Ebola virus outbreak

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Head medical man for Ireland says it a very slim chance it will spread here.
    You cant say that, there is every chance it will spread here if there are more cases in Europe.
    Glad to know they we are in safe hands:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Yes but that doesn't mean it's airborne. If someone sneezes or coughs on you from close proximity it would be considered direct contact.

For it to be considered airborne the virus would need to remain viable and travel a greater distance while suspended within an aerosol droplet or attached to a dust particle etc, which isn't the case.

I never said it was airborne, just that it is possible to be transmitted through a sneeze or a cough. Yes that would be considered direct contact, but the definition of that is being within 3 feet of an infected person. I think most people would presume direct contact means touching the person or them literally sneezing in your face if they didn't know any different.

It can remain viable suspended in an aerosol liquid for up to 90 mins.

I learned today that Hiccups were how the Doctors knew it was Ebola. Up till then the outbreak was believed to have been Lassa.
    It was this single symptom that helped them identify the disease.

Hiccups. Ye earn something knew every day :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,623 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Just listening to Dr.Ciara Kelly on the Right Hook - dear God, if half what she's says about the HSE response is true we had better start ringing our undertakers. Apparently GPs have been issued with 1 (!) completely inadequate (her words) paper type suit to wear when treating potential Ebola cases. If you think you may have the virus, you're advised to report to your doctor's surgery and take a seat. Preferably travel by public transport and cough over as many people as possible. Shades of the Joe Jacob iodine tablet farce. :rolleyes:

Didn't hear it myself but weren't they supposed to have a professor that specializes in virology on as well?

What did he have to say about it? Does he believe the response has been inadequate so far, or that doctors aren't equipped to deal with it?

What exactly does Ciara Kelly want anyway.. for full fcuking lab-class hazmat suits and gear to be sent to every single doctor in the country? That yoke is more interested in talking shite in the Sindo and on Newstalk than she is about actual medicine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

WakeUp wrote: »
    thats unfair. people from the west and other places are heading out there to try and help these people, putting themselves and others at risk and in some cases losing their lives. the west is just expected to sort this out though doing that costs both money and lives. without our help west Africa is lost. without our help the continent of Africa may be lost. they cant sort this out on their own I dont know where you are getting your information from I wonder are you paying attention. I would consider myself liberal about a number of things and liberal thinking has its place though when the time comes , and it might come, when hard decisions need to be taken, the liberal mindset with regard to this outbreak would be best served just standing aside. because that mindset isnt hard wired nor capable of making the decisions that might need to be taken. and its has nothing to do with race or creed or whatever. without our help and expertise west Africa is phucked. and they know it.

Slight exaggeration perhaps?

I wonder how many people on this thread have contributed to the ebola appeals.

What hard decisions do you feel need to be made?

Jake1 wrote: »
    I learned today that Hiccups were how the Doctors knew it was Ebola. Up till then the outbreak was believed to have been Lassa.
    It was this single symptom that helped them identify the disease.

Hiccups. Ye earn something knew every day :p

Does a big fright cure it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I don't know about all of West Africa but Liberia is on the brink of collapse. It's spreading exponentially there, doubling every 3 to 4 weeks. There has been no reporting of new cases for a week. Somehow I doubt that is because the disease has suddenly stopped infecting people. As more people flee the into neighboring countries it is going to get worse. Here is what the deputy head of the UN has to say about it.
    WHO deputy head Bruce Aylward warned that the world's response was not keeping up with the disease in Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone.

The three countries have appealed for more aid to help fight the disease.

The outbreak has killed more than 3,860 people, mainly in West Africa.

More than 200 health workers are among the victims.

Speaking on Thursday, Mr Aylward said the situation was worse than it was 12 days ago.

"The disease is entrenched in the capitals, 70% of the people affected are definitely dying from this disease, and it is accelerating in almost all of the settings," he said.

The medical charity Medecins Sans Frontieres (MSF) reported a sharp increase of Ebola cases in the Guinean capital, Conakry, dashing hopes that that the disease was being stabilised there.

Speaking to the BBC on Friday, MSF President Joanna Liu called for urgent international action.

"We're not winning the battle," she said.

"To get ahead of the game we're going to need to deploy much more massively than what we have done so far."

At least one in 20 of those killed in the latest outbreak were medical workers, she said.

