If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Be still my beating heart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭barryoneill50

Just put the old rusty bucket to one side and get those pendulums swinging and you shall be floating along nicely......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Just put the old rusty bucket to one side and get those pendulums swinging and you shall be floating along nicely......

ha ha no problem getting me pendulums swinging it's getting me arse outa the bucket that's the challenge:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Ososlo wrote: »
    ha ha no problem getting me pendulums swinging it's getting me arse outa the bucket that's the challenge:D;)

Shockingly enough the above could apply to me currently :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

I'm completely lost!

SamforMayo wrote: »
    I'm completely lost!

don't worry. You'd have to read back a bit. It's all above board:)

Friday 5 December
    AIS, LM pre run
    6 miles easy
    A bit too fast for easy but I was feckin freezin and it was net downhill. Neck not sore today and glute tenderness completely gone.
    Didn't stress about the running form tonight but did try to maintain an upright posture with head up and chest out. But not too much ;-)
    6 miles @ 9:41 avg pace

Saturday 6 December
    AIS, LM pre run
    6 miles easy
    Woke up with a sick stomach. Dunno why. Touch and go for a while but felt a bit better as the day went on. Today was to be Long Run day. Drove to Phoneix Park. When I got there I realised I forgot my Garmin. Didn't have any other watch to measure even the time running so headed home again. Decided to scrap the long run and just did my easy run instead in local park thinking that maybe in hindsight it was better not to do the long run with 'stuff' on an iffy stomach.
    Stewards setting up the park for what must be the novice cross country. Lots of activity to keep me entertained!
    6 miles @ 9:39 avg pace

Sunday 7 December
    AIS, LM pre run
    20 mins easy, 60 mins HEAE (high end aerobic effort (2hr race effort), 20 mins easy)
    Long run with stuff today. Sleep was terrible last night and stomach not great either this morning.
    Did this locally. The idea was to run the HAEA at 2-hour race effort and not wear the watch at all. We all know that's not going to happen now don't we;), as I need:rolleyes: my stats for review and preview (mainly to keep account of my mileage) so I covered up the pace display and just had the clock on show.
    This is the way my long run is going to be structured every week for the next 6 months so I was told to 'get used to it'!
    It took me a while to get into any kind of rhythm and I hadn't eaten enough for breakfast. I found an old bagel in the freezer which I toasted but it tasted vile and didn't help my stomach issues so I couldn't finish it.
    The run definitely got better as it went on and I put in what I would describe as a low-ish-level hard effort where my breathing was a little heavier than usual but still very controlled and my body felt very relaxed. I did have an inkling of a stitch here and there so I had to wind down the effort a bit to keep it at bay. Ate a little too close to the run I think. I'll get these things right when I tackle it again next weekend. All in all I'm happy enough with it and look forward to doing it again next weekend.
    11 miles daily total
    Weekly total: 58 miles

Can't wait to get stuck into Week 2 of this new schedule with a little bit of progression in 2 of the sessions. Feeling good and handling it all very well so far. Taking Kinnetica 100% Recovery after all my harder sessions and longer run for the past 2 months now and I think it seems to be doing the trick! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Always important to have something to reference isn't it ;-)

Monday 8 December
    AIS, LM pre run
    6.5 miles easy

I let the WORLD Atlas of Wine (a very large heavy tome) fall on my right toes on my way out the door to do this:( The pain was so bad I felt a bit sick. It didn't hurt me when running thankfully, but it was very sore and bruised to the touch and later that night in bed.
    6.5 miles @ 9:47 avg pace

Tuesday 9 December
    Strides Session: 3 x (6x40 sec @ mile effort off jog-back recoveries) 4 mins jog between sets & 3 mins @ 2 mile effort

AIS & Lunge Matrix pre run

No sleep:(. Went to bed extra early so I'd feel really refreshed this morning but alas it wasn't to be. Had to be up early to be at a meeting and to do a training session so knew I had to be at the top of my game this morning. But as per usual, when the pressure's on, the body lets me down :(

