If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

From Marlboro Lights to Running Tights!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭tomred1N

Tuesday Sept 2nd

8 miles @8:45

Wed Sept 3rd

7 miles @8:00

Meant to do session 4 x 2 @hmp but watch was dead and knew I wouldn't do it properly on feel. did 7 steady instead.

Thurs Sept 4th

14 miles @7:48

In Dublin with work and wanted to do session from previous night. However decided I would leave the hmp session and do the 10 miles @ MP instead. Was staying in the Burlington Hotel so decided after reading so much on here about furry glens etc I headed for the park. Anyway got there after getting lost looking for the entrance from the old marathon route. Eventually found the main entrance and did the perimeter of the park and back to the hotel again.

1 mile w/u , 11 miles @7:25 and 2 miles c/d.

Had a couple of pints of Guinness to aid the cool down in Mick O Briens, twas like 1999 , place was rockin with as many people out side on the street as inside. God be with the day when it was a 2 mile jog in here followed by 14 pints

found the park nice for running, think I did around 6/7 miles around it and it was a lovely evening, great place for a long run alright as 3 laps and you have bones of 20 miles done. Only since realised though that new marathon route enters through the main gate and exits at castleknock gate ??. That's a nice drag for about 2 miles I think, not looking forward to that now and certainly think it must add more difficulty to course than previous years.

Sat Sept 6th

5 miles easy @8:55. long day in car Friday evening so tired for and legs bit stiff for this one.

Sun Sept 7th

18 Miles @ 8:40

Did this on grass sunday evening. couldn't get up early enough again sunday morning. For a long run this was grand and time passed quick enough. Some signs of cramp near end but the legs were not too bad overall.

Monday Sept 8th

3 miles recovery slow

Tuesday Sept 9th

5 miles easy @8:40. Legs stiff at start but loosened out after 2 miles. felt like doing a few more miles but the dreaded hmp session planned for following evening put paid to that.

Wed Sept 10th

9.5 miles @ 7:19

plan was 4 x 2miles @hmp. With planned half in 10 days time I decided to do the hardest session I have yet to find.... 7 miles @HMP. I was late getting out to do this so after 2 mile w/u I only managed 6.5 miles at pace as I nearly tripped over a branch in the darkness so I cut short last half mile after that and only had 1 mile c/d

Splits for the 6.5 miles were 6:46, 6;45,6;52, 6;52, 6:55, 6:57, 6:47

Overall happy enough with this even though I was feeling it at times and while I could have finished out the 7th mile I'm not sure if there is another 6 of them in me at sub 7 min pace. I'll find out in 10 days.

Thursday Sept 11

3 miles recovery slow . feeling lethargic this evening as long day in car so this was no more than a fast walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Don't think anyone likes that hmp session. You stuck it out well though. What's the target next week then? Sub 1:30?

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Don't think anyone likes that hmp session. You stuck it out well though. What's the target next week then? Sub 1:30?

1:29:59. Thats the hope more than the plan. Would have to find 2.5 minutes from last attempt in june. Went with pacers in june but dropped off pace at 7 miles. Might hold back a bit this time.

Now if I only had a rocket up my arse like yourself I'd be sorted! I must take a peek at ur log there again but I tend to stop reading any log where I just see continous improvement without torturous pain. It just makes me jealous !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭DOCO12

Tough session, well done. What half you doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭overpronator

That's a tough ol session, well done. You wont be far off the sub 1.30 id imagine, are you planning a mini taper or will you be training through it?

DOCO12 wrote: »
    Tough session, well done. What half you doing?

Thanks DOCO12, Charleville Half Marathon. Did it last year too. was very warm and humid that day but is flatter than Cork City half anyway. Not sure if that will make much difference though. See ur going well for DCM , v impressive pace long runs.
    That's a tough ol session, well done. You wont be far off the sub 1.30 id imagine, are you planning a mini taper or will you be training through it?