Personally, I have donated to MSF and I hope others here would do the same. The problem belongs to all of us now, not just Africa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭WakeUp

not if the numbers keep going the way they are going it isnt an exaggeration. the who figure for infections is what 7 or 8 thousand something like that. triple that number is probably a more accurate figure. ebola is exponential that means as things stand the virus is winning and human beings are playing catch up. mother nature is the ultimate serial killer and ebola one of her most efficient cruelest tricks yet. whilst I agree with people not panicking and such if the professionals arent sure what is exactly going on how can ordinary people be so sure things are grand. the answer is they cant how could they. we still have time to bring this under control but that window is closing. and whilst there is still time to do this, with regard to hard decisions, Im not going there yet. though if the time comes I will.

You really don't like capital letters, do you?

do you like dags? and this is relevant to the discussion how. whats your point..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

I donated to Irish Red Cross. People should do so, if you haven't already. Its not really a selfless act.

http://www.redcross.ie/fundraising/donate-now/

do you like dags? and this is relevant to the discussion how. whats your point..

You are not alone.
    http://www.wrongplanet.net/postt145691.html

I do like dogs. I own a Labrador.

You are not alone.
    http://www.wrongplanet.net/postt145691.html

I do like dogs. I own a Labrador.

there was someone else on this thread a while ago fixated on my non-usage of the caps lock button so you are not alone either. a fear of capital letters the randomer on the blog says so with his frivolous topic:D Im sry it appears to bother you so much but thats your problem isnt it not mine. Im a cat person myself but I like dags too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

Saipanne wrote: »
    I donated to Irish Red Cross. People should do so, if you haven't already. Its not really a selfless act.

n how about MSF ?

http://www.msf.ie/donate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭realweirdo

Doctors and medical personal are/will be the focal point of any spread here in ireland as they were in west africa. Likewise doctors surgeries. They will treat the patient not knowing if they have ebola or not and infect themselves. Its unfair to expect them to bear the brunt of this.

Someone recently returned from west africa with symptoms similar to ebola should not be brought to ordinary doctors surgeries but to specialist units somewhere. Otherwise its a huge risk that increases by the day.

Harsh? Yes. But nessecary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

realweirdo wrote: »
    Doctors and medical personal are/will be the focal point of any spread here in ireland as they were in west africa. Likewise doctors surgeries. They will treat the patient not knowing if they have ebola or not and infect themselves. Its unfair to expect them to bear the brunt of this.

Someone recently returned from west africa with symptoms similar to ebola should not be brought to ordinary doctors surgeries but to specialist units somewhere. Otherwise its a huge risk that increases by the day.

That is a very fair suggestion.

http://www.redcross.ie/fundraising/donate-now/

People should donate to whatever charity they choose themselves really.

Irish Red cross would not be my choice.

there was someone else on this thread a while ago fixated on my non-usage of the caps lock button so you are not alone either. a fear of capital letters the randomer on the blog says so with his frivolous topic:D Im sry it appears to bother you so much but thats your problem isnt it not mine. Im a cat person myself but I like dags too.

doesn't really bother me. i am just intrigued. however i will now make it my life's quest to search all your posts in search of a capital letter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Jake1 wrote: »
    People should donate to whatever charity they choose themselves really.

Irish Red cross would not be my choice.

Any charity will do. Happy?

I dont think the world is going to end but I wonder how long this James Ball chap has been studying the virus. he looks about 12. and from what I can see has no medical qualifications. he isnt qualified to be making such statements. in August he declared the outbreak to be linear, among other things, and not exponential. he got that wrong. and you dont need to be a virologist nor an epidemiologist to know and spot an exponential curve. Im sure he had a look at some charts. or maybe he didnt. didnt matter anyway.

What the hell happened here!!?? 6 of them!!

I can't stand inconsistency!

doesn't really bother me. i am just intrigued. however i will now make it my life's quest to search all your posts in search of a capital letter.

fair enough good for you, mystery is a good thing:D start a diary maybe its a good way of keeping track of things each day you dont find one should be marked with an "x" and a this :mad: . good luck in that cup.

Any charity will do. Happy?

I now realise my post come's acoss, as quite snotty. It wasnt meant to be.

I apologise, Saipanne. No offense meant :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭delahuntv

realweirdo wrote: »

and its misinformed comments like this that leads to hysteria.

its a pity people don't do a little research on what they are commenting on.