I was zombie-like all morning but managed to do what I needed to do at work despite the tiredness but the pre-run nutrition/hydration was abysmal. I only ate a small bag of brazil nuts and a handful of seeds and a cup of coffee all day and headed out to do this at 3:30pm. I wanted to do it in the local park while it was still bright so I had no time to eat properly. I had no water all morning either as I was too busy to be visiting the loo! so was a bit thirsty heading off. Wasn't sure what to expect for the session but as often happens in these situations, it turned out fairly well in the end.
    My mile pace is just under 7 min/mile so even though the paces don't look very consistent the effort felt even at the time. Focused on good running form and a nice upright posture. I preferred today's session to the same strides session I did last week as I did it in the daylight so I could actually see where I was going and the paths were lovely and even and straight and quiet unlike last week when I had to watch my footing. Therefore I felt a lot more relaxed and in control. I really enjoyed it overall and felt good throughout.
    Took 4 mins jog recovery when the 3 sets were done and then onto the 3 min effort at 2 mile race effort.
    Hard to judge this one and might have run it a bit fast. What I found on this rep was that my arms started to feel really weak and tired about 2 mins in. The lack of food was probably kicking in but not sure why my arms felt so weak and not my legs or any other part of me:confused: The last time I remembered feeling this sensation in my arms was when I did the 1 mile TT last year. Weird...

All done by effort, no Garmin watching...
    Set 1:
    6:26, 6:43, 6:38, 6:45, 6:36, 7:02 (pace)

Set 2:

7:15, 6:47, 6:49, 6:53, 6:48, 7:05

Set 3:
    6:40, 7:02, 7:04, 6:57, 6:59, 7:03

3 mins @ 2mile effort: 7:03 (the last 20 seconds of this were wind assisted so that might account for the faster pace than last week)

Couple of miles cool down at 9:57 & 10:02 pace

9 miles total @ 9:34 avg pace
    Myrtl routine post run

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭barryoneill50

First set a bit fast was it?

Yeah defo barry. Didn't feel it at the time though.
    Obviously I felt fresher at the start and a bit more tired as the time went on but the effort felt the same.
    Oh to have those lovely even splits that so many Boardsies seem to be able to manage... To me it's impossible unless I'm watching the garmin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Netwerk Errer

Just a thought on the tired arms O. You might have been pushing too hard on the reps and getting tense. What you want to remember during workouts is to keep relaxed and fast. Practicing workouts should be all about getting comfortable and efficient at that given pace.:)

Edit: By getting tense, effort level rises and efficiency drops thus nullifying the benefits of the reps.

Just a thought on the tired arms O. You might have been pushing too hard on the reps and getting tense. What you want to remember during workouts is to keep relaxed and fast. Practicing workouts should be all about getting comfortable and efficient at that given pace.:)

Yes 'fast and relaxed' is being drummed into me on a daily basis:) and I am really focusing on relaxed running form. I really don't feel I'm tensing up my arms but maybe I am.
    I didn't feel it last week during the same session so it could possible have been the lack of food. I'll keep an eye on it!
    Cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Yeah defo barry. Didn't feel it at the time though.
    Obviously I felt fresher at the start and a bit more tired as the time went on but the effort felt the same.
    Oh to have those lovely even splits that so many Boardsies seem to be able to manage... To me it's impossible unless I'm watching the garmin!

Very difficult over such a short distance to get even splits. With the Garmin I mean, for it to even out.

Trust yourself...

Wednesday 10 December
    AIS, LM pre run
    am: 35 mins easy
    A windy few easy miles.
    10:07 avg pace

pm: 40 mins easy
    AIS, LM pre run
    A windier few easy miles
    10:08 avg pace

Thursday 11 December
    2 x 15 mins at LT (60 min race effort) off 5 min jog recoveries

AIS, LM pre run
    Wind wasn't too bad tonight. It was mainly coming from the sides on the route I fixed on so it didn't bother me too much except for short periods here and there but I kept the "fast and relaxed' mantra in my head and didn't tense up and force the effort.

Warm up, 9:32, 9:37 (it's always a good sign when my warm up miles are at a nice decent pace)
    First 15 mins: 7:59, 8:12 (pace)
    Second 15 mins: 8:10, 8:08 (pace)
    I only remembered when I finished the session that I was supposed to pick up the pace for the last 3 mins to 10k and then down to 3k effort. Oh well.... I can't be perfect and infallible every night:)

Cooldown, 9:45, 8:52, 9:30, 9:41 (pace)
    Felt good and strong tonight despite my very poor sleep "pattern" of late.

9.5 miles @ 9 min/mile avg pace
    Myrtl post run

Will take 2 easy days before my long run Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Love that 'good and strong feeling', always a good sign!

