Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shane Lowry - 2019 Champion Golfer of The Year (note first post please for posting guidance)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

14th , Par 3 missed green, great chip to maybe 7 feet, missed putt

15th Par 4, drove green, just rolled off, had a go at eagle, close but left himself maybe 7 feet again and .... play suspended.

As already posted, it is these putts that are letting him down a bit today. In all other parts of his game, he is really on song. Great to see after yesterday's nightmare start. He seems to have a great temperament, doesn't get too cross with himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

The below is an interesting statistic from the PGA tour in relation to tour players. They rarely miss from 3ft and in but as it shows I don't think they hole as many 6 footers and 8 footers as we might expect?? I was certainly surprised when I saw this first.

PGA's Shot Tracker reveals that tour players on average make:

•99% of putts from 3 feet and in
    •69% of 6-foot putts
    •54% of 8-foot putts
    •31% of putts between 10 and 15 feet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Darn that weather break, was watching the delayed coverage.

Great to see the start that Shane had, keep it up lad.

Darn that weather break, was watching the delayed coverage.

Great to see the start that Shane had, keep it up lad.

Another update was promised for 1.30, but now it's 2.00....local time......here's hoping, but not looking great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭abff

Suspended for the day.

Shane has just finished with a 66 and is in a tie for 2nd, 6 shots behind Poulter. Could have been been even better - he finished with a 6 on the par 5 18th.

Looks like miserable weather there today - Shane has a good record in bad weather. Great to see him second having just drained a 25 footer!

Disappointing in the end for Shane. Level par round. Very hard to follow a good round with another. Still up there though, and should get a big cheque.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Just watching it now and I really can't see how anyone can have a gripe with the Sky coverage.

Maybe he wasn't shown much on day 1... Fair enough, as he wasn't doing much.
    As for the lads in studio, they are almost OTT in their praise and admiration of him. If he was an English player and we were listening to them go on like that about them, we'd be asking them to give it a break.

Bar the odd poor cameraman, I don't think there's much to have a gripe with Sky tbh.

vienne86 wrote: »
    Disappointing in the end for Shane. Level par round. Very hard to follow a good round with another. Still up there though, and should get a big cheque.

His play was a bit ragged over the last few holes, but he's left himself in with a chance of winning and a good chance of picking up a big cheque. He must hate that 18th though - 12 shots on it today.

PARlance wrote: »
    Just watching it now and I really can't see how anyone can have a gripe with the Sky coverage.

Maybe he wasn't shown much on day 1... Fair enough, as he wasn't doing much.
    As for the lads in studio, they are almost OTT in their praise and admiration of him. If he was an English player and we were listening to them go on like that about them, we'd be asking them to give it a break.

Bar the odd poor cameraman, I don't think there's much to have a gripe with Sky tbh.

When Shane is in the mix, he usually gets good coverage, and to be fair, Sky are really positive about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

Good start -2 for 3 holes

He's just played a fabulous approach to the fourth - should sink a birdie. With Westwod and Poulter in the final group, Sky are obviously going to lavish their attention on them rather than Shane's group.

That was an eagle putt he left himself....and made it. Joint top now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭me89

Nice eagle on the 4th. Tied for the lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,776 ✭✭✭Speak Now

-14 for the first 4 holes this week :eek:
    Brutal tee shot on the 5th :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭me89

And then he finds the water on 5 :-(

Aargh.....next tee shot in the water. Feck feck feck!

Triple bogey.....that'll cost him BIG. Damn anyway. Forget it, lad, and get on with the birdies.

:( +5 for the week from the 5th hole on! Will be hard to come back from that disaster.

Didn't realise that.....was he in the water before?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

That was just brutal...:(

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

That was some disaster.

And on the next....they just said he had shot 5, and not finished yet.....got a double bogey. Ah Shane, what's happening??? That's his chance gone, in two holes. He must be gutted.

OK, so this one is not for Shane, but does anyone know now how he needs to do this week to make it to the top 50 on the OWGR?

vienne86 wrote: »
    OK, so this one is not for Shane, but does anyone know now how he needs to do this week to make it to the top 50 on the OWGR?

I thought I heard top 6 or top 8ish, obviously depends on others. His counting tournaments is going up from 51 to 52 so his average will drop now. Tied 26 now wow, wasn't long ago tied for the lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Pity to see his fall from T1 to T22 in 2 holes.

Chin up my man, put it behind you.

Hope he can pick up a couple of shots over the last few holes. His head must be wrecked by what happened on the 5th and 6th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Maths1

IF EVER A PLAYER NEEDED A COURSE IN COURSE MANAGEMENT IT'S SHANE LOWRY,PLUS A CADDIE WHO IS CAPABLE OF OF FOCUSING HIM.TOO MANY MISTAKES IN HIS GAME ,AND SEEMS INCAPABLE OF PLAYING 4 REASONABLE ROUNDS IN ANY TOURNAMENT.HW WILL DROP PLACES IN THE OWGR

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

Maths1 wrote: »
    IF EVER A PLAYER NEEDED A COURSE IN COURSE MANAGEMENT IT'S SHANE LOWRY,PLUS A CADDIE WHO IS CAPABLE OF OF FOCUSING HIM.TOO MANY MISTAKES IN HIS GAME ,AND SEEMS INCAPABLE OF PLAYING 4 REASONABLE ROUNDS IN ANY TOURNAMENT.HW WILL DROP PLACES IN THE OWGR

Wasn't going to bother reading when I saw all CAPS..... unfortunately I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,944 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Maths1 wrote: »

Maths1 are you good at maths.

Have a look at last column here. :)

http://www.owgr.com/en/Ranking/PlayerProfile.aspx?playerID=13900