I heard one an post sorting office was going to walk out because one staff member had just returned from Nigeria! - Nigeria is ebola free and is almost 3000 km from Liberia!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

I have not donated anything. I have immense sympathy for people stuck there in afflicted regions of africa, kids stuck there being treated as pariahs after their own parents have died of ebla and with nobody willing to vsit them, I avoid such stories because it gets to me very badly.
    Can you make once off donations? Maybe I am unusual in that I have to examine my budget before I donate any more, since I'm already signed up to monthly standing orders for dog's trust and a charity to help people in gaza so they won't get cholera. I have no subscriptions except internet and no club memberships or other commitments related to leisure or social activities- not sure if i've much of a margin to donate more right now. I could consider giving up buying shampoo or food or something :O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭realweirdo

delahuntv wrote: »
    and its misinformed comments like this that leads to hysteria.

its a pity people don't do a little research on what they are commenting on.

I heard one an post sorting office was going to walk out because one staff member had just returned from Nigeria! - Nigeria is ebola free and is almost 3000 km from Liberia!

I'm not the only one who thinks this way

http://www.independent.ie/world-news/europe/one-or-two-ebola-victims-could-arrive-in-ireland-professor-30653064.html
    "Everyone who has a fever should be asked their travel history. If they have been in a country where there has been an Ebola outbreak there should be a plan for their care," he said.

Clear guidelines have been set out that detail what steps they should take in terms of tests and referral to specialist care.

"If they have a fever and have been to West Africa then you need to execute a detailed protocol. There is a flow-chart on the web which tells a GP what to do in the case of a suspected Ebola case.

Suppose you will call him misinformed too?

Where I disagree with him though is that a doctor who checks the patient without a hazmat suit is potentially exposing themselves to ebola.

Ebola is not really something you can make mistakes with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,160 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Can sexual activity spread ebola?

ryanf1 wrote: »

Yes, infectious people can spread it through semen and presumably so can females spread it through sex. I have read that even if a person survives ebola they can spread it via sexual intercourse for a few months after their recovery!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,820 ✭✭✭ProfessorPlum

But you can sneeze for a non ebola reason while you have ebola- im not sick, ive no allergies, no cold or flu and not in a particularly dusty environment and i sneezed a few times already today. I automatically went to cover my face but Im sure a bit of moisture could have landed on my desk or anything i was standing close to andif i was in the early flu like stage of ebola and going out and about and sneezing away ..well..could be a problem.

I think unless the person is very sick and have very high viral loads it is very unlikely.

http://www.cidrap.umn.edu/news-perspective/2014/10/who-cdc-dissect-ebola-transmission-risk

"Saliva and tears may also carry some risk. However, the studies implicating these additional bodily fluids were extremely limited in sample size and the science is inconclusive. In studies of saliva, the virus was found most frequently in patients at a severe stage of illness. The whole live virus has never been isolated from sweat."

"Theoretically, wet and bigger droplets from a heavily infected individual, who has respiratory symptoms caused by other conditions or who vomits violently, could transmit the virus—over a short distance—to another nearby person,"

But it said it has not seen any studies that demonstrate this type of transmission—whereas solid studies from previous outbreaks show that all cases resulted from "direct close contact with symptomatic patients."

ryanf1 wrote: »

"The Ebola virus has also been detected in breast milk, urine, and semen," the statement adds. "In a convalescent male, the virus can persist in semen for at least 70 days; one study suggests persistence for more than 90 days.

I can't imagine it's a very common route of transmission. Steer clear of male partners who've recently recovered from Ebola.

I think unless the person is very sick and have very high viral loads it is very unlikely.

http://www.cidrap.umn.edu/news-perspective/2014/10/who-cdc-dissect-ebola-transmission-risk

"Saliva and tears may also carry some risk. However, the studies implicating these additional bodily fluids were extremely limited in sample size and the science is inconclusive. In studies of saliva, the virus was found most frequently in patients at a severe stage of illness. The whole live virus has never been isolated from sweat."

"Theoretically, wet and bigger droplets from a heavily infected individual, who has respiratory symptoms caused by other conditions or who vomits violently, could transmit the virus—over a short distance—to another nearby person,"

But it said it has not seen any studies that demonstrate this type of transmission—whereas solid studies from previous outbreaks show that all cases resulted from "direct close contact with symptomatic patients."

"The Ebola virus has also been detected in breast milk, urine, and semen," the statement adds. "In a convalescent male, the virus can persist in semen for at least 70 days; one study suggests persistence for more than 90 days.

I can't imagine it's a very common route of transmission. Steer clear of male partners who've recently recovered from Ebola.

That's all good.

Im not too worried about encounters with ebola survivors either :D I'm not worried for myself!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

:eek: Dead ebola victims coming back to life.

http://allafrica.com/stories/201409240829.html