Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Warning in OP, 10/12

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Augeo wrote: »
    Lambert has come into an underperforming team and in 3 consecutive starts has 2 goals and an assist... He's no nutmeg master but he's definitely a proper striker :)

He's a back up striker and is doing a grand job.

By no means a long term option though. Nor are Balotelli or Borini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

He's not a proper striker for the type of football this team are supposedly set up to play. If you want to play Gerrard as a DM knocking long balls up he's your man, but to get the best out of the team a much more mobile player is needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Rega

shamrock55 wrote: »
    Was that ger canning commentating for the qpr game on motd?

Connor McNamara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Pulsating Star

A few weeks ago I couldn't watch the Newcastle game live so I recorded it,turned off my phone,avoided the radio and managed to make it through the day unaware of the score. Watched it later and wanted to die tbh.

Anyway...similar situation today...should I do it? My heart isn't really in it.

I couldn't watch it as was working. Don't have the means to record it so I decided to avoid looking up the score and read the match thread instead. So as to get a flavour of the rollercoaster of emotions a live viewing gives. Sounds a bit sad but I get to see the game vicariously through the eyes of ye folks! Worked for me, thanks guys.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Some of our play in the 2nd half was really good but I have to ask do people think Stoke were just rubbish or did Liverpool really do alright?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Augmerson wrote: »
    Some of our play in the 2nd half was really good but I have to ask do people think Stoke were just rubbish or did Liverpool really do alright?

Bit of both, but there has been times this season when we've not been able to get a result even when the opposition hasn't been good. So it's still a positive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭daRobot

Knex. wrote: »
    Also, Rodgers needs to fix his teeth again, or get them re-whitened, or something. It was obviously that that made the team perform for him.

A winning smile, one might say.

Lessons from the past 9 hours, Kerrigooney needs to keep recording games and avoiding weirdos like us until game end. Also Kerrigooney needs to keep Brendans teeth intact. Also, dissing Lambert cluelessly is also loltastic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,304 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Rega wrote: »
    Connor McNamara

I could have sworn it was canning:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I couldn't watch it as was working. Don't have the means to record it so I decided to avoid looking up the score and read the match thread instead. So as to get a flavour of the rollercoaster of emotions a live viewing gives. Sounds a bit sad but I get to see the game vicariously through the eyes of ye folks! Worked for me, thanks guys.

Jesus, as if suporting Liverpool in the first place wasn't maschostic enough!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,145 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

What a win today. I think it will kick start the season. What was said at half time. Different team second half.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Off to Liverpool 1st thing for this weekends game, just hope for same result as last time o went to see Liverpool v Stoke which was 4-0

The real reason we won :D :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jebidiah

Didn't see the match, just the highlights. Johnson did very well with the goal. Great reading of the situation and super brave to dive in there.

Its his job and he gets paid a **** load as we all know. But fair play to him. Vital goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,050 ✭✭✭brevity

I couldn't care less what time Ballotelli goes to bed if he was banging in goals and busting a gut for the team.

He's not though and tbh I'd be delighted to see the back of him on January 1st.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Lessons from the past 9 hours, Kerrigooney needs to keep recording games and avoiding weirdos like us until game end. Also Kerrigooney needs to keep Brendans teeth intact. Also, dissing Lambert cluelessly is also loltastic :)

It's pretty tricky but if I thought it would work,I'd do it. No problem.

Lambert has shown more in the last 2 games than Mario has in all his games combined and has to stay in the team for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Turtyturd wrote: »

And someone needs to stick that picture of Fritzel, Hitler et al as Liverpool fans in every match thread.

As a Liverpool fan I went back looking for this and it's gone.

Also a shame to see what's been done to the thread since then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Turtyturd wrote: »
    As a Liverpool fan I went back looking for this and it's gone.

Also a shame to see what's been done to the thread since then.

I thought I was losing my mind. Or all of you were...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Augmerson wrote: »

There was definitely an improvement in the 2nd half. Intensity picked up which shouldn't be directly affected by the opposition. That needs to be a constant.
    Liverpool have played worse against worse teams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

niallo27 wrote: »
    What a win today. I think it will kick start the season. What was said at half time. Different team second half.

Gerrard asked Bemitez to leave the dressing room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Liverpool v Stoke U18s two crackers here -

Firth, Travis, Hart, Whelan, Polgar, Brimmer, Canos, Chirivella, Marsh (Maxwell), Wilson, Kent. Unused substitutes: Wheeler, Nicholas, Lewis, Johnson.

The under age sides have got such an array of attacking talent with hardly a "proper striker" to be seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,222 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Delighted for lambert the last few games I was starting to worry the pressure might be too much and we wouldn't see anything of the lambert at Southampton.
    2 goals and an assist in 3 games is a great return.

The fact we had not conceded in 45 mins gave the team and rodgers a bit of confidence to push forward and with a solid base in allen and lucas our creative players finally created.
    It wasn't clinical but it was the most entertaining football since spurs away.

Coutinho is becoming such a frustrating player to watch. He has some world class qualities but there is no consistency or end product to his game. I would perfer to see lallana in his place a player with a good goal scoring record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,303 ✭✭✭✭klose

Yeah i think lambert is showing his worth these days, great hold up play and great to win flick ons, if we had a pacey striker ala sturridge ahead of him winning those flicks on and making use of his hold up play we would get even more out if his abilities. Had a nice few touches and turns yesterday too.

But hey we replaced luis suarez with lambert right? Lol etc.. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,008 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

klose wrote: »
    Yeah i think lambert is showing his worth these days, great hold up play and great to win flick ons, if we had a pacey striker ala sturridge ahead of him winning those flicks on and making use of his hold up play we would get even more out if his abilities. Had a nice few touches and turns yesterday too.

But hey we replaced luis suarez with lambert right? Lol etc.. :rolleyes:

Lambert was signed as a 3rd striker, not as number 1.

... .... Never thought badly of the lad, he deserved his pay cheques :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,303 ✭✭✭✭klose

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Lambert was signed as a 3rd striker, not as number 1.

Im aware, twas a tongue in cheek comment as thats what rival fans were peddling over the summer how we replaced suarez with lambert even though it was obvious we didn't.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,893 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I didn't get to see the game live yesterday but had it recorded and then watched it 'as live' at 7pm. The first half made me regret that decision immensely, what a turgid display of non urgency, but thankfully the second half is as well as we've played all season (not saying much) although hardly a big cutting edge. It's a step in the right direction though and keeping that up against Leicester on Tuesday will be important for confidence. They are going through a bad spell themselves but will still fancy being able to get as us enough to get a result. We're still a long way from where we need to be but at least there is something positive (besides the result) to take from the game for a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

The result against Stoke will mean nothing unless we follow it up with a win against Leicester.

That will bring us into a home game against Sunderland. There is potential for 9 points on the bounce, bringing us into a massive home game against Basel followed by United away.

Massive fortnight coming up in BR's reign as LFC manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Footy Memes ‏@FootyMemes 7m7 minutes ago Former Liverpool winger Albert Riera has been sacked by Udinese after skipping a game to play in a poker tournament.