Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Last straw with Gamestop and what not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Werent you the dude, who bough a game in Gamestop, then ordered same game on Amazon, then you brought it for full refund amazon version to gamestop? So you would play game on launch, but not pay Gamestop price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,392 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Cormac... wrote: »
    On Boards?

Yes, funnily enough... That is a story I'm not getting into at all, enough said on this btw, regarding me in any way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,280 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Werent you the dude, who bough a game in Gamestop, then ordered same game on Amazon, then you brought it for full refund amazon version to gamestop? So you would play game on launch, but not pay Gamestop price?

Same versions sealed copy that makes no difference.

And refrain from calling me the dude like a good lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

While they do have very high prices i've yet to have any issue's with GS.

In fact GS Cavan is probably one of the best game shops i've ever been in. I get on with manager pretty well.. He even knows me by name and has on many of a occasion been given pre-ordered versions of games that I never even pre-ordered.

Sure only last week I walked in and picked up Destiny without a pre-order and game out with the game and pre order DLC.

Perks of living in a small place i guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

And refrain from calling me the dude like a good lad

The dude abides.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

It can obviously vary widely though. Good staff can make or break a store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Same versions sealed copy that makes no difference.

Yeah....

To be honest, that was not the only one Stunt that you pulled off with with Gamestop. I remember you braging on boards about bulk trading in games that you bought in other shops to take advantage of feck ups in trading in lists.
    I am pretty sure there were few more stunts, but I cant remember them right now. What I am saying is, that you were taking a Piss with your local gamestop and I am not surprised they actually barred you.
    No real point in putting yourself as a "poor lamb" in dispute vs Gamestop. I would be the manager of gamestop and I would tell you to feck off too. No offence.

edit: I love my local gamestop and I shoped there for years. All my consoles are bought in there too. I always get some cool awesome stuff from preorders if I dont even buy that game as they know me. One time I was stuck for PS3 controller and they were a bit to expensive as I needed it only for one night. Manager just gave me one and said to return it some day next week.
    Gamestop is a business like any and there to make money. Staff on the other hand are people like anyone else. They can be assholes or great people. On top of that if you being dick and taking a piss, they will be Dicks back too. Simple life rules.

Edit2: Few times I would come in to buy and trade in some games. Staff would just check some discounted new games they just put up and would tell me to get those and trade them in with that 2 games for one deal to save extra 10-20eu on a game I actually want. Fair plays to them.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

In fairness to GS I have had 0 issues with them over the years from what I remember. My local GS even give me expired special offers from time to time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

@DARK-KNIGHT - Holy ****.... that is just unreal. I use Smyths and Argos for my games at the moment. I have been trading in second hand games there for awhile. They are still giving 28 euro for Dark Souls 2, that is a good trade back.

Yeah....

To be honest, that was not the only one Stunt that you pulled off with with Gamestop. I remember you braging on boards about bulk trading in games that you bought in other shops to take advantage of feck ups in trading in lists.
    I am pretty sure there were few more stunts, but I cant remember them right now. What I am saying is, that you were taking a Piss with your local gamestop and I am not surprised they actually barred you.
    No real point in putting yourself as a "poor lamb" in dispute vs Gamestop. I would be the manager of gamestop and I would tell you to feck off too. No offence.

edit: I love my local gamestop and I shoped there for years. All my consoles are bought in there too. I always get some cool awesome stuff from preorders if I dont even buy that game as they know me. One time I was stuck for PS3 controller and they were a bit to expensive as I needed it only for one night. Manager just gave me one and said to return it some day next week.
    Gamestop is a business like any and there to make money. Staff on the other hand are people like anyone else. They can be assholes or great people. On top of that if you being dick and taking a piss, they will be Dicks back too. Simple life rules.

Edit2: Few times I would come in to buy and trade in some games. Staff would just check some discounted new games they just put up and would tell me to get those and trade them in with that 2 games for one deal to save extra 10-20eu on a game I actually want. Fair plays to them.
    You are doing a lot of presuming there to be fair.

and I did nothing illegal so hop off your high horse.

gamestop treat people like **** their staff well management are dicks in most cases.

I have also been sold a used game fifa 13 and when I got home was fifa 12 in box and they said I was lying.

I get it you like them but more fools and their money suits their store managers..

logik wrote: »
    @DARK-KNIGHT - Holy ****.... that is just unreal. I use Smyths and Argos for my games at the moment. I have been trading in second hand games there for awhile. They are still giving 28 euro for Dark Souls 2, that is a good trade back.

Do your talking with your money lads if you don't buy there it hurts them more than giving out instore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Do your talking with your money lads if you don't buy there it hurts them more than giving out instore

I know, I bought my XO in Argos, no way I was going to Gamestop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

Man that whole story is messed up. I dont know how you kept your cool - I'd freak out if someone did that to me in front of other customers.

its funny, I remember when the xbox 360 came out first, the manager of my local gamestop delivered it to my house personally, I dont think gamestop were in Ireland long at the time - how things have changed.

