Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - See Mod Warning in OP, 09/11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

You'd swear United were the only team with injuries. Arsenal, West Ham, Newcastle to name a few with weaker squads and injury problems doing at least as well as United

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭eamondunphy

Good post.

I just see very little to make me believe. Money was thrown at the problem, but anyone can do that. The five at the back thing was there and then it was gone. It's difficult to see what type of style we're trying to play. The jury's still out on a number of the purchases and areas that required strengthening seem to have been ignored.

The sad fact is that the right manager (Jose) was available in 2013 but we went a crazy route instead.

whens vidal signing???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,992 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Having watched both Chelsea and City games these are my feelings on things so far this season,only saw highlights of other league games.
    New signings wise Di Maria- is a proven special talent who is getting silly abuse on here for taking a few poor corners yday,Ge has brought a sense of adventure and verve to team,not seen since days of Tevez and Ronaldo.
    Blind- is a steady influence in front of back four but I worry about his lack of pace,goes against him in a race to defend if we are playing a counterattacking team.
    Rojo- has been patchy,tends to either let ball bounce or actually gets on too far under it when facing high balls,prog not helping him to be in such an injury hit defence.
    Falcao- has shown glimpses of his talent but is costing a lot to have sitting in stand injured.
    I think Van Gaal should have put more effort into trying to sign a top CB last Summer rather than just waiting to give all Moyes/Fergies defenders a chance in pre season.People say no one top quality was avail but money talks esp to players agents!...
    Will be interesting to see how Strootman/Vidal story's develop again coming up to Christmas Transfer window.
    IMO if we make CL next yr(which is well doable in a poor enough premiership this yr) Blind would be exposed by the top sides if we had him as our Def midfielder,he's fine as a squad player.
    Re yday game,I thought after 60 mins,Van Gaal should have taken off Van Persie and given Wilson a decent spell on....or taken off RVP,brought Herrera on in midfield and put Rooney up top.
    Re the Van Gaal poor points total after ten games been less than Moyes,Van Gaal has had more injuries to work around,and ultimately will try and play the swashbuckling football Man Utd are known for,not the safe football Moyes excelled at with Everton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

he also pointed out that Blind has to start looking for RVP runs more instead of taking the safe option.

As ive said before, i dont think he has the skillset to do this. Extra shield in front of back 4 is fine and spraying 80 passes a game left and right but we need more.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

whens vidal signing???

Its been a while since I've had to remind people but there has been mod warnings about this. Drop it now. Dragging up things from two months ago to get one up on a poster is petty, and this very specific thing has been warned about before. And I remind people as usual, you do not ever have to respond to a poster who you don't like or whose ideology you don't like; if you feel someone needs mod attention, report it. But you don't ever have to respond.

I will also reiterate, however, that while you're allowed to hold any opinion, positive or negative, you are not allowed to soapbox, and you're not allowed to continually push a single message over and over to the point of deliberately antagonizing posters or derailing a thread.

Things have been salty today, with people taking shots at each other. Get over yourselves, think before you post, ignore people or report them if you think they are causing trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

people have to remember, Sir alex ferguson built the club to where it is, the greatest manager the game has ever seen, 26 years, knew every single staff member and made it his business to meet all staff. standards sky high ,never dropping, united were a well oiled machine.

when he dropped the bombshell he was leaving and when he did leave, it was a massive void and shock to everybody, fans included. standards dropped, players felt down, no matter who came in after fergie was always on a hiding to nothing, be it moyes or whoever. we fell that far behind last year that it is going to take at least a year to get back to where we want to be. Top 4 IS the priority this year, get that and with the new adidas deal in place along with champions league football, united will be back challenging for both the league and champions league before too long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,314 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Plenty to be positive about though so far this season

The attitude seems to be back. Yesterday while we did not get anything the fight and spirit.

Aye, but we have the same amount of points as Newcastle united.....Newcastle ****ing United with their sack pardew campaign. Jesus christ how have things got so bad. People making excuses about our defenders getting injured....they've been getting injured each year for 3 or 4 years now, this isn't a new occurrence yet we never sorted this in the transfer market.
    We spent 150 million in the summer, the least we should expect is a bit of fight and spirit. We've spent a fortune on players but fans here seem to be happy that we only lost 1 nil. Bloody hell, wake up and smell the coffee lads.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

Sacramento wrote: »
    Another good point, agreed, the motivation LVG instills in the players is another huge improvement.

