Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fair City [News, Spoilers & Discussion v4] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I thought (hoping :)) Alma was going to get knocked down crossing the road as a car was revving :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

How can Doug take 5 weeks off work then be surprised when he gets fired? And can someone be fired by text?
    Why did his boss not mention notice, wages, holiday pay, or P45?
    Where has Doug been staying up to now? What has he been living on?
    How does he know Nussie well enough to ask for advice? I've never seen them together before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

I think Doug is quite a good actor. I don't watch Fair City regularly but from snippets I've seen, I don't think his acting is bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,804 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

walshb wrote: »
    Why does it sound like that? If she was injured then she deserves compensation. He case went to the authorities and she won.

No. Was settled out of court. As is the way with these type of things in this country and moreso if there are insurers involved, they will often take the certain settlement over high cost risk.

The woman sat into a car with a stunt driver. I don't believe the car hit anything so the forces couldn't be huge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Enda Oates was on TV3 yesterday and said that the writing is of a high standard and the stories run into each other with a good flow which draws in the viewer.

He said this with a straight face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Enda Oates was on TV3 yesterday and said that the writing is of a high standard and the stories run into each other with a good flow which draws in the viewer.

That's the type of thing you say in an election RTE PR campaign

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,657 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Are you sure you don't mean Enda Kenny :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭rogercar

Personally I think Carrie Crowley is a fine actress and playing her part very well, also Enda Oates is a fine actor. What bothers me about this storyline is, when Jackie up and left suddenly one day. Surely when that happened Pete would have contacted the guards to report his wife missing. I'm not sure what Garda proceedure is, but I'm guessing that the Guards would have put the word out that a woman is missing, and that they would have contacted hospitals, hostels etc. Her photograph would have been circulated to the national papers, with reports on radio and television news bulletins. Now afew weeks ago Jackie told Pete that she went to a psychiatric hospital and then lived in hostels. Surely someone in the healthcare system would have recognised her and would have been duty bound to inform the authorities of her whereabouts. As I mentioned earlier, I'm liking very much the actors in this storyline, I'm just finding it hard to buy into the story itself, very OTT in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,967 ✭✭✭✭walshb

mickdw wrote: »
    No. Was settled out of court. As is the way with these type of things in this country and moreso if there are insurers involved, they will often take the certain settlement over high cost risk.

The woman sat into a car with a stunt driver. I don't believe the car hit anything so the forces couldn't be huge.

Thanks for the info. I don't think a car has to hit anything for a person to suffer an injury. Seems that RTE were very negligent here, and reckless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,967 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Ama, the nuss has been recast as an agony aunt. Please, get fooking rid of her. Insufferable!

As for Caddle and Yvonne. What best friend would insist and insist on staying with their best friend when it was clear as day that they weren't wanted? Yvonne's just short of doing a wicked laugh after every scene with Cardle!

Caddle becomes Cardle from here on in!

On another note, it must be getting real stuffy in Niamh and Mumbles' apartment with them not being out of it in weeks. I hope they don't have Rachel and Ruuuuthieee staying over. Jeez!

Ama, the nuss has been recast as an agony aunt. Please, get fooking rid of her. Insufferable!

As for Caddle and Yvonne. What best friend would insist and insist on staying with their best friend when it was clear as day that they weren't wanted? Yvonne's just short of doing a wicked laugh after every scene with Cardle!

How long will she last there before caddle smokes her out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,767 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

On another note, it must be getting real stuffy in Niamh and Mumbles' apartment with them not being out of it in weeks. I hope they don't have Rachel and Ruuuuthieee staying over. Jeez!

It's a wonder Carol and Dan haven't worked out Yvonne is on to them. The two of them are intelligent, and they already know she is a scheming so and so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

rogercar wrote: »
    Personally I think Carrie Crowley is a fine actress and playing her part very well, also Enda Oates is a fine actor.

I agree completely.
    The writing though is just so lazy, stuff which a low budget doesn't excuse.

Line of the night from Doug

"Maybe I'm not just cut out to be a mechanic"

*Not turning up for work was his first mistake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

mickdw wrote: »

Slammed on brakes would give you a right old shake-up imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

Alma must be in her late 20's poor Doug what's he thinking he'd change his
    mind if he knew he'd have to marry her before gettin anything in the bedroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,294 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Only €11 for Jane... Teehee :-D

I couldn't understand why Joe and Dermot couldn't just take Callen into the other room instead of uprooting the kids from their homework.... I despair at the logic of the FC writers sometimes.. (sigh)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

I couldn't understand why Joe and Dermot couldn't just take Callen into the other room instead of uprooting the kids from their homework.... I despair at the logic of the FC writers sometimes.. (sigh)

Not to mention glen getting his private health care on tick - his consultants and the hospital said don't bother about paying for it mate - we'll settle up with the missus when you kick the bucket and she sells the house. . . .?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,657 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Was it not 1,100 or 11,000 Jane got, I missed that part

I thought it was e11,330 or something. Not much, admittedly, but not something to sit and cry about.
    If she doesn't want it, I'd be happy to take it off her hands :rolleyes:

coolhull wrote: »
    I thought it was e11,330 or something. Not much, admittedly, but not something to sit and cry about.

LOL, I forgot to put the zeros in my post.

The legal professionals in Carrigstown are a strange lot. No only do they make house-calls, they carry cheques for large amounts in their briefcases, and neglect to tell their clients beforehand that there might be monies owed against a will.
    When I was left a (very) small amount of money years ago, it took weeks to get the cheque from the solicitors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,926 ✭✭✭vektarman

In all seriousness, I think we should make a collection for Jane to help her through her misery....:)

I thought actress Rachel Pilkington (Jane) played an absolute blinder tonight. For the first time ever I actually felt sorry for her!

They even powered her nose for the Rudolph effect to make the scene more realistic.

Cass is still talking about the Choctaw indians, didn't he walk the trail of tears last year.

The legal professionals in Carrigstown are a strange lot. No only do they make house-calls, they carry cheques for large amounts in their briefcases, and neglect to tell their clients beforehand that there might be monies owed against a will.
    When I was left a (very) small amount of money years ago, it took weeks to get the cheque from the solicitors.
    In the real world unless you are an executor you get a letter to advise you how much you get. Seeing that Jane was the sole beneficiary she would have been executor.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    In the real world unless you are an executor you get a letter to advise you how much you get. Seeing that Jane was the sole beneficiary she would have been executor.

Yes, I agree with that, Sam , and we know Jane is a greedy batch and would have known (estimated) how much was coming to her.... FFS, why did she put an deposit of 10 grand down without knowing how much she'd inherent.

Also if her husband was that sick without health insurance he would have went public instead of private and on tick.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Also if her husband was that sick without health insurance he would have went public instead of private and on tick.

And she(Jane) is such a greedy batch she'd go for the cheapest option.
    I thought it was sweet when Zoe came to Jane and said "you'll be OK" or words to that effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,767 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

And she(Jane) is such a greedy batch she'd go for the cheapest option.
    I thought it was sweet when Zoe came to Jane and said "you'll be OK" or words to that effect.

"It's OK" is what she said. Zoe is a brilliant little actress, and her character is kind hearted and compassionate.

it was 11K