Thanks , OP ....how far off is the thing!! Unlike urself I,m nowhere near sub 40 ( sorry sub 39 !) 10K pace and I have never felt comfotable running under 7 min miles no matter how many I continue to do. ( completely ignoring shorter intervals, hill reps,strides and 5 k races probably don't help ! ) Hoping the recent blast of long runs will help me endure it. Not planing a taper as such, I still have an eating disorder when that word fizzles round the brain. I use these half marathons 6/7 weeks out to help determine a realistic marathon pace. Good race I enter DCM. Bad race I save 95 euro !! Have been planning 200 miles in 4 weeks prior to HM week, then all easy miles next week. U in for DCM ?

Friday September 12th

8.5 miles @8:40

Enjoyable easy run Friday evening in nice sunshine. even threw in a few strides in the last mile.

Sat Sept 13th

6 miles @ 8:30

Another nice easy run. What I like about marathon training is the 5 - 8 mile easy runs which over time begin to seem effortless.

Sunday Sept 14th

18 miles @7:58

Plan was 18 miles alternating 2 miles easy with 2miles @MP . This seemed more like a session than the usual long run but I was actually enjoying it till around 15 miles when I started to feel it . MP splits were all around 7:25 until last two at mile 15/16 where both were 7:38. In hindsight I was probably doing the easy miles a bit fast and this caught up with me. The last two miles were done as cool down but I stiffened up badly during this and was plodding rather than running. Still quite stiff today and 6 hours driving didn't help.

Had planned to do 4 x 50 mile weeks leading up to this HM week and happy enough to have averaged as follows , 39 , 62, 52, 53. The 62 mile week was because I did a long run on the Monday and Sunday of same week. Highest milage week ever and except for a tired 20 miler didn't find it too bad. However time wise I just couldn't do it very often.
    Planning all easy runs this week, longest being 10 Wednesday night. Looking forward to the half now on Sunday with that sense of dread as well of the pain to come. I'm probably stretching it trying for sub 1:30 but don't see any option other than going with pacers as first mile is mainly downhill. Then its hang on time for 12 miles , hopefully will last more than the 7 in Cork.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭DOCO12

I'm doing Charleville too Tom, so I'll have to look out for ya :) Bit of a journey for me but nothing else suited. Weather looks like it will be a bit cooler Sun fingers crossed! Any tough bits in course I need to save energy for?

DOCO12 wrote: »
    I'm doing Charleville too Tom, so I'll have to look out for ya :) Bit of a journey for me but nothing else suited. Weather looks like it will be a bit cooler Sun fingers crossed! Any tough bits in course I need to save energy for?

I'll be the one puffing hard behind the 1:30 pacers !! Nothing too hard in terms of hills but last mile is slight drag that comes at hardest mile obviously.
    Ran most of the second half on my own last year and the long straights can be a bit of a drag if the mind isn't willing. That said you are in Limerick for most of it so there is always an incentive to run faster to get out of there :D
    Preview of route here .... best of luck

http://munsterraceroutes.blogspot.ie/2013/01/cork037.html

Tuesday Sept 16th

5 miles easy @9:00

Legs were in bits still from Sunday so this was more recovery for first 3 miles until legs loosened out.

Wed Sept 17th

5 miles @8:10

Had planned on doing 10 this evening but decided beforehand to only do 5 as was surprised how tired my legs felt since Sunday. Did these a bit faster with some strides at irregular intervals and seemed to help loosen out legs some more.

Friday Sept 19th

5 miles @8:24

Had unplanned rest day Thursday due to late home from work so went out this evening in light rain for first half mile. Then for 4.5 miles I ran in absolute torrential downpour. Once I was completely saturated though it was fine and actually enjoyed it, rain felt warm and refreshing compared to recent humidity. Bit low on the milage this week but legs were definitely fresher this evening too.

Sat Sept 20th

3 miles easy just to loosen the legs.

Sunday Sept 21st

Charleville Half Marathon

13:15 miles @ 6:48

Was thinking the best way of running this race during easy runs this week and kept changing my mind between going out easier or going with pacers. Had a scan at some logs last night to see sub 90's all over the place namley OFAR, Statss, Wowzer and OverP. Even though all these guys are a bit ahead of me in the speed stakes I took encouagement from the fact that
    all seemed to comfortably go well under 90 mins. Therefore I thought best way to run 13 sub 7 min miles was to follow the pacers and keep the effort even. I had tried this in Cork in June and it backfired but I felt my endurance improving again lately thanks to the tried and trusted Meno (MP loaded) Marathon Plan. ( who needs a club when you have boards.ie !!)