I was chatting to someone about the xbox one recently and they mentioned the dodgy blu ray drives that some of them had. it occured to me that I have put exactly 1 disc into the slot. Battlefield 4 at launch, its been in there since, all my games are digital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

Reading through this topic is crazy! can't believe GS actually ban ordinary people from stores. You should be banned if you are shop lifting or selling stolen goods to them and are found out.

I personnel never shop in GS, it's a shop, with higher prices. I only buy from B&M aka Smyths if I really want the game on release or Amazon if I can wait a few days, I really try not to buy 2nd this gen or previous. I want the developer's to make some money. GameCube ps2 Megadrive etc, you have no choice unless they are on psn or eshop or what have you :)

I do have a walk round GS the odd time. Staff are nice, but, they work in a shop, that's their job, to be nice and make a sale, they are not your friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

The gall of them to call you a "nuisance" customer. :mad:

You should show them what a nuisance really is and picket their store. Tell your abbreviated story to every customer who walks into the store. The manager who did this to you will soon have to explain to head office why his sales are down and also why there is a lunatic picketing his store. :P

As an aside, I don't have any issue with the staff at my local gamestop, I simply don't buy there unless I have to. Their prices are higher than everywhere else. If I cant get an item online or digitally....which is rare.....Ill go to Smyth's.

Man that whole story is messed up. I dont know how you kept your cool - I'd freak out if someone did that to me in front of other customers.

its funny, I remember when the xbox 360 came out first, the manager of my local gamestop delivered it to my house personally, I dont think gamestop were in Ireland long at the time - how things have changed.

I was chatting to someone about the xbox one recently and they mentioned the dodgy blu ray drives that some of them had. it occured to me that I have put exactly 1 disc into the slot. Battlefield 4 at launch, its been in there since, all my games are digital.
    I thought I had told all the irl lads the gamestop story stone? It's disgraceful remember man to my left looking g at me like a common crook being thrown out for wanting to return a headset I paid for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

I thought I had told all the irl lads the gamestop story stone? It's disgraceful remember man to my left looking g at me like a common crook being thrown out for wanting to return a headset I paid for

I've not been on as much over the summer ray. roll on the long winter nights for gaming.

oh yeah heating on and playin the crap outta the xbox lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

one of the things that puts me off going near Gamestop (apart from being too expensive) is their aggressive upselling.
    some of the staff will go as far as making out that you're an idiot for not taking their disc protection, even when the game is under a tenner.
    there was one occasion that it made me walk out of the store mid-transaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

One time a GameStop employee was about to hand me the bag containing the game I just bought, to me and he said, "Do you have any games you don't want at home?". I said 'not really' and waitied for him to hand me the bag. He said "Because we take back used games and.." I'm in a bit of a hurry I said and reached for the bag in his hand, and he pulled it away and tried to finish the waffle. I reached further and snatched it out of his hand. No time for their sh1te to be honest.

It's an awful shop, so I've just stopped shopping there. Smyth's just sell you the game and that's that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Steviemoyne

one of the things that puts me off going near Gamestop (apart from being too expensive) is their aggressive upselling.
    some of the staff will go as far as making out that you're an idiot for not taking their disc protection, even when the game is under a tenner.
    there was one occasion that it made me walk out of the store mid-transaction.

Silly practice from them considering that with the newer 360 you could write the disk to the drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

just to bump this, just did a comparison of Gamestop Vs Smyths of at least a dozen new release games, and every single one Gamestop was at least €10 more expensive.

vote with your feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

tumblr_n5qec0U41F1t3ml1po1_250.gif

Probably the best way to go, rather than us just moaning on here :P Advanced warfare is the best example, they're the most expensive on the high street for it I'm sure, plenty of other options if people want it, argos, symths, tesco, and supervalu all doing it cheaper. Vote with your wallet etc.

My xbox one was having issues Microsoft said bring it back to store :-P the store manager wasn't too happy today lmao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Taylor365

I suggest a poll be added!

I haven't bought a game in Gamestop since 2006!

Who is?

The post can't be edited :p I last bought from gamester in... september? But not cash, trade in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭souleater3000

Was Looking at GS website and comparing prices, I've noticed a few times tho that the price on the website seems to be the same in the shop most of the time, the site said Smash 3DS for €60 in store it was only dropped by €5, which is still too much for a 3DS game.
    Sonic Boom, both versions
    Gamestop €60 each
    Smyths €40
    ORAS
    GS €60
    Smyths €45
    Smash U
    GS €60
    Smyths €50
    Kingdom Hearts 2.5
    Gamestop €55
    Smyths €35
    (Getting mine on Amazon for like €25)

GS are over priced I think even on pre-owned games.

Yes but as has been pointed out, they are a business to make money, if people will pay the prices then.