bought in January? I reckon if Pool can afford his wages he'd be a great signing for them.

That's part of our problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,916 ✭✭✭brevity

The lads on RTE were positive!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,872 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Depressing but nothing inaccurate in here.

http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/sport-opinion/james-pearce-liverpool-fc-how-8268387#ICID=sharebar_twitter

I can imagine a lot of the glee Liverpool fans were throwing at utd fans last March will come firing right back now. All in the game, yo I guess.

The last line of that article is one I've been thinking for a while.
    If the sight of a United side hell-bent on revenge doesn’t awake Liverpool from their season-long slumber then nothing will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

So, is it safe to post here yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,228 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

5live wrote: »
    So, is it safe to post here yet?

Was it ever ?? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Dicking around with Sterlings contract offer :(

No doubt if we lose him many here will rationalise it & protest he wouldn't be worth the big wages :rolleyes:

Too right. No rush to get it done.