Nebulous stuff in other words.

Where is this motivation evident?

This is our worst start to a season since 1986. And that's with just the league to focus on and a relatively easy run of games to kick off.

And all of this with a fortune spent.

We have made NO progress when you consider all of the above. We have regressed. With the squad he had relative to this one, Moyes did better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

That zaha is fair ****ing woeful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Aye, but we have the same amount of points as Newcastle united.....Newcastle ****ing United with their sack pardew campaign. Jesus christ how have things got so bad. People making excuses about our defenders getting injured....they've been getting injured each year for 3 or 4 years now, this isn't a new occurrence yet we never sorted this in the transfer market.
    We spent 150 million in the summer, the least we should expect is a bit of fight and spirit. We've spent a fortune on players but fans here seem to be happy that we only lost 1 nil. Bloody hell, wake up and smell the coffee lads.

Expecting miracles so soon into the season when we're constantly changing personnel is nuts. So what, we're level with Newcastle? Is the league over already? The performances this season are already 10 times better than last season. Results will follow performances where as last year we were praying for a results despite poor performances and absolutely archaic tactics.

We could have addressed the defence more in the summer but LVG obviously felt good going forward with the center halfs we had. We've been decimated at the back all season with Jones injured, Smalling injured, Rojo now injured, Shaw being injured, Blackett suspended, Rafael injured, even bloody McNair picked up an injury at one stage.

We'll invest in January, I've no doubt. Until then I'm still going to enjoy the fact we've a bit of fight and hunger back in the side aswell as playing much better football. People getting on Van Gaal's back already are spoilt by the success we've had through the years. We've no right to win the title every year, but some seem to think we do and demand success right now - despite it being November and LVG warning that his sides are slow starters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Nebulous stuff in other words.

Where is this motivation evident.

This is our worst start to a season since 1986. And that's with just the league to focus on and a relatively easy run of games to kick off.

And all of this with a fortune spent.

We have made NO progress when you consider all of the above. We have regressed. With the squad he had relative to this one, Moyes did better.

we will win our next 4 games..... you heard it hear first......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

And so we go round and round again with the same stuff over and over
    ani-comments-you-spin-me-right-round.gif

I think ill move to reddevils. Seems to be a bit more sane there at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,314 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Expecting miracles so soon into the season when we're constantly changing personnel is nuts.

Don't think anyone was expecting miracles, just to have more than 13 points after 10 games given the fortune we spent in the summer.

Although being overly optimistic I felt, LVG said at the start of the season that we could challenge for the title, 10 games in and we are already 13 points behind...

Hopefully he gets the team working. I'm sure eventually things will improve but I fear it could be too late. 7 points minimum needed from the palace, arsenal and hull games imo.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

We will beat Palace, we will beat Arsenal and we will beat Hull.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

And so we go round and round again with the same stuff over and over
    ani-comments-you-spin-me-right-round.gif

I think ill move to reddevils. Seems to be a bit more sane there at times

They are a circle jerk and we are a knee jerk circle

kryogen wrote: »
    We will beat Palace, we will beat Arsenal and we will beat Hull.

Arsenal were fairly awesome on Saturday. They didn't score for a while but had a lot of chances and as soon as Ramsey came on they looked incredible. Shaw has been good the last 2 games but Walcott is back now so that's bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Don't think anyone was expecting miracles, just to have more than 13 points after 10 games given the fortune we spent in the summer.

Although being overly optimistic I felt, LVG said at the start of the season that we could challenge for the title, 10 games in and we are already 13 points behind...

Hopefully he gets the team working. I'm sure eventually things will improve but I fear it could be too late. 7 points minimum needed from the palace, arsenal and hull games imo.

Look at the games we dropped points in though. Smalling doesn't act completely stupid and reckless and we're more than capable of getting a point yesterday, a poor refereeing decision and Blackett against Leicester ended up costing us 3 points. Those two alone would put us level with Arsenal in the top 4.

Results will follow the performances - which was proved last year - there's only so long you can get away with playing muck and scraping results. The flip side of which is that the more consistent and better we perform, the points will follow.

