Season 5 | Episode 2 | Strangers [AMC] [SPOILERS]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Chip Whitley

5starpool wrote: »
    No spoilers in the below really but I'll tag it anyhow as it references the comics, but
    a couple of things straight from the comics there (with a different character in one case) lessened the tension a bit for me as I know how it'll play out.

Exactly how I felt about it. Decent episode that probably would have been better had
    I not read the comics!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Anyone else love that ending?

Pretty mundane stuff, the odd walker, way too much dialogue and then boom... Right at the end
    the people who have Beth speed by and Bob's foot is being eaten by cannibals!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,512 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Season 5 | Episode 2 | Strangers [AMC] [SPOILERS]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

5starpool wrote: »
    No spoilers in the below really but I'll tag it anyhow as it references the comics, but
    a couple of things straight from the comics there (with a different character in one case) lessened the tension a bit for me as I know how it'll play out.

I know what you mean but it's been three years since I read this story arc in the comics and it's just far enough back that I can't quite remember what's going to happen next. So it's still relatively fresh for me...a bit like
    Bob's foot

I see on the first page there was some moaning about this episode being slow and a comedown after the amazing opener, blah blah...but jesus what do people expect? I thought it was an enjoyable, solid episode. This one was always going to be about seeing the gang back together, Rick and Abraham getting to know each other, maybe a bit of downtime for them all after the trauma of what went before, etc. Reading some of the comments here I find it amazing that some people actually made it through season 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭BMmeow

In the comics
    Dale is the one whos leg eaten and they find out they're eating tainted flesh! I think bob could have been infected when pulled in that water & it explains why he was outside crying and kinda looked like he was limping?

Maybe the termites saved Bob by cutting his leg off?

Then again Gareth also ate the leg and theres no way he's going to be killed for eating the meat so soon into the season. so maybe not infected at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Liamalone

BMmeow wrote: »
    I!

GTF ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,925 ✭✭✭Calibos

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Jaysus that was a great episode, new mysterious character, new 'Safe house', back story details between characters, plan to move ahead to dc and the return of the fine young cannibals. Wasn't expecting them so quick.....
    Yeah, 'That Drives me Crazy' too.

Henceforth, I demand that all references to the Terminites be changed to The Fine Young Cannibals. Brilliant ;)

I guess one could now say that Bob has been Terminated :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭terryduff12

For the whole episode I could something happening to bob one more Kiss crap, going out crying with his backs to the woods, they`ll be back to calling the walkers behind trees killing them so as not to upset anyone like Hershel done back in the prison. Is it that the writers haven`t a clue or would people be that stupid in them situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

In the comics
    Dale is the one whos leg eaten

Probably best to spoiler that unless it's your intention to give away a possible story line.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,392 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

After the fight in the food kitchen, and Bob walking out by himself, I was sure Bob was a goner. At the time, I was kinda nervous, waiting for the other boot to drop. :D

Shame Tyrese didn't finish the job. Worse that he lied about it.

Glad someone remembered Beth (at the end at least)

I think the car driver was locked outside by Gabriel. Someone who worked in the church with him. Did we ever see was it male / female? Just that they always seem hidden, like they want a big reveal. Maybe a kid. Maybe a woman?

Then again, soft as she's been, I would have thought Beth would have been up to a bit of ass kicking. Especially after hanging around with Daryl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Baby4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,220 ✭✭✭maximoose

In the comics
    Dale is the one whos leg eaten and they find out they're eating tainted flesh! I think bob could have been infected when pulled in that water & it explains why he was outside crying and kinda looked like he was limping?

Maybe the termites saved Bob by cutting his leg off?

Then again Gareth also ate the leg and theres no way he's going to be killed for eating the meat so soon into the season. so maybe not infected at all!

I thought this as well, why else would he be crying?

Great episode I thought, but like others the comics dampened the impact for me as you could tell what was coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭hollypink

Baby4 wrote: »
    Loved this episode, but a couple of things bugged me:

- They keep wandering off into the night on their own (Bob, Carol, Daryl). It's Season 5 ffs! They know the deal by now...

Me too, especially as they couldn't be sure all the Sanctuary people were dead, could they?

I really thought based on his behaviour that
    Bob had been bitten; I wonder if this is the end for him, certainly looks like it. The closing scene I found a bit disturbing, reminded me of a cellar scene in the film/book "The Road". It certainly heightened the horror! It occurred to me that if Bob was bitten, it would have been on the leg/foot, so maybe the fine young cannibals (love that!) inadvertently saved him. But there are too many holes in that. Everyone else got sick very soon after being bitten and anyway they'd surely have noticed the bite before they took his leg.[\spoiler]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Baby4 wrote: »

Also when the group were traipsing through the forest at various times there was no sign of the kid......who dropped the baby

Carl had Judith a lot of the time, pretty sure she was always visible enough when they were moving around!

As for the wandering off in to the night.. Bob we are speculating on, but Carol I thought was intending to leave the group again for whatever reason - Daryl copped this and followed her to stop her.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

What annoyed me was that there was so much attention on Bob throughout the episode and I knew that something was going to happen to him. But the annoyance was put to bed once it was understood that all the boyo-s were sitting around eating his leg.