Friday 12 December
    6 miles easy w/6x25 sec strides

AIS, Lunge Matrix pre run
    Nice relaxed relaxing run, focusing on running tall with light feet.
    6 miles @ 9:42 avg pace

Saturday 13 December
    am: 35 mins easy

AIS, LM pre run
    First really frosty, icy slippy run of the year for me. I can't even walk on the paths without slipping let alone run on it! There were people whizzing past me in park without slipping and falling. Not sure what kind of shoes they must be wearing :confused:
    Stuck to the grass. Luckily there were some nice frozen mucky paths mapped out in the grass from the XC last weekend which suited me fine to follow. Super slow run but enjoyed it once I stayed off the concrete. Picked up the effort for 3 mins to about 10k effort towards the end and was surprised to see it was under 8 pace despite being run on the grass which I always find tough.

pm: 5 miles easy w/6x25 sec strides
    AIS, LM pre run
    This was one of those runs that I just wanted to go on forever but I have my long run tomorrow so it would have been silly to do much more today. Everything felt fluid and very easy tonight. A nice feeling :) Pace looks too fast for an easy run but it was a breeze tonight.
    5 miles @ 9:31 avg pace
    Myrtl routine post run

Was looking at my Garmin stats earlier. My average running pace was 10:51min/mile for the month of January 2014. It's gotten gradually faster each month and it's now at 9:34min/mile for December and I'm running much more and I've never felt better so I must be doing something right!
    Looking forward to my long run with HEAE work tomorrow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Monday 8 December
    AIS, LM pre run
    6.5 miles easy

I let the WORLD Atlas of Wine (a very large heavy tome) fall on my right toes on my way out the door to do this:( The pain was so bad I felt a bit sick. It didn't hurt me when running thankfully, but it was very sore and bruised to the touch and later that night in bed.
    6.5 miles @ 9:47 avg pace

Ouch... does that count as a running injury or a drinking injury? :rolleyes:

Sunday 14 December
    60 mins at HEAE (2 hr race effort)

Had a fantastic sleep last night and a lovely relaxing morning in bed watching the Euro XC. A great start to the day! It's the simple things...

This was one of those perfect runs where everything felt A-1. 20 mins warm up and I was feeling good. It was nice and cool but not as cold as recent days so a teeshirt was perfect.
    The haea part of the run just felt effortless today compared to last week. I did feel I was working a bit (on the cusp of a hardish effort) but it was still very manageable and I thoroughly enjoyed it and was sad when I had to stop at the end of the 60 mins :( Could easily have kept that effort up for another hour so I think I got the effort spot on today. My form felt very good and I feel it didn't falter as the run went on. I held back a bit during the windy stretches to ensure I focused on 'relaxed' posture.
    It was a great run all in all:)
    It was pitch dark by the end of the 60 mins so I couldn't do as much of a cool down as I wanted as I just didn't feel safe in the park and the car was parked in a very quiet spot so I didn't want to leave it too late jogging back towards it. I could barely see where I was going either! Must get a headlamp.
    11 miles @ 9:12 avg pace

Weekly total 59 miles
    Another solid week which I really happy with and hope to mirror that again next week before things start getting hairy with xmas and weddings and everything that goes with it...

You're revving up the mileage, impressed. No caveat about injury from me cos your routine is so thorough I'd say it's the least injury-prone schedule going. Nice.

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    You're revving up the mileage, impressed. No caveat about injury from me cos your routine is so thorough I'd say it's the least injury-prone schedule going. Nice.

thanks! Yeah all the ancillary stuff is defo paying off. Not a niggle since February! Can't complain.

Monday 15 December
    am: 38 mins easy
    Nice easy mid-morning leg losener. AIS and Lunge Matrix pre run.
    9:58 avg pace

pm: 45 mins easy
    AIS, LM
    Had one of those 'cheeky little' mid-afternoon naps that are so popular in some circles. It did feel very cheeky in a self-indulgent kinda way:D Well I felt horrible when I woke up! Felt really sluggish and more tiredererer than before it. It certainly didn't rejuvenate me!
    Took a while to wake up on the run but felt grand after 10 mins or so. Left out the strides though as wanna be super fresh for my 3 x 8 mins @ 5k (ish pace) tomorrow! Can't wait!
    Myrtl post run
    9:48 avg pace