Liam O wrote: »
    Arsenal were fairly awesome on Saturday. They didn't score for a while but had a lot of chances and as soon as Ramsey came on they looked incredible. Shaw has been good the last 2 games but Walcott is back now so that's bad.

Meh, its Arsenal. Always confident when we play them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

If we had own against Leicester and gotten a win against west brom, this 'meltdown' and justifying it's not a meltdown would never have happened. We would be probably be giving us a chance of winning the league.

I don't think we will ever see 2 those games again so the people freaking out need to understand that. 2 games at the very start of his job and for 6 other players, combine those 6 with the other regular 5 players and it's a brand new team. No wonder they lost against those 2 teams.

There is so many variables to those 2 games. Himself and moyes should not be judged on their first 10 games. From 10 to 20 we will see what is happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

It's kinda funny thought that after years of crying out to improve midfield, we get a midfield that can hold it's own against the top 2 teams in england and then the defence and attack fall apart

The half way point is the first decent comparison point really, but even at that its stupid.

Di Matteo had a great win ratio after his first 21 games at Chelsea, over 60%, Avram Grant had a 67% win ratio over his 54 games losing just 5 in that time. Is he a top manager because of that? Klopp is a regular name to pop up on peoples hit lists as United manager, two time German manager of the year, led an unfancied side to a CL final recently, is he now a poor manager due to his Dortmund side being, I think, off the bottom of the table on goal difference alone?

Where we finish at the end of the season will tell you whether it has been a good campaign or not. That is the only points total that makes a blind bit of difference. Anything else is just having a ****

If we had own against Leicester and gotten a win against west brom, this 'meltdown' and justifying it's not a meltdown would never have happened. We would be probably be giving us a chance of winning the league.

I don't think we will ever see 2 those games again so the people freaking out need to understand that. 2 games at the very start of his job and for 6 other players, combine those 6 with the other regular 5 players and it's a brand new team. No wonder they lost against those 2 teams.

There is so many variables to those 2 games. Himself and moyes should not be judged on their first 10 games. From 10 to 20 we will see what is happening.

Fair play to you for engaging in reasoned debate.

However, I've an issue with your argument - You're suggesting that we judge Van Gaal based on things that haven't happened. The only objective measure is results - And with the biggest spend in the history of the club, we've seen the worst results since 1986.

How was Mourinho able to take over Chelsea the first time, integrate a load of new players and win the league at a canter? Pellegrini did the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

How was Mourinho able to take over Chelsea the first time, integrate a load of new players and win the league at a canter? Pellegrini did the same.

Why couldn't Mourinho do it last year? van Gaal has done that very same thing at other clubs. Guess what? Things don't always go to plan straight away.

Mourinho mounted a credible title challenge last season.

Van Gaal has spent north of £100m and presided over our worst start to a season since 1986.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,924 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Van Gaal has spent north of £100m and presided over our worst start to a season since 1986.
    And with the biggest spend in the history of the club, we've seen the worst results since 1986.

Say that again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Mourinho mounted a credible title challenge last season.

Chelsea were poor last season, it was a poor league tbh. He took over a team that finished 3rd and over the course of a full season finished up 3rd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,060 ✭✭✭✭adox

I honestly don't think that some people realise the damage that was done last season and the state the club was in at the end of the season, and there has been huge changes again since then.

Calling for Van Gaals head at this early stage is beyond ludicrous and this is coming from someone who was calling for Moyes head at this stage last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

adox wrote: »
    I honestly don't think that some people realise the damage that was done last season and the state the club was in at the end of the season, and there has been huge changes again since then.

Calling for Van Gaals head at this early stage is beyond ludicrous and this is coming from someone who was calling for Moyes head at this stage last season.

Well calling for Moyes' head at this stage last year was equally stupid. Managers deserve more than 10 games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Bridge93 wrote: »
    Well calling for Moyes' head at this stage last year was equally stupid. Managers deserve more than 10 games.

Not really.

You dont call for the head of a WC manager that has a pedigree to prove it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,060 ✭✭✭✭adox

Bridge93 wrote: »

Well that's where I disagree. Different times, different circumstances. Utd wouldn't have so far to climb back up if Moyes had been removed sooner.

Anyway not trying to rehash the Moyes debate, was just trying to give some context when commenting on the calls for Van Gaals head.