Got to Charlevile around 9:15 regisetred did a mile warm up. Nice morning so no excuses on that front.
    Lined up behind 1:30 pacers and we were off bang on 10:00am.

Miles 1-5 (6:41, 6:47, 6:46, 6:46, 6:47)

Started off nice and easy with downhill first mile. (Usual thoughts of christ this wont be pretty on way back)

While I was finding the pace ok by mile 4 I was still not happy that I had not found a nice rhytem. Was crowded around the pacers and saw a good few faster runners holding back here. Made me have some doubts as I was feeling it more than those and was not partaking in any of the many conversations.

Miles 6-10 (6:46, 6:41, 6:44, 6:53, 6:52)

On mile 6 at last I found things getting a bit easier and found a nice rhytem. Popped a gel and through halfway I was bang on target with around 30 seconds to spare according to Pacers ( CHris and John who were most helpful!!) I was calculating in my head that as long as I kept the remaining miles any way under 7 min I would make 89:xx . Working this out I was motoring away fine until mile 10 when we left the nice country roads and were back on to the main road with long straight run back to town.

Miles 11-13.1 ( 6:57, 6:55, 6:56, 6:18)

Mile 11 started badly , fell off the pacers a bit and was a bit worried that with 3 mile still to go I could blow it here. I had another gel so I popped it and concentrated on getting pace for mile 11 back to sub 7 min. Re attached to pacers at 12 and decided then that I would just concentrate now on holding on to them. Knew last mile would be hard and it didn't
    disappoint. Noticed the drag all the way and only for the encouragement from John the pacer I would have not kept at it here. Mile 13 sign was like a lotto win and found a small bit to finish last bit. Once I got through finish I was fooked and took a few mins to remember to thank pacers and had to have a walk around as my legs were stiffening up quickly. did a 10 min warm down and grabbed a bite to eat.

Must say this is a really well run event with closed roads, pacers, bottled water, supporters, and plenty food at the end. Well worth 40 euro in my view and supports a good cause too.

Chip time of 1:29:31 and a PB by some 3 minutes. I have beaten that McMillan Calculator for the first time too. I wont beat it again for while though I'd say :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Well done on the sub 1:30.
    Sounds like it was the other lads who weren't trying hard enough if they were chatting away after 6 miles :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Well done on the sub 1:30 Tom - fantastic stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Well done Tom. You're making great progress :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭PDCAT

Great Stuff Tom. Brilliant time.

Monday Sept 22

5 miles recovery @9:30

Nice easy run and legs not too bad after yesterday. Lovely evening for it again, cool enough again to bring my lab dog and IPOD for company. Some songs really drive me on when running one of which is the Glastonbury Song by the Mike Scott & Waterboys. I sometimes play it over and over on hard tempo runs . I think I will try it if I ever decide to run a 5K.

Entered Cork to Cobh 15 mile race next Sunday, great value too @ 10 euro. Will incorporate this as MP miles (either 10 or 15) into a 20 mile run. Did same last year but it was a week later last year which suited better.

Need to enter DCM now too before I forget and start to work out a plan. Initial thoughts were to follow 3:20 pace group for tougher first half of course at least and see then. I'm more of a hanger on than a chaser though. I'll see how the next 2/3 weeks go but I hadn't factored in a sub 90 half TBH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭outforarun

Just catching up here. Well done on the sub 90 on Sunday. Nicely paced and well done for beating that last mile. Curious - do you think the gels helped at all? Even if only in the head. I had thought about carrying one myself in last Saturday's HM, in the end I didn't.

outforarun wrote: »
    Just catching up here. Well done on the sub 90 on Sunday. Nicely paced and well done for beating that last mile. Curious - do you think the gels helped at all? Even if only in the head. I had thought about carrying one myself in last Saturday's HM, in the end I didn't.

