Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you snitch on a dole cheat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,906 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Entrepreneurial ones, yes.

But still dole cheats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭phater phagan

doc11 wrote: »
    A lot of that is not means tested, a pensioner gets a contributory pension regardless of assets

A pensioner does not automatically get a contributory pension. If a pensioner is in receipt of a contributory pension it is because they have worked most of their lives and have contributed to it. If they have an additional pension from their work they will pay tax on that. If a pensioner hasn't sufficient stamps to qualify for a contributory pension they receive a non-contributory pension which is means tested.

oceanman wrote: »
    don't think I could ever do it, the thoughts of anyone ever finding out you were a grass....no thanks

If you saw someone crash into another car and drive off would you report it and give the cars details? Or would you not report any crimes you witness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,779 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Don't believe everything you read, 90% of those calls lead to nothing and I don't even think the original figure is accurate, just my opinion. Nothing like a bit of government PR to turn on your neighbour.

No I never would, its not my job to report fraud and frankly as long as its not a violent crime I don't care what anyone else does. If they get caught they face the consequences. Plenty of people in government jobs paid to root them out.
    Working and signing on isn't that easy anymore, the single parent payment is a joke though, I know at least 4/5 people doing the scam. They should rehaul the thing completely I would imagine the highest level of fraud comes from this scheme.

If you saw someone crash into another car and drive off would you report it and give the cars details? Or would you not report any crimes you witness?

Yes because they are both the same. Poor analogy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭ireland.man

Another question is if Irish Water wins and we're all paying for water, would you report someone for stealing water (ie using some system in his house to trick the meter)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,517 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

rob316 wrote: »
    Don't believe everything you read, 90% of those calls lead to nothing and I don't even think the original figure is accurate, just my opinion. Nothing like a bit of government PR to turn on your neighbour.

No I never would, its not my job to report fraud and frankly as long as its not a violent crime I don't care what anyone else does. If they get caught they face the consequences. Plenty of people in government jobs paid to root them out.
    Working and signing on isn't that easy anymore, the single parent payment is a joke though, I know at least 4/5 people doing the scam. They should rehaul the thing completely I would imagine the highest level of fraud comes from this scheme.

Except it is really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭tim3000

I wouldnt report anyone, my motto is keep my nose in my own business. Anyway reporting a person for cheating the system is never going to make an appreciable difference to the amount of tax you end up paying. I'd even guess that even if 10000 or so dole cheats were reported it would make much of a difference.

Yes because they are both the same. Poor analogy.

Of course they are not the same but they are both a crime, i'm just wondering where your morals lie and what do you consider a crime worthy of reporting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,284 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Just some bits of info/some questions to throw into the mix.

€21 Billion Euro is spent per year on the Social Welfare - that's some figure!

I know politicians, bankers etc etc aren't spotless, but does that excuse other people doing it?

What about whether someone is Irish or not. Friends of friends comment about people coming into Ireland and defrauding the State, when they seem to think its perfectly fine for them or their friends to do it. Does nationality come into it?

To answer OPs question, I think its not an easy question, but if I saw someone exploit the system for considerable gain, I would report. If I saw a person struggling to get by, doing a few nixers but in general being a decent person, then no

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

No. Why should I do the governments work? There wouldn't be as much dole cheats if they didn't give it so easily to every Tom, Dick and Harry.

Except it is really.

No it's not.

It's none of my business, if the person wants to risk getting caught that's fine its their decision, let them do something stupid and get caught. I don't need to be worrying about why John 2 doors down doesn't go to work and has 2 cars, I have enough to be thinking about in my own life.

No it's not.

It's none of my business, if the person wants to risk getting caught that's fine its their decision, let them do something stupid and get caught. I don't need to be worrying about why John 2 doors down doesn't go to work and has 2 cars, I have enough to be thinking about in my own life.

Where your tax money goes isn't your business? Fair enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭DJMG92

Yes. They should play the system fair and use it for what it is designed for, help when needed, not for life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Dietsquirt

This thread deserves a pole.

poll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Where does it end though?

Would you snitch on your mates who download dodgy torrents or stream TV shows from watchillegaltvstreamforfreelols.ru?

Afterall, if Paddy is not paying VAT etc for a DVD of Game of Thrones, it's money lost for the pot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Wouldn't report, because (a) I don't think it's my job, and (b) I really don't care enough to be bothered.

