If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - See Mod Warning in OP, 09/11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

xtal191 wrote: »
    Two bloody weeks for the next game, I wish international breaks would **** off!

this is one of the most needed international breaks in recent years with upwards of 10 lads out injured.

we have 15 days off and a chance to get perhaps 5 of those back in Smalling, Jones, Evans, Carrick and Herrera. Shaw hopefully isnt far off either.

just hope none of the 12 or so lads that do go away, get injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,552 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

McNair is gone for three weeks pulled hamstring.

Another one bites the dust..sigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,353 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

anyone else feeling very optimistic about this season? 4th should really be our target but i fancy us to get 3rd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

xtal191 wrote: »
    Two bloody weeks for the next game, I wish international breaks would **** off!

You're not excited about the Ireland vs Gibraltar and England vs San Marino games?

Personally, I can't wait to watc....zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Blind has been very good for the most part. Really smart player. Everton noticeably pressurised him second half because of the impact he had first half.

He was given acres of space in the first half and he did okay, nothing amazing. He was pressed in the second half and he was hopeless. He has been nothing like "very good" since his arrival.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

anyone else feeling very optimistic about this season?

Nah, not at the moment anyway. There's still a fear running through the team, it's going to take some time to get things right and I expect a really tough battle for 4th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,353 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Nah, not at the moment anyway. There's still a fear running through the team, it's going to take some time to get things right and I expect a really tough battle for 4th.
    i just think we are improving rapidly. january cannot come quick enough for strootman and a quality cb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Any chance of Anderson making a comeback against Chelsea and reigniting his rivalry with Fabregas..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭fuzzydunlop85

Think people are jumping the gun a bit on blind, we will know where he is at after the next four games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Think people are jumping the gun a bit on blind, we will know where he is at after the next four games.

This

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,869 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

K4t wrote: »
    Any chance of Anderson making a comeback against Chelsea and reigniting his rivalry with Fabregas..

Any chance Anderson, Cleverley, Fletcher, Fellaini and Carrick leave the club, and we sign a few decent midfielders like Vidal, Khedira or Strootman ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,869 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Sure, but we don't have crystal balls so can only comment in what we have seen so far.
    He's done well for United , plus looked good in the World Cup and with Ajax

After the Moyes debacle, people are excited to see a midfielder run, or take a shot on goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭KH25

Blind looks like he could be a very good signing. There have been some great instances of play from him so far but just as many times when he didnt play that well. I think a lot of people are basing their view on him at the world cup. IMO he's an upgrade on what we have (bar maybe Carrick) but he hasn't played his best just yet. I think getting Carrick back will help a lot. I think they'd be a good partnership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭Quandary

people are excited to see a midfielder run, or take a shot on goal

Agreed

We have been so starved of midfielders in the last 7 years that anyone half decent will be lauded as the next Xavi. In fairness though, Blind has been a breath of fresh air so far. He can receive a ball while under pressure, is at the very least a decent passer, he tries to make himself available for the pass instead of running in the opposite direction, and he isn't afraid to throw himself around a bit. He also appears to have a great attitude and seems like a down to earth lad.

Im delighted with his start so far and am looking forward to seeing how he does against the big boys. As long as he has Herrera back in the middle with him, I think we will do ok in the midfield against the Cities and Chelseas.

Our central defense is another matter entirely though. Lets just hope the break helps get a few lads back to fitness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,011 ✭✭✭brevity

Hello Utd Fans,

Quick question...so I got married recently and the father in law (Utd fan) helped out a lot with the wedding; as a present for his help I was hoping to try and get tickets to a game. I'd imagine there would be a few going over (between 4 & 6)...

What would be the best way to try and get tickets? We might stay a night in Manchester as well but that's tbc...

Any & all help appreciated. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,892 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

so we are jumping the gun after 3 games, but after 7 we can make a definitive judgement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭statto25

brevity wrote: »
    Hello Utd Fans,

Quick question...so I got married recently and the father in law (Utd fan) helped out a lot with the wedding; as a present for his help I was hoping to try and get tickets to a game. I'd imagine there would be a few going over (between 4 & 6)...

What would be the best way to try and get tickets? We might stay a night in Manchester as well but that's tbc...

You are probably better off asking the folks in the Tickets Forum
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=896
    There is a Man Utd specific thread there. They might be able to help you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

I see McNair has a hamstring injury. Officially a first team defender now! :D

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/29487243

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

brevity wrote: »
    Hello Utd Fans,

any game in mind?

you wont get 4 or 6 together, but you may get 3, plus 2, plus 1 for example or 3 sets of 2.

i have 4 tickets together though we are using them for most games at the moment, perhaps apart from Stoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

This original statement got 1 thanks
    This

Quoting said original statement got 4 times as many thanks

Bit odd?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

kryogen wrote: »
    This original statement got 1 thanks

Quoting said original statement got 4 times as many thanks

Bit odd?

This

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

BzTCKedIEAEs-u_.jpg:large

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

anyone else feeling very optimistic about this season? 4th should really be our target but i fancy us to get 3rd

It would be folly to get too excited until we see what happens against Chelsea, City and Arsenal imo. But I'm liking the fact that there seems to be a plan, something is clearly happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I think we'll beat Arsenal. City and Chelsea on the other hand... a draw would be brilliant.

It would be folly to get too excited until we see what happens against Chelsea, City and Arsenal imo. But I'm liking the fact that there seems to be a plan, something is clearly happening.

It's good to see LVG being so honest in post match interviews,he sees problems and isn't afraid to talk about them.He clearly wasn't happy with how we played in the 2nd half against Everton and was keen to work on fixing the problem.
    Makes a big change from what we heard from the management last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

MagicIRL wrote: »
    I think we'll beat Arsenal. City and Chelsea on the other hand... a draw would be brilliant.

Are you well?

Sky & BT will be showing 5 United games between them for the month of December.

8th: Southampton AWAY

14th: Liverpool HOME

26th: Newcastle HOME

28th: Spurs AWAY

Jan 1st : Stoke AWAY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Spazdarn wrote: »
    Are you well?

'cause I'm looking well? You dawg, you! Pick me up at 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

MagicIRL wrote: »

Derbys can be all over the place so the City result could be anything
    Chelsea will smell blood and put ye to the sword and win 2+ goal margin
    Arsenal will beat ye ,its only top 6 sides they have trouble with.