8.5 daily total

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭rom

A power nap should be no longer that 30 mins as otherwise your body things that its going to sleep for the night. Also it needs to be early in the day. Anything after 4pm ish is too late

Tuesday 16 December
    AIS pre run
    3 x 8 mins @ 5k-4 mile race effort off 5 min jog recoveries
    warm up: 9:43, 9:49
    Lovely day in the Phoenix Park. Weather was sublime, but I was fecking freezing on my warm up.. It normally doesn't bother me too much but it bothered me greatly this morning! I had a teeshirt on but was sorry I didn't wear long sleeves. Later on in the run however, I was delighted I had short sleeves:)

First 8 mins: 7:45 pace (one of the bloody ribbons/laces on my ST5s untied 5 mins in so had to stop very briefly but the disruption to the session probably means I didn't get the full benefit. Tried not to hammer the remainder of the rep after the little break to make it unrealistically "fast".
    Since I bought those runners 2 years ago I've been meaning to replace the ribbons/laces with proper laces but too lazy to get around to it. I normally tie them about 6 times to ensure they won't come undone but only had them tied 3 times today! Lesson learned...

Second 8 mins: 7:48 (slight incline but effort was the same) Was working hard but it was enjoyable and I got into a nice rhythm.

Third 8 mins: 7:44 (Still working but enjoyable at the same time and could have extended the rep if called for)

Was to do these at a little slower than 5k race effort so think I judged it fairly well. Pity the disruption had to happen on the first one :(
    Recoveries were ample and I definitely felt best on the last rep and could have done another rep if called for. Happy enough with that.
    The good news is that I did this exact session on the 4th November and the paces were 7:56, 7:58, 7:58 so that shows a decent improvement.

8 miles total

AIS post run

Was a big struggle to refrain from going out for a little potter around the streets this evening as my favourite running is easy effort running in the rain but I think this is where my weaknesses as a "runner" lie. I want to do too much and can't get enough. This is when healthy addiction crosses over to potentially unhealthy obsession and I need to be more careful not overdo things. How times have changed... My kicks used to be cigarettes, alcohol and other substances. Now they come from running:). How bad you might ask! But still too much of a good thing and all that....
    However, the night is young... but I won't go out again! Promise!:cool:
    I want to be really on top of my game for Thursday's session so that's motivation enough not to run again today. I hope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Those are nice paces on the 8min sections!

Warm/mild rain, sure, *cold* rain, yeuch :mad: .... but I'm psyching myself up and since I'm posting this I guess I have to do it now!

Those are nice paces on the 8min sections!

Warm/mild rain, sure, *cold* rain, yeuch :mad: .... but I'm psyching myself up and since I'm posting this I guess I have to do it now!

thanks!

good luck with getting out there! you won't regret it:)

Wednesday 17 December
    Absolutely fukkin wrecked. Woke at 3am and tossed and turned until 8am when I had to get up. Just one of those really bad nights I have so regularly when there's no particular reason I can't sleep.
    Getting through the day was a struggle to say the least and slobbery auld fellas arriving in my office lunging at me for Christmas kisses were not greeted with my usual seasonal joviality:rolleyes:. Save it for your lucky wives! I kept my door firmly closed for the rest of the day:)

Took a rest day from running as really didn't think it'd benefit me in any way, physically or mentally. First one in 18 days so I shouldn't be feeling so guilty!

Thursday 18 December
    AIS, Lunge Matrix pre run
    3x (6x40sec @ mile effort off jog back recovery) 4 mins between sets & 4 mins @ 2 mile race effort
    Fairly windy out there this morning but am told to do reps with the wind in my favour where possible as the idea is to get used to running 'fast and relaxed' and it's impossible to remain relaxed and keep good running form when running into a stiff breeze so I did that where possible.

Set 1: 6:49, 6:35, 6:56, 6:56, 6:47, 6:56
    Set 2: 6:59, 7:03, 6:59, 7:05, 6:56, 7:03
    Set 3: 6:49, 7:06, 6:59, 6:33, 6:40, 6:57
    Then 4 mins at 7:13pace (about 30 seconds of this was into the wind but it wasn't too bad and I really focused on relaxing throughout the rep)

I felt very fresh on the warm up and for the first set. The day off did me good I think. I felt I might be coming down with something yesterday (slightly swollen glands) but when I woke this morning I felt a million dollars and my legs were raring to take off. The cr4ppy feeling yesterday was obviously due to tiredness and nothing more.

