Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Just love reading your log, you never know what to expect.

Ran a marathon for the craic last week......

Just a slow 4km in Marrakech.

Took in the sights of Paris lat week on a leisurely 8 miler

$hite 5k in Carnmore at the weekend.

Keep it going TBL, your one of the reasons why many of us still log on here.

Tnx AMK,

Although I'd much prefer to be able to log that I'd ran a 17.38 at the Jingle Bells :) Brilliant running at the weekend.

TbL

Murph_D wrote: »
    Hard luck - just goes to show you a 5k PB isn't always as soft as you think. I'm no TbL but I've failed at least three times to lower my own, which is nearly as old as I am at this stage. :)

Yea Murph, it's the shorter stuff that I struggle with. I reckon I must be subconsciously saving my spectacular 5k for my St Anne's inaugural run :)

Well done on Saturday, you're knocking out PB's for fun these days!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

menoscemo wrote: »
    Haha it's a clash of the Tallaght coaches. A cranky aul old school coach and a young buck with his new, modern, fancy methods (i.e. he has actually read some coaching books ;))

14 marathons, 13 of those sub 3 hour and 4 of them sub 2.40. I could write my own fcuking book!

By the sounds of things lately Ricky it would be a cookbook :)

Will your grasshopper be logging his training, always good to keep an auld eye on the competition!

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

By the sounds of things lately Ricky it would be a cookbook :)

Will your grasshopper be logging his training, always good to keep an auld eye on the competition!

TbL

No I won't, it'll all be done in secret ;)

As for your first comment; did you not see the results on Saturday?? :p

menoscemo wrote: »
    No I won't, it'll all be done in secret ;)

As for your first comment; did you not see the results on Saturday?? :p

No but I saw the results from the cross country last week!!!!

So when does this secret training allow a race outing, might turn up myself to keep you honest :)

TbL

No but I saw the results from the cross country last week!!!!

So when does this secret training allow a race outing, might turn up myself to keep you honest :)

TbL

I think the plan will only have one target race (Bohermeen HM) maybe a few parkruns but not to be raced....
    Yes I saw the XC and you would have to assume that Ecoli is in better shape based on that, but as the coach explained to me; he is not called The Road Runner for nothing ;)

Good man Memo, all going to plan I'll see you at Bohermeen.

Might see you in the new year for a running date and I can update you on the most up to date training philosophies :)

TbL

Originally I was to run 10 miles easy yesterday but this was moved out to today to make way for the 5k waddle. Was told to see how I was going and pull back if necessary.

I'm in Warsaw today and got to the hotel mid/late morning. Lucked out and got a very good hotel and an early check in. In my experience when your hotel room has a bath you're either staying in a Fawltey Towers type doss house, where the "shower" is in the bath and the mildewed shower curtain persistently wraps it's slimey self around your arse or you're enjoying some 5 star exposure :)

At least the previous occupants toe nails weren't embedded in the complimentary room slippers this time!

It's a dark, damp, dreary and cold (but not freezing) here today. Decided as I'd be working late tonight to get the run in at lunch time. I haven't been in Warsaw in years and I hadn't a clue where I was going, the concierge gave me a small map and I headed off.

I usually enjoy these city runs but never really felt the love for this one, very busy junctions, a couple of underground walkways and very little in the way of any interesting scenery made this run boring. It's a bad state of affairs when one of the most aesthetically please buildings was a blue Dell office tower! Eventually found a park but it was very small so didn't stay long there.

Pulled the plug after 8.2 miles, pace wasn't great either at 8.43.

If I can't find a better route for the morning I think I'll default to the hotel treadmill.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Originally I was to run 10 miles easy yesterday but this was moved out to today to make way for the 5k waddle. Was told to see how I was going and pull back if necessary.

I'm in Warsaw today and got to the hotel mid/late morning. Lucked out and got a very good hotel and an early check in. In my experience when your hotel room has a bath you're either staying in a Fawltey Towers type doss house, where the "shower" is in the bath and the mildewed shower curtain persistently wraps it's slimey self around your arse or you're enjoying some 5 star exposure :)

At least the previous occupants toe nails weren't embedded in the complimentary room slippers this time!

It's a dark, damp, dreary and cold (but not freezing) here today. Decided as I'd be working late tonight to get the run in at lunch time. I haven't been in Warsaw in years and I hadn't a clue where I was going, the concierge gave me a small map and I headed off.

I usually enjoy these city runs but never really felt the love for this one, very busy junctions, a couple of underground walkways and very little in the way of any interesting scenery made this run boring. It's a bad state of affairs when one of the most aesthetically please buildings was a blue Dell office tower! Eventually found a park but it was very small so didn't stay long there.

Pulled the plug after 8.2 miles, pace wasn't great either at 8.43.

If I can't find a better route for the morning I think I'll default to the hotel treadmill.

TbL

I was in Warsaw a few years back and found out and back along the Wistula to be the best option.

snailsong wrote: »
    I was in Warsaw a few years back and found out and back along the Wistula to be the best option.