I really think that he may have been scratched or bitten in the cellar and he was hiding it. It would be interesting to see if it went that route.

I'm a bit pee'd off because of the whole mystery around the new priest and how he survived, and what detective Coral found on the wall of the church.

One other thing....when Bob was taken by the Terminus lads, there was a scratch or marking on the tree. We seen something like that last week on Morgans return

tumblr_ndd219hbA21t55st9o1_500.jpg

The drab, lifeless conversations are back

Boom_Bap wrote: »

I'm a bit pee'd off because of the whole mystery around the new priest and how he survived, and what detective Coral found on the wall of the church.

I think that'll be answered shortly enough, they seems to be lifting everything about his story from the comics

The actor pees me off cuz he just reminds meof the bollix of a character he played in Oz :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Also this magical solution mullet man has for 'killing off the undead' are they aware all the living has the virus also? ........have never followed any of the comics so pardon my ignorance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Decent episode, enjoyed it.

That said, the writers are still committing glaring errors in terms the bullsh1t they expect us to accept and believe.

Like many have said already, why are people wandering around, at night, in the dark on their own? The world is infested with zombies. Added to that, they've just escaped from a group of cannibals who will be royally pissed off that their old home and most of their buddies are dead. Its just sloppy and lazy writing.

Also, if you were that suspicious of the priest would you lay into his "wine" stash and get sloshed? It could be drugged or, worse, if you are attacked you wont be able to put up a fight if you are half cut.

And why do they just believe mullet man in his claims that he can fix it all? Lets all put our faith in this complete stranger who has offered no real scientific evidence or explanation as to how he can solve this problem and trek on to DC.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Following on from a discussion on the Episode 1 thread, a point was raised that the mullet man had something to tell Rick and the gang.
    It was thought that it was that they didn't know about the mission to Washington. But that was cleared up last night that they all know about it. But it was also alluded that there was still something else that they are not telling Rick and the Posse.
    I think I mentioned that it might be something to do with the baby, but in the context of Ep 2, it was maybe something about Michonne??

Or am I barking up the wrong bush on this?

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,392 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Following on from a discussion on the Episode 1 thread, a point was raised that the mullet man had something to tell Rick and the gang.
    It was thought that it was that they didn't know about the mission to Washington. But that was cleared up last night that they all know about it. But it was also alluded that there was still something else that they are not telling Rick and the Posse.
    I think I mentioned that it might be something to do with the baby, but in the context of Ep 2, it was maybe something about Michonne??

Or am I barking up the wrong bush on this?

What in this makes you think Michonne is something to do with it? I recall her talking about how she misses the hershell and andrea, but not the time before that... Nothing that stands out?

MarkR wrote: »
    What in this makes you think Michonne is something to do with it? I recall her talking about how she misses the hershell and andrea, but not the time before that... Nothing that stands out?

I'd need to watch it again, but I recall it being mentioned that they need to tell them everything and they were looking at Michonne at the time, or she was also onscreen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭obriendj

MarkR wrote: »

At the start Michonne killed a zombie and the Army guys said "that's why we need to careful" or something like that.

obriendj wrote: »
    At the start Michonne killed a zombie and the Army guys said "that's why we need to careful" or something like that.

Yeah, twas something like that alright.

I got the impression that the priest had holed himself up in the church the entire time up until now. The scratch marks and messages on the outside were people trying to get in. I assume the priest didn't let anyone in and that he will "BURN FOR THIS".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

IDK the next time on Walking dead are usually spoilerific and they didn't hint at any sort of pay off in that regard, could be they are throwing a curveball and the crying jag was just him letting out all all the pent up emotions he keeps in check to maintain his sunny optimistic attitude in front of the GF and the others.
    I thought it was because he had been bitten by the skeleton that attacked him and he was sad because he knew he was going to turn. I was expecting him to take out his gun and blow his brains out to save the rest of the group. I didn't see it coming that he was going to be kidnapped.
    sonofenoch wrote: »
    Also this magical solution mullet man has for 'killing off the undead' are they aware all the living has the virus also? ........have never followed any of the comics so pardon my ignorance
    His weak explanation was that the cure is an anti virus that will attack the virus cells in the living and the dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

I got the impression that the priest had holed himself up in the church the entire time up until now. The scratch marks and messages on the outside were people trying to get in. I assume the priest didn't let anyone in and that he will "BURN FOR THIS".
    It thought that too. It would be a pretty weak plot point if it turns out to be true. The main door is pretty solid but the windows only have wooden shutters and glass. It would be pretty easy to break those if desperate.

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    It thought that too. It would be a pretty weak plot point if it turns out to be true. The main door is pretty solid but the windows only have wooden shutters and glass. It would be pretty easy to break those if desperate.

Meh, best not to get hung up on the physical possibilities of this world. You will drive yourself mad. There is no consistency in that regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭willowthewisp

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Jaysus that was a great episode, new mysterious character, new 'Safe house', back story details between characters, plan to move ahead to dc and the return of the fine young cannibals. Wasn't expecting them so quick. And then we had 3 guys from the wire in the same scene. I dunno what people want.

Maybe I'm bias as i read the comics and love when the tv show follows a comic arc so closely.

Ok I know the Priest was in the wire but pardon my ignorance who were the other two?