If you would report them then fair play to you, I just know I never would. I wouldn't think too fondly of dole cheats either btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭oceanman

if it was a crime involving violence or physical injury I would report it,
    someone drawing the dole and getting a few hours work....then no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

I did ages ago for a painter who was fully working 5-6 days a week and making very good money, but was also claiming.

The reason I did was he did a **** job, then fought with me over it, then threatened me. I just informed him if he didn't back off he would be sorry.

He was very sorry.

Thing I never understood was, he used to go to sign in his work van, covered in paint at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭ireland.man

Imagine how great our society would be if we all reported every technically unlawful act we ever witnessed in our neighbours, friends and family! If you inform on your own father, you might even be blessed with your face on a political poster like in Soviet Russia!

Or instead we can ignore minor, non-violent acts like working an extra day while on the dole and leave that to the govt and bitter and jealous individuals who derive voyeuristic pleasure from others' misfortune.

Where your tax money goes isn't your business? Fair enough.

Oh I very much do but I am not going to rat people out, its there decision, let them get caught and face the consequences. What next, will I report car reg's for out of date car tax?

To be honest the consequences generally aren't very severe, you read countless court reports of someone doing a scam for a few years, gets caught and they just pay it back, very little see jail. It's like a loan you might never need to pay back. Maybe they should look at there ways of discouraging people to defraud instead of hoping a friend or neighbour will do there job for them.

Blaming the scroungers for why your taxes are high is reaching, the SW budget is €21 billion because you have a bunch of number crunchers for the EU/IMF in charge with no real idea on how to reboot our flat economy. Not to mention a raft of people receiving child benefit that have zero need for it.

Oh and tax evasion is where the real cheats are not SW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Imagine how great our society would be if we all reported every technically unlawful act we ever witnessed in our neighbours, friends and family! If you inform on your own father, you might even be blessed with your face on a political poster like in Soviet Russia!

Or instead we can ignore minor, non-violent acts like working an extra day while on the dole and leave that to the govt and bitter and jealous individuals who derive voyeuristic pleasure from others' misfortune.

Can't you legally work a certain number of hours whilst on the dole?

Depends on the scheme you are on, full job seekers no you cant but you could sign on for casual payment for the days you don't work, if you were only working a day or 2 a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

allibastor wrote: »

Thing I never understood was, he used to go to sign in his work van, covered in paint at times.

I remember I had to go into the county council office to get some tax sorted and the dole queue was full of people in hi viz vests.

That was years ago though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Wouldnt do it to a friend but by not reporting people it makes it okay and honest people struggle on while cheaters benefit...

Oh I very much do but I am not going to rat people out, its there decision, let them get caught and face the consequences. What next, will I report car reg's for out of date car tax?

To be honest the consequences generally aren't very severe, you read countless court reports of someone doing a scam for a few years, gets caught and they just pay it back, very little see jail. It's like a loan you might never need to pay back. Maybe they should look at there ways of discouraging people to defraud instead of hoping a friend or neighbour will do there job for them.

Blaming the scroungers for why your taxes are high is reaching, the SW budget is €21 billion because you have a bunch of number crunchers for the EU/IMF in charge with no real idea on how to reboot our flat economy. Not to mention a raft of people receiving child benefit that have zero need for it.

Oh and tax evasion is where the real cheats are not SW.

I wouldn't report car tax as that is fairly easy for the gardai to catch themselves. I also wouldn't report someone doing the odd days
    work but I would have to think hard about a serial offender that was milking the system.

I dont buy into the "look over there, that bit is worse" argument either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

Of course you can, up to 3 days a week, and they actually encourage it. IIRC you are docked 1/6 of your JSB for each day you work, or the net wage received deducted from your JSA.

Incidentally, you could still be collecting your JSA/B at the post office for two years if you're on a BTWEA and running your own business and employing people, so lads in painters overalls and folk in new cars can still legitimately be queuing up at the window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Ring the Daily Mail!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,447 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

this is why there should be a financial reward for successful tip offs! Another easy thing the government could have done, but chose not to, and I keep hearing there is no "low" hanging fruit left?

That alone would have likely saved the few hundred million that they are going to get through IW and look at the furore that has caused!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

In a heart beat.