Tnx P,
    I'll keep that in mind for next visit, I'm sitting in lounge at the airport in Warsaw now waiting for flight to London, didn't get out of bed this morning as I was wrecked, so it'll be the dreadmill tonight!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Log of the the year (among other honours). Congrats, well deserved!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,516 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Absolutely disgusted (particularly as I'm name-checked in the very first sentence of this log :)). Will drop over the keys to the executive toilet this evening, but don't be expecting a gift basket (though I might muster up a small bowl of fruit). Congrats and well-deserved.

You still got a Gold and 2 silvers yourself KC, none to shabby either; a few more medals to add to the collection!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Why wouldn't he win - Dr Q voted for him 20 times under each of his usernames ;)

Today while waiting on a flight out of Warsaw, I was doing what I usually do when I've a few minutes to spare, I browsed through the A/R/T forums when I saw that I had won new poster and training log of the year. Amazed and bowled over by that TBH, especially given that I'm a mediocre runner at best and given the quality of other logs posted on this forum.

It was Krusty who had told me, this time last year, that a log would also be extremely useful from a training perspective. He was right but in addition I also enjoy keeping it and reading others. The log keeps me honest and part of me thinks that were it not for the log and the community here I wouldn't have bounced back so quickly after a poor showing in Amsterdam, to PB in Valencia! Easier to slink off and take the lazy option when you aren't holding yourself to account on a public forum.

It may be more indicative of a sad auld lad, with feck all to do but my running and the logs on here are inextricably linked. I get a great buzz from running and racing and also writing and reading about it. My logging style mightn't be everyone's cup of tea but it is a factual account of my struggle to balance, work and family with a burning desire to run faster.

I absolutely love the banter that breaks out on the logs and there are some incredible characters posting here along with some talented runners. The wit coupled with some incredible support and advise make this forum what it is. It fantastic and fascinating to watch the chronological development of runners of all levels unfold.

In the 12 months since I've started logging here and with Ecoli's help I've knocked 10 mins off my marathon PB. (And enjoyed almost every minute of it).

I never take myself too seriously but I'm fiercely competitive (bring it on Meno :) ) and I'd like to think over the next 12 months I'll knock another 10 mins off it, have a blast doing it and logging any progress here.

I've also met and run with some great people because of this forum but just to let ye all know, I'll be charging a fee heretofore :)

A genuine thanks to everyone who has taken the time to read and provide feedback on this log, with a special mention to Krusty (the now retired stud :) ) for getting me started.

From waffle to waddle:

The plan today called for 7 miles easy. I set my alarm early this morning so that I could hit the hotel gym treadmill but I was too tired so I gave it a miss. I flew back into Heathrow late afternoon and made my way to my hotel near Gatwick. The traffic was desperate and it took me 90 mins to get to my hotel. Staying at an old country manor hotel in Nutfield and as the paths aren't lit I decided to use the leisure centre treadmill to do as many of the 7 miles as I could. The leisure centre is fantastic with a well equipped gym, 2 squash courts and a pool. Unfortunately I'm in different hotels again on Wed & Thursday so it'll be treadmill city for the rest of the week.

Managed to do 11.38k in 60 mins.

Tnx again

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Great log TbL. Always an absolute pleasure to read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Ososlo wrote: »
    Great log TbL. Always an absolute pleasure to read.

+ 1 to this. I always look forward to reading it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭ger664

I regularly tell my better half what you are up to just to make me look less insane. Well deserved on the two awards.

Ger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Well done Tbl - I do enjoy your posts, waffle to waddle being a classic example :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭cianc

An Oscar worthy acceptance speech. I like to think you were fighting back the tears while writing it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Scarlet for you TbL

:pac::pac::pac::pac:

( ah no... congrats, well deserved -a really great log for us to have access to)

cianc wrote: »
    An Oscar worthy acceptance speech. I like to think you were fighting back the tears while writing it :)

Haha Cian, I'll be taking the Marlon Brando approach to oscar acceptance speeches but instead of sending Sacheen Littlefeather to the formal ceremony I'll be sending Lori Poitin, the native Connemara Bogger :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Haha Cian, I'll be taking the Marlon Brando approach to oscar acceptance speeches but instead of sending Sacheen Littlefeather to the formal ceremony I'll be sending Lori Poitin, the native Connemara Bogger :)

TbL

Ha ha. I'm probably the only one here old enough to know what you're on about there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭overpronator

Congrats man, always enjoy reading about your antics!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Netwerk Errer

TbL

Haha!

Are you giving us a clue to your identity TbL? I seem to recall that Roger Moore took home the Oscar for Brando after that incident!;)

Well done on the awards as well!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

That's some record TRR - go on & write the book - I'd buy it for the rants alone not to mind the training tips :)

Well done TBL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭dintbo

Log of the year well deserved, as a newcomer I've really enjoyed reading through this. Btw if I could run anything like the tines you can I wouldn't be calling myself a mediocre runner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Congrats on the awards TbL - very well deserved .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

+1......Nice one, TbL. It is pleasure reading your sh*te :D

Always interesting as you never know what is coming next :pac::pac: