Stephanie Roche is through to the final three of this year’s Fifa Puskas Award

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Great goal but the other two are better, with James being the pick for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭cranks

Anyone notice that the sound of the crowd reaction is much more understated on the vid link supplied by FIFA? Odd.

Technically excellent goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,711 ✭✭✭stimpson

All this talk of world class defenders and yet there's van Persie on his todd right in front of the goal.

Fing about Arsenal is, they always try an' walk it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Stephanie can only score against whats put in front of her

She will win this award

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Voted for her because It would be nice to see her win and Peamount are near me even though I wouldn't say it's necessarily a much better goal than the others.

A goal at any level can be appreciated on its own merits though without having to trot out the blindingly obvious barstooler drivel about what level she's playing at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

She is the first Irish person up for the award and the first woman to make it to the top 3 so for me she is a winner already but really hope she can make history for a 3 time.

She is the 2nd highest trending item on fifa.com news after the competition itself. RVP and James are 7th and 8th so whether they are translating to actual votes or not, she is garnering a lot of attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

You win the Tour de France, the Giro d'Italia and score a wonder goal and still After Hours complains!

Bicycle kick I presume?

Lets hope the Peamount team doctor doesn't come out ten years later with any damaging confessions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Voted. Fair play to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

Holsten wrote: »
    Good goal but the others are pretty much similar, with the added pressure of being during the World Cup Finals.

What was this match? A league match with 7 teams?

I'd go with Van Perise.
    But Van Persie and Rodriguez are world-class players - yet her goal has ended up alongside theirs in this particular contest; how can't people see that achievement in and of itself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

It's a FIFA competition. Vote rigging is a FIFA tradition. Vote early and often!

It's a great goal and a fantastic achievement. However, it is not the best goal out of the nominees and therefore didn't get my vote. It irritates me when people ask people to vote for her - leaving aside the unfairness of that, it's insulting to her. If she wins, did she do it on merit? Big question mark over that now, to be honest.

anncoates wrote: »
    Voted for her because It would be nice to see her win and Peamount are near me even though I wouldn't say it's necessarily a much better goal than the others.

Jesus Christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Jarrod

First things first, fair play to Roche, fantastic achievement and I really hope she wins.

Now, I obviously don't want to belittle the goal (everything about it was fantastic) but surely there should be a minimum level at which the match is played to qualify for the award. I mean if I brought a video camera to a different Sunday league game every week for the season I'd be fairly certain I'd find at least one goal better than some of the nominations there. From matches I've played in alone, I've seen better goals than Costa's and Ibrahimovic's.

Anyway, don't want to put a downer on it (and I considered not posting the second bit) but I think the minumum standard should be that the goal is scored in a professional match.

Having said all that - Vote Roche #1!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Everything is relative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Macavity. wrote: »
    It's a great goal and a fantastic achievement. However, it is not the best goal out of the nominees and therefore didn't get my vote. It irritates me when people ask people to vote for her - leaving aside the unfairness of that, it's insulting to her. If she wins, did she do it on merit? Big question mark over that now, to be honest.

In your opinion.

That's why there is a vote, it's subjective.

Jesus Christ.

My post wasn't that good, to be fair.

anncoates wrote: »
    My post wasn't that good, to be fair.

It certainly wasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,688 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

It irritates me when people ask people to vote for her - leaving aside the unfairness of that, it's insulting to her. If she wins, did she do it on merit? Big question mark over that now, to be honest.

This.

However, you're probably going to run the risk of being called a "begrudger" if you think RVP or James scored better goals.

If her goal was the best, then vote for her. Just because she's Irish or a woman shouldn't influence your vote.

It was a cracking finish, but I'd vote for RVP as the Dutch were in a bit of a pickle up to that goal, 1-0 down to the World champions who had threatened to go 2 up.

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    In your opinion.

That's why there is a vote, it's subjective.

Be pedantic if you want about the phrasing of words, ignore the main point made in my post.

It certainly wasn't.

Like Steph, I can only respond to the limited canvas that surrounds me.

If her goal was the best, then vote for her. Just because she's Irish or a woman shouldn't influence your vote.

This asking for votes carry on is something that is now commonplace thanks to social media. People on Facebook asking you to vote for them in competitions - pathetic. Not something to be encouraged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Out of the final 3 hers was the best with James a close second imo. I don't think she will get enough votes though simply because of who she is up against. Hope I am wrong. Just voted for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

People on Facebook asking you to vote for them in competitions - pathetic. Not something to be encouraged.

You must be driven demented everytime a general election comes around.

Stupid comparison. You're better than that, aren't you? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,832 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

This asking for votes carry on is something that is now commonplace thanks to social media. People on Facebook asking you to vote for them in competitions - pathetic. Not something to be encouraged.

What's pathetic is people like you giving out about it. Do you honestly think that people in Holland and Columbia aren't doing the same on Facebook for Van Persie and James Rodriguez ? Holland has some 13m people and Columbia around 50m people so I'd imagine Van Persie or James Rodriguez won't have any problems garnering votes from their own nations people. Yet here you are slagging off other Irish people for asking you to vote for the Irish contender who is in the final three of a global goal of the year competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Stupid comparison. You're better than that, aren't you? :(

Ah here, you've made your point, move on, yeah.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Yet here you are slagging off other Irish people for asking you to vote for the Irish contender who is in the final three of a global goal of the year competition.

Let her win on the merit of the goal is what I am saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Muahahaha wrote: »
    What's pathetic is people like you giving out about it. Do you honestly think that people in Holland and Columbia aren't doing the same on Facebook for Van Persie and James Rodriguez ? Holland has some 13m people and Columbia around 50m people so I'd imagine Van Persie or James Rodriguez won't have any problems garnering votes from their own nations people. Yet here you are slagging off other Irish people for asking you to vote for the Irish contender who is in the final three of a global goal of the year competition.

That's not pathetic, it's honest.

It's not the best goal of the lot, not by a long shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭Honey Monster

It's a cracking goal...BUT it has to be put into context. Amateur players in an amateur league with poor players. I just don't know how on earth it got to the top three goals scored this year...defiantly because she's a woman I think. Women play some damn fine sports, I love women's tennis, golf etc but women's soccer is a horrendous thing to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

I don't see anything wrong with people thinking the other goals are better and voting for the other players, but it just seems kinda disingenuous to sidestep the fact that her goal is up there with VP's and Rodriguez's.

Ah here, you've made your point, move on, yeah.

It was a stupid comparison, I think we all know that. It will get thanked because it's a dismissal of what I am saying (something that goes against the common opinion of the thread). I'll move along when I'm ready, thanks Micky.