The second set felt a little bit more like work but all very manageable. Felt really good on the third set and had to be mindful of not going too hard.
    The 4 mins at 2 mile race effort was tough enough but sustainable. It was a bit slower than last week's 3 min effort (efforts at end of the strides section of the workout extend by one minute each week) but I did feel I was very unfairly assisted by a very strong wind behind me during this secion last week so today's effort I feel is a more honest reflection of where I'm at for 2 mile race effort.
    9.5 miles total
    Post session workout consisted of scrubbing floors, cleaning toilets, cleaning fridge, putting away washing, and finishing a little bit of artwork so I think I'll skip doing the myrtle routine!
    Next few days will be touch and go on the running front as the first of three sets of visitors are arriving tonight so there will undoubtedly be alcohol on the agenda and late nights but I'm damned if I'll be missing my long run on the weekend! My house, my rules. They can come with me if they want!
    Luckily tonight's guest, my brother arriving from NZ wants to go for a run tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Nice session.
    Just as a matter of interest, how do you know what your 1 & 2 mile race paces are? I can't remember you running any races of that distance (could be wrong). Do you base it off McMillan/Vdot or is it totally based on perceived effort?

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Nice session.
    Just as a matter of interest, how do you know what your 1 & 2 mile race paces are? I can't remember you running any races of that distance (could be wrong). Do you base it off McMillan/Vdot or is it totally based on perceived effort?
    Hey thanks. It's my favourite session of the week!
    All my runs are run to perceived effort. No clock watching allowed.
    I did a one mile time trial during the summer however and it was just under 7 mins but I do feel I've improved a lot since then.

Friday 17 December
    AIS and Lunge Matrix pre run
    6 miles (not as easy as it should have been!)
    I haven't run with another human being for about 8/9 months I'd say so this was a novelty!
    This was with my brother who's idea of easy would be 8 min/mile or less so I bartered with him to about 9. Still much too fast for me especially when I was expected to chat too!
    Nice to run with someone for a change though!
    6 miles @ 9 avg pace

Saturday 18 December
    No warm up exercises.
    Again with my brother along the Barrow trail starting at Goresbridge. I managed to slow him down another little bit today and the trial automatically slowed him down another bit:) Fab run along the river bank heading northwards. Most enjoyable. Conditions perfect and beautiful scenery. The trail is really easy to run on with only a few mucky bits but all in all it's very well maintained and pleasant to run on.
    Will be adding this run to my repertoire most certainly when down this direction over the holidays.
    6.5 miles @ 9:31avg pace

Sunday 19 December
    10 miles with 60 mins at HEAE
    AIS, LM pre run
    Back running solo again! I realised recently that the word 'solo' is contained within the name 'Ososlo'. fitting really :)

Oh dear :( what can I say about this one.
    A struggle to say the least. I didn't drink THAT much last night and I wasn't up THAT late and I didn't eat THAT many bad things and I didn't sleep THAT badly but this was much harder than it should have been. Paces a lot slower than last week and I wasn't enjoying it that much which is unusual for me. I had to do it straight after my drive up from Kilkenny and I was very thirsty from the start so I knew it wasn't going to be one of my finer moment. It was quite windy also and I really struggled in parts but held back the effort into the wind to ensure I maintained some kind of decent running form and tried my best to stay relaxed.
    Paces for the 60 mins are a bit embarrassing as they're so slow, but that's all I could manage today. Effort level was correct I think as I could have continued for another hour but I mightn't have been very happy to do so:)
    8:47, 8:59, 8:56, 8:46, 8:57, 8:41, 8:55
    10 miles @ 9:12 avg pace

50 miles weekly total
    Missed a few doubles and took Wednesday off completely so mileage a bit low but what you gonna do!

Next week will be fine until about Thursday but I might have to go 'off plan' for a few days and just fit in a few runs when I can but with my sister's wedding after xmas it might mean I'll take 2 or 3 days off completely:eek: Stranger things have happened:D
    I hate being out of my routine. I really am a creature of habit. I hate when I can't sleep in my own bed and eat my usual food and do my own thang every day so roll on 2015 when life is back to normal!

Haha "only 50 miles"??!! Love it :D:D
    There are going to be days when 'the love' is not there for whatever combination of reasons, luckily you don't have too many of them!