Thanks OFAR,
    I think the gels help me a bit alright. I never use them training and used only carry them in half marathons for practice . However in cork half this year I was waning at mile 7 and took the one I had. helped for a while and wished I had another at mile 10. That's why I had 2 last sunday, anticipating when to take them keeps the mind off the pain and come to think of it I had a stitch coming when I took the second one at mile 11. It must have got rid of it cause just remembered now . QED !!

Tue Sept 23rd

5 miles @8:50 legs still tired but improving.

Wed Sept 24th

12 miles @ 8:20

Did this on grass this evening, bright for half hour , dark for the rest:(. Legs tired quickly after 8 miles but breathing was very easy. In Dublin with work next 2 days so may not get opportunity to run till Saturday again.

Thu Sept 25th

5 miles @8:00

Got a chance to do on hotel treadmill. Was bored so worked out hm speed on treadmill and did a km at 14.5 kph. Fook me I have no idea how I ran 21 of these last sunday.

Sat Sept 27th

3 miles @8:30

Stupidly wore new sock during half last sunday and developed a blister on sole of right foot. Has got worse since skin came off after run on Thursday evening. Was so bad today had to cut run short and try and sort it out before tomorrow. Put a plaster on it and seemed to help.

Sunday Sept 28th

20 miles @ circa 7:50 with 15 @PMP

Found a compeed plaster in old marathon goody bag so attached it sunday morning. Took two paracetomel and hoped for the best

Plan was to run 5 miles easy prior to Cork to Cobh 15 mile race , run first 3 easy and do final 12 @PMP. However was late as usual so only managed 2.5 miles before hand. Was very warm and wasn't really feeling up for it but decided to try the 15 @PMP

Started off way back in a huge crowd of 750 runners. Gradually got into planned pace after half mile. Plan was to run every mile around 7:30 pace and found the first 10 miles fine. Legs started to feel it round here but pace remained steady. Was conscious not to be getting carried away and racing people but guy running alongside me was racing it and using me as pacer which was grand for company. Last 4 miles had some nice hills and legs were definitely feeling it but breathing was very easy and easily held pace on hills. Finished out PMP miles with 15 miles @7:27 all splits between 7:22 and 7:32. Did 2.5 mile warm down and got train back to Cork.

Very handy race for a workout like this and huge increase on last years numbers. Apparently last year many didn't enter cause 3 weeks out from DCM. Suited me fine last year and would have preferred this next week as still felt race from last week in my legs this week. Similar feeling as last year with regard to marathon, another 11 of those today wasn't on but then it wasn't on last year either until the day! Here's hoping :)

Monday Sept 29th

3 miles recovery. slow.......whooh legs in absolute bits this evening and very tired as well. This was no more than a fast walk. Didn't think yesterday took that much out of me but If I need any reminder of what's ahead I got it now.

Tues Sept 30th

6 miles @8:45.

Another struggle , really lethargic and just did enough to get out and get this out of the way.

200 miles for September, planned a few more but the half marathon prep and recovery got in way. Still wouldn't swap the miles for my sub 90 though!

YTD miles 1445

Wed Oct 1st

14 miles @7:45

Plan was 14 miles with 10 alternating MP -/+ 15 seconds.

If the objective of these is to get used to running on tired legs then I have hit the sweet spot. If its anything else then I'm fooked !!

7:12, 7:43, 7:10, 7:43, 7:05, 7:40, 7:08, 7:41, 7:10, 7:44

2 miles c/d

Surprised that I managed to finish this out as I was even struggling during the warm up miles. The 15 @ mp on Sunday and the half the week before have left their mark now. Not sure if I'm going to do MP miles in long run sunday at this stage.

outforarun wrote: »

Just reading my through my training for this marathon and came accross the question about effectiveness of gels.
    Last sat my new lab pup bout 4 months old pulled a bag from the press and helped herself to a couple of caffine isogels. The results were impressive. It took 3 times the distance walk to tire her out that evening. She was like a small mike tyson.
    Then on sunday to cap it all she jumped out the back window of the car travelling at 40mph. I dont know how but she was unharmed and ran after the car again. The caffone isogels are now under lock and key not to be unleashed again until the 27th. If I gave her 3 of them and tied myself to her I, d go sub 3. Mad dog but what would one expect ......I got her in sixmilebrige......a right little fitzy !!

Thursday OCT 2

5 miles recovery 9:30

Usual recovery run but legs were not too bad after previous night. Noticed a funny feeling in my left knee later that night.

Saturday Oct 4th

5 miles @8:30

Left knee feeling had got worse on Friday to where it was quite sore when I straightened out my leg. felt it was kind of related to other parts of my leg so for first time since I think I got it last xmas I pulled out the foam roller. Did glutes and itb on both sides and I was nearly screaming. However it seemed to loosen out what was wrong but I can still feel the tenderness where I used the roller.

Sunday Oct 5th

19.5 miles @8:50

got up early sunday morning still undecided on what to do in relation to this. Choice was nice flat route on grass with 10 easy and some mp stuff in second 10. Or 20 easy on the road with a lot of hills.
    Decided to listen to the creaks in the body and do the latter. I deliberately go on empty for these but thought I had a stash of water already in place. Unfortunately the hedge cutter had visited since my last loop and thrashed my stash so I had to go without water as well until mile 16. Was feeling light headed and a bit dizzy during first few miles .....It was a miserable morning so wore a light jacket, was prob too warm , dropped jacket at mile 5 ... Two miles later the rain started and I got saturated and with the strong SW wind I started to feel really cold. I had to amend my route and head back to collect my jacket again at mile 11. Felt better with the jacket again and increased pace for last few miles especially after I got water. Got soaked through again before end and ended up short on the garmin as well ...... Overall not the most enjoyable or organised run:rolleyes: ...........if I ever consider another marathon I think I will have to bite the bullet , join a club and find company for these. Anyway that's the last really long one done

Monday OCT 6th

5 miles walk

Got home this evening and I took the dogs for a 5 mile brisk walk instead of a run. Legs feeling much fresher this evening even though I was only walking . TBH running slow seems easier than walking fast now as I was puffing walking !. Anyway time to start making a plan for 3 weeks time. MP runs have all been around 7:30. Where will that leave me at mile 22 !!

Tuesday Oct 7th

6 miles @8:25

Nice easy run on lovely evening.

Thursday Oct 9th

13.1 miles @7:23

Plan said 14 @MP. I was meant to do this last night but had other things on. Anyway was pissing rain as well so wasn't too disappointed. I did this on grass to reduce the impact on legs , however ground conditions have changed so I noticed the increased effort this evening as some parts were quite soft and there was extra drag. Packed up @13.1 miles as felt appropriate ! Anyway aside from the usual creaks and tiredness in the legs I was happy with breathing and overall effort. Down to 12 stone 9 pounds from a career high of 16' 7 in 2011. Saw a pen picture in a county final programme from 1994 recently which said I was 6 foot 1 inch and 12 stone. I can probably get back to 12 stone but that extra inch is gone for good unless I get insoles!

Looking forward to taper now as this was last real hard one.

I just need to watch the food intake with reducing milage and remember how to be fresh on the day and get a bounce back in the legs for 18 miles .....then let the suffering begin :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

Jaysus you've come on! Good man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭paddybarry

Great progress Tom.

Steroo wrote: »
    Jaysus you've come on! Good man

Thanks Steroo, it seems like a big jump from when we were running 10 min miles trying to complete a marathon 2 years ago. However never a truer saying than it don't get easier you just get a bit faster. Best of luck in your continuing recovery
    paddybarry wrote: »
    Great progress Tom.

Thanks Paddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭paddybarry

Do you hold a Harty Cup medal Tom?

Friday Oct10th

5 miles recovery slow. As usual legs feeling it from night before.

Sat Oct 11th

5 miles @ 8:30

Considered doing my long run today but just didn't have time as busy with loads of jobs at home.

Sunday Oct 12th

15.5 miles @ 8:29

Another beautiful morning for running but as usual took me a couple of hours to get going so sun was beating down by the time I got on the road at 11am. Usual hilly route again and effort seemed bit easier for the pace today. Aerobically I feel like I could run all day but my legs are definitely the limiting factor now. I'm going to get a couple of massages from physio over next 7 days to see if we can get them loosened up a bit.